HELP/PSI Employee Reviews

Showing all 13 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Givin a chance to make a differance working with the AIDS community. I know I made a differance.
COBRA Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYMarch 2, 2017
The day would begin by reviewing case load for the day (3 to 5), with team members, home visits, meeting with client's medical or social service providers. Learned that each client and family members have unique situations and problems and must be listened to. Management was firm but fair. The work place culture was diverse and pleasant. The difficult part of working with the HIV/AIDS community was serving children living the virus. The enjoyable part was assisting the client obtain their goals; finding housing, obtaining life saving medications, etc.
Pros
Travel expences were assised
Cons
Too large case load, not enough help to cover them all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Intake Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMay 22, 2016
Nice work enviroment enjoyed my time there overall good managment and staff respectful the company really care about the clients mental and physical health
Pros
Free luch
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good starting place.
Care Manager /MSW Internship (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJuly 13, 2015
It a good place to start, as they will give you an opportunity if you do not have experience. However it is not a place I would stay in the long run.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJanuary 14, 2015
A typical day at this agency consists of arriving to the building, however not before being greeted by a multitude of grateful clients who usually stand outside the building early in the morning full of energy. This agency is focused mostly on group therapy. It was amazing to see so much strength, hope, and wisdom emanating from our clients in these groups and a very humbling thing to experience. The staff at this agency are a tight knit group who often eat lunch with each other sharing food and laughs. The hardest part of this job for me was leaving it.
Pros
team bonding days
Cons
smoking allowed by the entrance
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture
Clinical (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYMay 23, 2014
The culture here is very enabling of drug use and non compliance.
No supporrt from management and undermining efforts is not just tolerated but carried ot constantly. All in the guise of an exemplary company culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wounderful meaningful employment
Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMay 21, 2014
Productive work place. Great staff and client relationships
Pros
great supervision
Cons
too much paper work
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic, Unstable Work Environment. BEWARE!
Psychiatric Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYApril 6, 2014
HELP PSI is the most toxic, chaotic organization I have ever worked for. There is a huge amount of turnover and the company has even fired individuals for false pretenses after they gave their notice. They have also engaged in illegal practices like threatening they would not pay out vacation time to an employee unless she completed hundreds of discharges before she left. If you are planning on staying here, there is NO job stability. They will fire you at a moment's notice without providing any verbal warning, written warning, etc. Staff is not valued at all for their contributions and seen as disposable.
The volume of work is completely overwhelming. Management expects therapists to see 12 patients/day or 1 every 30 minutes. There's zero attention to quality service: the only goal is swiping patients' Medicaid cards. Because HELP PSI is an OMH clinic they are supposed to be providing clinical supervision to therapists which involves overseeing patient diagnosis and treatment. Instead, supervision consisted of a large group of 7 staff (therapists and psychiatric nurse practitioners) meeting over the lunch hour to discuss patients who were on safety plans. High risk cases should have been discussed at a weekly case conference and individual supervision should have been offered to review therapists' entire caseloads and challenges.
Overall, a stressful, unpredictable, unsupportive work environment.
Pros
Competitive salary for a nonprofit, decent vacation time
Cons
High turnover, unreasonable expectations, no clinical supervision
Was this review helpful?Yes 63No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, family oriented, team
Care Manager (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 27, 2014
This company promotes autonomy. I learned a great deal about my character, and what I bring to the table as a professional and individual. My Supervisor always validated my views and empowered me to do my best. Being able to make decisions, and being trusted to do so, allowed me to gain the trust of my clients and other constituents.
Pros
Autonomy and room to grow and network
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always helping the client
Peer Mentor (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJanuary 12, 2014
Overall nice place to work, like to go to work i get along with all staff and client. management is always looking out for the staff. lunch is free
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Care Manager (Current Employee) –  Queens, NYNovember 20, 2013
contacting clients and reviewing charts. calling and scheduling appointments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Masters Social Work Intern (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYNovember 18, 2013
Productive and friendly workplace. I facilitate groups and carry a case load. Co-workers are very professional and helpful. I am a student so I am learning new responsibilities daily.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 19Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and educational.
COBRA Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYApril 26, 2013
Worked as team leader. Most of the working hours were spend out in the field with provider contacts. I have gained important information about having good health. I worked well with co-workers. The hardest part of the job is that, i worked hard everyday. The enjoyable part of the job was the diversity of the individuals i came in contact with everyday.
Pros
i learned something new everyday
Cons
billing your hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 31Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HELP/PSI. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.8
Culture
3.2