Find companies:
Hastings Entertainment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
112 reviews

Hastings Entertainment Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much to say. Low hours.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Montrose, COOctober 11, 2014
Cons: low hours, low pay
I only received 10 hours a week. The management was ok though and the stocking job was fine. Just short hours and low low pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met some great people.
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Dyersburg, TNOctober 6, 2014
Generally, it was an enjoyable place to work on a store level. Corporate was a nightmare, and our district manager wasn't a friendly person. He generally hated everything we did with the store and blamed people who weren't at risk.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, discounts on video rentals
Video Associate (Former Employee), Video DeptOctober 3, 2014
Pros: good environment, fun staff, great merchandise.
Cons: rotating schedules, less than desired pay.
Really liked the environment, work, and co-workers. Enjoyed the work I was doing, and the people I interacted with on a daily basis. Loved helping customers find what they needed, and the daily tasks I needed to do helped with my knowledge of where to find those things for the customers.The scheduling was difficult with my personal life, and I would – more... have liked the pay to be a little better for the work I put in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail-Video Rental Store
Front Counter Associate (Former Employee), Ada, OKSeptember 16, 2014
I dealt with the cash register most of the time. However, cleaning the area and keeping everything well stocked and tidy was another task of mine. While there, I learned the basics of customer service. Everyone was nice. The hardest part was during busy times when you had to work quickly to help customers. The enjoyable part was during the events such – more... as tournaments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work...
CSA - Cashier/Assisting customers (Current Employee), Longview, TXAugust 25, 2014
Pros: decent discounts
Cons: cleaning up behind associates/people
Its a cool place to work at, especially if entertainment is a big part of your lifestyle. A typical day at Hastings consist of coming in to work assisting customers with there problems. Sometimes they may ask on your take on a product. I learned how to deal with customers and how to find the key problem with their situation and assess my knowledge and – more... intake to find a solution, even if it is not in our store. Management is great! Our store manager is always lively, no matter how bad you feel she will rub some of her excited behavior on you! The hardest part of the job is prepping items we bought from people. Items ranging from 100-1000 movies, books, video games, CDs that have to be prepped and ready to stock before your shift is done. Some associates didn't get the memo, so you may have to pick up the slack whilst doing your job as well. To me the most enjoyable part is the customers expression when you find that movie they have been searching for all there life or having people come in the store asking for you specifically to help them because you get the job done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for part time work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Bullhead City, AZAugust 19, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: changing managers too often
Management (which changed several times) was always flexible and willing to work with my school schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entertainment Sales but little room for advancement
Book Department Manager (Former Employee), Tyler, TXAugust 12, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: very little chances for advancement/ very little upper management support
Customer Service
Stocking
Inventory Control
Cash Handling
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Helena, MTAugust 7, 2014
There was a lot of change, co-workers came and went with college and high school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Employee
Cashier/Book Clerk (Former Employee), Great Falls, MTAugust 4, 2014
Disorganized gym. Did not give enough hours or pay increase
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Yukon, OKJune 2, 2014
Pros: exciting work environment
Cons: pay not stellar, benefits sub par
It was invigorating to work with all the latest music, movies, books and video games, and be able to pass our knowledge and passion for these products to the customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
General Sales Associate (Former Employee), Maryville, TNJune 2, 2014
Good working environment and good people to work with. Good opportunities for young employees wanting to move up quickly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Alamogordo, NMApril 30, 2014
Pros: fun workplace, fun co-workers, great learning possibility.
Cons: sometimes the schedule conflicted with school, people would call in and you had to cover shifts.
Hastings was generally good at giving you a work schedule that you could balance life around. If you were a college student they usually didn't schedule you during classes. They taught you to work all aspects of the job, books, music, videos, and the registers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a very good place to work
CTL (Former Employee), Longview, TXApril 8, 2014
not much room for advancement, not very concerned with how employees feel
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and encouraging
Video Service Associate (Current Employee), Hobbs, NMApril 3, 2014
Pros: great employee discount. people you work with really do care
Cons: low pay. not much room for advancement
I always looked forward going to work. I found that the environment was fun and that the associates who I worked with cared about the job and the customers. They were really able to work around my school schedule so that I could do both which was a huge plus. I wish I would have been old enough to become a manager like multiple managers wanted but I – more... am too young. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Alexandria, LAMarch 25, 2014
Pros: great coworkers, flexible scheduling, great discount
Cons: little room for advancement
In the two years I have worked at Hastings I have come to know so many great people, customers and coworkers alike. While working in a fun, fast-paced environment with product I love, I have developed extensive customer service skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with, unforunatly minimum pay.
Shipping and Receiving Associate (Current Employee), Bozeman, MTMarch 21, 2014
Pros: great coworkers
Cons: hourly wage is low
Typical day is getting things ready and on the shelves to be sold. Department managers are great, store manager isn't but since he's never there its nothing to worry about. Coworkers are all great to work with and just have as friends. Besides the coworkers being efficient and the job gives a great feeling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Lifestyles Manager (Former Employee), Richmond, KYMarch 20, 2014
Management unfair.
Never listens to suggestions.
Understaffed.
Underpaid.
Wage and hiring freezes often.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hastings
Music Buyer (Former Employee), Amarillo, TXMarch 19, 2014
Hastings was a great place to work. The only issues were that the pay was low because they recruited from small towns in middle America.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Unmanaged Wreck
Video Associate (Former Employee), Lubbock, TXMarch 19, 2014
Pros: nice atmosphere
Cons: terrible management
The Bad:

1. Did not get trained at all; Taught myself how to use the "search inventory" system. Got thrown out on the floor first day with no list on what needed to be completed.

2. Did NOT have a store manager the first month of employment. I was told the new store manager was going to start a week before I did.

3. Understaffed. Nothing got done – more... completely.

The Good:

1. Coworkers (Other associates) were extremely helpful and very fun to work with, they kept me smiling.

2. The Customers were AMAZING, usually I hear a lot about retail employees are treated like trash. Not when I was working, either the customer was already happy or I would cheer them up. It was really nice to see people smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Personnel Specialist (Former Employee), Amarillo, TXMarch 16, 2014
Pros: great job
Cons: need to pay better
This was a great place to work. I had fun everyday that I went work and it made the day go by fast.

1 2 3 4 5

About Hastings Entertainment

Hastings Entertainment has it all for a smaller-town Saturday night. The company operates about 135 superstores in nearly 20 Midwestern – Read more