Helget Gas Products Employee Reviews

Showing all 9 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to start a career change
Supervisor/Manager (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMarch 9, 2017
After having worked in a high stress, fast paced environment with poor hours over the last 15 years, it was a welcomed change of pace. The company really invested in my training for my position and seems to care about the product and service they are putting out. Currently, the culture is very good and there is a great team in place. I do not see the same issues that plagued the older reviews for this company on Indeed. A typical day at work is still fast paced, but holidays and weekends off have been a Godsend. If you are looking to start down a different career path for driving, this is the place to do it.
Pros
Regular work hours and holidays off
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family owned Business with horrible ownership
Operations Director (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 28, 2016
You start early and finish late with expectations that can't be met. I learned signals of a terrible mismanaged place to work. I look for these signals in jobs now of what not to do. The management is uneducated and unappreciative. The hardest part of your day is showing up to work because you don't want to be there and you know its only going to get worse. It is a highly stressful job that doesn't have an enjoyable part of the day.
Pros
they have to pay you
Cons
management, schedule, work-life balance, expectations, communication, direction, high stress
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helget
Cylinder Processing Technician (Current Employee) –  Bridgeton, MONovember 18, 2014
There is no chance to advance in this company. There are no raises because rasises are tied to reviews, this is a problem because they do not conduct them. Safety is not a concern, there is no sick time and very little vacation.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Unethical,Pathetic Work place.
Route Driver - Warehouse (Former Employee) –  St.Louis,Mo.December 31, 2013
October,2012 - Former Employee,Did not live up to there Expectations and Fool a lot of people that are trying to get in there Doors,until they are let in and how the company is in such disarray and then the people are tearing the door down to escape and get away.Management is Horrible and pathetic,preach what they don't know are practice themselves to past,present,and future employees,They don't know (DOT) regulations and don't follow them even if they pretend to,very unsafe work place,equipment and vehicles,It's all about the dollar and put drivers life's at risk,when you tell them that trucks needs to be repaired or equipment needs to be replaced they ignore you and put it off,nothing was ever appreciated and never received a thank you or good job,always talk down to you,that is the Management,Ask any of the Employees that work there still and will say the same thing,that is the ones that are realist and veterans of the company,They are a inconsistent,inconsiderate,and negligent and unsafe company to work for,Beware and don't be fooled by deciet.
Pros
ok pay, if you bust your butt for straight time, but no overtime or time and a half.
Cons
No Insurance, Benifits, Sick pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware not a good place better to be unemployed
Drive/warehouse (Former Employee) –  Omaha NENovember 8, 2013
NO PAYED OVERTIME will work 50 hours / All trucks and equipment are junk the equipment is home made and trucks something major is wrong with every single one/ They make you go on call for 7 bucks a day for a week at a time and you could go out at 2am they still expect you there at 7am [which is not long enough to reset you hours of service] NO STABILITY OR JOB SECURITY As a driver or warehouse employee you are not valued or cared about in anyway shape or form and are replaceable at anytime [OWNERS WORDS] They are content running this way so my advice is STAY AWAY wish I would have
Pros
The best day was the day after i quit
Cons
TOO MANY TO LIST
Was this review helpful?Yes30No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WARNING- Read Review before applying
Driver (Former Employee) –  St. LouisNovember 3, 2012
I was a driver there for less than a year and it was the worst experience that I had with an employer in my driving career. Here are my experiences.

1. NO raises and pathetic Salary positions for all drivers so there is no OT paid for the daily OT required.
2. Pay for your own uniforms and DOT physical if left co before 2 yrs.
3. Health Benefits are like a house payment, $700/mo for family of 3
4. They give you old broken down equipment and expect you to work efficently that way.
5. It's like being an Owner Operator
6. The drivers have to call all of their customers using their own phone to schedule all deliveries Everyday.
7. If you get into an accident, they make YOU pay THEIR $500.00 insurance deductable. You sign something agreeing to this upon hire.
8. Unsafe work enviorment, 100lb cylinders not secured in warehouse so they can fall at anytime.
9. On top of all this they like to call you at home
10. Treat employees like dirt
11. Manager lies to your face and so does the Supervisor
12. Turn over rate is very high, gee I wonder why?
Pros
it's a job other than that none.
Cons
worst working enviorment
Was this review helpful?Yes45No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty rough experience
warehouse (Former Employee) –  Saint LouisOctober 23, 2012
Lack of training
Management doesn't follow through
Total lack of work balance
Lack of proper safety equipment
Disrespectful working culture

please avoid
Was this review helpful?Yes28No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great stepping stone
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOSeptember 7, 2011
I worked for Helget Gas Products for 2 years in management. This gem of a company is a great place to kick start your career and transition into the majors.

Helget Gas Products is a family owned company, sole-proprietorship based in Omaha, Nebraska. Salary & Growth potential is somewhat limited. However, if you are the type of person that enjoys remaining at the same position for years, then this company is for you.

Mr Helget has no reservations giving you the autonomy to mold and shape your operation how you like it, as long as it falls within the guidlines of the FDA & Board of Pharmacy.

Salary and raises are mediocre and best, but the experience and knowledge gained along with the exceptional quality of life both at work and out of work is definatly a lucrative trade off.

Mr Helget is very easy to work with/for and he really does care about his employees.

I would not hesitate to recommend this company.
Pros
knowlege gained, quality of life at work and off work, given high degree of autonomy, mr helget is very easy to work for, mr helget cares about his employees, family type atmosphere
Cons
advancement benefits, salary increases
Was this review helpful?Yes42No27Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Helget Gas Products. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.2
Based on 9 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.7
Compensation/Benefits
2.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.0
Management
2.1
Culture
2.4