Find companies:
Helmerich & Payne
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
13 reviews

Helmerich & Payne Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life on a drilling rig
Floorhand and Motorman (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKJune 18, 2014
Pros: the pay was good
I pulled back pipe and made connections, scrubbed the rig, maintain the generator. I did lock out tag out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very driven and productive workplace.
Motorman / Floor Hand (Former Employee), Bakken Oilfield in North DakotaFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: very good benefits and pay.
Cons: extremely dirty work conditions and short breaks or sometimes no breaks.
Extremely dirty and very physically demanding position that is also nonstop for twelve hours a day. Lunch breaks are usually 5 to 10 minutes. We constantly organized and cleaned the rig as well as performed maintenance on all of the rigs components and completed safety inspections. I learned how to operate several pieces of equipment including Front-end – more... Loaders and Man Lifts. I worked on my rig for two years and when I left I was the last original employee left on my crew that had started with the rig since it was new. I worked with many colorful characters and got along with them well. The hardest part of the job was the extremely dirty conditions and being covered head to toe with hazardous chemicals and trying to hold on to tools covered with slippery drilling fluid. The best part of the job was completing operations and moving on to the next one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oilfield
Derrick hand (Former Employee), Tylor, TxJanuary 24, 2014
Working within the oilfield had given me more training and better life style.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Derrickman (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKNovember 25, 2013
learned more about high tech equipment and management there was very helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
free meals and bonuses monthly
Motor Man/Floorhand (Former Employee), Bismarck, NDOctober 1, 2013
Pros: pros of the job was getting bonuses
Cons: cons of the job was working in the rain.
A typical day working on a oil rig was good and always productive. I learned much about well control and working with pumps most importantly, because if any pump went down that would mean that normal operations would have to stop because there would be no way to keep pumping drilling fluid down hole. the co-workers i worked with were great guys and – more... were all from different parts of the country and working with the co-workers was always interesting because there were different levels of experience. the hardest part of the job was working in all four seasons of the year and most of hardest season to work in was winter because the cold would get down below 60 degrees. the most enjoyable part of the job was at the end of the shift or if during the shift my crew would get to total depth of drilling the hole. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
haul driver
Driver (Former Employee), Alice, TXSeptember 28, 2013
Some pushers are easy to work with and some are not, but they are the same everyday so you know what your getting. Truck management feeds off gossip so its real cut throat with co-workers. On the positive side work was steady and they kept up with the equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Challenging work environment with great crews
Lead Floorhand / Pit Hand (Former Employee), Colorado, Wyoming, North DakotaJuly 3, 2013
Responsible for all operations on rig floor
Manage gas detection / well control equipment (Gas Buster, Flare, Degasser, Sniffer, etc.)
Maintain proactive / consistent operations throughout pit system
Make connections on derrick board and floor
Floor and derrick board operations while tripping pipe
Train new hands on all operations
Assist all 3rd parties – more... on floor (MWD, DD, Cement, Casing, etc)
Assist Derrickman and Motorman when needed
Overall basic rig maintenance and cleaning
Maintain safe work environment consistently – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working labor intensive job that pays well and good time off.
Motorhand (Current Employee), Grand Junction, COJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: good pay, great time off, good opportunity for advancement
Cons: no scheduled breaks, long hours in any kind of weather conditions, and being away from the family 2 weeks at a time.
One of the hardest jobs I have ever physically done. I have learned allot of discipline, and work ethics. I have also learned that safety is crucial to a successful operation. When the employees feel that management is supportive and there to answer any questions or deal with any concerns, then the employees will give everything they got. The hardest – more... part of this job is being away from home 14 days at a time. But in contrast to that, it's great to be able to get 14 days off and live very comfortably with a compensation package that is unbeatable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good equipment
Derrick Hand (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKSeptember 14, 2012
I spent 3 years with H&P. Worked in the West Texas distarct. Started with them working motors and moved up to derricks right away. Daily tasks were keeping my hands underneth me busy. Showing and teaching them the oil field. Lots of maintaing the mud, lots of working on the pumps and lots of tripping pipe.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Hands Advanced Rigs
Rig Manager, Driller, Derrickman, Floors (Former Employee), Texas, Louisiana, New MexicoAugust 23, 2012
Pros: benefits
Cons: upper management
H&P was an Excellent company to start out with, you learn alot of basic Oilfield knowledge
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Hands Advanced Rigs
Rig Manager, Driller, Derrickman, Floors (Former Employee), Texas, Louisiana, New MexicoAugust 23, 2012
Pros: benefits
Cons: upper management
H&P was an Excellent company to start out with, you learn alot of basic Oilfield knowledge
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Motorhand (Current Employee), Odessa, TXAugust 12, 2012
Pros: good pay
Cons: gone half my life from home
Connections
Mixing Mud
Pipe Tally
Maintaining Location
Directional Drilling
Generators ( changing oil, ray core filters and air filters)
Service & Maintenance(greasing and oil changes)

About Helmerich & Payne

In the oil and gas industry, Helmerich & Payne (H&P) knows the drill: The contract driller operates some 260 land and nine offshore – Read more