Find companies:
Hastings Entertainment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
117 reviews

Hastings Entertainment Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but Productve
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Pittsburg, KSDecember 14, 2014
Pros: discount, atmosphere, fun
Cons: pay
I loved my coworkers when I worked at Hastings. We always had a lot of fun. And you're surrounded by stuff you enjoy - books, cds, movies, video games. The only problem I had was that I worked there for five years and never got a raise. It just stayed at minimum. And they closed our local store down.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A positive working environment
Card Tournament Organizer/Team Member (Current Employee), Saint Joseph, MODecember 7, 2014
Pros: lax management
Cons: communication can be an issue at times
My schedule is built on a day to day basis. I generally show up at 9am and stay until the manager tells me to go home. My co-workers for the most part are a positive group. I wouldn't list any 'hardest part' as my job is pretty easy to work. The tournament organization can be taxing from time to time, however, when Saturday rolls around i'd say looking – more... at all of the payers competing what what is my work is the best part of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing atmosphere with great music playing!
Barista (Former Employee), Cañon City, CONovember 28, 2014
Awesome place to work everyday! Preparing delicious baked goods and delectable drinks for amazing customers! The management is wonderful, as well as the co-workers. Hardest part of the job is walking out the door, because all you want to do is stay, the best part is knowing your coming back tomorrow!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor training for MIT program, Poor salary
Assistant Store Manager/ (Former Employee), San Angelo Texas/Norman, OKNovember 25, 2014
Training and support was great in San Angelo Texas where I started my career with Hastings. When I transferred to the Norman store, I was not impressed with the management or level of support for MIT's. Lack of teamwork was an issue throughout the entire store, getting the team to work together and strive for a better standard for the store and the – more... company as a whole was difficult. The hours worked and all the labor put in was not fairly compensated by the home office. I learned many valuable things to further my career in retail management in San Angelo Texas, time management, how to lead and motivate team members, loss prevention, how to look at budgets/profit and loss margins, what to look for in hiring a team member that will be an asset to the store, and many other management skills. The most enjoyable part of working for Hastings was the customer service, and being part of selling entertainment. It was hard not to have fun while you were selling and promoting fun products. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy work environment
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Lake Jackson, TXOctober 15, 2014
Pros: good employee discount
Cons: we were always under staffed
a typical day at work would consist of me talking to and helping customers.
I learned to effectively multi-task talking to and helping customers.
I really enjoyed being able to meet all kinds of new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much to say. Low hours.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Montrose, COOctober 11, 2014
Cons: low hours, low pay
I only received 10 hours a week. The management was ok though and the stocking job was fine. Just short hours and low low pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met some great people.
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Dyersburg, TNOctober 6, 2014
Generally, it was an enjoyable place to work on a store level. Corporate was a nightmare, and our district manager wasn't a friendly person. He generally hated everything we did with the store and blamed people who weren't at risk.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, discounts on video rentals
Video Associate (Former Employee), Video DeptOctober 3, 2014
Pros: good environment, fun staff, great merchandise.
Cons: rotating schedules, less than desired pay.
Really liked the environment, work, and co-workers. Enjoyed the work I was doing, and the people I interacted with on a daily basis. Loved helping customers find what they needed, and the daily tasks I needed to do helped with my knowledge of where to find those things for the customers.The scheduling was difficult with my personal life, and I would – more... have liked the pay to be a little better for the work I put in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail-Video Rental Store
Front Counter Associate (Former Employee), Ada, OKSeptember 16, 2014
I dealt with the cash register most of the time. However, cleaning the area and keeping everything well stocked and tidy was another task of mine. While there, I learned the basics of customer service. Everyone was nice. The hardest part was during busy times when you had to work quickly to help customers. The enjoyable part was during the events such – more... as tournaments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work...
CSA - Cashier/Assisting customers (Current Employee), Longview, TXAugust 25, 2014
Pros: decent discounts
Cons: cleaning up behind associates/people
Its a cool place to work at, especially if entertainment is a big part of your lifestyle. A typical day at Hastings consist of coming in to work assisting customers with there problems. Sometimes they may ask on your take on a product. I learned how to deal with customers and how to find the key problem with their situation and assess my knowledge and – more... intake to find a solution, even if it is not in our store. Management is great! Our store manager is always lively, no matter how bad you feel she will rub some of her excited behavior on you! The hardest part of the job is prepping items we bought from people. Items ranging from 100-1000 movies, books, video games, CDs that have to be prepped and ready to stock before your shift is done. Some associates didn't get the memo, so you may have to pick up the slack whilst doing your job as well. To me the most enjoyable part is the customers expression when you find that movie they have been searching for all there life or having people come in the store asking for you specifically to help them because you get the job done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for part time work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Bullhead City, AZAugust 19, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: changing managers too often
Management (which changed several times) was always flexible and willing to work with my school schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entertainment Sales but little room for advancement
Book Department Manager (Former Employee), Tyler, TXAugust 12, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: very little chances for advancement/ very little upper management support
Customer Service
Stocking
Inventory Control
Cash Handling
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Helena, MTAugust 7, 2014
There was a lot of change, co-workers came and went with college and high school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Employee
Cashier/Book Clerk (Former Employee), Great Falls, MTAugust 4, 2014
Disorganized gym. Did not give enough hours or pay increase
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Yukon, OKJune 2, 2014
Pros: exciting work environment
Cons: pay not stellar, benefits sub par
It was invigorating to work with all the latest music, movies, books and video games, and be able to pass our knowledge and passion for these products to the customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
General Sales Associate (Former Employee), Maryville, TNJune 2, 2014
Good working environment and good people to work with. Good opportunities for young employees wanting to move up quickly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Alamogordo, NMApril 30, 2014
Pros: fun workplace, fun co-workers, great learning possibility.
Cons: sometimes the schedule conflicted with school, people would call in and you had to cover shifts.
Hastings was generally good at giving you a work schedule that you could balance life around. If you were a college student they usually didn't schedule you during classes. They taught you to work all aspects of the job, books, music, videos, and the registers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a very good place to work
CTL (Former Employee), Longview, TXApril 8, 2014
not much room for advancement, not very concerned with how employees feel
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and encouraging
Video Service Associate (Current Employee), Hobbs, NMApril 3, 2014
Pros: great employee discount. people you work with really do care
Cons: low pay. not much room for advancement
I always looked forward going to work. I found that the environment was fun and that the associates who I worked with cared about the job and the customers. They were really able to work around my school schedule so that I could do both which was a huge plus. I wish I would have been old enough to become a manager like multiple managers wanted but I – more... am too young. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Alexandria, LAMarch 25, 2014
Pros: great coworkers, flexible scheduling, great discount
Cons: little room for advancement
In the two years I have worked at Hastings I have come to know so many great people, customers and coworkers alike. While working in a fun, fast-paced environment with product I love, I have developed extensive customer service skills.

1 2 3 4 5

About Hastings Entertainment

Hastings Entertainment has it all for a smaller-town Saturday night. The company operates about 135 superstores in nearly 20 Midwestern – Read more