Find companies:
Henrico County Public Schools
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
31 reviews

Henrico County Public Schools Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work.
Special Ed. Teacher (Former Employee), Glen Allen, VASeptember 5, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: no breaks
It was a good county to work for with excellent teachers. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with the students and their parents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
beneficial
Food Service Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Richmond, VAAugust 13, 2014
Can be beneficial to someone with passion for this type of work. Advancement opportunities are available for those who would like the opportunity. They have appreciation days for employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Pre-Kindergarten Teacher (Current Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 19, 2014
Work is different every day
management is key to a successful day
co workers are great
management is awesome
watching students grow and develop is enjoyable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and worthwhile
Teacher/ESL (Former Employee), Henrico, VADecember 8, 2013
Excellent work place enjoy the staff. Flexibel schedule team cohesiveness updated training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Special Education Teacher (Former Employee), Richmond, VASeptember 25, 2013
It could get stressful but a great team of people and positive goals made it great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organizes and supervises games, recreation activities to promote physical, mental, and social development
Substitute Teacher (K-12) (Former Employee), Henrico, VAAugust 30, 2013
Pros: establishes and maintains a therapeutic relationship
Cons: some student/classroom is short term assignments
Providing instructional, behavioral and administrative support, and helps students master assignments and reinforce learning concepts.Managed 21-30 classroom/students and provided instructions according to plans as prepared by the permanent classroom teacher. Maintained classroom control, discipline and used appropriate judgment to act in the best interest – more... of students at all times. Worked with students to help reinforce learning objectives. Distributes and grades assignments, homework, and tests. Present subject matter to students using lectures, discussions, or supervised role-playing methods. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Atmosphere
Secretary (Current Employee), Henrico, VAJuly 17, 2013
My days are filled with helping others and I enjoy the family atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Benefits/Bully Bosses
Teacher (Former Employee), Henrico, VAJuly 16, 2013
Workplace bullying is prevalent.
Some of the schools are nice.
Benefits are terrible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Bus Driver (Current Employee), Richmond, VAJune 25, 2013
Pros: free time in between runs.
Cons: health care
I enjoy driving the bus and working with the children. I learned first hand safety when operating a motor vehicle, working with kids. I enjoyed working with my coworkers, we all band together and help one another. The hardest part of my job is dealing with the traffic. The most enjoyable part is working with the kids.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and family oriented environment.
Cafeteria Worker (Current Employee), Richmond, VAJune 11, 2013
Pros: great schedule, free lunch, in-house advancement
Cons: pay rate, complicated sick leave pay procedures
Starts out very quickly with everyone assigned to their morning jobs. Everyone is very friendly and we all have built our own relationships with each other outside of work. Its a very team oriented environment. I learned how to solve problems very quickly and efficiently and my manager is a very patient, understanding, but firm person which I think – more... makes a great boss. My co-workers are from every walk of life, which makes it a very interesting and fun place to work. It is also a very diverse group of people, which means I learn a lot about other cultures and different foods. The hardest part of the job for me when I first started was remembering ALL the many duties that I had to carry out before the day was over and also getting it done in a small time frame. The most enjoyable part of my job is when my boss decides to cook for all the staff and make something fancy or something from his ethnic background for lunch. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Construction and Maintenance (Current Employee), Henrico, Va.June 4, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
compensation is not ideal, promotions are slow and not enough
help is provided on the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HCPS
Part-Time Instructional Assistant (Former Employee), Richmond, VAApril 19, 2013
HCPS was an great experience and i go back every single summer for the fun...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
INTERESTING PLACE TO WORK FOR
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Henrico, VAApril 2, 2013
Pros: management was great
Cons: sometimes a lot misunderstanding
Staff very friendly, sympathic Really cared about the families
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Hombound teacher gets to teach one-one.
Home Bound Teacher (Current Employee), Henrico, VAMarch 26, 2013
Pros: i get to travel from school to school.
Cons: short term assignments.
It is a nice part-time job. A typical day at work I travel to different schools and pick up assignments from the classroom teacher. I give instruction to the student and return work to the school. I usually make copies of the student's work just in case the teacher has misplaced the assignment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional education environment
School Counselor (Current Employee), Elko Middle SchoolMarch 21, 2013
Pros: collaborative teamwork
Cons: rescheduling critical events based on the unexpected
A typical day at work involves a collaboration of efforts to accommodate student needs. In my current role, I engage in multi-tasking through a variety of duties and un-expected events that require interventions. I work with a very professional team that has the best interest of students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An innovative technology minded county
Biology Teacher (Current Employee), Richmond, VAFebruary 16, 2013
Pros: use of laptop for persoal use as well as work. time off
Cons: compensation, responsibilities placed on teachers not only to teach, but fill-in where parents are lacking
I sell myself everyday! I connect with the students and co workers and have a proven record of high passing rates on the state tests.

My admistration is stella. There are high expectations, respect and appreciation; inpsiring me to strive higher.

I teach three subjects: biology, BIO II and oceanography, and need to be adapaptable not only to subject – more... matter, but changes in our daily schedules.

Students comei nto my classroom with many issues. I allow a safe place and they know I care; therefore they are receptive to learning.

I enjoy when there is a connection and studnets have that Ah Ha! moment! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and friendly place to work.
Instructional Assistant (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJanuary 22, 2013
Pros: extended vacation time
Cons: short breaks
Working in the school environment is very fun. The management is very friendly, and caring. The work hours are very flexible, and you have most of the same days off as the students. The hardest part of the job is eating lunch within 15 to 20 minutes. Overall, this was a very pleasant job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience for learning to become a teacher
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee), Henrico, VAJanuary 7, 2013
Pros: working with kids and talking about what i love. (history)
Cons: being a substitute teacher is tough but it teaches you about classroom management.
Subbing at a variety of different schools allowed me to gain valuable experience in a multitude of settings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The children are the joy of the job.
Bus Driver/CDL Class B, P, S (Current Employee), Richmond, VAJanuary 2, 2013
Pros: time off
Cons: flexibility to get a second job other than at night to supplement pay
It is working for the county. That should sum it up. It is not the best job but not the worst.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Library Assistant (Current Employee), Sandston, VAOctober 20, 2012
Pros: fast paced environment, flexible work schedule
Cons: not enought hours, pay schedule
-Assists Librarian acquire, prepare, and organize materials,
-Registers new patrons and issues library cards,
-Responsible for loaning library materials to patrons and collect returned materials