Heartland Bank Employee Reviews

Found 18 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Item Processor (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, ILFebruary 9, 2017
Enjoyed working at Heartland Bank.
Heartland Bank in the area of position that I was employed is a good starting place for college and younger people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bank merger
Treasury Management Implementation (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOSeptember 7, 2016
I worked for Heartland bank for almost 3 years before taking a position at another bank due to Heartland being acquired by Midland States bank. When I started I was a member of a team assisting commercial customers with treasury management products. Prior to leaving Heartland my job was going to focus more on selling treasury products.
Pros
learned job skills
Cons
merger activity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Numerous locations to serve your needs
Teller (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, MOJune 21, 2016
Heartland Bank would not be my ideal place to work just due to the fact that there was no room for advancement and management truly was not willing to help their employees better themselves for fear of losing their job. I had the disadvantage of being employed for them when they were in the process of being bought out by another bank so tensions were running very high and the stress was begin to show on even the most competent employee. It was not a pleasant environment to work in because you never knew what was going to set someone off and cause a situation you did not want to be part of. There was a lot of watching your back and keeping your mouth shut.
Pros
The employees
Cons
The attitude of management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Silver Client Services Representative (Current Employee) –  Johnstown, OHFebruary 4, 2016
good environment
great people
management is easy to talk to
company tries to promote within
cross training is excellent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experience
Director Human Resources (Former Employee) –  Gahanna, OHAugust 25, 2015
Heartland is a great place to learn and grow. One truly, can learn a great deal about the banking industry, while working with some extraordinary people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people at my branch, and good customers
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OhioJune 30, 2015
Ran all branch operations, including paid returns on checking accounts, I did loan applications on personal and business loans.
Worked with business customers and cold calling on new business prospects.
Pros
WOrking with great people.
Cons
Upper management
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
V.P (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield MOApril 27, 2015
I thoroughly enjoyed my 15 plus years at Heartland Bank. It was sad when the bank was bought out by Midland States Bank and my department and position were eliminated.
Pros
Great People
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work in Iowa
CSR (Current Employee) –  IowaDecember 30, 2014
This bank is located in IOWA, and is not affiliated with the Heartland Banks in MO or IL. Heartland Bank is very family oriented and offers an excellent benefit package. The Bank has had successful continued growth for several years and has earned 5-Star Superiour rating from Bauer Financial for more than 20 years. Great place to work!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fun Place to work
Loss Mitigation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, MOOctober 20, 2014
I did a variety of work for collections, loss mitigation, claims and wokring with attorneys.
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great small company
FHA Portfolio Manager (Current Employee) –  Chesterfield, MOSeptember 16, 2014
Great atmosphere, all management that i have worked with has been great, smaller company going through a merger.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Structured enviroment
Operations Department (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJanuary 14, 2014
A typical day consisted of staying focused and detailed to prevent errors. I learned a variety of back office functions. Co-workers were professional. The hardest part of the job was the constant changes in the rules and regulations. The most enjoyable part was the great atmosphere.
Pros
celebrations of birthdays and holidays
Cons
distance to work
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Community Bank, Poor Management and Work/Life Balance
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, MOOctober 2, 2013
Bank is a great community bank with a long history. Management staff is poor with a total lack for Work/Life balance.
Pros
Community Bank
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very good place to work
Teller/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Bryant, ARDecember 6, 2012
A typical day at work: Open the bank at 7:45, open the vault, atm and night drop. Run those deposits. Wait on customers and supply with all their needs.

Management: not very friendly

Co-workers: very friendly and a great group to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice surroundings, nice employees.
Temporary Teller (Former Employee) –  Westerville, OHOctober 10, 2012
A decent nice place to work with employees that are good, caring people.
Pros
nice surroundings
Cons
work was only temporary
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People to work for!
ASSISTANT BRANCH MANAGER (Former Employee) –  ColumbusSeptember 19, 2012
Helpful senior management. Great HR dept.! Chances for advancement are good.
Pros
sound company and great people to work for
Cons
need to update account opening software. pretty antiquated system
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Branch Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Clayton, MOJuly 22, 2012
Local bank, good company to work for. Small and private bank.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy work enviornment.
Teller (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 1, 2012
Opening procedures, customer support, and banking transactions. Management changed while I was employed but over all we had another great team. My co-workers were always happy it was a great environment to work in. The most enjoyable part was getting to know the customers.
Pros
healthcare.
Cons
short lunch.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

See more Heartland Bank reviews

You may want to try:

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Heartland Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 21 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7