Find companies:
HDIS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

HDIS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shady management, low-pay, little to no advancement, some nice co-workers
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee), Olivette, MOFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: shady management, low-pay, little to no advancement
Cons: some good co-workers, no talk-time limits, sweet customers
HDIS pays lower than any other call center in the area, by quite a margin. Others with comparable flat rates at least offer an incentives program that is attainable, not so much at HDIS. If you are perfect in every regard you can make an average wage, if you miss one part of one element of the incentives you are left with barely above minimum wage. – more... Many of the people working at HDIS are very nice, caring, and understanding people, which is how management gets away with implementing so many shady policies. Not only do they pay low and make incentives and raises difficult-to-near impossible to receive, at the time I left they were changing pay schedules and the incentive program in such a way that people were not being paid their full flat rate for hours worked. Additionally, it takes a very long time to move up past the first level of advancement, no matter how good you are. You will quickly be 'promoted' to a on-the-job trainer, but it will come with no pay raise and more responcibilty, as well as some liabilty for the preformance of the person who shadowed you when they hit the floor. After that it is very hard to move up again. Best part of the job: no call time limit. While all their other time limits are very tight, there is no talk time limit for metrics, allowing you to take a much time as you need on the phone. This is vital to making the job doable at all as all your customers are either elderly or in some way disabled, and you will often have a 45 minute call just trying to understand you customer. For the most part the customers are super nice and sweet, very few bad apples, but you should be prepared for the occasional uncomfortable call from pranking teenagers or creepers due to the nature of the products you are selling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and rewarding company
Customer Care (Current Employee), Olivette MoAugust 16, 2013
Pros: hour lunch, hours, good incentives
Cons: work load can be a little overwhelming at times, mandatory saturdays
A very busy and growing company that takes great pride in going above and beyond for the customers. The employees are rewarded well with bonuses each month with realistic goals that are met. All employees are treated with respect by management. There is very low turnover rate because most people stay. Fun company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst company - who'd they pay to get Post Dispatch rating?
Biller (Former Employee), St. Louis / OlivetteAugust 5, 2013
Cons: two-faced and liar's
The management and the Human Resources department are a joke...the pay is terrible and they rarely are honest about your skills...they act like they are so family like but they could care less for you - they are so mismanaged and that's the supervisors!! Don't get sucked in - they are the worst company!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Caring but Not For Everyone
FC (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 19, 2013
Pros: company events, morale
Cons: compensation
I havent been at HDIS long however I found a home in the amount of time I have been here. I feel comfortable and have cultivated great relationships with co-workers.

Although HDIS is "Fun" and "Caring," I do believe this place desires a special individual to be true to the company and fulfill all required tasks desired by the average customer we represent.

Compensation – more... is not at its best at HDIS; I have been in the "warehousing" industry for many years and worked for some great companies. I believe that compensation is an asset when getting a quality employee who renders quality service. Unfortunately, I have seen some great people leave because of this very thing. In essence, benefits packages are great however are not enjoyable because of very low compensation.

The culture is to die for! My first day in orientation was the reason I chose this company. Not one, a couple or a few but everyone is so helpful. I really appreciate the "family" here. If I ever part from HDIS, it will be a very sad day.

Job security is something every employee dreams of and here at HDIS, you get just that! No layoffs in history. I am very grateful for that!

Management is, in my opinion, still developing. I think this environment is very special for the service we provide and the employees who are helping us provide these services are also very special; therefore policies and skill set are constantly advancing. 26 years in business is fairly young and I think Management is doing their very best at making sure everyone feels at home.

I could not have found a better place to work being that I am also a full time student and single parent! My work life and personal life are well balanced here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BEST PLACE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!
Purchasing Coordinator (Current Employee), Olivette, MOJuly 16, 2013
Pros: amazing work environment, tons of company events, great hours...i could go on!!!
Cons: healthcare benefit costs are a little high.
I have been with HDIS almost 4 years now and I can honestly say this is one of the greatest companies I have ever worked for.

HDIS is a company that will not settle for other's standards of "good enough". We push ourselves every day to be the best and most reliable company for our customers.

I work with our suppliers on a daily basis to coordinate – more... upcoming product changes and find new products. In the last 4 years I have been promoted twice, so there is always room for advancement if you work hard. I personally feel that my managers treat me as an equal other than someone that is beneath them which makes me value and respect them even more. My co-workers are not just my co-workers, they are like family. We help each other out when help is needed and support each other when times are bad.

I’m sure those who are reading this probably think my review is cheesy but this is how I truly feel. I am honored to work for a company who is always striving for a better tomorrow for their employees and customers.

So, if you are someone who loves to make a difference in people’s lives and who is a hard worker than you should apply to HDIS! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is a joke
Changed Too Many Times (Former Employee), Olivette, MOJuly 10, 2013
Pros: coworkers, company events, hours
Cons: pay, lies from hr, pest problem
The only good thing is the culture of this place. They are very pro family but they lie to even get you in the doors! I was told I'd be starting at a higher salary than I actually was and when I confronted HR about it, I got no answers. Then to make matters worse, they outsourced my position and moved me to another position that is also being outsourced – more... which left me in limbo. Our bonus was taken away but our pay wasn't increased...this was a major selling point in my interviews so you can imagine my frustrations. I can't understand how this place got voted as one of the top places to work this year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TERRIBLE MANAGEMENT
Reimbursement Representative (Current Employee), Olivette, MOJune 30, 2013
Pros: month long paid training thats basically useless for billing
Cons: managers, scheduling not flexible at all one person off per day
At first sight, this company seems amazing during orientation, long term employees this, open door policy with managers that, one of st Louis "top companies to work for". The pay is terrible for someone with prior billing experience. The pay is very low for what your daily duties end up being. The upstairs customer service jobs may be a whole other – more... ball game but downstairs in the billing department it's a nightmare of a job. Managers are hardly ever there, micromanaging is the name of the game. The current billing supervisor doesn't seem to know anything about billing and the upper management is just as bad. Do not go here if you are looking for a good paying job with prospects of climbing up the ladder, it's who you know and not what you know that's important. There is a reason why they hire temps this place is just a paycheck while waiting for another job. Experienced billers BEWARE – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cares about customers but not employees
Medicaid Representative (Current Employee), Olivette, MOJune 27, 2013
Pros: loves customers
Cons: bad pay, poor raises, poor management
This company will give the shirt of their backs for the customers, but can care less about the employees. Management likes to crack the whip for these few little pennies they pay! Very prejudice! You have to become part of the cult in order to move up. That's way they say they like CULTure. You have to be smarter than the average bear not to fall for – more... all the frills they throw at you. Plan to get some food stamps if you want to work here, or maybe get a second job!
Oh yeah the raises are nutz, they take into consideration that they provide you with tea, water, a t-shirt, insurance, company dinner. So if you make $10/hr, they say with all that it's like you're making $17/hr! Ha..what a joke! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very informational
NPP Reimbursement Auditor (Current Employee), olivette, MOMarch 6, 2013
Pros: the information
Cons: the pay
Work is not hard but very informative, Management is not that great either the compensation for the quality and quantity of work I do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to work
Medicaid Specialist (Former Employee), Olivette, MOFebruary 19, 2013
Pros: record day
Cons: low pay
contacted doctor offices and states for documentation requirements, also was a customer care rep for a year
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place & Family orient
Medicare/Insurance Maintenance Representative (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: all the fun events the company do for their employees
Cons: no cons. great place to work!
The company cares about their customers and going above and beyond for their customers and employees.
This a family orient company.They make sure their customers & employees are happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun friendly family atmosphere
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJanuary 23, 2013
Very family oriented,get to make long lasting relationships with customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
PACKAGING & FILLER OPERATOR (Former Employee), Olivette, MODecember 4, 2012
HDIS was in your typical warehouse environment. During the summer, you had to endure extreme heat while building pallets 8 ft. high with boxes weighing 30 to 60 lbs. Workers had to fulfill a hourly quota put in place depending on which section you worked in. Management would have different events during work hours to keep worker moral up during really – more... hot summers. Working at HDIS taught me how to work through different interruptions that comes up in the workplace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family business, but you can't support a family working here
biller (Current Employee), Olivette, moOctober 20, 2012
Cons: pay
This company appears to be a great place to work on the outside, until you get in.
The negative energy that is coming from the other employees will cause you to have a bad day even if you started out having a good one. Everyone complains about how low the pay is. There are people there that don't even make $9 an hour and they tell you all about it. – more... The Billing department is a nightmare! They want you to have all this expierience to be able to sort out the chaos, and they wanna pay peanuts, and the supervisors are just running around like crazy people putting out fires all day. They focus too much on things that don't matter when they should be focused on bringing in money! Most of the billers are temps that they would never permanently, so what's the point in having them there? That company has been open 25 years, but they have a long way to go!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company to work for...
Order Selector (Former Employee), Fulfillment CenterOctober 11, 2012
Pros: flexible scheduling.
Cons: everything else.
I worked for this company for a little over a year, and I can honestly say, no one should ever waste their time trying to feed their Families here. They have the lowest starting wage of other companies for the same positions. The 1st raise you will receive will be 1%. After that, you will only receive a raise once a year during a review. The reviews – more... are rarely given in a timely manner. Everything this company does is based on a numbers system that the company will manipulate to their advantage to deny a decent raise. Cost of living, and competitive pay increases are not considered. As far as the culture, the company expects a perfect "Stepford Wives" type employee. Even if you're the best employee work-wise, they will deny advancement or raises based on personality. The management is the most disorganized of any company I've worked for before. Supervisors show up to work at least an hour and a half after the employees and will typically leave about an hour before the employees. The upper management has a completely "hands-off" approach to management. They rely solely on computer printouts to evaluate employees, rarely ever taking the time to actually observe who their best employees are. The work schedule is flexible though, with weekends off. They will work with you on scheduling. That is probably the only positive thing I can say about this company. In summary, if you're looking for a company that will take care of you the way you take care of their business, my advice is to look elsewhere. Unless you like making $9 and hour for the rest of your career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer and family oriented
Medical Biller (Current Employee), Olivette, MOApril 28, 2012
Pros: big on company culture, love to celebrate company achievements
Cons: pay is low for job, not commensurate with education or experience
This company is great for its customers. They truly value those they serve. However, from an employee perspective it isnt as good as a 25 year old company should be. Pay is very low and raises are small and not the norm. I have found that the pay is not commensurate with education or experience and instead of fixing issues they are quick to bring in – more... temp workers to bring things up to speed. However, this only means that instead of fixing the problem it happens again in a few weeks or months time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful
File Clerk (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOApril 15, 2012
I love this job. I filed paperwork.It was a very wonderful office setting,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Neat Environment.
File Clerk (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOApril 2, 2012
Able to handle things very well. It is a very nice company and many of the people are wonderful.

About HDIS

For 27 years, HDIS has been taking care of our customers’ needs in a much simpler fashion. We are unique because, unlike – Read more