Find companies:
Heartland Express
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
55 reviews

Heartland Express Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away!!!!!!
Regional driver (Former Employee), North Liberty, IAJuly 22, 2014
Pros: absolutely none
Cons: no miles no home time lies lies lies
Was a regional driver. They do not care!!!! When hired I was told home three weekends a month. Never happened. If you asked to be home you would be to far away to get back for time off. Lucky if you got 1800 miles a week. Lies on top of lies on top of lies!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Diesel Mechanic and Preventive Maintenance (Former Employee), Olive Branch, MSJuly 16, 2014
enjoyed the company small with very nice people.Benefits was good and the owner was nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was poor and not driver friendly
OTR Solo Driver (Former Employee), Coralville, IAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: terminal close to home
Cons: were not driver friendly
Dispatched on tight time frames which prevented me from normal breaks for food and restrooms. Not driver friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad place to work
Truck Driver (Former Employee), chester vaJuly 7, 2014
Pros: good money on the mile
Cons: not enough miles to much time from home
hometime was not at all as to what they promised kept you out on the road sitting more then you were working made good money up north but you didn't get enough miles to amount to nothing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
OTR TRUCK DRIVER (Current Employee), North Liberty, IAJune 4, 2014
Pros: people are great
Cons: not home enough
Great place to work, People are awesome. Miles are grand.bla bla labla
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
treated people poorly
Regional Truck Driver (Former Employee), Coraladale IAMay 28, 2014
Not a very nice place to work treated more like a number than a person
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had to leave due to relocation
Driver Recruiter (Former Employee), North Liberty, IAApril 29, 2014
Worked at Heartland for over 2 years. Had to leave due to relocation. Left on superb terms and am in close contact with former co-workers and management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and place to work, Low pay
Team Leader (Current Employee), Cartersville, GAApril 27, 2014
Pros: lots of recognition for duties
Cons: low pay and long hours
Heartland has great people in every part of the company which makes it fun to work there. The only drawback is that they dont pay enough for the amount of hours worked,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heartland Express
Tractor Trailer Driver (Former Employee), Columbus, OHApril 13, 2014
Pros: moved closer to home
Cons: traveling through new england states
I only worked for Heartland a few months and was not there long enough to form any opinions good or bad of the company. I was just trying to get closer to home so I took the first job available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well earned pay
Customer delivery manager (Former Employee), atlanta gaApril 12, 2014
nice team including dispatch
well organized freight handling
respected drivers input on all levels
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its Ok
Regional Otr Driver (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 21, 2014
I work at Heartland right now and I must say they have some policies I don't get not saying there a bad company to work for jut saying they will get under your skin if you let it

if you have a drive tire replaced on the road, they have a steer tire put on the drive axle, and you go to the nearest terminal and they replace it with a drive. which last – more... time I had to go through this t took them all day to change one tire was late with my load.

they pay for your scales but you have to call in for a comcheck

there fuel card only works where they tell you to get fuel, if you plan to skip your fuel because of weight you have to get a comdata code ad call in

and since its a big company 5th largest in the country they often put drivers on hold and forget them so you have to call back

in my experience you don't have a dircect number to your fm when you call in its like calling a customer service hotline

they don't pay for orientation – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All in a days work
Company Driver (Current Employee), North Liberty, IAMarch 20, 2014
Pros: get to see the country
Cons: dont always get home as promised
Not always enough miles to go around. Sometimes you sit alot. Dispatcher is good although the Planners should have been truck drivers before they are allowed to plan drivers loads.I enjoy driving very much but not always home when i need to be
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
OTR Driver (Former Employee), Chester, VAMarch 10, 2014
Pros: well productive
Cons: pay
load assignments were always in advance. never no problems wit dispatchers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Runaway if you want to have a life
Trailer mech (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLFebruary 26, 2014
Cons: no life outside of shop
Heartland takes your life away no time for family no respect drivers or the mechanics when you leave they lie about you to where you cannot even get another job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Iowa City, IAFebruary 6, 2014
Cons: bad company
• Established a proactive customer service oriented Fleet Service, and encouraged staff members to participate in professional development exercises and training.
• Performed the administrative tasks of managing personnel, staff positions, promotions, award recognitions, disciplinary actions, and personnel counseling.
• Coordinated numerous transportation – more... missions via land, sea, and railway, including hazardous materials without any deficiencies.
• Maintains transportation vehicles and documents operation maintenance logs for service conditions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They don,t have a home time
Company Driver - Solo - OTR (Former Employee), North Liberty, IAJanuary 4, 2014
I constantly had a problem with getting home. Heartland is not a bad company, but some terminal managers should learn to respect drivers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad company
Team Driver (Former Employee), North Liberty, IADecember 27, 2013
Pros: pay ok insurance well never used it
Cons: learn to sleep in cold weather no heat, learn to stay up 25 hours a day
never seen a company disrespect their drivers so bad, sat for hours in inspection /saftey lanes for hours a day and not paid for it. hmmmm against dot rules because they will not allow u to log that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
crazy
Driver/Operator (Former Employee), Iowa City, IADecember 17, 2013
Didn't much care for not getting my home time as promised. There were times when I was a week past when I was supposed to get home. My wife was furious constantly with this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like it here.
Memphis Regional Driver (Current Employee), Olive Branch, MSNovember 7, 2013
Pros: good equiptment and plenty of work
Cons: the normal stuff with in industry.
I run out of the Olive Branch MS Terminal. The dispatchers are great.( you can touch them because there is not 5" thick window there) They run me hard and that is the way I like it. They do not hold your hand..If you do not need your didie changed and can wear your big boy pants then come over I only had 1.5 verifiable experience and I get .40 a mile – more... empty or loaded. I get home time exexept when two time a driver dropped the ball in a load that would of tooken me home but that was not the dispatchers fault that was on my fellow drivers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was home every other night
Driver (Former Employee), North Liberty, IANovember 7, 2013
I did a dedicated run was home every day slept in my bed every other night with weekends off

1 2 3

About Heartland Express

Home is where the heart is, and Heartland Express stays close to home as a short- to medium-haul truckload carrier -- its average – Read more