Find companies:
HAVERTYS FURNITURE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

HAVERTYS FURNITURE Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team to work with ,as long as there were clients.
Sales Consultant (Interior Decorator) (Current Employee), Fort Myers, FLMay 19, 2014
On a daily basis , i would assist the team in dusting and floor display . I was also responsible for fabrics from vendors for updating drops and discontinues. Updating price lists.I assisted clients with there furniture selections and followed up with thank you notes. Once a month i was responsible for product knowledge meeting .I also assisted with – more... another 2 coworkers for a seminar on various topics selected by Corporate designers. Some management carried the store more than others.the hardest part of the job , getting beyond the push off customers. the most enjoyable were the crew i worked the same shift with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A busy work place.
Porter/Display Coordinator (Former Employee), Columbus, GAApril 18, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short hours, no help, no opportunity for advancement
A typical day at work involves a variety of different things such as cleaning and organizing the warehouse, putting together furniture, organizing and putting furniture out on the showroom floor, loading up customers merchandise onto their vehicle's, and performing various janitorial duties such as: cleaning the offices, cleaning bathrooms, cleaning – more... break room, and mopping regularly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and exciting atmosphere to work in
Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Shreveport, LAMarch 19, 2014
Fun and loving co-worker. There's always someone laughing no matter what the mood that person could be in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Delivery Helper
Delivery Helper (Former Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 18, 2014
Job responsibilities included transporting products with the company vehicle. I loaded, unloaded and packaged products. I also worked with the shipping department and customers to ensure proper delivery through order selecting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for. Delivery structure needs work.
Salesperson (Former Employee), Longview, TXFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: great benefits and caring front office!
Cons: delivery problems that occur beyond the salesperson's realm.
Delivery expectations are good, but the company needs to take delivery issues into consideration when a salesperson's quota is at stake and their job is on the line.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sale Consultant (Former Employee), Murfreesboro, TNNovember 18, 2013
Pros: if you follow the system, you will make great money
Cons: weekends
if you don't have a degree and you want to make 40-60k a year its a great place to work.... weekends can get long when its slow and if you like sports our your friends are off on the weekends, you won't be very happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome family atmosphere
Office Assistant (Current Employee), Columbus, OHAugust 23, 2013
I answer incoming calls and direct calls as needed, take payments over the counter, balance transmittals and prepare bank deposits. I handle sales after completion by salesperson, including accepting payment on cash sales and down payments on charges. Get appropriate signatures on contracts and revolving charge agreements. Take complaints and write – more... up customer service reports. Perform the daily pre-call activities for the store. I balance cash drawers every morning and evening. Complete designated computer reports assigned as needed. File service tickets. I communicate with Havertys credit services for any A/R changes and errors. Maintain security of all money-related areas. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commissioned sales
Sales consultant (Current Employee), Altamonte Springs, FLJuly 26, 2013
Pros: vendors bring in lunches, candy, and gifts.
Cons: working days off.
Overall Havertys has been a good place to work. They have a good 401k program and offer health insurance. The other sales associates in my store are very friendly and pleasurable to work with. Management and associate turnover has been increasing. Customer traffic most days does not provide very many sales opportunities while management is suggesting – more... you can work your days off and you can work from open till close everyday. Advertising is not very competitive with sales. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
DRIVER (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJune 7, 2013
Pros: management
Cons: no cons
Working with various locations and being in the field contributes to a pleasant day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work enviornment
Office Manager/IT Specialist (Current Employee), Atlanta GeorgiaMay 21, 2013
I have enjoyed my time at Havertys. Havertys offers positive feedback and growth potential
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An in-between job at best.
Material Handler (Current Employee), Lakeland, FLMarch 19, 2013
Pros: monday through friday shift.
Cons: poor managment, no incentives, poor pay
I have worked at this company for over 2 years now. When i first became employed by Haverty's, I was sold on the prospect of turning this job into a career. Management uses promises of future promotion as a motivator to encourage and increased production level. I gave this job everything i had for the better part of 2 years. all i have to show for my – more... efforts is .46 in total raises, and a job that i struggle to maintain 35 hour/week. I came from a construction job, leaving due to a lack of steady hours. upon being hired i was assured that i would always work 40hrs, but majority of the time would work overtime. since being hired, management has added 12 positions to my department, resulting in an average of 32-35hrs per week. this jobs offer no form of incentive or bonuses, yet requires a very high level of production. management is fine with a select few carrying the majority of the work load, while others barely work at all. Any questions, concerns, or request presented to management is dismissed with "this is corporate, we cant do anything" or "if you dont like it, there is the front door". this company prides itself on its reputation, but if it continues to operate with such disregard to the very workforce that sustains this company, hopefully the public's opinion will change. – less

WorkDog – April 16, 2013

Speaking from experience on the raise issue, that amount seems to be typical in the retail business especially if you've only been there a short while. I'm not saying this to be rude or what not, it's probably due to low sales within your particular location. Also considering the economic times and all it's to be pretty much expected, it's going on everywhere so don't take it personal. My suggestion is to move around in the company, open yourself up to new learning opportunities in other departments within the company if it's possible. Good luck.

WorkDog – April 16, 2013

What is the starting rate of pay for that position and the typical work hours/days? Can you transfer to a different location within the company? How long have most of the warehouse employees and supervisors been there? How much was the raise you got from the beginning? I can only assume you got .32 cents a year so far, in which I agree isn't much but, it's pretty typical.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Amarillo, TXJanuary 13, 2013
i enjoyed my time at Havertys, The coworkers were very friendly and the management was good
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very laid back environment and relaxed dress code.
Sales Consultant (Current Employee), memphis, tennesseeDecember 25, 2012
Pros: company discount on furniture.
Cons: working in retail you have to work holidays.
A typical day is 9:00am to 6:00pm, thursday - monday/sunday is 12:00-6:00pm.I have learned stronger people skills and about the quality of furniture an how it is made,since I have never been in retail before.Management is laid back and try to be fair mostof the time.Have great co workers who all get along well and respectful of each other.The hardest – more... part may be keeping up with our customers in emails and not having product in to sale.By far for me are the customers. I have made friends with most and enjoy the thrill of the close of the sale at the end of the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Newport News, VADecember 11, 2012
Pros: great co
Cons: cant think of any
great place to work people and management care about you coworkers are great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freedom on the road
Delivery/Driver (Current Employee), Anniston, ALNovember 28, 2012
The people i work with are good people,management on the other hand does not communicate to well with their employees.I learned how to operate a 26 foot box truck,backing in and out of tight spots,hardest part of the job is unloading the furniture in the customers house..The enjoyable part is my co-worker and i knew how to keep each other laughing to – more... make the days better.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment to work in
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Fayetteville, GANovember 1, 2012
Nice place to work. Relxaed environment, no pressure from management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being Productive and making big sales
Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Plano, TXOctober 16, 2012
Pros: have a customer to ask for you when they come back in.
Cons: short breaks
Checking email every day writing customer back about sales or to say thank you. getting customer approved for loan. I love it when i get the customer what they need and can close the sale. the hardest part of the job is waiting in line to be on point again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great history, positive work environment, more focus on training needed.
Sales Manager (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHSeptember 30, 2012
I conduct sales meetings, new product presentation to staff and train new hires. Sales of the full line of furniture and mattress department.
Great sales staff, knowledgeable and professional. Learned a lot about the industry from this long standing company that is privately owned still having over 100 large retail locations and high class management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office environment
Office Asst (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLSeptember 17, 2012
enjoyed the multi-tasking. Always staying busy interacting with customers assisting them in their financing options & customer service problems
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to meet new people from other culturl backgrounds
Warehouse worker (Former Employee), Chesapeake, VAJuly 24, 2012
Pros: hr lunch
Cons: expensive health care
I enjoyed the atmospher of meeting and working around new people and helping them.