Find companies:
Helzberg Diamonds
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
77 reviews

Helzberg Diamonds Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and wonderful co-workers
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Asheville, NCNovember 18, 2014
Pros: enjoyed selling fine jewelry to happy customers
Cons: seasonal position
The expensive jewelry I would retrieve from the safe and lay it out into the locked, glass displays and then at closing I would take it out of the displays and put it back in the safe. Showing, selling and completing the sales through the PO system. Packaging and sending jewelry off for repairs. Handling special orders, including sizing and layaways, – more... as well as packaging and wrapping when necessary for customers. Customer service with phone call and calling customers to inform them that their jewelry was at the store. Cleaning jewelry and inspecting repairs. Cleaning the store, stocking new merchandise.

The hardest part of the job was learning the PO system as it had many different operations it could perform. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a very good place
Management (Former Employee), Aurora, CONovember 15, 2014
Pros: great clients
Cons: everything
when i first started it was good i enjoyed and looked forward to going to work but than we got a new manager and she took my spot on the managerment team and gave it to her bestfriend beause her bestfriend needed more more because she had kids. to me it was unfair i worked hard for my spot and it was taken away from me
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small Customer care department
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee), North Kansas City, MONovember 4, 2014
Pros: good pay and benefits, tons of fun stuff sponsored by the company throughout the year.
Cons: not a lot of structure to department management.
Great company to work for, tons of perks besides the typical pay and benefits. They really try to make it a fun place to work in what can sometimes be a stressful job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Part time work
Office Associate (Former Employee), Saint Cloud, MNOctober 29, 2014
Pros: good money
Cons: retail schedule, idiot customers.
Obviously in a sales environment there is a lot of customer service and interaction. I worked this job full time while in college and I did eventually quit because I couldn't take the customers, the management and coworkers were awesome. I did see a lot of internal promotions and investment in the employees along with pressure to make sales goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Store Manager/Sales Manager (Former Employee), south carolinaOctober 29, 2014
Pros: always gave employees alot of free things
Cons: consumes your life
It's really not a bad company to work for. Just be prepared to work, work, work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helzberg Diamonds
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Lexington, KYOctober 29, 2014
Pros: great compensation, commissions based on performance
Cons: not reacting to issues that affect overall store performance in a timely manner
A great place to work, High ethical values, they care about their employees. Great benefits and compensation for those that recognize the benefit of hard work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helzberg experience
Sales' Associate (Current Employee), Mesquite, TexasOctober 23, 2014
A typical day is very inviting; you get to look at diamonds all day I mean what's not to like. Each day I'm at work, I get to learn the difference between diamonds, gemstones, gold, white gold and silver. I learn that every customer I come in counter with wants to have a different experience when they walk into the store. My management team is pretty – more... well put together they make sure we have what we need to succeed; we gel well as a team! We are a family at Helzberg, so of course we have our ups and down but we ALWAYS come together at he right time. We put our difference aside to get the job done; no conflict of any kind comes between the company making money and giving out clients the Helzberg experience. The hardest part of the job is not being able to connect well with clients. What make it hard is that you want to be able to reach everyone that walks through the door but in all actuality you can't; so you just continue to do your job in hopes that they get something out of the experience. Enjoying my job is pretty easy for the most part. Customers leaving with smiles on their faces and tears in their eyes from getting what they came in for, is a joy within itself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helzberg Diamonds
Sales Associate (Former Employee), El Paso, TX Sunland Park MallOctober 2, 2014
Pros: i did meet some very good people
Cons: working environment, store manager, regional manager and hr
Working at Helzberg Diamonds was one of the most horrible experiences I have ever had. The working environment was hostile it was a place i did not enjoy working at. The store manager was more focused on criticizing my wardrobe and hair instead on focusing on helping me learn about selling. I would not recommend Helzberg Diamonds as a place of employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In a typical day at work is very competitive within coworkers to make the sales.
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), Arlington, VAOctober 1, 2014
Pros: near location from home.
Cons: short breaks for lunch.
Most of the time was stressful since you had to be very aggressive during the sale presentation to get the sales from customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and highly performance driven job
Office Manager (Current Employee), Tucson, AZAugust 27, 2014
Pros: hi potential for money making, company with a lot of resources to meet customers jewelry requirements. i am always busy, non stopping.
Cons: long hours during christmas holiday season, unable to spend more time with family and friends.
This job requires a high level of attention to detail, I have been able to take my knowledge and skills to a higher level of performance, it is repetitive in a lot of ways and ever changing at the same time. Management is fair and driven and encourages you to perform to the best of your abilities, but not everybody is willing to do that. It is a highly – more... competitive environment with a lot of fun and freedom to use your own skills. The human interaction is the one of the best part of the job, the flexible schedule, the opportunity to make money. The hardest part of the job is that store is in the mall and it opens 363 days a year, and getting home after 9:30 pm 3 to 4 days a week. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and challenging job with lots of romance
Jewelry Professional (Current Employee), Lake Grove, NYAugust 20, 2014
I have learned a lot about myself during my years at Helzberg Diamonds. I have learned how to be an effective salesperson and that I am at my best when being honest and open with my customers. Teamwork is a big part of our success and we strive to support and encourage each other. A positive mental attitude can create not just a great atmosphere to – more... work in but also success in sales. The most difficult part of the job is the pressure to sell and meet my daily goals. Oddly enough that is also one of the most enjoyable aspects of the job as well. We have a great management team and a terrific group of positive and hardworking team members. It has been my honor to work with each of them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work if you love diamonds...so much to learn!!
Sales associate (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDAugust 7, 2014
Cons: wages
Being part of Berkshire Hathaway was something to be proud of and that made customers trust us. Co-Workers were super fun and very diverse hence, learned a lot. Hardest part of the job was the fear of being rejected by the customers once the presentation for jewelry was over.(Especially the big ticketed items)
Enjoyable part was the people you meet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCJuly 31, 2014
Pros: salary, work environment
Cons: hours
This is a wonderful job! Whether you are working as a sales associate on the floor or in the office behind the cash register. As long as you love jewelry you will find this job enjoyable.
This is a highly professional environment with pleasant coworkers. Advancement while at this company is very possible and commission is a perk!
Best for part-time – more... employment or full-time employment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frustrating
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Lancaster, CAJuly 29, 2014
Pros: park city mall has alot to offer, you meet really great customers
Cons: higher managment could care less, unclear policies
A typical day for me was doing the manager's duties while being extremely under paid. I was promised a certain salary when I was recruited from my previous job. when I received my first paycheck it was $1 short/hour. when I brought this up to the manager she told me to bring it up with the regional because she was moving away. I did...northing happened. – more... I brought it up to HR...nothing. Payroll...nothing. Then new recruits were hired by the new extremely under qualified manager (his friends and previous employees). One of them in particular (who had absolutely no jewelry experience versus my previous 3 years) was complaining about her salary to me which ended up being $5.50 more/hour than me!!! I was doing all the bookkeeping, client follow-up, and other manager duties. My original co-workers spoke up for me to no avail. I asked for a raise and was ignored again.
As you can guess I was looking for other employment while all these things were going on. I was meeting my sales goals, but it wasn't enough. Eventually the manager was let go. A new manager was brought in and I was let go shortly after without a decent explanation. soon after that 3 other employees were let go (we were the 4 highest sellers). Then she hired all her old employees from her previous company.
If this is a place were you want to start/continue your jewelry career, just watch your back. the policies are constantly changing both in-store and throughout the company. There is never a proper explanation of them, so when you don't follow them to the letter, don't be surprised if you get in trouble. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers had great personalities and deserved the utmost respect.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Appleton, WIJuly 21, 2014
Pros: healthcare benefits, co-workers with great personalities, the opportunity to "stand out" in the usual mall crowd.
Cons: frequent break interuptions, understaffed store, unfair expectations and standards.
I felt that management did not appreciate how diligently employees worked or how difficult it was for us all to repeatedly hear that our work wasn't good enough. Incentives were not enough to inspire the type of performance that was expected. It was well known to us that our best was expected, but the majority of employees at my store did not feel that – more... company actually cared about us as people. This is known to me because of several conversations with several employees which took place concerning the general feeling of disrespect. My co-workers (management aside) however, were some of the best people I've ever known and it was an absolute pleasure to be able to rely on such individuals during a shift full of product questions, numerous phone calls, several sales presentations, unreasonable/strange requests, etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small Mall Store
Jewelry Sales Consultant and Store Key Holder (Former Employee), Indianapolis, InJune 30, 2014
Pros: i was trusted with running the store, and being a key holder.
Cons: associates compaining
I was a key holder, and was responsible for opening the store, and closing the store. The managers that I worked for were encouraging all associates to be very aggresive, and to compete with one another. I appreciate what they were trying to accomplish, but found them to be too over the top.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), El Paso, TexasJune 17, 2014
Pros: fun team focused environment
I typically work 8 plus hours a day as an Assistant Manager. I have learned how to successfully apply the 8 Steps to Successful Selling that Helzberg requires of all associates. The management team implements an enjoyable team focused environment to ensure everyone succeeds. The hardest part of the job is getting clients to decide to purchase our high – more... quality merchandise and meeting sales expectations during difficult financial times. The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing the satisfaction in my clients faces when we find a piece of jewelry that really says WOW to them. I most enjoy being part of a memorable event such as finding the perfect engagement ring or bridal set. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), West Hartford, CTMay 21, 2014
It was overall an enjoyable place to work. It was serious when it needed to be though. I learned about diamonds, gemstones, gold and pearls. They do offer classes to earn your certificates to be a gemologist. It was an educational experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment with motivated sales associates and loyal customers
Store manager (Current Employee), Livermore OutletsApril 8, 2014
As store manager a typical day for me was to provide my sales team encouragement, couching and guidance in their sales and customer relations. I also constantly recruited new and promising sales associates and train them to reach my expatiations and the company expatiations . As store manager I make sure that we, as a team, followed company policies – more... and promotions. I made sure to have a healthy and enjoyable work environment for not only my sales associates but also for any customer that walks into our store. I make sure to reach daily and monthly quotas, I am always on the floor available for my sales associates and clients needs but i also make sure that my floor is always organized and appealing, I make sure all my sales associate are trained on any new product. I also follow up with my office manager to make sure that all our expenses don't cross our budgets, which includes payroll. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsible for entire operation of store including marketing Supervised staff and conducts performance reviews monthly
Store Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 22, 2014
Responsible for entire operation of store including marketing
Supervised staff and conducts performance reviews monthly

1 2 3 4

About Helzberg Diamonds

A fine jewelry leader since 1915.

Helzberg Diamonds Photos