HD Supply Employee Reviews

Found 478 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work.
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MoSeptember 26, 2016
When you work in an IT department, the typical day is not knowing what to expect so you must be prepared for anything. In addition to addressing any immediate issues, you then perform your daily routine. I was the business analyst specializing in EDI so I worked closing with the branch operations, vendors, AP associates, accountants and developers. I learned a lots about how each of these groups work and how important it is for the there to be accurate interchange of data for all. Over the years I also learned how to prioritize the project. As an example, work on your smaller projects while taking a break away from the larger ones. It not only clears your brain, but gets all the projects completed in a timely fashion.

Both the management and co-workers are focused on being the best in the business. All are highly professional as well as friendly and relaxed The admin office I was in has an in house gym and a great bbq pit.

I don' really know what was the hardest part of my job. I just know that it is most enjoyable when you see your project completed and loaded in the system.
Pros
zumba classes affer work, monthly office lunches
Cons
work space layout is uncomfortable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inside sales
Inside Salesperson (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, DESeptember 23, 2016
Answered all sales calls as required, created solutions for late material on orders, summarized due dates for supplies on a weekly report.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Killeen, TXSeptember 12, 2016
management is good to work with. management is very professional, in a routine day everything is set up easy to follow and good routes
Pros
flexibles
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad job
Driver/Warehouse Operations (Former Employee) –  Bowling Green, KYSeptember 12, 2016
I loved the work but they are not as safety oriented as they let on.Sometimes way too many things were slipped under the rug. stand on a pallet to be lifted in the air.
Pros
Usually you were scheduled to be home at 4pm everyday.
Cons
no breaks no safety and way too many chiefs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work,have gym for the worker to work out in
Driver (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 6, 2016
Responsibilities included loading and unloading truck and delivering merchandise to the customers and return all merchandise that not delivery back to the warehouse.
Pros
we free lunch when have on injury for 30 days
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HD Supply is a satisfactory place to work.
Front End Supervisor/Cash Room Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 6, 2016
HD Supply has a lot of turnover, especially in the management and higher positions. This in turn the staff has to readjust to another managers way of running their individual stores.
Pros
My Front End Manager
Cons
Confidential communications
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay, decent amount of hours, management needs improvement
Full Time Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  North Hollywood, CASeptember 6, 2016
The roof leaks when it rains, the back room of the store is like an oven because the swamp coolers are broken, it took months to get a new pallet jack after one of them broke. Not all associates are recognized equally or given equal opportunities or incentives. Safety practices and procedures are sometimes ignored because general manager wants to satisfy customers. The store is self-serve but stock associates are there to assist with questions customers might have and loading assistance if the item is too heavy for customer or requires two person lift. Customers are very rude and expect stock associates to get a cart from entrance of store and follow them around to load all items in cart and follow them to the registers to pay and then to their car to load all by ourselves.
Pros
Paid lunch every quarter, or after positive corporate walks, and certain amount of days without accidents
Cons
Rude Customers, Management won't back you up
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long demanding hours of work with good compensation.
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Flower Mound, TXAugust 30, 2016
Work consisted of a full day of picking orders, packaging orders, and manifesting orders for 8+ hours a day. All workers were scheduled many breaks, but couldn't escape the rewarding fatigue of a long day at work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced – Challenging – Rewarding
Sales Associate / Inside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 25, 2016
HD Supply now Anixter Inc is a fast paced, high energy environment. If you like a challenge and can multi Task without missing a beat this is the company for you!
Pros
Challenging, Fast Paced, Interesting
Cons
High Stress Environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 22, 2016
A typical day Is gong in early opening store , learning new things each day , management tries to help out with schedule coworkers are okay they are friendly , not sure whts the hardest part of my job I enjoy working there
Pros
need more employees to work morning shift
Cons
not sure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, good work environment
Warehouse Associate II (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKAugust 19, 2016
Not much to say I genially enjoyed working here. but i'm not sure if that's because of the company or my direct management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commercial Driver
Commercial Driver (Current Employee) –  College Station, TXAugust 14, 2016
• Proficient in meeting aggressive deadlines, guaranteeing deliveries are on schedule.
• Handling inventory distribution to the end-client.
• Managing load securement and weight distribution following necessary legal procedures for the Department of Transportation.
• Customer-facing, ensuring necessary paperwork is obtained at time of transaction.
Pros
great hours
Cons
health care, working in the heat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
,truck driver
Driver/Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Independence, OHAugust 9, 2016
we had a 6:30am start you performed by loading your truck at certain times.at times it would be loaded when you arrived. perform all dutys of a cdl driver and work till 3:00pm
Pros
work with good people
Cons
healthcare is not fair to employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience.
Sales Tax Accountant (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 8, 2016
Reviewed tax rates and issues for multiple municipalities to ensure accuracy for auditing purposes. Overall mostly repetitive work with no growth potential.
Pros
Free parking
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small team environment
Lead Welder/Assistant Plant Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDJuly 27, 2016
relaxed but highly motivated environment. Clean productive shop. company cares about their employees but wont pay what they're worth. produce 200-400 welds a day
Pros
free life insurance
Cons
pays half of median local salary for comparable positions
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Oriented, Team oriented
Customer Care CSR II (Current Employee) –  Santee, CAJuly 26, 2016
the work is hectic at times 90% of the time, requiring attention and product knowledge.

This company is customer oriented, first call resolution, take a good call or a bad and come out as a shinning star.
You will multi-task as everyone does all the jobs, co-workers are great because even while busy they can find time for fun stuff

This company keeps changing as it grows so this means policies and procedures will change making it harder at times.

the most enjoyable part is to see your group rewarded with breakfast, pizza etc and allow to grow
Pros
free breakfast and lunches
Cons
benefits need to improve
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for, creative opportunities
Associate Designer (Former Employee) –  Marietta, GAJuly 19, 2016
I was treated fairly, unfortunately my job was eliminated.
Recieved excellent reviews, merit increases and bonuses.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good management
Sourcing Specialist (Former Employee) –  Aliso Viejo, CAJuly 19, 2016
very good company to work for. good structure and very good work and life balance. it's good for someone who needs work and life balance, but not good for someone who look for career advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unsafe place to work.
Flatbed Driver (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 18, 2016
Some of the issues I brought to there attention about safety and the cared about the dollar more than than the employees safety !!!!!!
Pros
none
Cons
Safety
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best company
Packer/Picker (Current Employee) –  Northlake, ILJuly 15, 2016
Working here for 8 months and I have no positives. The only thing uplifting about this job is the people whom you work with. The managers are all up-tight and really have no regard or care for their employees. While Working in the pick mod for 8 months 4 people quit and 3 were fired. Not to mention our district manager quit, or hr manager quit and so did another area manager. I feel like this Job is ok. The hours are way to hard especially on a young mother with a 2 year old , which mangers don't care about. The company point system is ridiculous. I feel like any bad manger can take a great staff and make everyone want to quit. If you enjoy working from 10am-10pm under mangers who just sit around and watch you work, then this job is for you
Pros
Co-workers
Cons
Managment, bad hours
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 487 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3