Find companies:
HealthSouth Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
108 reviews

HealthSouth Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Medical Assisting Extern (Former Employee), Montgomery, ALMarch 21, 2014
Pros: getting a hands on experience in the medical field
Cons: not getting the job.
When I did my extern at HealthaSouth I was very excited because I enjoyed what I was doing and the information that was being introduced was not hard to understand. A typical day at work was making my first rounds and letting the patients know that i was there and to let me know if they needed anything. Also checking on the supplies that i also will – more... need in order to help the patients. The hardest part of the job was waking the patients up out of their sleep to take their vital signs. Because I knew that they wanted to sleep from a long day. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know the patients, talking with them and asking if there anything I can do to help them while I was there. The people that i worked with made sure that I knew the information and the proper way to do the tasks that I was assigned. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teamwork
Rehabilitation Technician (Current Employee), Midland, TXMarch 19, 2014
Everyone helps each other and its more like a family than work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small and family like office
PBX Operator, Accounts Payable Clerk, Receptionist (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXMarch 18, 2014
Pros: friendly co-workers
Cons: it took five years for a one dollar raise.
Nice place but the company had some problems at the time. I was given the opportunity to stay there by learning different positions and then training my replacements. My bosses were very supportive when I decided to change jobs even though they did get me my dollar raise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great summer part time job
Indexer (Former Employee), Decatur, GAMarch 16, 2014
Pros: great income
Cons: are-non
Great work with them for the summer and gain skill in indexing. Great skill for my resume.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALMarch 11, 2014
This review is from the early years when the atmosphere was bad. I think the current HealthSouth is ok.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting point to my career
Head Athletic Trainer (Former Employee), South Berwick, MEMarch 3, 2014
Pros: great opportunity to learn new things and lots of locations
Cons: low pay
Clinic outreach environment for athletic trainers. I learned a lot of hands on skills, as well as how the Physical therapy environment worked. Management varied to Excellent, to the worst boss I have ever had in my whole career to this point. My co-workers were outstanding. Hardest part of my job was having a difficult boss. I loved working at the clinic – more... as well as the local high schoo. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nurses run away
RN (Former Employee), Petersburg, VAMarch 1, 2014
Cons: honestly everything
This place is absolutely horrible. Nurses take on patient loads of 9 and 10 patients on a regular basis with no support. There are hardly ever techs working to help and then management expects you to perform like you have a load of 5. They constantly hound the few nurses who are left working and don't care about your life or what you have going on. – more... Beware they will lie to you and say you work every third weekend but reserve the rights to bend the rules to make you work as many as they wish. All you do is toilet clients, they want you to take care of your 10 patients and then answer other nurses call lights. Please, please, please!!!!!! Save yourself. They have limited staff now and other nurses are currently looking for another job! Save yourself the upset stomach. Do not come to work in this place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
under new management
Registered Nurse (RN) (Current Employee), st. louis, MOFebruary 25, 2014
presently hired new leaders and I think once again this will become a great place to work and grow at a professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place to work in the begining
Van Driver (Former Employee), Altoona, PAFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: good people to work with
Cons: mangement that operates from another state who does not care about their employees
Driving patients to rehab appointments. Learned the stories of different people and the problems they had to deal with. Mangement does not care about employees or who they put out of a job.Co Workers were the best HealthSouth could ask for 'The Back bone of the company without them HealthSouth would be nothing.Putting up with state and federal regs – more... that cut funding to programs that support jobs in the areas that cost people their jobs while the politations live high on the hog. The enjoyable part of the job was my coworkers and the patients I came in contact with day to day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough place to work
Rehabilitation Technician (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZFebruary 4, 2014
Does not care about workers needs. Care about money and let you know thats all they care about non appreciative of workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
CNA (Former Employee), Vineland, NJJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: busy and learned alot
Cons: sometimes not great at working together as a team
I learned a lot about helping others that had surgeries and needed therapy for a few weeks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
chef/lead cook (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: meeting and working with pro people
Cons: n/a
thankyou great,
I was able to bring ideas to company and was valued as a person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthcare
Admissions Director/Liaison (Current Employee), Erie, PAJanuary 8, 2014
I have lost my faith in our healthcare system and no longer feel comfortable marketing for and industry i no longer believe in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great family of coworkers
Floor nurse (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJanuary 6, 2014
Though the pay could have been better, I could not have met better people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved everything about it
LPN Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Brooksville, FLJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: you knew your patients.
Cons: i can't think of any
WE had the same patients for 4 weeks in a row. We worked 12 hr shifts, we had the same routine. I loved seeing the patients improve from day to day. Some times it was like a miracle. The hardest part of the job, were the ones with no improvement and did not make it.
Again I worked very well with my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff to Patient Ratio is Horrible
FT-RESPIRATORY THERAPIST (Former Employee), Arlington, TXDecember 30, 2013
Pros: not too stressful
Cons: staffing
Staff is very friendly and helpful.
It's floor therapy & pulmonary rehab.
No ventilators
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co workers created wonderful working atmosphere
Physical therapy student (Former Employee), Largo, FLDecember 30, 2013
Enjoyed my experience. Largo Healthsouth was a productive and enjoyable work atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CEO Ethics Are Awful, Its Like They Hire You Just To Fire You
nurse liaison (Former Employee), Alexandria, LADecember 18, 2013
Pros: excellent pay with bonus structure
Cons: completely unstable work environment, drama from ceo directly
This was the worst job I've ever had. The pay was nice, and my director was very intelligent and interested in seeing me succeed... However, she had difficulty working with me because our CEO contradicted everything she had to say. He would even call me into his office to offer "constructive criticism" without her present. He seemed to get excited to – more... find reasons to let people go, hospital wide, and had very questionable personal life problems that he brought into the workplace regularly. No one at corporate seems to notice or care about the very high turnover rate, and it seems like he intimidates his directors to do what he says, or else THEY are afraid of the consequences they will have to suffer from him if they do not. In just under a year, I've seen so many people get fired or quit, it is astounding. If you are looking for a stable work environment, this job is NOT for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management & Lack of CEO Ethics
Confidential (middle mgmt) (Current Employee), TexasNovember 28, 2013
Pros: food is great
Cons: lack of leadership, ethics & general moral principles.
The lack of ethics, poor leadership skills & deception from the CEO are essential reasons not to work here. Staffing ratios are high, complaints are ignored & there'sway too much to do in an average day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE PLACE TO WORK!!!!!!! Run away!!!!!!!!
LVN (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXNovember 26, 2013
Pros: some of the nurses are great
Cons: patient to staff ratio, patients too acute for rehab, paperwork, lazy cnas
I hated working here. I just needed medical skills so after 5 months I switched to PRN and worked 4 days a month and still couldn't stand it! I had an awesome team and that is what made it hard to leave. I completed a year in this hell hole and am happier than I have ever been. I worked both day and night shifts and there were very few CNA's that actually – more... cared about the patients. A lot of them were so unhappy and mistreated the patients. I would always have to do the patient care during medication passes because the CNAs would be hiding! They tell you in orientation that as an LVN at Healthsouth you're not allowed to spike IV bags but no one has time to help even if they wanted to. So ALL the things they said an LVN is't supposed to do...well, guess what? You do it anyway because the RNs have their own 13 patients to tend to. The patient to staff ratio is horrible for the number of patients that have IVs, tubes, wound treatments, or are fall risk. Most patients were not even able to benefit from rehab and Drs admitted this. The ratio was 1 nurse to 13 patients and ONE CNA TO 20 patients!?!?!? They say the norm is 8-7.....which never happened. Plus there were no computers...everything was done by hand on paper which made it hard when you have 10-13 patients and getting an admission. I hated night shift because there was only ONE unit clerk for TWO units!?!?! She was running back and forth trying to transcribe orders and answer phones. And if she didn't finish she would leave at the end of her shift and leave all the charts for the nurses to transcribe even if we were processing admissions and trying to finish med pass. Almost all patients are a fall risk and we didn't have enough CNAs to help us answer call bells that many patients would fall or wet the bed. Horrible place to work that doesn't care about the patients, the staff or your license. I know business is business and the point is to make money but not at the expense of your license. I will never recommend anybody to work their who values their license!!!! – less

1 2 3 4 5

About HealthSouth Corporation

HealthSouth is actually all over the map as one of the largest rehabilitation services providers in the nation.¬†Its¬†facilities – Read more