Find companies:
Hastings
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
83 reviews

Hastings Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typcial day
Customer Service (Current Employee), lawton, okNovember 7, 2014
Wonderful customer service to the local residents by checking out, locating rental, books, etc,, dealt with disgruntled customers with a smile when they had fines they disagreed on. I worked in the stock room and attained experience in that area. Co-workers, I got along with, I was friendly but performed my job without conflict or involved in others – more... issues. I enjoyed dealing with the public. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok
Video Manager (Former Employee), Victoria, TXOctober 28, 2014
Not much room for advancment once you make dept manager. You get stuck
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Stockroom Manager (Former Employee), Clovis, NMOctober 6, 2014
even in the fast pace we could still have fun and do are jobs well. great staff to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Great Falls, MTOctober 5, 2014
a typical day at work would include being at the register for most of the day. I learned how to work as a unit with my co-workers and also how to help people in different ways. The hardest part was handling the "cranky" people, but the most rewarding is making those poeple happy for keeping your good attitude and helping them to the best of your ability
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ensuring product organization and customer service
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Benton, ARSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: free rentals
Running the register, checking in videos, answering the phones doing returns and doing by backs inventories.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and upbeat
CSA/ Backroom Associate (Current Employee), Victoria, TxSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: great people, fun loving environment
Cons: i make less now than i did at my first job
Going to work is something I look forward to everyday. Management is great and never hesitates to listen to my ideas and complaints. I have learned everything there is to learn except the management side. The hardest part of my job is that I don't get enough hours or pay to raise my son and now I am having to choose between the job that I love and my – more... son. I have been promised numerous promotions and raises but always let down and I cant hang on much longer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allsups Review
Video Manager (Former Employee), Clovis, NMAugust 31, 2014
Working for Allsups was an interesting experience. I learned how to run a register and zone a store properly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Lake Havasu City, AZAugust 15, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: hrs
great place to work fun work environment ,great people and good discount
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this was a fun working enviorment
Book Department Associate (Former Employee), Yuma, AZAugust 12, 2014
Pros: fun job
Cons: no benefits
I enjoyed working at hastings, it was a great way to meet people, the enviorment was always cheerful and pleasant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely Fun!
Team Lead (Former Employee), Rock Springs, WYAugust 4, 2014
My days at hastings we're fun and easy. The management was full of lively and fun people along with the co-workers. I learned cashier positions and also became team leader.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All fun and exciting places to have worked
Cashier (Former Employee), Rio Rancho, NMJuly 22, 2014
I did enjoy my time at each of these employers. They all taught me the value of hard work and persistence in accomplishing my future goals. I wouldn't mind going back to work for any of these companies, given the opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast paced
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Richland, WAJuly 10, 2014
Basic customer service. Cleaning, running movies, restocking food, dealing with customer issues and checking them out. Co-workers are pleasant and extremely easy to get to know.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Book Department Manager (Former Employee), Round Rock, TXJuly 9, 2014
Management was great. Great co-workers. Challenging job working on Xerox multifunction devices
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place too work very casual
Clerk/order puller/forklift operation (Former Employee), Amarillo, TXJuly 3, 2014
Pros: easy work for a paycheak
Cons: dusty work no advancment
dusty work place but easy work keep you busiy but not too hard too learn. honestly got bored with after a bit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Waco, TXJune 24, 2014
Cons: not enough hours.
Hastings, at least in waco is not the best. you work less than 25 hours every 2 weeks.
the Coworkerss are ok.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work enviornment
Café Manager (Former Employee), Enid, OKMay 21, 2014
Fast paced, friendly enviornment. Great management team, customers were very pleasant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meet new people
Casheir (Former Employee), Roswell, NMMay 8, 2014
Pros: getting paid
Cons: roller blades, rude/lazy management
Roller blades are the hardest part of this job! Management is not very productive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a fun place to work under the right management.
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Boise, IDApril 30, 2014
The retail and service industries are definitely not the easiest to work in. You get a chance to work and collaborate with so many unique people, and meet exciting and talkative customers with many perspectives.

The pay, amount of raises, commendations for good performance, and benefits aren't the greatest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To much drama
ICA (Former Employee), Muskogee, OKApril 17, 2014
it was not the hardest job in the world but it did allow me to be able to spend more time with my kids.at the end of the day i was not making enough money to move on in life, plus working there seemed more of a high school then an actual job itself nobody would take responsibility for anything that was happening
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting environment to work in, knowledgeable staff with excellent customer service and employee discounts. Fee coffee.
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Muskogee, OKApril 2, 2014
Pros: free coffee, employee discount of ten percent.
Cons: expect minimum wage and low hours.
Hastings is a great place to work as long as you are do not rely upon it to feed a family. For a single person young or old, it proves to be an interesting job which is simple to master. They do tend to be harsh on cash discrepancies with the register, requiring termination after three write-ups. I personally find this to be very understandable and – more... quite fair. The management is always friendly and mild mannered, the staff is knowledgeable, and most employees tend to keep their positions for many years without feeling the need to leave. It is easy to settle into a comfortable groove, and the products available are not only mind-blowing, but are also available at a generous discount to all employees. Each employee is allowed one free small paper-back per week, at the disadvantage of having to remove the cover from the book. I prefer to purchase the book rather than to desecrate or deface it in any way. – less

1 2 3 4 5