Find companies:
Heartland Express
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
46 reviews

Heartland Express Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well earned pay
Customer delivery manager (Former Employee), atlanta gaApril 12, 2014
nice team including dispatch
well organized freight handling
respected drivers input on all levels
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its Ok
Regional Otr Driver (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 21, 2014
I work at Heartland right now and I must say they have some policies I don't get not saying there a bad company to work for jut saying they will get under your skin if you let it

if you have a drive tire replaced on the road, they have a steer tire put on the drive axle, and you go to the nearest terminal and they replace it with a drive. which last – more... time I had to go through this t took them all day to change one tire was late with my load.

they pay for your scales but you have to call in for a comcheck

there fuel card only works where they tell you to get fuel, if you plan to skip your fuel because of weight you have to get a comdata code ad call in

and since its a big company 5th largest in the country they often put drivers on hold and forget them so you have to call back

in my experience you don't have a dircect number to your fm when you call in its like calling a customer service hotline

they don't pay for orientation – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All in a days work
Company Driver (Current Employee), North Liberty, IAMarch 20, 2014
Pros: get to see the country
Cons: dont always get home as promised
Not always enough miles to go around. Sometimes you sit alot. Dispatcher is good although the Planners should have been truck drivers before they are allowed to plan drivers loads.I enjoy driving very much but not always home when i need to be
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
OTR Driver (Former Employee), Chester, VAMarch 10, 2014
Pros: well productive
Cons: pay
load assignments were always in advance. never no problems wit dispatchers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Runaway if you want to have a life
Trailer mech (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLFebruary 26, 2014
Cons: no life outside of shop
Heartland takes your life away no time for family no respect drivers or the mechanics when you leave they lie about you to where you cannot even get another job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Iowa City, IAFebruary 6, 2014
Cons: bad company
• Established a proactive customer service oriented Fleet Service, and encouraged staff members to participate in professional development exercises and training.
• Performed the administrative tasks of managing personnel, staff positions, promotions, award recognitions, disciplinary actions, and personnel counseling.
• Coordinated numerous transportation – more... missions via land, sea, and railway, including hazardous materials without any deficiencies.
• Maintains transportation vehicles and documents operation maintenance logs for service conditions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They don,t have a home time
Company Driver - Solo - OTR (Former Employee), North Liberty, IAJanuary 4, 2014
I constantly had a problem with getting home. Heartland is not a bad company, but some terminal managers should learn to respect drivers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad company
Team Driver (Former Employee), North Liberty, IADecember 27, 2013
Pros: pay ok insurance well never used it
Cons: learn to sleep in cold weather no heat, learn to stay up 25 hours a day
never seen a company disrespect their drivers so bad, sat for hours in inspection /saftey lanes for hours a day and not paid for it. hmmmm against dot rules because they will not allow u to log that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
crazy
Driver/Operator (Former Employee), Iowa City, IADecember 17, 2013
Didn't much care for not getting my home time as promised. There were times when I was a week past when I was supposed to get home. My wife was furious constantly with this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like it here.
Memphis Regional Driver (Current Employee), Olive Branch, MSNovember 7, 2013
Pros: good equiptment and plenty of work
Cons: the normal stuff with in industry.
I run out of the Olive Branch MS Terminal. The dispatchers are great.( you can touch them because there is not 5" thick window there) They run me hard and that is the way I like it. They do not hold your hand..If you do not need your didie changed and can wear your big boy pants then come over I only had 1.5 verifiable experience and I get .40 a mile – more... empty or loaded. I get home time exexept when two time a driver dropped the ball in a load that would of tooken me home but that was not the dispatchers fault that was on my fellow drivers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was home every other night
Driver (Former Employee), North Liberty, IANovember 7, 2013
I did a dedicated run was home every day slept in my bed every other night with weekends off
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for
General freight OTR Class A truck driver (Former Employee), West of Mississippi RiverNovember 5, 2013
OTR is a tough job daily. Parking, route planning, HRS among the most difficult. Management is great. Co-workers are average. Traveling the country was the most enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Trucking Company
Truck Driver (OTR) (Former Employee), Phoenix,ArizonaOctober 19, 2013
I really enjoyed working with Company, Had a great Dispatcher,Company Terminal was great,it has a Driver lounge and showers, laundry. Truck/Trailer wash rack.Met a few good fellow Drivers. The hardest part is being away from Home, But the best part is seeing different locations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management style is over rated
System Driver (Former Employee), North Liberty, IASeptember 18, 2013
Pros: maintained equipment
Cons: too many to list, see review.
My issue with Heartland Express is that the management sets the driver up for failure. Communication is terrible, even with all the modern conveniences, numerous company "policies". They do not produce. Empty promises and a lot of talk. Average miles per week is around 1800 over a month's time. If you don't live within an hour from the nearest terminal, – more... you will never get any decent home time. If you live far away from a terminal, they will use you to their advantage, forced dispatch and overbooked freight on Friday lots of downtime during the weekends, away from home. You are a number, not a name. The upside is they utilize elogs, maintain their equipment (at your time expense). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
equipment outstanding
OTR Driver (Former Employee), North Liberty, IAAugust 5, 2013
Pros: driving all new trucks
Cons: long hours no breaks
Driving all over the country . You learn something new every day.The people were great to work for, also the people worked with.
The hardest part was working with no breaks and long hours that's why I Am looking for a local job. The best part was driving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transportation Company
FLEET MANAGER/DISPATCHER (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 9, 2013
Must be a people person, Great opportunity. Small but growing company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working long hours for little pay and very inconsistant miles per week
Regional Professional Driver (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 5, 2013
Pros: nice equipment to drive, mostly drop and hook pick ups and deliveries
Cons: expensive healthcare, very inconsistant miles per week
My work schedule depends largely on my pick up and delivery appointments, but I prefer to drive during the daylight hours where I'm able to drive for hours upon hours without stopping because of driver fatigue. I learned that most people don't give truck drivers the room and respect they deserve while driving on the road. The management mostly care – more... about servicing the customer and forget about the drivers needs. My co-workers are a great group of people who are just trying to make a living and want better treatment and cheaper healthcare costs but better benefits. The hardest part of my job is driving through the night to make a delivery appointment on time with little time to rest or take a break. The most enjoyable part of job is meeting new people and being of service to them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company ok. But at times management doesnt whats goin on.
over the road regional driver (Former Employee), Olive Branch, MSJune 29, 2013
Pros: get through home sometimes couple times a month
Cons: communication and management not envolved.
Dont dare idle your truck theyll write you up. I know I was a guinea pig at the time no one knew until I was the first.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wasnt there very long
Driver (Former Employee), North Liberty, IAJune 27, 2013
typical, it was ok. nothing bad to say. It was a decent job. didn't really get to meet ppl so I cant say much about my co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very reliable
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMay 7, 2013
Pros: experiences
Cons: reckless drivers
fast pace, attentative,get along well with others, assisting others, how to watch out for others, the hardest part of the job driving with the smart system. the most enjoyable part of the job is going home the same way I came to work.

1 2 3

About Heartland Express

Home is where the heart is, and Heartland Express stays close to home as a short- to medium-haul truckload carrier -- its average – Read more