HAZEN AND SAWYER Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 12 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a
Electrical Intern (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 25, 2015
egin most days by coming in to the office early to make sure everything is ready for our first patients: this includes walking the doctor through his schedule, and looking through our office scheduling system to check for any changes. I do a similar task at the end of the day: I respond to any messages in our scheduling system, and walk the doctor through the plan for next day. The the majority of my duties include assisting patients, both in person and on the phone – I schedule their appointments and help address any issues. For example, when a patient calls with a last-minute concern, I work with the patient to find a time for them to come to the office as soon as possible. This pattern is similar most days of the week; however, one day a week, I lead a staff training seminar on a variety of topics, ranging from effectively communication with patients to new health protocols. This is a new duty I actively sought out as a way to improve my leadership and presentation skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Old Firm. Very Old Thinking.
Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 2, 2012
No continuity throughout departments. Subordinates have long hours so top mngmt can come and go as they please on extended weekends and golf meetings. Great things happen here, huge projects that are very exciting and have an impact on many people, but the methods and politics behind this work is prehistoric. This is not a place for growth, progressive thinking or overall good health.
Pros
advocates for continuing eduction.
Cons
top down management, no collaboration, poor compensation.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people but under new management
Print Shop/Supervisor technician (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJanuary 7, 2016
The company is making a lot of a changes, mainly for the the stock holders benefit. I guess you could say that people use to have names now they are just numbers.
Pros
Co Workers
Cons
If you are not in the Click !!! OH WELL!!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, great place to work, nice co-workers
Marketing Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, FLOctober 2, 2015
Hazen and Sawyer is a scientific and engineering company specialized in water plants. My job consisted in the making of proposal to remodel or build water plants for different cities. We needed to make the proposals with great graphics and illustrations. My job was fun as well as demanding.
Pros
Learn a knew thing everyday, great team of co-workers
Cons
Have to work many nights
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for; good people
Senior Associate (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLDecember 11, 2014
Great place to work, at least where I am.
Very knowledgeable and good people to work with
Very flat organization.
Almost no guidance for advancement.
Black box approach to benefits/raises/advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Senior Principal Engineer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 30, 2013
Pros:

-No bureaucracy
-Lack of micromanagement
-Great co workers and supervisors

Cons:

-compensation is not merit based
-upper-management plays favorite
Pros
-
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challaging
Instrumentation & Controls Engineer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 8, 2014
Figure out and execute work plans
Much interaction was healthy
Management was knowable
Coworkers were nice
Coordination with various projects & phases
When projects worked
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Assistant Engineer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 4, 2013
Good company to work at, the environment in the office is great. The people working there are really nice. There is always someone there to help you with you understand different concepts.
Pros
good environment
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun working environment.
Principal Designer (Former Employee) –  498 seventh ave, new york 10018March 1, 2014
A typical day at work is very exciting and stressful. I have learned a lot of interesting and different systems. The co-workers are very talented and very friendly people. The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that I have designed something that will be installed in a place that will be used in the city that I live in.
Pros
is that you learn a lot of different systems and different of type f people.
Cons
short lunchs
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
needs improvement
Electrical Inspector (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 31, 2013
check with re
talk to foremen
inspected work
wrote the daily report
review spec and contract drawings
mostly friendly co-workers.
resolving issues.
Pros
got paid
Cons
no training.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Senior Principal Architect & Lead Field Architect (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 15, 2012
Every day brought new challenges to the workplace which had to be resolved and implemented.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4