HD Supply Employee Reviews

Found 518 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
By far, THE best place I have ever worked
Estimator (Former Employee) –  Minot, NDJanuary 24, 2017
The days were always filled, and never gave into boredom.

From day one, there was always something new to learn and understand.

Management took great care in developing a culture of employees first and foremost, from health to happiness, from commitment to follow through.

Always promoted a strong ethical and moral behavior in every aspect of the business.

Hardest part was the short deadlines to get projects completed and correct.

Most enjoyable was coming through the door everyday and starting work.
Pros
Too many to put to print
Cons
Some of the Corporate policies show a lack of trust they strive to build with employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and energizing workplace
Order Processor (Current Employee) –  Alabaster, ALNovember 29, 2016
a fun place to work,if you have grown kids,or kids of no school age.
midday shifts,so your entire day is at work.
Off holidays and vacation paid available.GREAT THING.
Company value there employees enough to have family gathers thur the company. I learned a need trade in order processing.
Pros
family gathers, company games and prizes for the entire family
Cons
short breaks, mid shifts- no day or nights but both.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a good comany too work for
Shipping Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJanuary 31, 2017
I have always love to work at a warehouse. the reason why??its something different everyday ,your pulling different products and different challenges . I also feel comfortable driving any type of forklift. so it makes my job even easier for me . also have lots of experience working with different type of shipping systems and receiving .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Control over Managment
Outside Sales (Former Employee) –  Kalispell, MTOctober 28, 2016
In my years of working for HD Supply, management was always an issue. From the corporate level they do not monitor their Branch & District Management very close. I had caught my branch manager changing commission codes on my sales tickets, when i turned him into HR they turned it over to the District manager. District Manager pushed everything under the rug and nothing happened. Once caught changing codes he found other ways to mess with my pay. This company is all about Corporate!
Pros
Might get a Free Hat or Shirt!
Cons
Corporate Greed
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but management lacked skills
shortage problem resolution (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLDecember 27, 2016
Bad hiring skills, unexperienced management but good employee benefits.smaller warehouse environment than most commercial warehousing so less hectic yet still fast pace.
Pros
company cookouts, game area for break, friendly coworkers
Cons
bad management, fresh from school with no experience
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace, you get along with anyone
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  North Hollywood, CADecember 26, 2016
The most enjoyable part of the job is the people you work with, you easily get along with everyone. One of the hardest part would be the long hours, the store is so busy sometimes we have to do up to 12 hour shifts to make sure everything is good for the next day.
Pros
Health Benifits
Cons
Short staff
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not take the job if I had to do it over again
Counter Sales (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAOctober 29, 2016
Most co-workers were ok. No sense of professionalism in the building. Joking with each other was the most important part of the day. New member of management was hired and this person did not know how to work the computer system. Would not answer phone and help anyone, would just put on hold and transfer to the counter. Attitude was horrible.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Revolving Door
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 15, 2016
Run fast and don't look back. Management has no alignment strategy and is constantly restructuring. Employees are stressed out and given empty promises that conditions will improve but they do not. Training of new employees is minimal and you are expected to Sink or swim. They do not allow remote work and office presence- time in your seat- is valued more than results.
Pros
Decent pay.
Cons
No remote work, high stress, no clear vision from management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There was lots of hours management worked. If the general manager is not good and understanding of family balance you will work more than needed
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 29, 2016
Company was very large and sometimes the salary did not fit the job you were responsible for. There were lots of employees that did not fit what was needed, but the salary we offered was all we could get.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HD Supply
Personalized Customer Care Associate II (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 19, 2016
Love my coworkers but health benefits are awful. Provide little pay but requires a large work load. Management varies. I had one manager when I started who did not know anything even after a year being there at the job and moved up in the company. But there are a few great supervisors that can lead very well and care.
Pros
coworkers
Cons
health benefits, low pay on depending jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Might not be speak for the entire but the Site I was at yes
OFFICE ADMINISTRATOR (Former Employee) –  Norcross, GAJanuary 17, 2017
Decent place to work, their advancement criteria is horrible. The do not do quarterly and monthly reviews. Their Training and Development is horrible but they want you to be the best in the world.
Pros
Free Coffee
Cons
Long hours and just not the best managment in world
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All the guys were protective, and there to lend a hand if you needed one
Counter Sales/Material Coordinator/Service Writer (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAJanuary 25, 2017
Outstanding work environment.
One on One with customers coming into the store
Never a dull day working with Contractors
HD cared for their customers
Pros
Hourly with Commision
Cons
Takes Years to Learn, yet Rewarding
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Supervisor/Lead (Current Employee) –  Industry, CAJanuary 28, 2017
Management works well with employees. There is always a clear and direct plan for the day depending on what department you work. Great Work/Life balance. There are daily meetings and announcements to keep the associates informed. The company has a great team environment and family atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with 100% autonomy.
Outside Sales (Former Employee) –  Kent, WADecember 27, 2016
This position was an Outside Sales Position, in Seatlle. I traveled all over the state to provide service to several hotes. Travel out of state was included as well. The hardest part of this job was traffic, outside of that it was an enjoyable position.
Pros
Working with and helping people.
Cons
Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Order Processor/Production Coordinator
Order Processor (Former Employee) –  Aurora, COOctober 27, 2016
Created work order for installation of carpet ,tile, and wood
Copied and Scanned work orders and diagrams
Answered incoming calls from designers, installers, and field managers
Entered work orders into an excel spreadsheet for the warranty department
Filed paperwork for houses that have been completed
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Outside Sales (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLJanuary 20, 2017
HD Supply can be a great place to work depending on where (location) and who you are working with. The other side is it can be a completely miserable job with the wrong people. They are no longer an employee friendly company now that they are publicly traded.
Pros
Home each night
Cons
Reliability of your job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont appreciate the associates with long years
Inventory Associate (Former Employee) –  Northlake, ILJanuary 25, 2017
Long hours in the summer. Not a good life balance. No bonus or good raises. Associates that miss to care for family members managers can careless. Mandatory overtime.
Pros
Breaks every 2 hours benefits ok
Cons
Managers are unprofessional
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sipmle straight forward place to work
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLNovember 19, 2016
Simple job though physically demanding at times. Co-workers and manager were great. Summer months were very busy dealing with the heat made it difficult at times.
Pros
Occasionally we would be provided food, easy work enviroment
Cons
Always about hitting numbers
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization!
HR Coordinator (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CANovember 22, 2016
HD Supply is a great place to work. There are several facets in the organization, allowing for advancement and growth in many directions. The managers at HD Supply have a sense of entitlement and have more of a closed door mentality than open door.
Pros
job advancement
Cons
managers
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really liked working here the pay is the only thing I didnt like
Shelf Stocker (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAFebruary 10, 2017
I loved the environment of working here the staff was nice the management was kind and we received breaks and lunch accordingly. The down fall of working here is that you have to deal with rude customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HD Supply. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 530 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3

CEO Approval

71%
Approve - Based on 98 ratings
Add your rating