HAVERTYS FURNITURE Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A little too slow if you are easily bored
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  FLNovember 27, 2017
Great atmosphere. Beautiful showrooms. Co-workers are overall very positive, fun and helpful. Always experienced excellent teamwork among most of the sales team. We would TO a sales when appropriate and graciously help each others customers. Just don't be the greedy one...do the right thing even if you were technically entitled to a split but your assistance was simply inputting an order in the system without any sales effort at all.
Very slooooow at times during the week waiting for customers to come in. If you lose your momentum easily you may want to look elsewhere.
Management is overall pretty good, but get a weak store manager and your life will be unnecessarily stressful. My manager was not happy with the sales at one point so rather than coach the low performers (or get rid of them) he said "I'm going to hire two more sales people...that'll shake things up around here!" So he would rather flood the sales floor and slice that pie into thinner pieces effecting everyone's income rather than be a manager and do the right thing.
Also, a manager had better be strong enough to make decisions. A soft or weak sales manager will be manipulated by a strong willed yet unscrupulous sales person every time. So, interview your manager before accepting the job!
You will never get weekends or holidays off. At some point in your life that may not be very important...but if you value family time - especially at the holidays you should look elsewhere.
Only drawback is being beat up over not getting emails or phone numbers from customers who are "only looking". You
  more... may even be encouraged to make up emails or other contact information just to make your ratios look acceptable to regional and district managers. If you are a straight shooter, and integrity is at all important to you, you may have a hard time with this aspect.  less
Pros
Upscale, great environment, awesome working conditions
Cons
No weekends or holidays off, and many evenings messing up that "work - life balance"
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCNovember 18, 2017
Definitely learned a lot when it comes to furniture at Haverty's. The environment was very well balanced. Staff was very helpful, and teamwork was awesome. Manager was very helpful, and instructive.
Pros
Great Pay, great teamwork, great flexiblity
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We have a very good team. We always help each other.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Braselton, GANovember 5, 2017
I have got pretty good on multitask. Hardest part is dealing with an irate customer. I have got good at calming the customer down. I have a very good team and manager.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Not able to get the option to take a shorter lunch brake.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good family owned company
Retail Sales Professional (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXNovember 1, 2017
The Company was old and established, pretty cut and dry price is price no haggles. Pay was low compared to what others pay and what I had to compare it to with previous employment. Didn't work you to death. Nice place to work if the pay was better.
Pros
Good benefits, solid company
Cons
pay was low for the dollar amoutns sold. Flooded sales floor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Mobile, ALOctober 31, 2017
Starts off very simple but has a lot of tedious work that has nothing to do with selling to be done. Unless you live in busy city I would not recommend
Pros
Very laid back environment for most part
Cons
Very little pay & incentives are very hard to make a lot of hidden details on bonuses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, Not good work/ife balance
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 24, 2017
Great people and store management. Family-feeling environment and everyone looks out for everyone. Sales is cut-throat and management will often fire well-qualified people. Only 1 day off first year and grueling hours/weekend/evening work.
Pros
Advancement opportunities
Cons
Pay, work/life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place too work and too much Back Stabbing.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 22, 2017
Did not have a good experience working for Haverty's. The Sales People are very Back Stabbing, Unprofessional, Cut Throat and there is a lot of bickering and quarreling that goes on there. I only worked there 6 months and then left. Would not recommend this Company to anyone!
Pros
Fairly good Commissions.
Cons
They make you pay a lot for your Medical Insurance and you work every weekend and no exveptions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun traveling to other stores.
Display Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 27, 2017
unload furniture for the next day get store ready everyday. i learned how to work with others and set the day for a hard days work. management was good some i would work with or go to battle with any given day. work culture was fast pace at times. the hardest time was opening up stores with a tight dead line sometimes working long hours and weekends. the most enjoyable part was working with some very hard working people.
Pros
travel and going to customers houses to help them
Cons
being away from family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Does not value employees time
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GASeptember 17, 2017
Day at work is stress
I learned patience
management is very unprofessional
workplace culture is terrible
the hardest part of the job is having customers and no sales
The most enjoyable part of the job is the opportunity to dress professionally.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXSeptember 13, 2017
Havertys is a great place to work. Very Fun and relax. They carry quality furniture. The training at the Havertys is amazing. They really set new sales associates up for success
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Retail Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCAugust 27, 2017
This job had its ups and downs. I loved delivering and unloading furniture to the customers but the elements will bother you at times and you must be able to lift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not A great place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  FloridaAugust 25, 2017
Not going to bash any company I work for but I will say that i'm interested in leaving after 5 months.................................................
Pros
4 day work week
Cons
Many things
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loading
Night Receiving Manager (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLAugust 23, 2017
The workplace was enjoyable and the work environment was always upbeat and fast moving. Management was enjoyable and never had a bad thing to say about the work I did there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company that values people
Employee (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, gaAugust 19, 2017
The company is very good but you are micro managed pretty much all the time. Product is nice and well made, customer service is good and pay structure is very good.
Pros
good pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail Sales
RETAIL SALES CONSULTANT (Current Employee) –  Rogers, ARJuly 12, 2017
This company is a decent company to work for, however the hours sales professionals must work to make decent money is exorbitant. You can forget about doing anything on the weekend as the company forces you to work bell to bell.
Pros
There is a base pay.
Cons
It is either or for base pay, either you commision or you are paid 12.00 an hour, whichever is more.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prductive and fun work place
Sales (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALJune 22, 2017
Havertys is a great place to work. You get to meet new people everyday. I learned a lot about sales and how to make the most of my time. I made new friends and will miss the work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail at its best
Inventory Specialist (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 14, 2017
Opportunity to learn about the retail business. Workplace culture was fun. Management was approachable and I felt comfortable talking to all levels of management
Pros
Great discount
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Furniture sales
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  San Angelo, TXJune 2, 2017
Lots of hours of waiting on customers to come in store sat a lot at my desk doing nothing. I took this job with the understanding that I would be busy and makes lots of money it was 100% commission
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative, Friendly and Educational Experience
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  4240 S.Florida Ave Lakeland, FL 33813May 30, 2017
Formal attire to manage,maintain,cultivate and develop new and old relationships with clientele creating retention while providing excellent customer service and high end home furnishing sales. Learned and merchandised all products sold and displayed, even delivered product when possible. Also assisted with fashion-design classes for DIY customer benefit and special orders from catalogs. Management support and assistance with all facets of the job.

Most difficult; Closing the sale with tire kickers and price shoppers
Most enjoyable; employee/customer interaction, atmosphere and closing the sale.
Pros
Benifits, professional atmosphere, and potential income
Cons
Stressful when short of quotas, nolonger allowed to work days off to make up shortages
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced work environment
Furniture Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Charlottesville, VAMay 23, 2017
Fast-paced work environment. Must work on weekends. Commission based income is not for everyone and earned the month after furniture has been delivered to customer.
Pros
training
Cons
work weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HAVERTYS FURNITURE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 71 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.5