Find companies:
Heartland Express
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
63 reviews

Heartland Express Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very interesting experience
Long Haul Truck Driver (Former Employee), North Liberty, IAMarch 10, 2015
Pros: i got to learned how to driver over the road, see many road and states
Cons: i didn't have much of a life but all my day was spent driving.
Long haul driving is an experience of total driving commitment. I like driving all over the roads, I've enjoyed driving over the mountain top, driving throughout new cities, learning new roads, and having the control of driving a truck through all kinds of weather.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work if you dont have a social life
Diesel Mechanic (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLDecember 4, 2014
Pros: plenty of work
Cons: too many to list
long work days, hard constant work, you never stop... bout 75 hrs a week, hope you don't have a social life or family cus you wont see them much, the boss is a crack head so hope you don't need his help
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard headed workers
diesel mechanic (Former Employee), atlantaNovember 1, 2014
Pros: get paid to play
Cons: poor management
all play and no work, people complain about working and wonder why they don't get paid that much. the shop foreman doesn't take his job seriously as long as he can get home to his house boat thats all he cares about. oh and lets not forget he can't keep promises, i took one for the team and he still didn't deliver.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Billing / Office Variety skills
Billing-Administrative Clerk (Former Employee), North Liberty, IAOctober 27, 2014
Pros: stable and productive
Cons: no room for advancement
Billing department allowed me to explore many opportunities in multitasking throughout that department. Stability, fast paced, and a chance to train others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
heartland was able to get me hometime when needed
Truck Driver OTR (Former Employee), North Liberty, IAOctober 21, 2014
great dispatchers enjoyed driving thier trucks they kept the maintance update.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervisors work well with employees needing to take a day off.
Mechanic (Current Employee), North Liberty, IASeptember 5, 2014
Can be long and tiring days. Some shop employees have a spefic job, while others act as a float. Days range from starting at 5am in the winter and working till 7pm.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
driver (Current Employee), phx azAugust 30, 2014
Pros: all
Great company I am a driver for them out of phx great place and people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Company Driver (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZAugust 9, 2014
Great company. Great staff, but not enough pay. Got you home when you needed and on time. Distance to destination of pick up was closer in distance than most companies which made for easier work days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away!!!!!!
Regional driver (Former Employee), North Liberty, IAJuly 22, 2014
Pros: absolutely none
Cons: no miles no home time lies lies lies
Was a regional driver. They do not care!!!! When hired I was told home three weekends a month. Never happened. If you asked to be home you would be to far away to get back for time off. Lucky if you got 1800 miles a week. Lies on top of lies on top of lies!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Diesel Mechanic and Preventive Maintenance (Former Employee), Olive Branch, MSJuly 16, 2014
enjoyed the company small with very nice people.Benefits was good and the owner was nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was poor and not driver friendly
OTR Solo Driver (Former Employee), Coralville, IAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: terminal close to home
Cons: were not driver friendly
Dispatched on tight time frames which prevented me from normal breaks for food and restrooms. Not driver friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad place to work
Truck Driver (Former Employee), chester vaJuly 7, 2014
Pros: good money on the mile
Cons: not enough miles to much time from home
hometime was not at all as to what they promised kept you out on the road sitting more then you were working made good money up north but you didn't get enough miles to amount to nothing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
OTR TRUCK DRIVER (Current Employee), North Liberty, IAJune 4, 2014
Pros: people are great
Cons: not home enough
Great place to work, People are awesome. Miles are grand.bla bla labla
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
treated people poorly
Regional Truck Driver (Former Employee), Coraladale IAMay 28, 2014
Not a very nice place to work treated more like a number than a person
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had to leave due to relocation
Driver Recruiter (Former Employee), North Liberty, IAApril 29, 2014
Worked at Heartland for over 2 years. Had to leave due to relocation. Left on superb terms and am in close contact with former co-workers and management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and place to work, Low pay
Team Leader (Current Employee), Cartersville, GAApril 27, 2014
Pros: lots of recognition for duties
Cons: low pay and long hours
Heartland has great people in every part of the company which makes it fun to work there. The only drawback is that they dont pay enough for the amount of hours worked,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heartland Express
Tractor Trailer Driver (Former Employee), Columbus, OHApril 13, 2014
Pros: moved closer to home
Cons: traveling through new england states
I only worked for Heartland a few months and was not there long enough to form any opinions good or bad of the company. I was just trying to get closer to home so I took the first job available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well earned pay
Customer delivery manager (Former Employee), atlanta gaApril 12, 2014
nice team including dispatch
well organized freight handling
respected drivers input on all levels
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its Ok
Regional Otr Driver (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 21, 2014
I work at Heartland right now and I must say they have some policies I don't get not saying there a bad company to work for jut saying they will get under your skin if you let it

if you have a drive tire replaced on the road, they have a steer tire put on the drive axle, and you go to the nearest terminal and they replace it with a drive. which last time I had to go through this t took them all day to change one tire was late with my load.

they pay for your scales but you have to call in for a comcheck

there fuel card only works where they tell you to get fuel, if you plan to skip your fuel because of weight you have to get a comdata code ad call in

and since its a big company 5th largest in the country they often put drivers on hold and forget them so you have to call back

in my experience you don't have a dircect number to your fm when you call in its like calling a customer service hotline

they don't pay for orientation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All in a days work
Company Driver (Current Employee), North Liberty, IAMarch 20, 2014
Pros: get to see the country
Cons: dont always get home as promised
Not always enough miles to go around. Sometimes you sit alot. Dispatcher is good although the Planners should have been truck drivers before they are allowed to plan drivers loads.I enjoy driving very much but not always home when i need to be

1 2 3 4

About Heartland Express

Home is where the heart is, and Heartland Express stays close to home as a short- to medium-haul truckload carrier -- its average – Read more

Heartland Express Salaries

Truck Driver
$40,000 per year
Driver
$49,000 per year
Otr Driver
$40,000 per year
Company Driver
$50,000 per year
Diesel Mechanic
$12.25 per hour