Find companies:
HDR, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
74 reviews

HDR, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive environment and opportunity for growth
Engineer Intern (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLNovember 12, 2013
It was a great internship opportunity in their engineering department. Worked around engineers that were more than willing to advise on better work ethics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible expirience
Personal assistant (Former Employee), Seattle, WAOctober 28, 2013
Much different than my other job given the opportunity observe meetings and dive into a rel work load was very eye opening for me. I learned not only a lot about myself but also about the real world. The hardest part of my job was definitely dealing with all the paper work and staying on track but I also enjoyed it. I love reading and writing, especially – more... organizing. This job was very beneficial to me in many ways such as learning how to organize documents, how to read and writer faster, how to be more productive with my time and how to deal with tough readings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Educational workplace and people
Wildlife Technician (Current Employee), Valhalla, NYSeptember 25, 2013
Pros: everything
Cons: 45 min drive
I learn something new everyday. Two out on a boat all day bonding and identifying birds and observing other wildlife. Boat skills improving and learning my own methods of successfully scaring away the waterfowl. Hour lunch with interesting and joyful group of co-workers. Supervisor usually has funny or educational story to tell. a Back on boat until – more... a bit after sundown. Bundle up in colder weather. Hardest part of job is trying to find birds in the dark and chase them in the cold weather. I enjoy every second of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good job
Land Surveyor Intern (Former Employee), Lee's Summit, MOSeptember 24, 2013
Co-workers worked with me and taught me all i know, treated me with respect, and gave me confidence to complete my job. The hardest part of the job was carrying all of the equipment long distances to where we needed them, and the most enjoyable part of the job is getting a job done and seeing the results. I learned how to use all of the equipment to – more... preform the tasks necessary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional team work environment
Receptionist/Human Resource Representative (Former Employee), Boise, IDSeptember 14, 2013
Pros: a lot of community service opportunities
Cons: poor management support
Busy engineering company, I learned the many different support duties of civil engineering. The hardest part of this job was to stick to every day to do items, many interuptions. The most enjoyable part of this job was the team work efforts from my co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Downloading, printing, enabling and creating PDF’s of all controlled documentation.
Administrative Project Coordinator (Current Employee), Ann Arbor, MIAugust 14, 2013
I recieved packets and download all documentation to data base for internal and external review and send out notification. Print documenation and take packets to team members for their review. Preview all documentation going out to clients. Do all UPS and outgoing us mail.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Construction Inspector (Former Employee), Carson City, NVAugust 8, 2013
Pros: na
Cons: na
Construction Inspector of Public Works Waterline Projects for Carson City, Nevada, Public Works. Provide full-time inspection of a 3,000,000 gallon steel water tank, 16”, 24” and 30” diameter (fully restrained) waterline projects within Carson City and Douglas County, NV. This includes assisting the contractor and design engineer in construction, value – more... engineering and design of large water line projects that range from 2 miles to over 8 miles in length. In addition to overseeing construction of waterline transmission mains, assist Carson City Engineers in the development and approval of utility plans for State acceptance. This includes design and inspection of water well and arsenic treatment mitigation improvement projects – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with clients and project managers
Office Receptionist/ Word Processor (Former Employee), Springfield, ILJuly 18, 2013
Pros: the clients
Cons: advancement opportunities
I enjoyed being a liaison between the clients and project managers. The clients commented on my knowledge of the projects and specifications. The clients commented to my supervisors that they liked my friendly, positive, helpful attitude.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly work environment
Database / SAS Administrator (part-time) (Current Employee), Pearl River, NYJune 17, 2013
Pros: no peers pressure
Cons: few holidays
plenty of intranet sites that give instructions to various subjects....
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
National Engineering Firm
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLJune 6, 2013
This company was a great place to gain my technology experience. They have top programs and also equiptment that I learned to use. This also begain my starting of proposal work and website management.
The company as a whole has wonderful benefits and compensation packages. Unfortunately, due to my education in business and not engineering my advancement – more... was lack luster.
I'd recommend this company to any applicant! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for an engineering company was a learning experience.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Arlington, VAMay 13, 2013
Pros: good healthcare and outings
Cons: long weeks when there was a large proposal excepted.
Greeted all clients, answered all calls and transferred to the correct parties. Processed and delivered all mail. Tracked expenses for travel and hotel for managers and some co-workers. Learned to managed my time both at work and at home. Some co-workers were more difficult to work than others and a little hard to work with. After being there for a – more... while I feel my work proved my worth. If a proposal was excepted you may work long hours from Monday through Sunday. The company showed it gratitude by taking us to plays, taking us out to lunch, going on a picnic and some well earned time off that was not counted against your vacation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Manager (Former Employee), USA-MidwestApril 29, 2013
Pros: employee owned stock, health, medical
Cons: profit #1; clients further down list
Company is all about profit. Large company with very poor management in local offices. Managers are not very professional, they treat clients differently in person, and act totally different back in office towards clients. No employee reviews to let you no how you are doing or allow for input. Long hours with little or no recognition. Severly understaffed – more... offices requiring long hours of work; get work, then worry about who is going to do it later. Job descriptions say HDR is alcohol free...(what a joke)...not true...they like to drink, especiallythe managers (and brag about it)...alcohol is on office premises, usually in break room. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright place to work
Environmental Planner (Current Employee), Irvine, CAApril 15, 2013
Typical day consists of menial tasks at work, but great people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cares about its employees, very professional
Resident Project Rep (Current Employee), Carlsbad, NMMarch 29, 2013
Pros: benefits; appreciation of employees efforts
Cons: none that i am aware of
I have been very well treated by HDR, and would be plesed to continue with them. It depends if another construction project needing my services opens in the near future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teamwork leads to unique solutions
Project Lighting Designer (Former Employee), Lawrenceville NJMarch 27, 2013
Pros: teamwork, benefits package
Cons: was not close to public transport, did not encourage telecommuting
No private offices and open workspaces encouraged ample interaction that facilitated fast solutions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Contract employee (Former Employee), Tampa, FLMarch 13, 2013
Nothing negative to say. Employee owned and great atmosphere
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, engineer based company.
Financial Analyst (Current Employee), Bellevue, WAMarch 13, 2013
Management top down. The firm is consulting so time management is heavily pushed. A typical day for a utility's financial analyst includes data entry, forecasting of revenues and expenses for utility's, cost of service analysis, and rate design. Number of projects going at once varies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, efficient, very professional place to work.
Civil CAD Technician (Current Employee), Fort Collins, COFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: stable, close to home.
A typical day at work for me involves mostly plan production duties, and some design tasks. I have learned a lot about using ArcGIS software, and a gained much experience in erosion & sediment control planning.
The management is pleasant to work for, and very approachable.
My coworkers are the best I've ever worked with, and are always willing to share – more... knowledge and tips. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic, unfocused management, resources devoted to a few "special" projects
Project Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta GAFebruary 9, 2013
Pros: excellent compensation, a great mentor (for my position)
Cons: poor office management, under-staffed teams, lack of collaboration/cooperation
One of the most chaotic environments I have ever seen in a workplace. The office was full of incredibly talented, intelligent people who were tasked with far more work than it was possible to crank out in the time asked, and with constantly shifting priorites. The office was horribly understaffed, so management tried to use "smoke and mirrors" to cover – more... that fact up to clients. Presentations were almost always done at the last minute, staff would regularly be shifted to higher priority projects, and constancy was nowhere to be found. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and dynamic projects
Transportation Designer (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJanuary 30, 2013
HDR is a large international engineering firm. I worked with many talented individuals and on complex projects in multiple states. The local management was efficient and always had an open door.

About HDR, Inc.

HDR is a global employee-owned firm providing architecture, engineering, consulting, construction and related services through – Read more

HDR, Inc. Photos