Find companies:
HealthSouth Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
125 reviews

HealthSouth Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't expect management to actually manage.
RN (Current Employee), Chattanooga, TNJuly 21, 2014
Pros: overtime
Cons: short staffed, pt load, pt acquity
Nurses are given an average of 10 patients and expected to do both their job and the techs job. Patient acuity is never a staffing factor and everyone works short on a regular basis. The techs are taught by management that nurses are supposed to answer call lights and sit around waiting for them to do so even during med passes, some of them sitting – more... in the supervisor's office chatting. When nurses complain to manage about staff not working they are the ones that are monitored more closely and written up. Instead of counselling or disciplining the ones that need it a blanket memo goes out because it would be "too much work" to deal with just one. The CEO has no idea what the nursing supervisors are doing, he didn't even know about an agency nurse being fired for not letting a tech tell her what to do. HR is joke, she tells you to call or email if you have any questions or problems but never answers any messages. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HealthSouth Fort Worth
Nurse (Current Employee), Fort WorthJune 30, 2014
Nurses are working unsafe with up to 12 patients per shift. No help. Management is into getting their bonuses at any price.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Idea
Rehab Nursing Technician (Former Employee), Princeton, WVJune 25, 2014
Pros: coworkers
Cons: no breaks, low low pay, no benefits, clueless management
If you like understaffed, underpaid, lack of management skills, lack of team work, lack or organization and constant micromanagement then this is the place for you....sadly not for me. Based on patient census so you may or may not get the hours you need. Nursing staff unable or unwilling to help with patient care for the most part. CEO that is clueless – more... and could care less what goes on with the patients as long as the place gets the scores needed. Everyone is treated like a budget item...even the patients... No breaks and sometimes no lunch...or at least a lunch without work interruptions or duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to meet daily
Receptionist (Current Employee), Florence, SCJune 4, 2014
I love working here because everyone is so nice and i love meeting all the people going in and out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
close group of people in a small print shop
Pre-press Department Supervisor (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALJune 3, 2014
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: job security
A great place to work, It was always like working with family
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work setting, interesting patient population
setting, 6-week internship (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLMay 29, 2014
Management was pretty much on board as long as you were making what you thought were the best decisions for the patient. Great co-workers. Enjoyable environment based upon patient case-load.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Acute Rehab
Full Time LPN (Former Employee), Monroeville, PAMay 29, 2014
Full time 7p-7a Lpn Abt therapy wound care helpful coworkers on myshift
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, great co workers
Patient Service Specialist (Former Employee), Orlando, FLMay 27, 2014
Pros: able to work overtime when available.
Cons: far location
Great facility and co workers, very compassionates and willing to work with our schedule and flexibility for schooling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
eduational
LVN Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Petersburg, VAMay 25, 2014
Pros: helping people get started in a longer, more comfortable life.
Cons: shortened breaks, meetings during hours of work that take away time needed for patients
Everyday starts with a good report from fellow nurses. Then off to an exciting day of teaching patients how to cope with their pain and still get motivated to get well and back on the road to recovery.

I have learned that people each have their own opinion of what pain is and that it is very important for their recovery to listen carefully.

I had, – more... for the most part, a good management team who took every opportunity to teach as well as assist in care of the patients. Along with my coworkers, there were people who would be available to assist the patients in their needs for recovery.

The hardest part of any job is dealing with having enough time to finish all the things you would like to get done but the best part of a job is being able to go home after a long day knowing you helped someone fulfill another day of their life. I love my career – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good pay/benefits, awful life/work balance
Business Office Clerk (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALMay 20, 2014
Pros: pay, benefits
Cons: life/work balance, management
I worked in the cash processing center near the corporate office in Birmingham, AL (before/during the Scrushy incident). We sat in cubicles and posted payments from EOBs to the diagnostic and outpatient systems. After the training period, we were allowed to wear headphones. Outpatient had a quota (which wasn't that difficult to hit), diagnostic did – more... not. I enjoyed most of my coworkers and we had freedom to get up and use the bathroom or get a drink (you could drink and snack at your desk). We got our breaks and lunches and could take them whenever we wanted as long as they weren't too close to the beginning or end of our shift. The pay and benefits were quite good, especially if you worked nights/evenings. The biggest issue was the life/work balance. Overtime was mandatory and was most of the time. I worked 10 hour shifts five days a week for six months straight. A lot of the time a 10 hour Saturday shift would be thrown in there as well. I heard two of the managers talking to each other once - one wanted to let us leave, the other said "make them stay another couple of hours until it's done." But of course she got to leave when she wanted. I don't know if it's changed at all since my time there. It wasn't an awful place to work, but I wouldn't want to do it again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was work
Claims Specialist (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALMay 20, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: not flexible
HealthSouth was a very good company until the layoffs started.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice but fast work flow.
Physical Therapy Attendant (Former Employee), Birmingham ALMay 13, 2014
Pros: the work schedule
Cons: i was the only one lifting heavy people.
It was a great experience, i learned alot about Physical Therapy ,Management was ok and my co-workers the hardest part of the job was the lifting but i enjoyed helping people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healtsouth Hospital
Occupational Therapist Team Leader (Former Employee), San Juan, PRMay 1, 2014
Pros: medical insurance plan, continued education curses
Working as a Occupational Therapist specialist with patient in a Rehabilitation setting ( In patient and out patient). Working in interdisciplinary team with nurses, doctors, physical ,therapist, speech pathologist, Psychologist, case management staff, administrative staff. The hardest part of the job working with different medical conditions that change – more... the type of life style of different family and try that the different patient situations would not affect emotionally.
The most enjoyable part of the job is helping other people to be independence. Helping others to promote their independence regardless of their limitations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fabulous staff with great communication
Senior Occupational therapist (Former Employee), Austin, TXApril 27, 2014
Very hard working staff that strives towards excellence in the field of Inpatient rehab.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsafe for patients and Employees
Rn (Former Employee), Midland TexasApril 25, 2014
Pros: learn meds
Cons: no support
Heavy work load 10-13 patients. Plus you get experience of doing admits with no help. Charge Nurses provide no support as team leaders. Co-worker relationship among nursing staff poor. Preach to be watch budget so Administration can have catered lunches. HR lady has no dignity in discipline, very unprofessional toward staff. Calling everyone "sir". – more... I gave 4 years for nothing. Heartless organization especially HR department!!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inappropriate new changes to management.
Unit Secretary (Former Employee), Glendale, ArizonaApril 24, 2014
Pros: compassionate director of nursing
Cons: the new management.
HealthSouth was a physical rehabilitation hospital for those patients who were post MVA, post CVA, post operative, etc. It was a bustling scenario behind the HUC desk. There was always a charge nurse and although the atmosphere was busy, it was orderly and productive. Newer changes to management which occurred in the latter half of 1997 heralded disorganization – more... and inexperience, in my opinion. My co-workers all worked together and were very passionate about their duties toward their patients. The hardest part of the job may have been accepting the new management with their changes that were forced with little explanation. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the patients progress and become discharged. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is Ridiculous
Clinical Nurse Liaison (Former Employee), Leawood, KSApril 17, 2014
The CMO at Lenexa, KS location was sexist and two faced. She would do anything to help her chances of advancing to CEO no matter who it affected in her department or other colleagues. I would never recommend working for MARH to any family member or friend of mine.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pays the bills
Nurse (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VAMarch 23, 2014
Pros: 4 days off each week. pay is adequate
Cons: poor nurse to patient ratio, dont think about taking a break unless you plan on working over your 12 hour shift!
You are told when interviewed that the nurse to patient ratio is 6-8 and you are paired up with a LPN. When the reality of it is 10 patients if you work alone and 12-18 if RN/LPN paired. There may be 1-2 techs for the entire building of 56 patients. The techs may or may not answer call bells, check vital signs or BP's. Management does nothing about – more... the few that come late and leave early.....if they don't call out! The nurses are expected to chart every 2hrs, answer call bells (even if they are trying to get report from previous shift), toilet/perform personal care. The medications are scheduled every few hours, everybody has daily wound care (despite using products that are designed to stay in place 5-7 days. It's a HUGE waste of money and time). They have a "wound care nurse" who does not perform any wound care and emails the supervisor and CC's the both the CNO and CEO all the names of nurses who didnt do the wound care on the day shift. Day shift RNs are expected to do all assessments (they decided that LPN's aren't educated enough to assess. Did I mention that the wound care nurse is a LPN, who doesn't seem to even know about how the wound care products are designed to work?)
You have NO support from upper management! This is A good job for a new nurse because if she/he can learn to prioritize what is absolutely important to do and get it done then you can work anywhere!!! I wouldn't recommend any patients going there (unless you are 350lbs or greater because that seems to be the average patient weight and you need 3 sets of hands to get people in and out of bed) because it seems nursing doesn't answer call bells in a timely manner.
I wouldn't recommend the place to other nurses or techs unless you enjoy always working short staffed!! Work here as a last resort until you find other employment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Medical Assisting Extern (Former Employee), Montgomery, ALMarch 21, 2014
Pros: getting a hands on experience in the medical field
Cons: not getting the job.
When I did my extern at HealthaSouth I was very excited because I enjoyed what I was doing and the information that was being introduced was not hard to understand. A typical day at work was making my first rounds and letting the patients know that i was there and to let me know if they needed anything. Also checking on the supplies that i also will – more... need in order to help the patients. The hardest part of the job was waking the patients up out of their sleep to take their vital signs. Because I knew that they wanted to sleep from a long day. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know the patients, talking with them and asking if there anything I can do to help them while I was there. The people that i worked with made sure that I knew the information and the proper way to do the tasks that I was assigned. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teamwork
Rehabilitation Technician (Current Employee), Midland, TXMarch 19, 2014
Everyone helps each other and its more like a family than work

1 2 3 4 5

About HealthSouth Corporation

HealthSouth is actually all over the map as one of the largest rehabilitation services providers in the nation.¬†Its¬†facilities – Read more