Find companies:
Health Plan Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21 reviews

Health Plan Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware
IT (Current Employee), TampaMay 28, 2014
Pros: flex time
Cons: high employee turnover, outdated technology, poor management
To echo what another reviewer stated, your IT career will end here. The technology is very old...ancient. There is no chance for advancement, or to learn or work with newer technology. Many overtime hours, while the pay rate is far below the standard for the industry. The employee turnover rate is extremely high, especially in IT. The highest I have – more... seen at a company in my career. They are steadily increasing the outsourcing. There is no job security. Management at all levels is inept. Most peers are friendly and helpful, but the stress over job security is obvious, and has increased greatly the past couple of years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Growing
Customer Care Associate (Former Employee), Tampa, FLMay 19, 2014
A typical day at work was very busy and productive
I learned about health insurance and the billing potion
Management was great and very helpful with solving issues at hand
My co workers were great everyone got along and communicated together to achieve one goal and that's the customer
The hardest part about the job was when i was not able to help the – more... customer
The most enjoyable part of the job was resolving the customer issues and hearing them smile – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced productive work environment
Customer Retention Representative (Former Employee), Tampa, FLApril 30, 2014
Pros: company promotions like ice cream socials
Cons: temp job
Great job, answered customer inquisitions, helped customers choose plans that fit their needs.
Annual HIPPA training
Great supportive management team
Wonderful supportive co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor work life balance
Senior QA Analyst\EDI SME (Former Employee), Tampa, FLApril 10, 2014
HPS has a very poor work life balance often working 12-20 hours a day and 6-7 days a weeks for months on end. Frequent mass layoffs. The leadership team does not appreciate the staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Analyst / Salesforce Administrator (Current Employee), Tampa, FlApril 3, 2014
This is a great place to work and build quality experience! :-)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace, professional atmosphere, great benefits
customer service representative (Former Employee), Tampa, FlFebruary 22, 2014
Pros: medical, dental, optical ins., schedule options, plenty of over time available
Cons: short breaks
i loved working for HPS, the fast pace work makes your day fast and enjoyable. The benefits the company provides are great for the employees. Management is professional and very helpful. It was a great company to work for in every way. The hardest part of the job was sometimes the customers were not informed of the cost and payment process but the training – more... and Team Lead assistance provided all the information to assist the customers to be efficient and professional at your duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic, friendly workplace
Temporary Underwriter and Scrubber (Former Employee), Tampa, FLFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: freedom to work that maximized my skillset with little supervision
Cons: temporary assignment
Even though this was a temporary assignment provided by a staffing agency, it was a fun and productive work environment that cared about their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid Back Workplace but Management Issues.
Customer Care Agent (Current Employee), Tampa, FLJanuary 16, 2014
My day at work consist of handling incoming enrollment, premiere producer, escalated, or clear line calls while maintaining an QA of at least 95% each month. Everyday there is something new, always prepared for a change throughout the week. My management team are semi useful, I respect the leadership position but favortism is a major factor within this – more... place of employment. The hardest part of the job is not knowing what's going to happen next because there are too many inconsistities and system issues (phones, multiple systems, payment automated system, Outlook, product changes) which affects us as an employee and cause customers to become irate. I enjoy seeing my co-workers and being able to assist a customer and know that I delivered world class customer service per customer. But the favortism within the management team prevents reps such as myself from promoting when you qualify more than the representative the position is secretly appointed to prior to the position posting internally/externally. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging high stress projects
Solutions Analyst (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJanuary 6, 2014
most work is performed in silos. High turn over rate in employees.

I liked the fact that I was exposed directly to the carriers (my clients).

Learned a tremendous amount of information about health care and the new Obamacare.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
CUSTOMER SERVICE REP (Former Employee), Tampa, FLOctober 26, 2013
Pros: good pay benefits and managment
Cons: the type of calls
call center for insurance billing . I answered high volume calls for high risk patients that were very sick and was not able to get decent insurance. Their deductibles were so high the insurance did not pay anything till the 10,000 or 20,000 and some even higher deductible was paid first . I have to explain to the patient why their bill is so high. – more... Every call that came in was as irate. That was hard to hear day after day and you felt to bad for them. Having good management made it tolerable . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Health Plan Services is providing services to the Various Health care sectors like Cigna, Coventry, Blue Cross in providing the services
Sr. Message Broker Developer (Current Employee), Tampa, FLSeptember 12, 2013
Health Plan Services is providing services to the Various Health care sectors like Cigna, Coventry, Blue Cross in providing the Quoting, Enrollment services. This project is aimed at building Go-To-Exchange project for implementing the Health care law for providing Exchanges as well as Enrollment and payment support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No job security poor management
Programmer analyst (Former Employee), TampaSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: flex hours
Cons: absolutely no job security
I accepted a position in their IT department and was told this was a permanent position with career growth. Was laid off 4 months later told the company was downsizing. So much for career growth
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the people and the atmosphere but job security was not evident from permanent employees comments
Senior QA Tester (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 23, 2013
Pros: friendly attitude
Cons: lack of job security
I would like to show HPS what my full capabilities are and do not believe this was conveyed in my initial presentation by the recruiting firm representing me at the time. I was no allowed to provide any additional data to support my skills set. If allowed, I would provide details of my work experience and knowledge that I believe the Company could use. – more... I think I could bring to the table a lot of missing things which would benefit the success in the projects which are being worked. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away....
no title provided (Former Employee), NY NYJanuary 17, 2013
Pros: some friendly folks
Cons: listed above
Was offered 12 month contact at this co, turned down another sure perm job out of town, was on job every day, never late, performance excellent-employee compliments, work error-free, worked 2 months and couple weeks and was told budget ended even though lots of work to do. Another contract employee who is still on board bills for time without show of – more... work and still retained on job. Management wastes time by loud conversations which carry through the entire department. Employees are called into management offices and without any privacy reamed up and down for their questions about the work assigned. They do not offer training. There is an online doc which lists different processes but nothing other than that. The main issues are antique systems, lack of direction, no training and no open door policy. With clean up of current management situation could be improved and productivity enhanced. It will never happen because this is a buddy system workplace. You are either in or out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Handle calls and benefits of Insurance plan
Customer Service (Former Employee), Tampa, FLDecember 28, 2012
Very exciting because each phone call was different. The company benefits were average and work hours were great Monday thru Friday days with no weekends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Way behind in technology
Programmer\Analyst (Current Employee), Tampa, FLOctober 22, 2012
Pros: some good people
Cons: no training, tunnel vision, askes for ideas all time but never listens.
On your first day you'll discover the Timesite application where you log your daily hours is 13 years old and not stable, and when it does work it's slow. There will be emails almost every day asking everyone to log off so others can use it. When you do get in to use it you will find that it can freeze on you at any time all the hours and journals you – more... just entered are lost.

Timesite is only the beginning as all their software is out of date. They do want to become a Java\PHP shop but that is only because they're free, you won't be provided with the actual tools you would need to do your job as efficiently as possibly. You will absolutely have to find a way to do it in Java..... or with batch files or one of the Microsoft Express tools (because they're free).

You won't learn a thing other than things can be worse. You'll find that out the longer you stay there. It's all management's fault as they are the ones who could have fixed all this but since they all have main frame back grounds they don't have a clue how anything should be done in a Windows environment. If any lower lever management knows better they aren't saying anything as they just want to to accomplish what upper management dictates.

The hardest part of the job is trying to do things in a manner you never thought any company would ever use. To do anything involves other teams so there's always the blame game going on and they try to get each other to do something they don't have time to do so the team with the higher manager wins. This place actually ftps itself text files! When that fails the files are finally either emailed or moved to a folder. They spend YEARS trying to outsource something that can't be outsourced. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a lot of fun to work with and lots of work to do in between!
Junior underwriter (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJune 11, 2012
Pros: a lot of fun and food day to share with co-workers
Cons: due to the many food day get overweight
verify information for the applicant, input the information into the system and process the application. Approved the applicant, register all the work done on the spreadsheets and make reports weekly and monthly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BTA Lead - Cigna Carrier
BTA TEAM LEAD (Former Employee), Tampa, FLMay 28, 2012
Pros: friendly co-workers
Cons: no training on insurance, applications to support carrier
Came on board as a BTA Lead for Insurace Carrier. There was no training on the insurance carrier and or multi applications to support this Carrier. Worked directly with Cigna who expected issues coreccted immediatley and I was in a learing mode. Requested training multi times however all were very busy and none was provided.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Care Supervisor (Former Employee), Tampa, FLMay 13, 2012
I loved working here. Great opportunity to learn and be successful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun work environment.
Medical Underwriter (Former Employee), Tampa FLNovember 19, 2011
Pros: everyone worked well as a team.
Cons: short breaks
Health Plan Service is a great place to work for. They have a lot of benefits for the employees. They also have a gym for you to workout in during your lunch for free.

LookingForABetterJob – December 1, 2012

I've been at HPS for over six years and there is NO gym. They DO NOT have a lot of benefits and it is NOT a great place to work.

About Health Plan Services

When HealthPlan Services (HPS) was founded more than 32 years ago, we offered a handful of traditional indemnity medical plans – Read more