Find companies:
Henderson State University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

Henderson State University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, caring family environment
Public Relations Specialist, Star Yearbook (Former Employee), Arkadelphia, ARJuly 7, 2014
Working for Henderson State University has been a joy for me. I have been an employee and volunteer in various departments. The environment is loving throughout all departments and very welcoming. The faculty and staff truly cares about their students, guests and employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunity to work with your professor
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), Arkadelphia, ArkansasJanuary 6, 2014
I worked with the School of Business department as a Graduate Assistant. It was an excellent opportunity to help undergraduates and review my own strengths and weaknesses in terms of your academic knowledge. A typical day consisted of tutoring business undergrads, proctoring exams and assisting professors as well as Dean.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent family type environment
Assistant Professor HPER (Current Employee), Arkadelphia, AROctober 10, 2013
Teaching future teachers is great
Learned how higher education functions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for work study
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Arkadelphia, ARMay 23, 2013
I worked in the English, Foreign Language, and Philosophy Department. It was a great place to have a work study.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Study Programs
Clerical Administrator (Former Employee), Arkadelphia, ARMay 20, 2013
I peformed light adminstrative duties as a work study student at an undergraduate University.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful learning environment for young professionals
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee), Arkadelphia, ARApril 1, 2013
Pros: flexible hours and friendly staff.
Cons: none.
Great learning experience for higher education students to train their communication and management skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resident Assistant
Resident Assistant (Former Employee), Arkadelphia ARMarch 6, 2013
Pros: interacting with others being a major impact on someones life
Cons: no set schedule
The pupose of this job, is to assist incoming freshman in becoming familiar with college life. I was a person freshman could come to in the dorm anytime. I was instructed to assist and help their every need. I planned programs and events so they would have something fun to do. I also provided tutoring and companionship. The hardest part of the job was – more... trying to tend to everyones need a different times, making sure eveyone was happy or comforatable. I learned different ways to deal with multiple personalities each individual obtained. I had pretty good Co-Workers and the management made sure we stayed on top of our job duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding and Fun
Running Backs Coach/Volunteer (Former Employee), Arkadelphia, ARFebruary 8, 2013
Pros: always learning and developing relationships with team and staff
Cons: never being informed. having to figure out all problems yourself and no guidline to help.
I am proficient with general computer programs including word, works, excel, power point. My communication skills, over the phone and in person are considered to be excellent according to former and current employers. I have strong media communication skills in answering complicated and advanced questions from multiple sources in sports media. While – more... working as an intern for Henderson State, I was responsible for recruiting, academics, film cut-ups, field preparation, work-out preparations, position meetings, class checks, grade checks, teacher evaluations, player/professor rapport , study-hall, strengthen freshman organization skills, scheduling (practice & game), travel itinerary, NCAA compliance, recording game day tendencies, player evaluations, and recruiting tours on official and non-official visits. I would conduct all film breakdowns through Hudl and Game Exchange programs. All scout film, game film, recruiting film, practice film and offensive quality control were produced each day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to excel as full time student
Mathematics Tutor (Current Employee), Arkadelphia, ARJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: free lunch on fridays
Cons: non
The job environment helped increase confidence and enthusiasm regarding problem solving. Both coworkers and student in need of assistance help ease the task by providing positive input. Overall, the hardest part of the job was to not be able to provide assistance to every student due to class hours obligation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work and has great co-worker relationships. Faculty and staff could mesh better.
Facility Operations Mgr/ Dir. of Campus Recreation (Current Employee), Arkadelphia, ARMarch 26, 2012
Pros: flexibility and benefits
Cons: work budget and lack of advancement opportunities
Henderson State is a a good university to work for and is located in a small city that allows it to work well with not only its campus community, but the city aswell. The benefits that the employee's receive are wonderful. However, the chance for advancement in my position is stagnant. I would have to change careers in order to advance in a wider range – more... of duties and in income. Therefore, I would give this job an excellent review but mainly as a entry to mid-level position. – less