HBI Employee Reviews in United States

Found 31 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Great expirence
Facility Maitntenance (Former Employee) –  Cherokee, NCJune 3, 2016
Great experience, Instructor really cares about your goals
and motivates you to achieve them.
I've learned Carpentry
Plumbing
Painting
Concrete
Drywall
Landscaping
Electrical
Pros
Housing, Stipend, Free food
Cons
6 month program
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned an amazing amount threw their trade school
Apprentice Electrician (Current Employee) –  OklahomaMay 28, 2016
Go to class and enjoy the learning possibilities.

Electrical Wiring

My Instructor was very hard working to get us to learn the trade.

You meet all kinds of people.

You have to be willing to learn.

It is a really fun and exciting trade.
Pros
Free Schooling
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start your plumbing career.
Plumber Pre Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Coeburn, VAFebruary 28, 2016
Great atmosphere and great structure, employees are all good at what they do. Day to day was hectic but payed off in the end , management is top notch
Pros
good training
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was needed more money
Knitter, cook , picker packer, aid, meat cuter,, (Former Employee) –  Mount Airy, NCDecember 22, 2015
they where not want to gave any more then they did .so I had a there job to go to so I went to it.then I work for the knitters and they was layoff people then . then I find me other job to go to because I have to pay my bill some how.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overview
Electrician Trainee (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 2, 2015
The experience was great, I was able to do some projects around our center. I worked on a fire alarm system for a gym, I ran CAT5e wire for computer lines. my instructor was great, she taught me a lot. My peers were great workers. The best part of the job was just having some work to do, the hands on experience is just great.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn Construction / Facilites maintenance
Shop Foreman and Tool Man Student (Former Employee) –  Edison, NJNovember 13, 2015
The facilities maintenance / construction trade is awesome here and the learning process is well pasted ,. Covered pretty much every part of construction.
Pros
free lunches, good peoples .
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an average job, its a training program
Electrician's Helper (Current Employee) –  Cherokee, NCOctober 6, 2015
you work everyday just like you would any other job with about 20 other trainees and an instructor. While you are technically a government employee through the forest service and JCCCC, you don't really receive pay, its a stipend of $23.01 after taxes Biweekly. But the whole purpose of this company is to get you job experience so that you can begin working in the trade of your choice with experience already at an entry level position. Your living expenses are paid for and you get 3 meals a day free but you are required to live on campus. overall its a great program and you do get a large sum of money when you complete the program depending on your accomplishments while attending.
Pros
completly free job training, housing and meals
Cons
living in close quarters with other trainees for long periods of time, including sharing rooms with up to 6 people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working, Great with people,Fast and a Team Player.!!!
Electrician Assistant (Former Employee) –  PAAugust 11, 2015
Ok a Typical day at work really thier is no typical day at wrok we always going something different every day.

And i Learned Electrical
Wiring Certification/Home Builders Institute
Installed & connected conduit (piping), junction boxes, 10, 8 & 12 gauge wiring & electrical fixtures
Inspected & tested electrical systems (use voltmeters)
Planned, laid out & drew sketches of electrical systems
Basic electrical troubleshooting
Repaired & replaced faulty wiring, equipment & fixtures
Adhered to all safety practices & inspection guidelines
Lockout /tag-out procedures; Installation of GFCI Systems
Replaced light switches & outlets
Used hand tools, power equipment & measuring devices
Worked from ladders & cleaned electrical shop
Safety Service Installations
Scaffolding
Installed power & panel boxes.

Installed underground feeds to new lighting systems for safety and visibility. Tested all outlets and switches for function, any damage or non-functional switches, fixtures or covers were replaced
Installed Security cameras to improve the safety of the students and building
School grounds- Trenched 100 feet to lay PCV pipe for future light poles
4th floor of DVJCC I pipe bended to send new wire feeds to install exit lights and emergence lights
Installed Cat 5 & Cat 6 .



Management: I was Foreman so i was Showing and given Orders out. Maken sure that everything got done that had to be finish in that day. Ordering things for the Shop...



The Hardest thing i did was pipe bending but i got it now.

And the one Enjoyable
  more... thing i love is Wiring something bout it.  less
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good teacher
student (Current Employee) –  cherokee,ncAugust 6, 2015
I was a student and the teacher was a great teacher and I learned a lot from him everyday I learned something new and It was never a day where I was bord or wanted to quiet
Pros
didnt get paid alot
Cons
good breaks and good teacher
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Safe
Trainee (Former Employee) –  Simpsonville, KYAugust 5, 2015
A typical day at work consisted of an 8 1/2 hour day starting with a safety meeting/briefing at 8:00am then splitting into teams to get the job done.

Learned how to measure correctly, level drywall, windows, and doors, install everything from studs to drywall.

Co-workers were easy to work with, and trustworthy with equipment and on the job site.

Hardest part of the job was finding a stopping point to go to lunch/having to go to lunch.

Most enjoyable part was Fridays, getting to see the family.
Pros
Free lunch, free transportation
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Want to know more about HBI?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great company to be a part of.
Pre-Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 31, 2015
My overall rating is above all standards. The skills I have now I can do anything I put my mind to. In the future I will highly recommend it to my kids.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive And Great Workplace
Pre-Apprentice Plumbing Program (Former Employee) –  Brunswick,GaJuly 22, 2015
Its very Good, Learned How To Use Threading Machines, Doable Projects. Very Friendly Workers, Learning The PPE, Being Able To Learn Certain Procedures.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love to learn new thing in the work force
Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Construction siteJuly 13, 2015
Working with tools, paint, concrete, carpentry. Best part was learning new things in the work force. Good with other workers
Pros
eager to learn
Cons
new to job market
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical work day an why I like eletrical work
Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  PAFebruary 2, 2015
The work place was relaxing an humble there help from the management was in well detail an percise when needed, the co-workers was spaceful,calm an very clean, new assingments was hard atfirst but after an example it was all understanding eveyone did there part aswell,an the most enjoyable part was the type of friends you would make at the job.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
short breaks but good
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work.
Production Associate (Former Employee) –  Kings Mountain, NCJanuary 31, 2015
Horrible place to work. They dont pay well, management is very unfriendly.No job security you can have your job one day and the next be laid off. Also not fit for anyone who has dusting allergy.
Cons
short breaks, bad heathcare plans, hours a week varies from 20 to 48 without warning
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home Builders Institute
Electrician Helper (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 8, 2014
HBI Job Corps provides the framework needed to build a successful career in construction – trades training and employability skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hands-on training.
Electrical Helper (Former Employee) –  Sebring, FLAugust 4, 2014
I feel like i've learned great traits in becoming an electrician. My instructor taught me a large amount of information on residential electricians.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place too learn and work
plumbers helper (Former Employee) –  lynchbrug, VaJuly 16, 2014
Its what you make of it, If your willing too work and learn then you will do very well.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive an dfun work place
Janitorial Worker (Former Employee) –  Kings Mountain, NCApril 24, 2014
The job really wasn't a hard job I enjoyed working here just wish my supervisor would've been a little more honest with me and not fire over the phone.
Pros
2 breaks a day easy work
Cons
wish superviser was more open
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hands on each day with carpentery; construciton laborer, great team, and learning new skills was exciting.
Carpenter/Laborer/Construction (Former Employee) –  Simpsonville, KYMarch 20, 2014
Instructor taught me above and beyond as a carpenter and excellent skills in construction.
Pros
part of my job corp training.
Cons
after completion of training and work tour, had to leave to go home.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 39 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.9
Culture
4.0