HD Supply Employee Reviews in United States

Found 471 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
beautiful location
Customer Service/ Route Representative (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLJune 9, 2016
I learned how to manage a route and open accounts with new customers which later generated more sales in the future for the company.
Pros
Good co-workers
Cons
Safety Hazards
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Time sensitive
Lead of Manufacturing Operations (Current Employee) –  Marietta, GAJune 7, 2016
Very fast paced, time sensitive, lots of emails, a lot of employees to control and train and coach but overall it's ok. Management is pretty cool.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
checker/selector (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLMay 30, 2016
this job consists of hands on things as In learning about yourself and the others around you and trying to be a better worker at the same time
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At par
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 26, 2016
The company is at par with most small to mid-size company in terms of quality of leadership, quality of work / life balance, compensation, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed being a Regional HR Manager
SE Regional HR Director (Former Employee) –  SE Region, Atlanta, GAMay 21, 2016
Working with 20 different warehouse facilities, and hundreds of Drivers and Outside Sales people was very rewarding. The successful merger of Hughes Supply with HD Supply was due to caring leaders. I visited my facilities and others to solve employee relations and other problems and educate new team members about their new company. Stretching associates for their day and training them simultaneously on performance management or benefits programs and was a big hit.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a Good Experience
Driver/Delivery (Former Employee) –  Solon, OHMay 13, 2016
HD Supply was a good place to work. There were long days and short days, it evens itself out in the end. If you enjoy working hard and want to feel like your part of a team. This place is for you.

The warehouse team has been together for countless years which speaks volumes of the management in place over them.

The Area manager really cares about his employees and there are always free lunches or cookouts to keep everyone having a good time.

Transportation is in the midst of some changes and always seems to have the most turnover.
Pros
Free Lunch from time to time, ability to use PTO for year prior to earning it
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company minus customer service management!
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Marietta, GAMay 11, 2016
The employees are great but management is horrible with the exception of maybe 1 or 2 managers. Gossiping and bullying comes from the management team who talk down to the reps. If you apply shy away from customer service and go to another department with level headed individuals.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Friendships override experience when trying to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Logistics Analyst (Contractor) (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GeorgaiMay 9, 2016
Enjoy working with this company! Peaceful work environment, job location is convenient as well. Friendly work environment. A typical work day may include answering emails, phone calls, working reports, and processing invoices!
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mind Numbing Job with Arrogant and Incompetent Management
Field Area Manager (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaMay 6, 2016
I worked at HDS for three years as an Area Manager spending my days making sure I was "on the road" 10-12 hours a day trying to essentially sell dumpy apartment communities such exciting things as new toilet seats. Management is nothing but a bunch of people who used to work at Home Depot, but because now they carry an iPad and a laptop and have had a few "corporate sales training" classes that they walk on water as sales gurus. They ride you daily about how many "calls" you made that day and why XYZ Apartments isn't buying more toilet supply hoses lately, while all of your training materials tell you that you are there to "support" your customer and that your not a salesman.

Expect 6:30am conference calls and then a "just checking in to see if you needed anything" from management at 5:30 pm and watch out if the call actually goes to voice mail. They expect emails and proposals be done on the weekends and late into the evenings as well. Definitely expect to be on your own if anything goes south too. Say if an order arrives damaged or incorrect , the alphabet soup of departments and managers that are supposedly there to "support the field" will act as if they don't know you. Also be sure to keep ALL email and put EVERYTHING in email to CYA because trust me, you will need it!

The "incentive plan" as they call it or as most sales people know as commission is paid only once a year, so don't expect to live on anything but your meager salary despite the lofty promises they make in recruitment. Also, HDS is very skilled at having layoffs and reorganizations magically just
  more... days before the qualifying date for the "bonus" so don't be surprised if you have an "urgent conference call with management" just days before you expect to receive your bonus. I know of too numerous to count employees that this happened to.

Bottom line if you are despirate, and are ok with long hours for low pay and lousy benefits (despite the thousands of dollars HDS wastes on fancy literature you are bombarded with almost daily that falsely boast of great benefits) work at HD Supply, but trust me, keep looking and RUN at the first opportunity because If you stick around very long at HDS you will be stabbed in the back!
  less
Pros
Technology toys provided
Cons
Management, Comp Plan, Expectations, Culture
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive. Staff as well as management were nice
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLMay 6, 2016
nice place to work. typical consisted of arriving at work, loading your truck and re-routing if necessary. Get on the road and deliver your product in your assigned route. working at HD Supply did give me a lot of insight on the multi-unit complexes, and how they operate as far as upkeep of the apartments. Also learning about HD Supply itself. HD Supply is a good company, The hardest part of the job is in the morning when you are loading your truck. Knowing the customer base, and knowing where and when to re-route. As for the job itself, it was all enjoyable. Being on the road gives you a feeling of owning your own business.
Pros
good work/life balance
Cons
customer service from drivers could be much better, my downfall was not knowing the area as well as I was getting to
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place no fun
Warehouse Helper (Former Employee) –  Waldorf, MDMay 2, 2016
learning how to sell green products, an just a good welcome that i really liked i did not like how i was always rushed at all an my pay wasnt good.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was good place to work
Route Driver (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLApril 29, 2016
I was the new guy I was the to go perform routine inspection of vehicles and supplies to ensure safety Delivery to homes and businesses customer service lloaded and unloaded Delivery to apartment sites
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, Energetic, Team Orientated, Great Benefits
Warehouse Associate Lead (Former Employee) –  Earth City, MOApril 27, 2016
Very Lively with some great people. Basic warehouse functions performed along with customer service relations and Maintenance.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Area Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLApril 27, 2016
Enjoyed working with Branch and Middle management to insure that policies and procedures were being followed. Also enjoyed updating ERP system.
Pros
Great family atmosphere.
Cons
Reduction in force
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HD Supply has been a great company with many excellent benifits
Level II Helpdesk Analyst (Current Employee) –  Thomasville, GAApril 26, 2016
The only reason I am leaving the company is that my wife has a job in another state and the company cannot accommodate me with a remote position. The company has been a pleasure to work for and the people are second to none.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good place to work
warehouse & delivery driver (Former Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLApril 25, 2016
I loved working at hd supply as delivery driver and warehouse worker. When i got to work in the morning i would load my truck for deliveries for the day. When i got back from deliveries i would pull orders for the next days deliveries and stock shelves.
There was no hard part of the job,it was all very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DON'T do it.
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Lakeland, FLApril 18, 2016
If you don't like spending time with your family throughout the week, working LONG hours/not getting a set time when you're get off and no advancement in a job unless someone in a department you're looking to transfer in...then this job is for you...
Pros
LOL, what pros?
Cons
Everything. I mean EVERYTHING...
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started out a fun, productive company to work for.
Accounts Receivable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXApril 16, 2016
Was a FABULOUS place to work for the first year, but after it was purchased by a new parent company there was LOTS of in-fighting between old company and new company.
Had a great profit sharing program in the beginning.
Pros
Profit sharing
Cons
Lots of turmoil.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Flower Mound, TXApril 14, 2016
I got a chance to learn new things. It was actually a good work environment until new management, then it became hostile. I wish it could have been more growth for me available there.
Cons
new manager
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Technician (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOApril 12, 2016
The job pays well, has benefits, and lunches are paid for; unfortunately that is all the good news I have and the rest is just bad.

The work is monotonous; tedious, repetitive, dull, and outside in the elements. The work would be tolerable if it wasn't for management. Management is weak failing to take control when it needs to. Things seem to be completely backward; employees who work hard are critically evaluated and discouraged while those who need to be fired aren't corrected or let go.

This makes for a poor and discouraging work environment.
Pros
good pay, benefits, free lunches
Cons
monotonous work, weak management, poor work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 479 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3