Henry Booth House Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 9 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Workplace
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 3, 2015
I was a teacher assistant working with chinese children, helping with in class/outdoor activities. I was cleaning the facility as well, helping with class trips. It was a summer job for After School Matters.
Pros
Working with children
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Education Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 30, 2014
Poor Management with know real direction of how to be successful. Professionals were talked to like children. Bias and favoritism was evident for certain employee. Certain staff was not given respect.
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes10No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive workplace
Youth Development Program Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Chicago ILJanuary 22, 2014
This was one of the best experiences i have had thus far. During this volunteer work i got to interact with different children from different age groups and cultures. A typically day is filled with activities to keep kids active and healthy.
Pros
field trips, free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, and rewarding place to work.
Youth Development Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 20, 2013
A typical day would start off by arriving to work and getting our plans ready for the day or reviewing plans that were already made. I learned that you can get so much more from a job rather than just a pay check. Management was very helping and my co-workers were awesome. The hardest part of the job was losing children and the most enjoyable part was knowing that what I was doing was helping someone.
Pros
making a difference in someone's life.
Cons
none.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible place to work at
Family and Community Involvement Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 29, 2013
Flexible place to work at
Vacation benefit is excellent
Management is not organized but good place to get experience.
Pros
great benefit
Cons
low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Social service agency
Health Educator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 17, 2013
Social service agency that aids women, children and families. Very diverse.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Henry Booth House Programs really paid off in the end.
Clerk/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 29, 2012
I typed all correspondence for the Head Start program and had to train the person who took over my position. The people I worked with were okay and I learned a lot there. The hardest part of the job was having to be trained to punch in on a time card, but once I got the hang of it, it was easy. The most enjoyable part of the job was going to galas for the agency.
Pros
learning new techniques and making money.
Cons
being called away from the office to assist with other work.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Human Resources Assistant (contractual) (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 19, 2012
Henry Booth House is a detail oriented, fast paced and overall friendly working environment. As an employee of the HR Department my day-to-day duties include: monitoring credentials and qualifications of childcare employees.
Pros
challenging duties, friendly atmosphere, flexibility
Cons
no health benefits for contractual employees
Was this review helpful?Yes3No

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 9 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture