Helping Hands Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping hand
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Bridgeport, CTJanuary 9, 2018
it was a good place to work with client who need emotional support and counseling and u feel a sense of compliment went ur able to give hope to someone who have no loss everything and who are homeless and are forgotten by friends and families and are very sick and who are in such depression and have abuse there body and mind with substance abuse the have loss memory and are in a straggle every day of there life to a clean life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liked working with the developmentally disabled
Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Prescott, AZJanuary 3, 2018
I started working there in 2010. In 2012 I broke my femur and could no longer stand long. It was hard as my job was to drive the clients to appointments and take them on outings. And also there were no set hours. Sometimes I didn't work at all in a week. Other times it was only a few hours at most a week.
I had to use my own car and was not reimbursed for gas. I didn't like that either.
The most fun part of the job was taking clients to the monthly dances at the Armory.
Pros
Taking clients to the dances
Cons
Driving my own car and not getting reimbursed for gas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in a diversed community
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Moreno Valley, CADecember 13, 2017
Daily i would drive to locations to secure buildings, i learned how to adapt to a new things and ideas, the hardest part was not able to see my customers daily
Pros
paid hoildays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interaction with Low income individuals
Contractor (Current Employee) –  Tucson, AZDecember 1, 2017
I found the work very satisfying. Extending a helping hand, in a variety of ways-providing transportation, assisting with personal issues and conflicts were some of my duties. I found I have much compassion for those left behind by their family.
Pros
Personal interaction
Cons
Salery
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full filling job working with elderly residents
Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLNovember 25, 2017
Helped residents stay in their homes
Took walks with them
Got them out of bed and cleaned and dressed
Made breakfast or lunch
Had conversations with them

There was no hard part to this job

Being able to give them time and conversation was very rewarding to me.
Pros
part time hours, meeting and helping elderly people
Cons
No cons in this job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful and unorganized
Home Health Aide (Former Employee) –  Grand Blanc, MINovember 24, 2017
I worked crazy shifts and i would get called to a shift on my day off asking me to come in within 30 mins...very unorganized and unclean working enviornments....low pay for the work you do..unbalanced work schedule
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
Low wages..unorganizes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
About Helping Hands
Airbrush Tattoo Artist (Current Employee) –  Concord, CANovember 22, 2017
Helping Hands is a Non-profit organization that gives back to low-income families who need help paying for extra curricular activities for example band, football, tutoring, basket ball, baseball, books for class, etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARNovember 13, 2017
Learned how to work with kids more
Work with kids and teach them changing diapers
The management is amazing
They are a mixed culture
Harder part of working at helping hands is when the kids not having a good day and they are upset
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working on your own
Companion/Caregiver (Former Employee) –  North Charleston, SCNovember 12, 2017
I enjoyed the job, I liked the fact that their was no one telling me what to do, and I was working on my own and I had my own schedule and hours that I choose to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and always enjoyed there
PCA Personal Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Richland, MSNovember 8, 2017
I had nothing bad to say it was a good company I enjoy and was kind and hard working toward him and I enjoy my job duties.It really touch me because I love helping people that can't help there self.
Pros
I had a free room
Cons
Didn't like when he went into the hospital
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

Want to know more about Helping Hands?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, Great Enviornment
Home Care Aide (volunteer) (Former Employee) –  Pelzer, SCNovember 1, 2017
Great place to volunteer, I absolutely loved every minute of it even though I didn't get paid. I wanted to help and they gave me the ability to do that without having to get paid. It felt awesome to do that.
Pros
Great Benefits to employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production and nice place to work.
Volunteer Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Paulding County, GAOctober 31, 2017
I'm only doing volunteer work as a case manager. But I really enjoying helping others while working in a healthy environment. I recommend anyone who care to volunteer and help those in need, come to Helping Hands. The employees are great along with the customer that come in for aid.
Pros
Helping those in need
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Home Health Aide (Current Employee) –  Sharonville, OHOctober 30, 2017
Very easy work the staff were friendly and enjoyable. The patients were well taken care and easy to maintain work schedule. I enjoyed helping and the things they had to offer.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job people are nice and helpful
Direct Care Worker (Current Employee) –  Kenner, LAOctober 28, 2017
Pt. Care and daily activities must be reliable and have transportation the job requires dedicated workers and you must have patience to be able to take care of residents
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ready to move on
Custodian (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 24, 2017
Working at helping hands was a great experience. I learned a lot and plan to use what I learned in my next occupation. At this time, I'm looking for a different environment with good pay.
Pros
great environment
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNOctober 24, 2017
Kids were great always easy to deal with. Also working with family makes it a little easier. Everyone showed up on time took naps, ate, and played all at sycronized times so everyday went smoothly.
Pros
Prepared me for my own children
Cons
having to leave th work place for good and go back to school
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Company
Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Fairfield, CAOctober 16, 2017
I worked 5-8 hour shifts with mainly one client. The client was wonderful. I learned to use different type of Hoyer lifts. Prepared meals gave baths and assisted client with getting dressed.
Pros
great communication from managent
Cons
not a lot of clients to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice little thrift store
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Arcadia, CAOctober 6, 2017
Cut hours due to bad management, some of the people were fun to work with. Everything went down hill when he and business partner had a falling out? The company went out business
Pros
Nonr
Cons
Cut hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible workplace with lots of independence.
Occupational Therapist (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAOctober 6, 2017
Helping Hands is no longer an active company; the owner sold it to a larger company after I left and I do not know how the working conditions compare now to those in place when I was there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clients are fun towork with
Home Health Aide (Current Employee) –  Gulfport, MSOctober 4, 2017
I personally don't have a problem with the job. But I want more for myself. I want to work somewhere where I can grow. I need somewhere with benefits because I have children.
Pros
You can take your own breaks, clients are easy to deal with.
Cons
No health care or room to grow
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Helping Hands. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 356 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7