HD Supply Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lacks Managment
Product Specialist / Sourcing Agent (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 16, 2017
HD Supply was an okay place to work. There were not many opportunities to move up within the company. They track everything you do. How many phone calls you take and how many emails you do.
Pros
Good place to start
Cons
Lots
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warehouse associates
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLAugust 16, 2017
Hd supply was a good company my job duties there were loading and unloading trucks and operating cherry picker and warehouse stocking with scanner gun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Job but the management suck
Reach Truck Operator (Current Employee) –  Flower Mound, TXAugust 12, 2017
A typical day at work is very hot in the summer and cold in the winter the place has no a/c or heat i learned a lot about sap and receiving management lie a lot and try to make you feel like you have to work hard in order for you to keep your job the hardest part of the job is when they constantly firing DC managers and then you get someone who know nothing about working in a warehouse and they come in messing up everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Senior Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 11, 2017
Great managers, work life balance, above average compensation in some areas, benefits are a little pricey. Things are a little uncertain right now due to the sale of Waterworks division (which I supported) and stock price dropping in large part due to this.
Pros
Great people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room is advance
Inside Sales (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAAugust 10, 2017
Good entry level jobs. Not much room to advance. There are many tenured employees that aren't going anywhere. Work/ life balance was not good either. I hope the compensation has improved as well compared to other company's in the same industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
SAP BI/BODS Consultant (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 10, 2017
This company is very generous with the balance between work and home life. Typical day is busy and there is a lot to learn about the industry so it is what you make it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where do i begin
Fabricator (Former Employee) –  Marietta, GAAugust 10, 2017
The management is horrible i worked here almost a year before being terminated.the people who really go beyond gets no appreciation from hr to management its all bad and they stick together to ensure they covered right or wrong.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Marietta, GAAugust 9, 2017
Productive work environment with open area with pool table, ping pong table and a few other games, quite room, a non stressful work place. I enjoy the early start time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Excellent Learning Experience
Administrative Coordinator (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOAugust 9, 2017
Typical days are fast-paced, from start to end. This is the true meaning of a team orientated environment; accordingly, outstanding leadership is always appreciated. There are so many key takeaways from my experience with HD Supply, and my favorite saying is: "Always Take The High Road."
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short Term assignment
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 9, 2017
Seems some business folks are resistant to certain process improvements or change to system configurations to support streamlined and/or more efficient processes... even when management is looking for improvements.
Pros
management attempt to make improvements
Cons
user resistance to change
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work!
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOAugust 9, 2017
nice people to work with. management of its own words. i enjoyed the time i worked for this company. but i had ti quit cause of a health problem i had back than. other wise i would be still there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too political...
Inventory Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 9, 2017
This is an excellent place to work with plenty of room for advancement if you know the right people within the company. I enjoyed everything about the company and the work. The biggest disappointment was that it seemed that my work and contributions to the company were going unnoticed due to preferential treatment to certain employees. Other than this it is a great company to work for. 5 stars!
Pros
paid vacation, sick time, benefits flexible when asking for time off for emergencies.
Cons
too political.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Personal and administrative assistant (Former Employee) –  Marietta, GA 30062August 9, 2017
Pretty boring and you have a lot of requirements. You come in and punch in, cant really talk to anyone cause of back to back calls every day. People are rude and you have to meet 15 tasks on every call as far as verification and you have to try and push at least 2 promotional sales per call or you fail.
Pros
They try to have events for fun
Cons
short breaks, long hours of sitting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production Driven
LEAD RECEIVING ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Calera, ALAugust 8, 2017
This is fast pace work environment with a receiving and shipping department. You can earn Spirit Awards and JSA's for excellent work.You have to meet productivity numbers on daily bases. The company does not award you for meeting productive or going beyond it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a number
Senior Designer/Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Marietta, GAAugust 8, 2017
Unless you like working as a number, being treated as a number and never seeing the numbers in your bank account increase I would suggest looking elsewhere! This company only rewards brown-nosers. Managers are salaried and sometimes work over 60 hrs a week with no additional compensation. It is hands down the worst company I ever worked for. They constantly tout their market share, and their Billions in profit, and then share this profit with their employees by NOT sharing it with those that made it for them! It is a culture of "do better, do more" with absolutely ZERO reward for going above and beyond.
Pros
able to pick your own work schedule
Cons
get looked down on for picking your own work schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic Warehouse Job
Warehouse Associate, Fabricator (Former Employee) –  City Industry, CAAugust 7, 2017
Doesn't actually pay as much as other places with equal labor requirements. Management seems to have fake personalities, and by the time you're promoted you'll be retiring.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture has changed.
Field Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAAugust 1, 2017
HD supply, since going public, has become an entirely different animal. The culture is one that is on guard and working scared at the local levels within sales.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity.
Service Desk Sales (Former Employee) –  Inglewood, CAJuly 31, 2017
All managers are knowledgeable and willing to train employees. Management is flexible, patient, yet goal oriented. Inglewood branch has a great support system. Quarterly meetings are created for branch performance reviews, and include employee incentives(food is provided). ROOM FOR GROWTH! I seen several people move up the latter!! (Self Included) Service desk is demanding yet rewarding. Worked with homeowners to contractors to investors. Gained indispensable knowledge, experience, and connections.
Pros
Management Support. Worked with variety of contractors.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work just have to do more pandering than needed
Facilities maintenance Assistant manager Contract (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 31, 2017
I will say the company was and to me still is a great place for employment, unfortunately it is the sister company you go through to he employeed as a contractor Novitex is trash. As long as your hired on through HD supply and do your job every day you'll be fine otherwise be careful because sometimes rumors and personal issues can cause you problems job wise.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Lack of integrity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Web Developer Intern (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 31, 2017
I really enjoy this company, paid well and learned a lot. Great environment and lots of really smart people who work here at HD Supply. Orlando portion is the best
Pros
Pays well
Cons
hard to climb up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HD Supply. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 985 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3