Hawkins, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a family owned business and I loved my job hated to see it go out of business
Remodeler&Painter& Landscape (Former Employee) –  Rocky top TNNovember 7, 2017
I enjoyed my work and my hrs, had holidays off and payed 3 days vacation. Plus we got bonuses on some jobs and I enjoyed meeting different people. We were out to please our customers and do a well job.
Pros
Free lunch and bonuses at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very disappointing place to work
Finance (Former Employee) –  MinneapolisAugust 20, 2017
Family owned business that tends to have an excessive amount of turnover. Work hours and conditions are very bad with management always demanding more.
Pros
None
Cons
Work/Life Balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Business Development (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNJuly 30, 2017
Entrepreneurship is highly rewarded. The company fosters creativity and drive for success. Dynamic work environment that requires the ability to juggle multiple projects simultaneously with critical deadlines. This has been a great place to work for 25 years!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Law Office
Computer Operator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 24, 2017
This was a school program, very helpful to teach a young adult the work field starting out. Supervisor was great and patient. Work was always an adventure, different every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Production (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNJuly 12, 2017
I have been here for a couple years now. and at the start I loved this company. But the work life balance. Is not this company in the summertime expect 12+ hour days and way too many weekends the pay is good but the stress is too much
Pros
Pay is ok
Cons
Long hours, stress, heat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Hawkins (Former Employee) –  Alvin, TXMarch 7, 2017
Productive job love the energy great place to work. Best learning experience I've ever had. Learned how to be a man and work a man job. Great place to buy into and spend the rest of my working career with.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
intensive atmosphere
Carpenter/Operator/Form Worker (Current Employee) –  Omaha/Council BluffsOctober 25, 2016
i did learn a lot more as far as the engineering behind bridge/overhangs go in building structures.
one downside was the "live to work" mentality they adopted.
they did however supply great benefits, such as a pension plan and insurance
Pros
Insurance and pension
Cons
many hours per week, difficult to contact desired individuals for certifications
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay not that good, Good environment, Good hours
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Riverview, FLSeptember 12, 2016
My experience was not that bad at Hawkins. I learned allot of need to know about electrical. The pay is not that good but you can get allot of hours. OK job
Pros
Plenty hours
Cons
Low pay for amount of work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Superintendant (Current Employee) –  floridaJuly 30, 2015
a typical day at work starts off a little hectic but once you get everything rolling the day goes quite smoothly. every day is something new from something you would miss on blueprint or a sub contractor helping with an easier solution to a problem. everyone is very easy to get along with and very helpful.
Pros
reimbursement for fuel
Cons
lots of travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Assembler/Fabricator (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 6, 2015
great hours and fun environment if you like fast paced working, they have awesome people working in the office always helping and very perfessional
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small CPA Firm
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Marietta, GAJune 1, 2015
This small CPA firm has a great atmosphere, wonderful clients and a professional, supportive staff. Busiest time of the year is tax season (Jan - April).
Pros
Atmosphere, some nice perks
Cons
A lot of long hard days during tax season
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
truck loader/mixer (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNMay 21, 2015
Cleaning and mixing products on a daily process. in my mix tanks,testing my own products before i send them to storage tanks or be filled by the drummer truck loader.
Pros
some free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/life balance
Marketing Consultant (Current Employee) –  Rosemount, MNOctober 5, 2014
Great work/life balance. Great employers. Good family culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for but management was lacking.
Technical Sales Representative, Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Fond du Lac, WIJanuary 14, 2014
Load and placard truck to the type of chemicals we were hauling, create a BOL landing for al chemicals on truck,pre and post trip inspections,maintain a daily route to customers for deliveries,cold calls,service calls. Quote and bid equipment and chemicals for water,swimming pools,wastewater plants. Work in warehouse filling totes for inventory and deliveries,maintaining warhouse inventory control. Follow all PPE,Saftey and DOT regulations for Hawkins.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Culture
Accounts Payable/Billing Manager (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNOctober 28, 2013
Small company that has made the leap from private to public. There is a mixture of employees that still hold to the older values, and new employees that are seeking change without direction.
Pros
Nice working conditions, good pay & benefits
Cons
High turnover, no loyalty to employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Site Design, Code research, land surveying, civil engineering
Assistant Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Melville, NYJune 4, 2013
I was able to multi-task between two different professions, civil engineering and land surveying. Completed boundary, topographical surveys and engineer/expedite applications for same project.
Pros
Diverse experience
Cons
limited room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a job
Process Technician (Former Employee) –  Centralia, WAMay 17, 2013
management lacked worked with some nasty acids and the pay really didnt show it not to much to say about the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and rewarding place to work
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Auburn, ALJanuary 21, 2013
Great atmosphere to work and the owners of the company were appreciative of their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent workplace
Collision Repair Technician (Current Employee) –  Danville, PADecember 5, 2012
loved what i did at one time. now its a different business in that we never hear the good in what we do only the bad
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company - growing, stable, great comp!
NA (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNAugust 29, 2012
Small company - big impact!
Great benefits package
Fantastic team environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 8Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hawkins, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 27 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3