Heart Hospital of Austin Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and positive work environment
TAVR Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 1, 2017
Heart Hospital was a functional and well supported institution
to work for. I enjoyed my time their and felt the management and my co workers enjoyed their jobs and the workplace environment.
Pros
Great employee functions, nice environment and co workers
Cons
Too many required online updates to hospital policy to complete on a weekly basis
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and extremely great teaching facility
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXSeptember 6, 2017
This job was always fast pace but the company made sure it taught the staff updated equipment and technique. Enjoyed working with great doctors and staff team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXSeptember 1, 2017
very busy place to work, it is a St. Davids hospital so compensation is the typical HCA compensation. Managament is helpful and advocates for nursing staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 21, 2017
Wonderful work environment and management, but low pay and benefits although they do compensate exponentially towards continuing education. Everyone works together as a team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Patient Care Tech III (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 27, 2017
excellent service. High recommend anyone to work there. Feel free to look at the review. patient always request to come back as patient. he food service is wonderful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Evs Tech II (Housekeeping) (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 30, 2017
I like working here but sometimes it can very challenging and hectic.
Managers will here you out when you need to resolve any kind of situation or problem.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Director's Perspective
Imaging Director (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 29, 2017
I learned a lot due to the many hats you wear. A lot of responsibility to handle for one person. This is because the director covers all levels of Imaging management and their associated responsibilities.
Pros
Smaller environment.
Cons
Wear many hats.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hospital to work for
Dietary Aide (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 14, 2016
I enjoyed this job, but my manager at the time knew less about my role than me. Which created a lot of issues. The rest of my coworkers were great, and the hospital overall is a wonderful working environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides a full range of cardiovascular services and wellness to patients
Emergency Medical Technician - Basic (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 2, 2016
Great experience and benefits of devoted cardiovascular care. This is an incredible environment to work in. As an employee, I feel highly engaged and appreciated. Several programs are in place to allow employees to voice their concerns, and get feedback from upper management.
Pros
Staff and services have grown. They offer more services.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You are replaceable
CLINICAL CARDIAC TECHNICIAN (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXSeptember 22, 2016
They do not care about you or paying you. If you are lazy, like to call in a lot and not a team player this is the place for you. They are always short staffed. The ones that are faithful and come to work everyday will always get used ( not in a good way) and treated like badly.
Pros
none
Cons
all
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile work environment, weird staff, rigidly hierarchical
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 22, 2016
It's an HCA facility, so you know that physicians are going to be treated as demigods while nurses and techs are constantly reminded of their disposability. At Heart Hospital there's a LOT of really weird staff members, or at least were when I worked there. If you work there you'll hear lots of horror stories about physicians yelling at nurses on day shift, or how people are writing each other up all the time behind each others' backs. Management is virtually absent, and things really don't get changed there. You're paired up (one nurse and one tech takes on up to 6 patients) in pods. Staff there have this dead look on their faces all the time, they look miserable to be there. Nobody will ever say 'thank you' for hard work done.
Pros
HCA gives great gifts like umbrellas and phone chargers
Cons
Techs are reminded theyre at the bottom of the totem pole, workers arent treated with dignity or respect
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work for
Emergency Registration/Day Patient Registration (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 9, 2016
good hours, great management, good team to work for, loved the company picnics and christmas parties. Had a great supervisor.
Pros
company picnic
Cons
low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heart Hospital
Patient Care Technician (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 10, 2015
I enjoy working a the Heart Hospital. The patient, tech and nurse ratio is great and makes working there enjoyable. The management is easy to talk to.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Care Awards, Contests,Appreciation Awards,
PCU REGISTERED NURSE (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 18, 2015
I could not get the stars to change to rate management and job
culture.
On a regular day at 1800 we get report and at that time transfers and admissions start or the cath lab is bringing up pt's and/or the pts are calling for pain med or they want to go to the br. We start out running. then about 10pm we have gotten most the fires put ot and the meds have been passed. some of us have started charting or in the middle. Sometimes we have a tasker that stays until 2000 to help discharge if there are late discharges or help do admit history. Most of the time the nurses are helping ea. other. If there is a code going on or a pt with chest pain or resp. distress we are there for each other also the PCT. I have learned to take advice from newer nurses and the old way is not always the right way and how the doctors are different from the 90's new procedures how we keep the family more informed and that we get them to participate and new equipment,(ex. the cadio mems. the hardest part of the job for me is losing a pt.
the most enjoyable is working with my friends,seeing a pt that we worried about surviving and then they get to go home and enjoying what I do. We have nights we bring food and eat and sometimes administration buys especially if we are working a busy night and there are pt's waiting in the ED hallways to be seen and they need to be admitted asap. Management will also come in and help if the night is that busy
Pros
pt to nurse ratio is good, the people I work with are very good at there jobs and we are recognized for that
Cons
The night shift is short changed sometimes when it come to inservices
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very engaging workplace
MLS (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXSeptember 14, 2015
This is an incredible environment to work in. As an employee, I feel highly engaged and appreciated. Several programs are in place to allow employees to voice their concerns, and get feedback from upper management.
Cons
Pay rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small cardiac specialty hospital that feels more like a family
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 19, 2015
I love working at the Heart Hospital of Austin. Everyone is like a big family. Everyone takes pride in what they do and it shows in the quality of care given to patients.
Pros
Central Austin, excellent physicians, Central Market in walking distance, leadership team present and engaged
Cons
Night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Leadership
Chaplain--PRN (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 6, 2015
Fantastic patient care experience and wonderful staff. I have a supportive manager with a positive attitude and wonderful team that supports one another.
Pros
Work fits my schedule
Cons
Limited advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management inflexability
Patient care technician 2 (Former Employee) –  Austin, TxApril 14, 2015
After working there for over 8 years, I started developing kidney stones (2 episodes) and a bout of pancreatitis. After coming to work and having these problems flair up at work. An reporting to the ER for the kidney stones and go home for the pancreatitis ( an a 14 day hospital admission). I was told I would be written up for leaving early, just because I wanted to off from work. I feel the management is far removed for the working staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Registered Nurse Intensive Care (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 22, 2014
it was a great place to work. It was busy. good RN/MD collaboration.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not for me
Medical Office Specialist (Current Employee) –  austin texasNovember 19, 2014
this job was not for me, great food though


learned how to host
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Heart Hospital of Austin. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 28 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.7
Culture
4.1

Heart Hospital of Austin Reviews by Location