Find companies:
Health Net Inc
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

Health Net Inc Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The BEST place to work!!
Legal/Benefits/Health Econ (Former Employee), Woodland Hills, CAAugust 16, 2014
~Excellent work atmosphere
~Superb management
~Employees never want to leave!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HealthNet
CSR1 (Former Employee), Rancho CordovaAugust 15, 2014
Handles escalated and complex customer service inquiries via phone, email and/or correspondence. Effectively communicates Health Net policies, procedures, and applicable benefits to members and/or providers who have misinterpreted, were unaware of, or are questioning a Health Net policy or decision.
Directs and monitors daily activities of the staff – more... to ensure customer service productivity and goals are met. Monitors processing, tracks and delegates work based on departmental goals, backlog and to ensure equitable distribution.Participates in the establishment and review of departmental goals and for implementing procedures and performance standards to achieve these goals. Ensures goals are communicated and met by staff. Prepares reports and documentation – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy productive call center
Bilingual Spanish Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Woodland Hills, CaJuly 29, 2014
Pros: being able to help people.
Cons: n/a
My typical day at work will consist of at least 80 to 90 calls a day. Over the 3 years I've been at Health Net, I have knowledge on insurance policies, claim processing, cpt codes, insurance eligibility, transition of care.
Management does a great job in handling the busy center.
The call center is full of diverse co-workers, some are helpful and some – more... concentrate on their job.
The hardest part of my job is when I receive a call from a parent in distress about their child's health. Having to listen to young kids suffering from horrible deceases like cancer or other life threatening illnesses, but the most enjoyable satisfying part of my job is helping them and knowing I did a little something in their case. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HealthNet has always been a pleasant place to work.
Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INJanuary 24, 2014
A typical day at work is helping out with the patients that are not feeling well and knowing that when they leave out of the clinic their day will start to get better. This has been the only company I have work for since becoming an MA, I have learned tremendous a lot and feel that I can achieve more in my life. The hardest part of the job may be knowing – more... when there is not much you can do for a patient but pray and hope that it gets better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced call center with good management direction and great team work
Customer Service Call Center (Former Employee), Rancho Cordova, CADecember 31, 2013
Pros: management would provide lunches for different occasions, my immediate supervisor would make "starbucks runs" from time to time
Cons: it was difficult to reach hr regarding associate benefit questions
A typical work day was 40-70 inbound calls, depending on the week day, from members regarding their health benefits. Calls also included Providers checking on the status of claims.
I learned a new line of business in the health insurance field.
My co-workers were great, always friendly and happy and the management team was always willing to work with – more... a team member who needed an occasional shift change.
The hardest part of the job was explaining how claims processed because sometimes the providers disagreed with their payment.
The most enjoyable part was working with the members and explaining how their insurance benefits worked and assisting them in getting the best possible medical care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job stability
Case Management Assistant (Current Employee), Rancho Cordova, CADecember 3, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: government contracts causes budgeting issues & job instability
Great M,D,F benefits and 401k match, but always worrying about the next contract in Health Net Federal Services. You always worry about not having a job every 4 years due to the government contracting. Recently, merit increases were frozen due to budgeting issues with the strict government contract guidelines. The best part about working at health net – more... is the Tuition Reimbursement program. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Claims Examiner (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 29, 2013
Very well organized and a great company to work for with advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, great introductory perspective gained into health care
Customer service rep (Former Employee), Rancho Cordova, CAOctober 26, 2013
Pros: steady work, no lay offs
Cons: busy busy busy, it gets repetitive after a while
Avergae around 50 to 120 calls per day helping people understand their benefits, but it is a call center, and it can get repetitive. Learned about government policies on state medical programs, learned about medical field and medications. Learned the ins and outs of hospital administration and insurance pricing for services. It can get rather annoying – more... dealing with the plethora of people with complaints, but every now and again you can actually make a difference in some ones life, seriously! As far as coworkers, its friendly, but everybody is work focused in cubicles but it is a steady paycheck and the provider internal training to help advance your career if you plan to grow with the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Manager (Former Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 22, 2013
Great benefits, especially education and health. Caring, family like atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work with excellent opportunities for advancement
Senior AOD Counselor (Current Employee), Concord, CAJuly 11, 2013
I love this organization. I have been here for 5 years and feel that I have grown tremendously and gained multiple skills that I did not have prior. They have developed a confidence in me and an understanding that will last at an career I chose to go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Stressful department, Great Coworkers Great Company
State Health Program-Customer Service Rep (Current Employee), Woodland Hills, CAJuly 10, 2013
A typical day at the office was like no other I have ever experienced in my 14 year professional career. The trainees and coworkers were fun to work with. The benefits and company programs were exceptional. The working environment was very nice. The campus was beautiful, however Management was very hard on the department and micromanaged everyone. Highly – more... stressful and nerve wrecking when showing compassionate to our members which most of them were either SPD senior persons disabled or were going through Chemo and radiation and getting warned or threatened of being written up because you would spend too much time explaining and educating our members. Management expected everyone to show less compassion and move on to the next call. That was the hardest part of the job for me, cause I am very compassionate individual. The most enjoyable part of the job was having the opportunity to make a difference in someones life with every incoming call. I am grateful and appreciative for what I learned and how much I grew. I feel now I have so much knowledge of the medical and insurance industry, I feel confident and I believe my ability to understand and then interpret the needs can be a significant benefit for any organization – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful services offered along with many areas for employees to conversate
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Rancho Cordova, CAJune 6, 2013
Pros: different lunch rooms and break areas
A typical day at work included assisting a variety of clients in English or Spanish. I learned to perfect my knowledge of HIPAA standards and communicating with others. The hardest part of the job could be considered not giving misleading information based on all the different services being offered.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Health Promotion Consultant (Former Employee), Rancho Cordova, CAApril 11, 2013
Health Net was a fun place to work, but overall was not for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Customer Service Representative III (Former Employee), Rancho Cordova, CAApril 2, 2013
Pros: health net really does care about it employees.
Cons: staff can sometimes play favorites.
Health Net a typical day was always a learning curve. This was good for me because it made me the strong person that I am today in this job market. With the knowledge and the growth and development from Health Net it has made me competitive. Health Net trains it employees very well and encourage growth. The pay was great and benefits are awesome. The – more... best thing I like about Health Net it is a company you can trust. I would still be with this employer only thing is I needed to relocate. Wish Health Net had jobs to where I moved because I would most definately apply! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Each department is an entity to itself.
Data Support Specialist II (Former Employee), Oakland, CAJanuary 25, 2013
Pros: felx work hours
Cons: they dont monitor it like they should and some get away with working less.
There is not a lot of cross training in this company and each department looks out for itself. Having said that I want to stae that like all companies there are good and bad things here. The good is once you get the contacts in the other departments they are always willing to help you. The bad is getting those contacts in the beging. Not a lot of training – more... in begining. Recieved training after Im already figured out system. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the people I worked with
Member Service Representative (Former Employee), Pasadena, CAJanuary 24, 2013
I have to say that the most enjoyable part of this job was the people you work with, so loving and kind.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast moving company,mostly working independly
COLLECTIONS REP (Former Employee), New Haven, CTNovember 20, 2012
Contact with providers in reference to over payments corrections of claims,appeals, posting of payments, spread sheets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Health net Inc
Claims Examiner (Former Employee), Woodland Hills, CAAugust 20, 2012
Pros: received bonuses and raises on time
Cons: sometime mandatory wkend work, but even that turned out fun....
I enjoyed working at Health net & the superivor's where very understanding, helpful, almost like mentor's. Job security was on point. I was taught to do claims, reper's and appeals, time went by fast due to the work load, and i enjoyed every minute of my Job Position...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for and wonderful benefits
TRICARE SERVICE ADVOCATE (Former Employee), Chicopee, MAAugust 15, 2012
Pros: yearly bonus, great health insurance coverage, good peer rapport, great management, yearly employee recognition
Cons: travel on the weekends
A typical day at work included face to face interaction with customers, enrolling them into their selected health insurance plan, answered all customer inquiries in clear, concise, and timely manner. I learned the companies computer systems, customer enrollment process for health coverage and the different health insurance plans offered by the government. – more... I also used power point and lotus notes frequently. My co-workers were absolutely wonderful, especially my supervisor. Management was really good and family oriented. The hardest part of my job was making sure enrollment forms were processed correctly and timely. The most enjoyable part of my job was working with my co-workers, meeting new people, and working with US military personnel. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great employer to work for
Sales Assistant III (Former Employee), Rancho Cordova, CAJune 14, 2012
Pros: free lunches, and company picnic to engage in fun outside of the workplace
fast moving and challenging you in all areas. must have the ability to adapt to quick changes, and put out all types of fires. Priotization is key when working in a inside sales team position. Co-workers were cross trained to help each other out in a pinch or to just cover someone's role if he/she was out of the office for business or personal reasons. – more... The ability to look back on each day and know that you have helped a member/subscriber navigate through the challenges of determing their healthcare benefits. – less