HealthFitness Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 21 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Health Advisor (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNNovember 16, 2015
Management is very interactive and supporting, better compensation would be nice. The job itself is a little repetitive, it would be nice to change it up and have projects and tasks to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment for the out going professional.
Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Sparks, MDSeptember 27, 2015
HealthFitness values work life balance, provides opportunities to foster personal growth and commends self starters who want to work hard. They provide ample time off, however, the salary is low and the hours are difficult.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Executive (Former Employee) –  IllinoisFebruary 12, 2016
HealthFitness is a great place to work if you are looking for a "start up" culture. The management team is eager to be a market leader and they are using competitive analysis and some new delivery/partnership strategies to get there.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot about corporate fitness in my time here
Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Covington, KYDecember 12, 2015
Management, co-workers and clients were great to work with. If this facility had not closed, I would probably still be working there.
Pros
co-workers and hours
Cons
moved facility to a less desirable location
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized
benefits advocate (Current Employee) –  greenville, scNovember 5, 2014
A typical day as a benefits advocate consists of constantly running back and forth to different sites. Client does not understand the time is not utilized efficiently. Work/life balance is not recognized. Management can be supportive but the need is to cater to the client instead of workforce. Can lead to frustration, exhaustion, and lack of trust for leadership.
Was this review helpful?Yes23No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and rewarding career in wellness industry
On-Call Health Screener (Current Employee) –  Olathe, KSMarch 17, 2014
Travel from business to business and perform health screenings for employees.

Screenings include:
Glucose/Cholesterol check
Height/Weight/Waist Circumference/ BMI measurements
Blood Pressure
Result Consultations

The most enjoyable and rewarding part of the job is the chance to enlighten people about their health status and possibly ignite a change for the better and help them starting living a healthier lifestyle.
Pros
rewarding work, able to work with a diverse population
Cons
on-call position with no guaranteed hours, no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes37No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is very helpful to the clients as the health education provided is catered to the clients specific needs.
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNNovember 18, 2015
This company is one of the most elite in all the country that provides Biometric Screenings to companies in the United States. This is an excellent company to work for.
Pros
Excellent work environment, pay is good.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes8No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for an Intern
Health Fitness Specialist (Former Employee) –  Skaneateles Falls, New YorkMarch 29, 2012
HealthFitness offers a great work environment to learn new skills, develop current skills. The work/life balance is great because you're working in a health field.
Pros
lunch breaks, professional development opportunities, free uniforms
Cons
slow advancement, no benefits for part-time employees
Was this review helpful?Yes34No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Previous Benefit Advocate
Benefits Adovcate (Former Employee) –  Greenville, SCDecember 9, 2014
Moral is very low within the team. Most of the team feels very burnt out from being over worked and underpaid. There is no "real" professional on-boarding process. A learn as you go a long the way type of structure. Which ultimately leaves you feeling lost and confused from the beginning.

There is a lot of traveling back & forth between different sites. Handling a plethora of issues for employees.

Business is handled remotely via phone and email. You don't have the ability to walk to someone's office and get something handled. Once you place the call or send the email your in a "waiting period" until the individual you have communicated with responds to you. Which can leave you "high and dry" because of the pressing issues that need to be resolved.

The manager does not provide clear direction on how to handle things because most of the time she does not know. The main concern is satisfying the client. While the people on the front end (benefit advocates) are left feeling unappreciated and over worked.

The benefits offered by the company is another con about this position. One of your primary job duties is to educate and help employees navigate their awesome benefits plan. While your benefits package is one of the worst.
Pros
the employees really need help with serious matters, if you are dedicated to helping people, you will enjoy the relationships you build.
Cons
morale is low, over worked, under paid, no support from mangement, processes constantly change, cant trust management, too many conf calls.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not all about the numbers but how you personally grow and develop
Condition Management Nurse Coach (Current Employee) –  IL,MNAugust 28, 2015
Management is transparent, consistent and fair. Much attention is given to providing support and team building. Training for the tasks is a high priority for management.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Health Fitness Professional (Current Employee) –  Bridgewater, NJSeptember 23, 2014
Great place to work, low salary. Love the job but dont make enough to live.
Was this review helpful?Yes29No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co Workers/ Poor Mangement
Worksite Screening Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJune 4, 2015
As a work from home employee it was hard to connect with teammates and management on a regular basis.
The company is going through much change currently and all teams are not up to speed which makes job duties more challenging.
Co Workers are amazing and dedicated to the job and changing lives of the clients we work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful coworkers & members!
Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Waukesha, WIJanuary 2, 2015
I was an employee of HealthFitness doing corporate wellness for GE Healthcare. I instructed group exercise classes, did personal training, fitness testing/assessments, incentive programming and managerial/desk work. I worked with a small group of staff members (only 4 at my location, 10 overall) and we got along like family. Everyone was within the same age group as well. We had a large variety of members, including GE Interns up to GE Retirees. A large variety of ethnic backgrounds as well.
The hardest part of my job was (at times) the work load - I wish it was heavier! I'm a go-getter, so maybe more work/projects would have been beneficial for me.
The best part - the members. They came to the fitness center to get away for a break from their workload. They've expressed it multiple times as to why they enjoyed coming to us.
Pros
flexible schedule, fun staff, fun members, relaxed atmosphere
Cons
short breaks, weekend hours
Was this review helpful?Yes15No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable atmosphere to promote health and wellness
Internship (Current Employee) –  Plano, TXOctober 20, 2014
Typical day: teaching class, conducting fitness assessments, front desk operations, answering fitness related questions

What I learned: management skills, conducting seminars, writing exercise programs

Management/co-workers: great to work with while getting to learn the business side

Hardest part of the job: initially getting people motivated to change their lifestyle

Most enjoyable: seeing results in clients
Pros
great co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes15No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair but unsteady job
On Call Fitness Associate and Intern (Former Employee) –  Littleton, COJanuary 6, 2015
Worked with great people but the pay was fairly low and the hours didn't come very often. Most of my time was spent as an unpaid intern working more than 40 hours a week. Every once in a while I would be able to get paid for a shift but not very often.
Cons
hardly any time for a break or lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part Time Excellent Organization
RN Staff Nurse,Part Time Bio Assessment (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNJanuary 25, 2015
Still enjoy woking health assessment events with this company.Just not enough screening events available
Pros
excellent clinical leads
Cons
very busy, few breaks often 9-10 hr days
Was this review helpful?Yes19No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Bad
Customer Service III (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 18, 2014
It was just ok working here i worked very hard here. I was happy i was able to be on my own and able to do my own things.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contractor
Yoga Instructor (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNApril 23, 2014
I've been a contractor for this company for nearly a year, and have enjoyed all the people I work with and for.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun a laid back environment
Data management, customer service rep, making sure (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TexasJanuary 2, 2014
Health fitness has given me the opportunity to grow as a professional
Was this review helpful?Yes15No16
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Health Fitness Assistant (On-Call) (Current Employee) –  Kettering, OHApril 22, 2014
Work in a corporate wellness setting. Fun and exciting place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No11

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 21 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0