Find companies:
Harvey's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
67 reviews

Harvey's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best working team with passio for the job and people
Assistant Manager - YVR HMS HOST (Former Employee), Richmond, BCMarch 25, 2014
Pros: happy teammates with a passion for work
Cons: adjusting to changes
Greet teammates and have daily huddle on daily expectation.
Coach and cross train teammates.
Assist team with daily operation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work at
Store Supervisor (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 24, 2014
Pros: friendly staff and constantly striving to make improvements at work
Cons: having to cut the tomatoes and pickles
Good place to work at, constantly trying to improve on service. I've learned a lot about customer service and dealing with difficult customers. Always have a great team to work with and support each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customers service experience
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Maple, ONJanuary 19, 2014
Pros: free burgers
Cons: mean co-workers
Garnish burgers, serve customers and take cash. The management were nice but co-workers were mean and not very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good earning potential
Store Manager (Current Employee), CarlisleJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: good earning potential
Cons: like any retail job, working every weekend and holiday periods.
A fairly pressured experience due to different targets and KPI's that are performance managed. Many factors go into the furniture sector which customers may not release especially with delays, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first job and the it was a great starting point
Cook (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONNovember 27, 2013
Pros: free food, short shifts, flexable hours
Cons: no advancement, low pay
Typically it was fast paced and hard work. Had to have a good memory for orders among other things. And had to know how to work a grill.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun work environment
Cashier/Garnisher (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONNovember 24, 2013
Pros: great staff
Cons: location
There was never really a dull moment working at Harvey's. The management was good and the co-workers were great. The hardest part of the job would be doing some of the duties like cleaning the grease on the tiles but other then that it was great. The most enjoyable part of the job was the hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with great employers.
Supervisor and Sales Associate (Former Employee), Brantford, ONNovember 20, 2013
I learned a lot about costumer service while working at Harvey's. I learned how to be a supervisor and how to balance between friendship and authority. The hardest part of my job had to be dealing with unpleasant costumers. Sometimes it is a struggle to be professional in a situation such as that. What I enjoyed most though had to be seeing the smile – more... on the customers faces when they were pleased with the service that I had provided them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harveys
Cook (Former Employee), Brockville, ONNovember 20, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: small work enviroment
fun place to work at least while I was there which was awhile ago

the people were fun to work with and the job its self was great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good life experience
Supervisor (Former Employee), torontoNovember 8, 2013
Responsible for the supervision of a staff of eight people within the customer service department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
furniture shop
Trainee Manager (Former Employee), kemston bedfordOctober 30, 2013
I was good at selling made to measure curtains I used to visit peoples houses to measure up. I also sold furniture and worked my way up the assistant manager before the shop closed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking and High achevments at Harveys
Supervisor (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONAugust 22, 2013
Pros: working as a team and having close relationships with all staff members
Cons: working straight weeks
When working at Harvey's, the shifts varied. I would mostly open on weekends, being a key-holder, and would go about my daily prep until the rest of the staff came on two hours later. I started off working there and soon over many promotions I became a Supervisor in charge of managing and supervising the staff and daily production/ food quality. The – more... most enjoyable part of the job is know when all the work has been done and the store is in perfect working condition. Even though some issues rose amongst the kitchen staff or customers, it was always rewarding to watch both sides leave happy and satisfied. The staff was incredible by working together as a team to get each task done quickly and efficiently. The hardest part of the job was sorting out the technical difficulties with the systems of Cara. Over time the adjustments became easier and the job was very rewarding. I am hoping to find another job that will allow me to continue reaching higher goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-workers
Supervisor (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONAugust 16, 2013
Pros: flexable hours, job advancement
Cons: understaffed, salary
A regular day typically includes food preparations, customer relations, money exchange and associate management. In the year I have been with Cara, I haven't learn an array of skills including; customer service, cash handling, inventory & purchases, management & supervisory skills. It is a pleasure to work with my co-workers and enjoy their company – more... on shift. Throughout the past year the hardest part of my job would have to had been upon hire, when I self thought the responsibilities, as I was immediately thrown into the job. The most enjoyable aspect of working for Cara is the customer relations you develop with new and returning guests. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hands on and productive
Cashier, Garnisher (Former Employee), Oakville, ONAugust 1, 2013
Pros: free drinks
Cons: cleaning the milk shake machine
A typical day at work would be coming in for my shift and looking at the schedule to see where they put me(everyday we would switch and take turns). I learned many different things, I learned how to use the register, how to garnish a burger properly, drive thru, and how to use the fryer, how to empty to milk shake machine, stock the pop machine, and – more... how to pack orders for the Swiss-Chalet side. The co-workers were good. The hardest part of the job was when we got really busy packing orders, but everything would smooth out. The most enjoyable part was free drinks to the employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not give hours fairly
Cashier (Current Employee), Oshawa, ONJuly 30, 2013
I personally am not happy in this job because they are not fair with their hours and they can be rude
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work
Supervisor (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONJuly 11, 2013
busy environment
enjoying serving customer needs
handling customer complain
emplyees are friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work. good staff.
Supervisor (Current Employee), Sarnia, ONJuly 6, 2013
Pros: free drinks and discounts on food
Cons: getting sent home early
- discussed the goal of the day and what we would upsell with the orders. cleaned the store. served the customers promptly
- learned how to be a part of a team, and how to be a leader
-The management was friendly and very supportive.
-Awesome staff, who know their job very well, and worked very well as a team
- I didnt find any part of the job to be – more... difficult
- The most enjoyable part of the job was when we were busy during peak periods of the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An alright place to work, minimum wage pay not to many perks
Cashier/Garnish (Current Employee), Garnish, NLJune 9, 2013
Pros: fun co-workers
Cons: minimum wage
I deal with customer service on a daily basis. My job at this facility is garnish/ cashier. I learned while working in this place that the "customer" is always right, and fast and friendly service is a must! The management team are pretty easy going and are very reliable to talk to and always have an answer to any questions you may have, which I like – more... as this makes me very comfortable. Co-workers most are very young aging from 15 to 20 years of age sometimes it becomes frustrating working with such young co-workers as they are not as mature, but I have learned to overcome this and I do enjoy most days on this job. The hardest part of my job is mainly dealing with nasty customers, the job really is not the difficult most of the work is based on common sense. The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to work with some of the most laid back people I have ever met and being able to joke around and have a good time while still getting the job done right! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright
Customer Service/Cashier/Garnisher (Former Employee), Orillia, ONJune 4, 2013
Pros: employee discount
Cons: not enough hours
I enjoyed this job, but I was laid off for no particular reason.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work.
Cashier/Garnishee (Current Employee), Pembroke ontarioMay 22, 2013
At the Harveys in Pembroke I found the staff easy to work with. The management was very organized. The scheduling was very fair and they work around your personal life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive hard working environment with bad communication
Customer Service (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONMay 16, 2013
Pros: 20% dicount on food ordered
Cons: bad management
A typical day at work would be signing in, getting to my station and garnishing or taking a customers order.

I learned good customer service skills

The management at Harvey's has bad communication skills, and does not listen to their employee's input.

Some of my co-workers were friendly and others were not.

The hardest part of the job is finding – more... something to do when there are no customers and there is nothing needing to be done.

The most enjoyable part of work was making new friends and seeing a smile on the customers faces when they were satisfied – less

About Harvey's

Food Lion is a king among grocery chains in the Southeast and Mid-Atlantic regions where it operates about 1,345 supermarkets – Read more