Find companies:
HealthSouth Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
134 reviews

HealthSouth Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pressure, stress filled job
PARTNERSHIP RESYNDICATION SENIOR ANALYST (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALSeptember 3, 2014
I worked for a short period during the restatement period of this company, in a new department created just to prepare financial statements for use in security offerings. There were many time constraints resulting in excessive overtime work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
RN case manager (Former Employee), ArkansasAugust 30, 2014
Pros: good rehab and employees
Cons: management poor and doesn't listen.
I worked 3 1/2 years. Went through a lot of management changes. I gave my notice. 2 days later I was told they would pay out my notice but wouldn't let me work it out. They walked me out like I was a criminal. I have seen them do this in several occasions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic and oppressive environment
RN (Former Employee), Rock Hill, SCAugust 17, 2014
Pros: pay is decent
Cons: toxic work environment
The atmosphere is dominated by fear. Management uses fear to manage staff. Unsafe working conditions. Nurse to patient ratio is dangerous. Patient acuity is disproportionate to capacity of staff. Time constraints are in place, yet nursing staff must complete multiple assignments during course of day. Hardest part of job is heavy and unsafe patient load, – more... heavy medication pass and trying to stay within the limits of company policy. Lower management contributes to low moral of nursing staff. People frequently quit and turn over is high. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff, horrible management
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Vineland, NJAugust 17, 2014
Pros: gained experience
Cons: very high employee turnover rate
The staff and co-workers were a pleasure to be with. The management was unreasonable of their requests.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Culture with a great place to start a career out of college.
Accountant (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALAugust 9, 2014
Pros: corporate events
Cons: poor management vision and direction
HealthSouth is a great company with a difficult future due to the regulatory environment at hand. The companies current business lines are limited to moderate or slowed growth. Promotion and job security are near the bottom for a company its size. Significant talk and promotion is given to HR policy that promotes a "great place to work". However, when – more... an issue arises, almost always the policy is ignored and the Company wins out and does not promote the employee. Considering the other great companies in the area, I would not suggest HealthSouth as a long-term viable option for a career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth leaving your current job
Registered Nurse Rehab Liaison (Former Employee), Largo, FLAugust 5, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: micro-managers, negative environment, no work/life balance
The culture within this company is horrible. The Marketing Director is a micro-manager who does not listen to new ideas and has unrealistic expectations. The CEO does not have a clinical background and is a bit naive when it comes to medical terminology and patient criteria for rehab services. The medical director does not seem to take on challenging – more... cases and plays it safe. There is no room for advancement. The attitude within this establishment is negative. Everyone complained about their jobs. A bunch of old, negative individuals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was good when I was there
RN/House Supervisor (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXAugust 1, 2014
I worked there too long ago, but have very fond memories of my time on staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with patients was always what made me happy.
Receptionist (Former Employee), Holyoke, MAJuly 29, 2014
Pros: great company, great staff and loved patient interaction.
Cons: sometimes extremely busy but we always managed to get through it.
HealthSouth was a wonderful place to work. Management was extremely concerned with patient care and progress. It was their first concern and the staff that I worked with felt the same way. The job had it's challenges because working with the public one must always keep in mind that there are many different personalities in the world but each one must – more... be treated with respect.
The hardest part of my job with HealthSouth was hearing the words that they were closing all outpatient facilities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't expect management to actually manage.
RN (Current Employee), Chattanooga, TNJuly 21, 2014
Pros: overtime
Cons: short staffed, pt load, pt acquity
Nurses are given an average of 10 patients and expected to do both their job and the techs job. Patient acuity is never a staffing factor and everyone works short on a regular basis. The techs are taught by management that nurses are supposed to answer call lights and sit around waiting for them to do so even during med passes, some of them sitting – more... in the supervisor's office chatting. When nurses complain to manage about staff not working they are the ones that are monitored more closely and written up. Instead of counselling or disciplining the ones that need it a blanket memo goes out because it would be "too much work" to deal with just one. The CEO has no idea what the nursing supervisors are doing, he didn't even know about an agency nurse being fired for not letting a tech tell her what to do. HR is joke, she tells you to call or email if you have any questions or problems but never answers any messages. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HealthSouth Fort Worth
Nurse (Current Employee), Fort WorthJune 30, 2014
Nurses are working unsafe with up to 12 patients per shift. No help. Management is into getting their bonuses at any price.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Idea
Rehab Nursing Technician (Former Employee), Princeton, WVJune 25, 2014
Pros: coworkers
Cons: no breaks, low low pay, no benefits, clueless management
If you like understaffed, underpaid, lack of management skills, lack of team work, lack or organization and constant micromanagement then this is the place for you....sadly not for me. Based on patient census so you may or may not get the hours you need. Nursing staff unable or unwilling to help with patient care for the most part. CEO that is clueless – more... and could care less what goes on with the patients as long as the place gets the scores needed. Everyone is treated like a budget item...even the patients... No breaks and sometimes no lunch...or at least a lunch without work interruptions or duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to meet daily
Receptionist (Current Employee), Florence, SCJune 4, 2014
I love working here because everyone is so nice and i love meeting all the people going in and out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
close group of people in a small print shop
Pre-press Department Supervisor (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALJune 3, 2014
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: job security
A great place to work, It was always like working with family
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work setting, interesting patient population
setting, 6-week internship (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLMay 29, 2014
Management was pretty much on board as long as you were making what you thought were the best decisions for the patient. Great co-workers. Enjoyable environment based upon patient case-load.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Acute Rehab
Full Time LPN (Former Employee), Monroeville, PAMay 29, 2014
Full time 7p-7a Lpn Abt therapy wound care helpful coworkers on myshift
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, great co workers
Patient Service Specialist (Former Employee), Orlando, FLMay 27, 2014
Pros: able to work overtime when available.
Cons: far location
Great facility and co workers, very compassionates and willing to work with our schedule and flexibility for schooling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
eduational
LVN Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Petersburg, VAMay 25, 2014
Pros: helping people get started in a longer, more comfortable life.
Cons: shortened breaks, meetings during hours of work that take away time needed for patients
Everyday starts with a good report from fellow nurses. Then off to an exciting day of teaching patients how to cope with their pain and still get motivated to get well and back on the road to recovery.

I have learned that people each have their own opinion of what pain is and that it is very important for their recovery to listen carefully.

I had, – more... for the most part, a good management team who took every opportunity to teach as well as assist in care of the patients. Along with my coworkers, there were people who would be available to assist the patients in their needs for recovery.

The hardest part of any job is dealing with having enough time to finish all the things you would like to get done but the best part of a job is being able to go home after a long day knowing you helped someone fulfill another day of their life. I love my career – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good pay/benefits, awful life/work balance
Business Office Clerk (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALMay 20, 2014
Pros: pay, benefits
Cons: life/work balance, management
I worked in the cash processing center near the corporate office in Birmingham, AL (before/during the Scrushy incident). We sat in cubicles and posted payments from EOBs to the diagnostic and outpatient systems. After the training period, we were allowed to wear headphones. Outpatient had a quota (which wasn't that difficult to hit), diagnostic did – more... not. I enjoyed most of my coworkers and we had freedom to get up and use the bathroom or get a drink (you could drink and snack at your desk). We got our breaks and lunches and could take them whenever we wanted as long as they weren't too close to the beginning or end of our shift. The pay and benefits were quite good, especially if you worked nights/evenings. The biggest issue was the life/work balance. Overtime was mandatory and was most of the time. I worked 10 hour shifts five days a week for six months straight. A lot of the time a 10 hour Saturday shift would be thrown in there as well. I heard two of the managers talking to each other once - one wanted to let us leave, the other said "make them stay another couple of hours until it's done." But of course she got to leave when she wanted. I don't know if it's changed at all since my time there. It wasn't an awful place to work, but I wouldn't want to do it again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was work
Claims Specialist (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALMay 20, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: not flexible
HealthSouth was a very good company until the layoffs started.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice but fast work flow.
Physical Therapy Attendant (Former Employee), Birmingham ALMay 13, 2014
Pros: the work schedule
Cons: i was the only one lifting heavy people.
It was a great experience, i learned alot about Physical Therapy ,Management was ok and my co-workers the hardest part of the job was the lifting but i enjoyed helping people.

1 2 3 4 5

About HealthSouth Corporation

HealthSouth is actually all over the map as one of the largest rehabilitation services providers in the nation.¬†Its¬†facilities – Read more