HealthEast Care System Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely Dysfunctional
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNDecember 11, 2017
Stressful unhealthy, sink or swim environment. Managers only care about numbers "Quantity not Quality" should be the HE motto. Oh and bullying is allowed.
Pros
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New manager challenges, but great supervisor.
Patient Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNSeptember 12, 2017
Thie position I held changed protocols on a monthly basis and routinely moved employees around. Credit often wasn't given for new process improvement ideas. New management came in and was not as experienced as some of the employees that had worked there since the beginning.

I liked working with my co-workers, clinic managers, and clinical staff. I enjoyed working with the patients to better assist them with whatever their need was.
Pros
Good work spaces.
Cons
Micro management, new call center manager not experienced
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy ER
ER Crisis Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNSeptember 2, 2017
Fast going

Very challenging

Have to be very aware of the protocols

Various patients: very easy to very difficult

you made the decision on the flow of your shift
Pros
independece
Cons
some disagreements with Dr:s
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looking for new employment
Medical Laboratory Technician (ASCP) (Current Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNAugust 18, 2017
Over worked and under paid, unhappy employees. I don't like working there. I hate the commute and the fact that it is in downtown St. Paul is another very negative factor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture
Manager (Current Employee) –  Woodbury, MNJuly 26, 2017
From an operational perspective, it was hard to get tings done through shared services especially leadership in the HRBP Operations area. No return calls, emails, etc.
Pros
Partnership with senior leaders
Cons
Toxic environment in the shared service area
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits
Specialist (Current Employee) –  MinnesotaJuly 24, 2017
Very low employee engagement. Benefits-Pay are good.
Communication across organization is poor.
Struggling financially. Company is currently going through an acquisition.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patient centered care
Information Mgmt Engineer (Current Employee) –  St. Paul, MNJune 14, 2017
HealthEast is (was) a patient centered care system focused on achieving the best clinical outcomes for patients. They have a collaborative team environment.
Pros
Collaborative environment
Cons
located in St Paul
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love to challenge myself for a difficult task
Interpreter (Current Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNJune 8, 2017
My passion is to provide the best services to my clients as I would like. I like to take extra step upon my work. I am a very flexible person and willing to give extra hands.
Pros
very flexible schedule
Cons
less break
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid place to work build experience
Document Imaging Specialist (Former Employee) –  Maplewood, MNJune 4, 2017
Forward looking employer always working toward process improvements in order to secure patient information and continuity. The hardest part of job is to balance workload with time constraints.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor leadership, high expectations for employees without reward
Physical Therapist (Current Employee) –  Woodbury, MNMay 25, 2017
New Leadership five years ago has created the financial and employee dissatisfaction downward spiral. With a pending merge and uncertainty, leadership can't be trusted to make good decisions. Likely a great decision to merge with Fairview but that is the only positive. HealthEast used to be a best places to work, top hospital. Not anymore.
Pros
Merge with Fairview
Cons
25 minute appointments in outpatient PT is not patient centered.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and well organized
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNMay 16, 2017
Their values and mission is awesome they have a very strict policy and regulations! All employees are treated the same a lot of overtime and tuition reimbursement
Pros
Tuition reimbursement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Summary
Other (Current Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNMay 3, 2017
A typical work day is stressful and hectic.
What I learned: How to utilize Lean within a health care institution
Management: To many senior leaders with competing priorities
Workplace Culture: Not supportive of the Quality and Patient Safety built to ensure patient care. Very blameful and accusatory.
Hardest Part of Job: Lack of resource
Most Enjoyable Part: N/A
Pros
Great Salary and Benefits
Cons
Where to begin
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Patient Access Manager (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNApril 11, 2017
Forever changing environment, dedicated staff and longevity. Decent benefits, not a bad company to work for. I would go back if I had the opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job security
cash apps/refund clerk (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNApril 11, 2017
data entry
processing electronic payments/new data bases
well trained managers
healthcare processing/Medicare and insurance providers;etc
unexplained deadlines thru training process
working with coworkers
Pros
job security/room to grow
Cons
training was online apps
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are not a Nurse you do not matter.
Labor and Delivery Technician (Former Employee) –  Woodbury, MNApril 5, 2017
The orientation explains how everyone is valued and that everyone is part of the team. As medical support staff you do not feel valued or respected. As long as you show up and fill the opening, that is all that matters, you do not even have to be on time. Dangerously short staffed most days, either by sick calls or cancelled shifts.
Pros
Discount at the gift shop, easy to find, small campus, walking trails
Cons
Staffing
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changes/challenges
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  St. Paul, MNApril 2, 2017
I worked at HE for 16 years in the same position and resigned due to a move. I truly believe despite the heavy emphasis on lean (which had its positive and negative effects), the goal of the organization and staff was an excellent healthcare experience.
Pros
Benefits, caring and compassionate staff
Cons
Lean had good elements but it took the emphasis off of quality and patient experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sad
Varied (Former Employee) –  VariedMarch 26, 2017
This company used to be great. They cared about employees who then cared about the patients.
Huge changes were made at the executive/director levels in 2014/2015. The changes they made at the clinic level were terrible. So much turnover and cost. The people staying were the ones that needed to leave. Many great physicians left. This was a company I thought I could retire from. After 7 years I had to leave. HR changes- the people they brought on were a joke. No compassion/empathy for employees (if they got back to you). The morale was terrible. My family still sees whats left of the good physicians that are still there. When I go in I can tell nothing has changed and the environment that people work in has not improved. Very sad.
Pros
Prior to 2015 loved it!
Cons
Putting the wrong people in leadership roles
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee centered
Certified Medical Assistant/Lab Lead (Current Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNFebruary 21, 2017
At HealthEast they care about you as the employee. They have established value based improvement and idea cards so the employee feels like they have a say in how their work is conducted.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'd give zero if it were an option
Nurse (Current Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNJanuary 31, 2017
They are extremely rude to the patients, especially the homeless and minorities.
The are "clicky" and are not helpful at all to the new staff.
They do anything they can to keep minorities from keeping their jobs. I watched them get rid of quite a few people of color that were extremely good workers.

Don't apply here, you can do better.
Pros
The patients are wonderful
Cons
The people working there are terrible people
Was this review helpful?Yes 25NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard place to work. Job is threatened daily by supervisor. Lack of communication.
Customer Service Phone Representative (Former Employee) –  St. Paul, MNJanuary 7, 2017
I liked my co-workers for the most part. It was hard not getting along with my supervisor. I felt she challenged me on purpose. I didn't feel comfortable in the work place. I also disliked going into work l. It made it difficult to be there or even motivated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 7Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HealthEast Care System. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.5
Based on 147 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.3
Compensation/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.2
Management
2.1
Culture
2.3