Find companies:
Hastings Entertainment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
108 reviews

Hastings Entertainment Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work...
CSA - Cashier/Assisting customers (Current Employee), Longview, TXAugust 25, 2014
Pros: decent discounts
Cons: cleaning up behind associates/people
Its a cool place to work at, especially if entertainment is a big part of your lifestyle. A typical day at Hastings consist of coming in to work assisting customers with there problems. Sometimes they may ask on your take on a product. I learned how to deal with customers and how to find the key problem with their situation and assess my knowledge and – more... intake to find a solution, even if it is not in our store. Management is great! Our store manager is always lively, no matter how bad you feel she will rub some of her excited behavior on you! The hardest part of the job is prepping items we bought from people. Items ranging from 100-1000 movies, books, video games, CDs that have to be prepped and ready to stock before your shift is done. Some associates didn't get the memo, so you may have to pick up the slack whilst doing your job as well. To me the most enjoyable part is the customers expression when you find that movie they have been searching for all there life or having people come in the store asking for you specifically to help them because you get the job done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for part time work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Bullhead City, AZAugust 19, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: changing managers too often
Management (which changed several times) was always flexible and willing to work with my school schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entertainment Sales but little room for advancement
Book Department Manager (Former Employee), Tyler, TXAugust 12, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: very little chances for advancement/ very little upper management support
Customer Service
Stocking
Inventory Control
Cash Handling
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Helena, MTAugust 7, 2014
There was a lot of change, co-workers came and went with college and high school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Employee
Cashier/Book Clerk (Former Employee), Great Falls, MTAugust 4, 2014
Disorganized gym. Did not give enough hours or pay increase
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Yukon, OKJune 2, 2014
Pros: exciting work environment
Cons: pay not stellar, benefits sub par
It was invigorating to work with all the latest music, movies, books and video games, and be able to pass our knowledge and passion for these products to the customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
General Sales Associate (Former Employee), Maryville, TNJune 2, 2014
Good working environment and good people to work with. Good opportunities for young employees wanting to move up quickly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Alamogordo, NMApril 30, 2014
Pros: fun workplace, fun co-workers, great learning possibility.
Cons: sometimes the schedule conflicted with school, people would call in and you had to cover shifts.
Hastings was generally good at giving you a work schedule that you could balance life around. If you were a college student they usually didn't schedule you during classes. They taught you to work all aspects of the job, books, music, videos, and the registers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a very good place to work
CTL (Former Employee), Longview, TXApril 8, 2014
not much room for advancement, not very concerned with how employees feel
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and encouraging
Video Service Associate (Current Employee), Hobbs, NMApril 3, 2014
Pros: great employee discount. people you work with really do care
Cons: low pay. not much room for advancement
I always looked forward going to work. I found that the environment was fun and that the associates who I worked with cared about the job and the customers. They were really able to work around my school schedule so that I could do both which was a huge plus. I wish I would have been old enough to become a manager like multiple managers wanted but I – more... am too young. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Alexandria, LAMarch 25, 2014
Pros: great coworkers, flexible scheduling, great discount
Cons: little room for advancement
In the two years I have worked at Hastings I have come to know so many great people, customers and coworkers alike. While working in a fun, fast-paced environment with product I love, I have developed extensive customer service skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with, unforunatly minimum pay.
Shipping and Receiving Associate (Current Employee), Bozeman, MTMarch 21, 2014
Pros: great coworkers
Cons: hourly wage is low
Typical day is getting things ready and on the shelves to be sold. Department managers are great, store manager isn't but since he's never there its nothing to worry about. Coworkers are all great to work with and just have as friends. Besides the coworkers being efficient and the job gives a great feeling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Lifestyles Manager (Former Employee), Richmond, KYMarch 20, 2014
Management unfair.
Never listens to suggestions.
Understaffed.
Underpaid.
Wage and hiring freezes often.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hastings
Music Buyer (Former Employee), Amarillo, TXMarch 19, 2014
Hastings was a great place to work. The only issues were that the pay was low because they recruited from small towns in middle America.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Unmanaged Wreck
Video Associate (Former Employee), Lubbock, TXMarch 19, 2014
Pros: nice atmosphere
Cons: terrible management
The Bad:

1. Did not get trained at all; Taught myself how to use the "search inventory" system. Got thrown out on the floor first day with no list on what needed to be completed.

2. Did NOT have a store manager the first month of employment. I was told the new store manager was going to start a week before I did.

3. Understaffed. Nothing got done – more... completely.

The Good:

1. Coworkers (Other associates) were extremely helpful and very fun to work with, they kept me smiling.

2. The Customers were AMAZING, usually I hear a lot about retail employees are treated like trash. Not when I was working, either the customer was already happy or I would cheer them up. It was really nice to see people smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Personnel Specialist (Former Employee), Amarillo, TXMarch 16, 2014
Pros: great job
Cons: need to pay better
This was a great place to work. I had fun everyday that I went work and it made the day go by fast.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Minimal pay and no room for growth
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Albuquerque, NMMarch 14, 2014
Hastings upper level management cut back on hours and number employees within the store. The employees that remained with the company were expected to perform a great number of duties in an unreasonable time period, which made work very stressful. When I was hired, my store was on a pay freeze and I did not receive an increase in pay until three months – more... before I left, and I worked there a total of two and a half years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and upbeat environment
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Lubbock, TXMarch 14, 2014
I would stock shelves, and help customers find products. Most days went by quickly with the tasks provided for me to complete. Other than not knowing what to do exactly for the first few days was probably the hardest thing about that job, other than that it was just following procedures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment.
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Dyersburg, TNMarch 13, 2014
Pros: easy job
Cons: short hours
The days at work were fairly easy. Work consisted of, what the manager in the department that you worked in left you to do for the day, straighten and alpha all Cd's and games, put out stock, and basics. I learned how to communicate with ease with customers in person and over the phone. Management was nice, it is pretty much like a family of sorts working – more... together. The hardest part of the job was trying to tend to every customer at once on the holidays. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to talk to customers on a daily basis and being able to find what they were looking for in a timely manner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Amarillo, TXMarch 9, 2014
The people there were amazing and i hated to elave, but just needed better opportunities.

1 2 3 4 5

About Hastings Entertainment

Hastings Entertainment has it all for a smaller-town Saturday night. The company operates about 135 superstores in nearly 20 Midwestern – Read more