Find companies:
HAVERTY'S FURNITURE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
40 reviews

HAVERTY'S FURNITURE Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Head Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Shalimar, FLJuly 7, 2014
Pros: pay was good.
Cons: no health benifits
Hours could have been better. Job was easy. Being outside making deliveries was great. Meeting and greeting people was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Class A CDL Truck Driver (Former Employee), Charlotte,NCMay 29, 2014
Pros: good company and benefits
Cons: gone overnight a few times per week
Truck driver
good people to work with
delivered and picked up furniture with 18 wheeler
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place to work
Office Assistant/Warehouse (Former Employee), Landers Rd NLRMay 20, 2014
Pros: great expereince
Cons: pay
I took customer calls about furniture, whether it had been a complaint or inquiry on delivery date. I assisted clients in the store with their purchases and helping them with their furniture choice. We had a great office team at Haverty's, we stayed in a good mood and made work fun. I just disliked the sales men/women our on the floor. They acted like – more... we were their servants. While there I did your typical fax, copy, and file type of office work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meet people great enviroment
Clerk/Housekeeping (Former Employee), Columbia, SCMarch 19, 2014
Pros: learn how to interact with customers
Cons: not enough hours or money
Did all type of jobs from cleaning/display of furniture/helping with filing/and bookkeeping to far to travel for little hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail, busy, and always something to do.
Office Manager (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCMarch 18, 2014
Managed 3 employees, receivables, ordered furniture, answered phone, daily paperwork. I learned a lot about clerical and administrative duties while I was at Haverty's. I orignally started there in 1986. I enjoyed different things about my job from payroll, to data entry, receivables, filing, helping the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
General Manager (Former Employee), Colonial Heights, VAMarch 4, 2014
Very busy, long hours, competitive pay, good coworkers. Low work life balance, good job culture, good benefits, competitively priced benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not just furniture sales, but decorating consultant
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Brandon, FLFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: great people, and working with interior design.
Cons: spending too much time away from my newborn son.
A typical day would consist of meeting customers in the store, but also researching and preparing ideas for clients. There was a great environment among the associates and manager, overall a great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible job!!!
Team Leader (Former Employee), Braselton, GAJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: off most weekends
Cons: everything
starts good like every job, but management sucks bad!! no acknowledgement for your work and you never do good enough.
good pay and benefits but takes about 10 years to move up to a leadership position. start at 8am and leave at 10pm regardless if you have kids or death in the family. never work here if you can help it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for growing
Credit Clerk, Inventory Control (Former Employee), Richmond VAJanuary 13, 2014
Pros: good environment and good growth
Cons: having to leave
Everyone was great to work with. Everyone worked together and made the day fun and productive. Management was stern but fair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Furniture Sales = Tension
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Florence, KYJanuary 8, 2014
A typical day at Haverty's was to assist customers in searching for furniture. The main obstacle was to break the ice and overcome the stereo-type of a salesperson to build relationships. Once the relationship was established it became easier to obtain ultimate goal of the sale.

The most enjoyable part of this position was to be able to view the upcoming – more... trends and furnishings. While new items came into the showroom it was a fun challenge to configure display layouts.

For the most part, the co-workers established a fun work environment. Our location had slower foot traffic and unfortunately tension arose at the end of each month due to sales goals. It became an "every man for themselves" type of environment and I would have preferred a more collaborative one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exhausting
Material Handler (Former Employee), coppell txJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: good raises
Cons: work holidays
load trucks manually in a non climate controlled warehouse
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
THERE OK
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Shreveport, LANovember 1, 2013
Pros: pay and the benefits and the days off
Cons: long hours
MANAGEMENT WILL NOT HAVE YOUR BACK THEY USE THERE TEAM THEN LET FALL
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very professional
Material Handler/Production (Former Employee), Chesterfield, VAOctober 25, 2013
Pros: good people
Cons: short breaks
i learned how to wrap furniture and how to inspect it also and how to work as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Warehouse worker (Current Employee), Montgomery, ALOctober 15, 2013
Pros: wonderful and thoughtful boss
Cons: don't make enough money
I love being an employee at Haverty's Furniture. I love the management and I work with great people who help get the job done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of work
Unloader (Current Employee), texasSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: at least you can say you got a job
Cons: too much work for only one 30 min break some things just don't make sense
If you have a family this job is not for you...most of the day is work work and more work some managers just want you to get the job done regardless of how you some of my co workers are great but some lack the definition of teamwork. ..the hardest part is going to work and THE MOST ENJOYABLE PART IS WHEN YOU CLOCK OUT TO GO
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for a high schooler
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Gainesville, GASeptember 7, 2013
Great place for a high schooler! Works with schedule! When I was there, management was really awesome!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace where you can also get good exercise.
DOT Assistant (Current Employee), Duluth, GASeptember 2, 2013
Pros: three days off per week, great exercise
Cons: unorganized routing
Each day consists of arriving at work at 7:45 am. Once we arrive we hook the trucks up to the trailers and head to our first delivery. Usually we have anywhere from 10-18 deliveries per day. It depends on factors, such as drive time, set-up time, amount of items, location etc.

The hardest part of my job is having to work on Saturdays and sometimes – more... getting off late at night. Also, some of the furniture items are not so light. The most enjoyable part of my job is getting to meet and interact with customers daily and working outside. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and friendly environment
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Greenville, SCJune 18, 2013
Pros: friendly personnel
Cons: store operation hours
As Office Assistant I worked various hours between 10a-9p Monday-Sunday off every other weekend. Management were great, enjoyed working with them. They were understand to everyone who had an personal issues. I learned how to be compassionate team player. My co-workers were good to work with we took turns assisting sale associates with their customers. – more... Hardest part of the job was schedule operation hours of the store we had to work weekends and holidays and also leaving them the felt like family. The most enjoyable part of the job was on breaks or waiting for customers sales representative and office staff would have conversations that helped bond different individuals together. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Richmond VAMay 19, 2013
Pros: overtime
Cons: n/a
Great co-workers, good management, good customers.fun place to work good money
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with great people at an historic company.
Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Anniston, ALMay 17, 2013
Pros: discount on furniture
Cons: not a lot of room for advancement
I usually start the day reviewing prospective customers from the week before or calling clients I have in my calendar to contact. Then I make sure I am prepared to help customers throughout the day. As I help customers I try and get enough information to call them or email them if they choose not to buy right away. I also give presentations occasionally – more... about design and the latest trends. My co-workers are great people and I have learned a lot from my years at Haverty's. I have fine-tuned my people skills and am confident in communicating with almost anyone. I have learned a lot from my manager about what to do and not to do when I become a manager. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping people. – less