Helena Chemical Employee Reviews

Showing all 24 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced, stressful, unorganized
Driver/Warehouse (Former Employee) –  CENTRE,ALABAMAAugust 1, 2017
Lies to you about everything from day one. Promised to hire you on permanently but drags their feet. Supposed to have benefits from day one but was never given any info about it.
Pros
Home every day
Cons
Shortage on paycheck, no benefits, laid off with no warning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Worked with Chemicals/ Driving a forklift (Former Employee) –  Cordele, GAJune 27, 2017
A typical day at Helena Chemical would be busy. i learned how to handle dangerous chemicals. drive a forklift. the management was ok. hardest part about this job was working with different chemicals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love working here
Office Assistant/Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Kerman, CAMarch 24, 2017
Great work place, very heavily busy phone great filing system, great communication and managed very well. friendly an easy flow of work. every one does there part in making the work easy and better.
Pros
good hours
Cons
only temporary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like to work hard and put long hours in, this is the place
Agronomist (Current Employee) –  North DakotaJanuary 3, 2017
Very hard working crew but lack a little on the agronomy side. They make up for it in the workmanship put forth by the men though! Each day brings on something new
Pros
Good benefits and pay
Cons
Work/home life balance is not good
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money and benfits, bad place to work.
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Swedesboro, NJDecember 16, 2016
Management can't be trusted, there is no leadership or communication. You are thrown to the wolves. That being said the money and benefits are really good, but not worth all the headaches.
Pros
Great benefits and salary
Cons
Bad work enviorment, no leadership, no communication, management cant be trusted
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok workplace
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee) –  Mayesville, SCNovember 28, 2016
Good not for me. Managerial employees not up to par. Poor people skills poor pay for the position I filled. Poor treatment of lower bracket employees.
Pros
Advancement
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Warehouse Receiver (Current Employee) –  Yuba City, CASeptember 28, 2016
Horrible benefits, horrible pay, no appreciation for hard work. Nobody there likes their jobs. Depressing place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Secretary (Current Employee) –  Holly Grove, ARAugust 24, 2016
Typical day includes answering phones, invoicing tickets, filing, and typical office upkeep. Very low stress and upbeat environment with great co-workers and management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good management
Warehouse manager (Current Employee) –  Texas City, TXAugust 22, 2016
Company does well managing employees and giving all the tools needed to be successful. Co-workers are easy to get a long with, but a lot of turnover for drivers and warehouse workers, which is pretty common. Helena gives you the flexibility to spend time with your family.
Pros
Flexible, good work life balance, benefits
Cons
Compensation could be better
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Sidney, MTMay 19, 2016
Helena Chemical has a productive work environment
friendly coworker
management is willing to listen
pay day is a good day
Pros
flexible lunch schedules
Cons
sometimes hard to get a break when its super busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and employees
Office Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Enfield, NCMarch 23, 2016
Enjoyed working for this company. My local manager was a bit excessive in his expectations and not tolerable of any human error. I tried my hardest to do my best to please him to no avail. My co-workers were awesome and I will miss them. They supported my skills and my work was very good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Accounts Payable Lead (Current Employee) –  Collierville, TNFebruary 19, 2016
A typical day at work is to make sure I am busy at all times. I enjoy my job, but there is no advancement. Overall working with this company is comfortable and is a nice environment.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
No advancement in department
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
truck driver cdl (Current Employee) –  Culver, ORJanuary 24, 2016
great place to work. lots of variety' Supervisor Is a great guy real good people to work with. but the pay is terrible. lots of hours in the busy season but can be a little monotonous in the winter
Pros
easy people to work for
Cons
pay is horrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, Strong and Well Reconized Company
Depot Manager (Former Employee) –  Hutchinson, KSJanuary 5, 2016
Helena Chemical has an excellent reputation and is the leader in the industry. Though at times it can be very stressfull to work here, they do treat their people right and take care of them with little perks and excellent benefits.
Pros
Strong and Secure company
Cons
Stressfull and Hard Work along with Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoy working and meeting with farmers, we have cookouts from time to time.
Truck Driver, warehouse, and forklift driver (Current Employee) –  Munford, TNApril 1, 2015
In the fall and winter months it is very slow, and i am the type of person that does not like to sit around, the spring and summer months are long and i miss out on my family time.
Pros
cost of living raise every year and a saftey bonus
Cons
no time for family in the sping and summer, very busy those months of the year
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fertilizer and pesticide Company
Blender/Vat Operator, Machinery and Repair (Former Employee) –  Exeter, CAMarch 25, 2015
I learned a great deal working for Helena, Appreciate all my time spent and the opportunity to work there.

Private store so a lot of politics that aren't necessary in a work place.
Pros
Broad Field of experience
Cons
Longevity
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional employer
Fertilizer Manager (Current Employee) –  Avalon,WIMarch 23, 2015
Very good place to work just looking to get back in the field I went to school for. Extremely physically exhausting and very dangerous which I do not mind I'm getting older and it is more trying on me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ill Managed company
General Laborer/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Greenville, TXNovember 13, 2014
the boss over fertilizer pant is absent minded and has no business running operations
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Warehouse/Driver (Former Employee) –  Boynton Beach, FLOctober 10, 2014
A typical day at Helena was very busy and fast paced. I learned a lot about the chemical industry.
Pros
Connections
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for single or retird person
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Fremont, NEAugust 24, 2014
Drove straight truck delivering chemicals to farmers and dealers,
depending on time of year was very busy put in a lot of hours.
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
Lots of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Helena Chemical. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.8
Culture
3.2