Find companies:
Heartland Payment Systems
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
77 reviews

Heartland Payment Systems Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company to work for
DIRECTOR OF SALES / NATIONAL ACCOUNTS DIRECTOR (Current Employee), Princeton, NJDecember 16, 2014
Pros: no pros
Cons: healthcare, hr, management, senior leadership
I truly learned very little at Heartland. They don't know how to teach, train and develop their employees. Specifically, Robinson Moore and Tim McKenna are amongst the worst managers I've ever had the displeasure of working with.

Heartland has no idea how to build a National Account Team. I worked with many talented individuals on the National Accounts – more... team, but they've almost had 100% turnover because we were all treated very poorly.

Management at Heartland is ridiculously immature. No one truly understands how to manager their employees and the company doesn't set any standards or consistent training protocols to develop talented sales people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HR Internship
Human Resources Intern (Current Employee), Jeffersonville, INNovember 25, 2014
Good company to work for, not a lot of work for me to do. Good people, good company, very stable. If this were a full time position I think I would've loved it. Typical day was mostly administrative functions such as answer the phone, filling out workman's comp paper work. I have several small projects to complete while I was here. None of them really – more... took that long. However you will learn a decent amount about HRIS while here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Campus
Customer Service (Current Employee), Jeffersonville, INNovember 23, 2014
Pros: nice campus
Cons: work / life balance and insurance
The campus is very nice with an on-site day care center, a gym, and cafe. Very corporate environment. Work/Life balance is extremely poor even for those in management. The amount of micro managing you receive depends on your supervisor. There are lots of seat moves and supervisor moves to deal with. The start out pay is pretty decent, but the raises – more... are small. The insurance is a high deductible plan. Over the past 5 years the incentives have been slowly taken away from both the customer service representatives and the managers. They do have a degree program that is free but your schedule must accomodate the class schedule. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work atmosphere, Lots of Travel
Network Admin, Quality Control, Client Support (Current Employee), Colorado Springs, CONovember 10, 2014
This is a great place to work. Unfortunately, the company is relocating to Tennessee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall View
Call Center Operations (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAOctober 14, 2014
Pros: nice people
Cons: political, inexperienced management
Heartland Payment Systems/ECSI

Is a average organization. The people are nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic company for sales professionals, very supportive and in touch.
Relationship Manager (Current Employee), Princeton, NJOctober 10, 2014
Ground work is key. There is a lot of cold calling and prospecting activity needed. The rewards, however, are tremendous. Most of your time is spent ringing phones and opening dorrs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Contact Center Manager/Division Servicing Manager (Former Employee), Jeffersonville, INOctober 2, 2014
Supervised 20-200 hourly employees in computer controlled call center, regarding credit card processing, account set-up, merchant billing, technical, and customer service skills while meeting established organizational goals
Management of company schedules, pay, attendance, monthly feedback, annual reviews
Maintained, itemized and manifested inventory – more... to insure efficiency on parts & supplies ordered for credit card processing
Created and implemented training materials, policies, procedures, guidelines, incentives, and quality assurance guidelines
Implemented and hosted Web Based seminars and skill refreshers
Established and increased productivity by implementing and Employee Incentive Program and training programs designed to encourage employee participation, dedication, recruitment, and morale to expand base of operations and increase profits
Organized and led group and individual call-center training sessions, meeting, updates as required regarding skills, products, quality assurance, and industry-related material
Identified internal opportunities for improvements in performance and created efficiency by improving training processes to include Needs Assessment Tools, E-Learning conferences, and Post Assessment Tools – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work and life balance
QA Analyst (Current Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: flexible work schedule
Cons: health care, 401k
The most enjoyable part of the job are the co-workers and direct managers. The work is flexible and understanding to life outside work. You have the ability to work from home when needed. The company is continuing to grow, and with that comes growing pains. Managers being forced out, wasted money on useless software, and ever changing methodology.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and fun work enviroment
Customer Advocate (Former Employee), Jeffersonville, INSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: great folks and fabulous facilties
Cons: had to commute from louisville
Good people doing a hard job and really great work area.

- Most days was easy, certain times of the month were really busy.

- How card processing is way more difficult then I thought.

-Charles Lomax is a great supervisor, very straight forward.

-Some of the best pod mates you could ask for.

-End of the month and working with Regional Managers.

-The – more... people keep you coming back to work every day... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great learning experience
Relationship Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 11, 2014
Working for Heartland was a great learning experience, I was able to travel around the city and meet many business owners. I gained most of my sales experience from this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
100% commission with about 200 cold calls a day.
Relationship Manager/Territory Manager (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 25, 2014
On the phone for 1.5 - 2 hours in the am, cold calling. Appointments in the pm. Pulling door handles in between.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company- tough job
Relationship Manager (Current Employee), CalironiaJuly 17, 2014
Pros: good products, service and technology- good reputation- direct processor
Cons: poor compensation and a noose too many conference calls
Heartland is a great company in the merchant services space where there are hundreds of not so great ISOs harassing the same merchants for their business. Very competitive and cut throat industry- but Heartland is a winner for most of the merchants with lots of products to cross sell.
For the sales reps- it can be great if you have some good connections – more... and dont mind pressure, but demands are high and the job can be quite stressful for a commission only job with no paid expenses. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT Biller
Telecom analyst/IT Cost Analyst (Current Employee), plano, txJuly 15, 2014
Its great and diverse. My prior Manager/Director was a people person who believed in status updates as well as personal views on the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Advocate
Customer Advocate/Call Center (Former Employee), Jeffersonville, INJuly 4, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: 10 minute breaks
Human Resources was Horrible and unfair. Client Support is Racist. No advancement for African American Woman in Jeffersonville IN. Not Ethical at all. A lot of EEOC complaints.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience wasn't very pleasant..
Sr. Product Advisor (Former Employee), Denver, COJune 30, 2014
Pros: mike valentine is an amazing manager! go for the position only if you'd be working for him.
Cons: false promises
I accepted a compensation plan that changed 3 times within my first 3 months. Then they decided to completely take away our salaries and said it would serve as an incentive to strive beyond our goals..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Straight commission with no benefits
Territory Manager (Former Employee), Syracuse NYJune 16, 2014
Pros: work from home
Cons: no salary
This company had no support for sales, no salary and no expenses covered
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Operations Analyst (Current Employee), Plano, TXMay 12, 2014
Overall, plenty of room for growth and opportunity. Managed great and employee driven
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
starting pay good . only 2% raises for the rest of your career.
help desk (Former Employee), Jeffersonville, INMay 12, 2014
They have a competitive starting pay but only give 1 to 2% raises after that. Top is 3%. Not many advancement opportunities. Lateral moves to different departments for same pay. The hr manager was extemely nasty and hateful .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's all about who know or related too at Heartland
CS and Retention (Former Employee), Jeffersonville, INApril 13, 2014
Pros: ??? competitive starting pay, cafeteria on site
Cons: no advancement, very small raises, under skilled management
Starting pay is decent but after that you hit a wall of .20 raises the rest of your career. Mangement is untrained and positions are filled by family members or friends instead of the best qualified candidates. The CA training is difficult and the phones never stop ringing. Your will be on the phone non stop your while shift trying to explain products – more... that you haven't been trained on. If you ask your supervisor a question, you will be given the run around or they will advise you to get the merchant off the phone ASAP and then you can "escalate" to other parties that may know the answer.

They grade your phone calls based on recordings. If you don't say the correct prechosen greeting/closing, you will fail the review. If your 10 seconds late from a break, it will be on your review because they keep documentation of every little thing so they can justify giving you a .10 - .20 raise. I've worked at some pretty bad places, but non as petty as Heartland. They have an attitude of, if you don't like it, there's 1000 other people that would take you job because we are the best place on earth to work.

I wasn't a bad employee that gets on pages like this to bash a company unjustly, I was a employee that stayed on the phone,hardly never called in,hardly never late (except 10 secs already mentioned),helped others, and learned every new product thrown my way. I write this as a true review of an organization that gets a pass way too many times just because the starting pay is pretty good. After the money I lost paying for the crummy insurance here, I think I might have made less than my last job. I hope HPS will wakeup and give their employees a cost of living raise because people are very unhappy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New management is needed
CUSTOMER ADVOCATE (Former Employee), Jeffersonville, INMarch 18, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: horrible hr an upper management
I thought the facility was great the Management was awful and racist they need to get a new HR Director and all new upper Management

1 2 3 4

About Heartland Payment Systems

Heartland Payment Systems, Inc. (NYSE: HPY), delivers credit/debit/prepaid card processing, gift marketing and loyalty programs, – Read more