Hercules Offshore Employee Reviews

Found 66 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always given the opportunity to learn new aspects
Senior Regulatory/Compliance CAD operator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 16, 2017
Hercules Offshore was the best places that I've ever worked. They were always open to new and exciting aspects of drilling. I was always given the opportunity to visit offshore platforms and jackups to inspect for Fire and Safety routines. Hercules Offshore is no longer a company sad to say.
Pros
Wonderful people and very rewarding company
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Engineering, Compliance, Liftboats-Admin (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 1, 2017
This company was run on a tight, but productive schedule. It offered flexibility to deal with personal matters and overtime was also offered.

The office culture was a family atmosphere. The hardest part of the job was the heavy workload, phones always ringing, vendors stopping by unannounced.

Management was eager to assist by readjusting duties or tasks. Or as a department we could shuffle around work.
Pros
We were given an hour grace time
Cons
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Payroll Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 17, 2017
This was my dream job and I would still be there if they had not gone bankrupt. Everyone was great to work with and it was a truly great company. The culture was relaxed yet everyone knew and did their jobs.
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
Went out of business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with good work environment
Lift Boat Captain (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAFebruary 9, 2017
Good workplace. Good management. Good benefits. Enjoyed the shifts. Supervisors allowed managers to manage their personnel. Enjoyed working at the shipyard for overtime. Everyone worked well together.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Sold boats to other companies due to low revenue
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work crew
Galley Hand (Former Employee) –  Houma, LAFebruary 9, 2017
Hercules offshore was a great company to work for they provided work uniforms boots twice a year and also transported us to work if we had a job out west by charter bus by for one of the best companies I have been employed with.
Pros
Paycheck was sent out first friday after hitch was over
Cons
Great benefits & Dental plan
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Site Assessment Engineer and Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 14, 2016
Very professional organization with great benefits and relaxed atmosphere. Ability to learn all about the marine oil and gas industry from the office setting to the actual offshore field portion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Their is a pool table also video game station, computers for employees use.
Crane Operator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 9, 2016
very good place to work, very safe, good work environment.
They make sure all policies and procedures are followed. Make sure all employees are properly trained for the position the hold.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
two, 15 minute breaks, 30 lunch break also.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was good company when they were operating
Crane Operator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 29, 2016
Hercules was a good company, the started small and grew to be a big company that took care of customers and employees. We were laid off because of oil prices.
Pros
GOOD PAY
Cons
POR CATERING
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very big on saftey
Electrical Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 14, 2016
During the day went over projects underway and working with Managers planing future projects. Management was very helpful and glade to work with me. Others workers were very helpful. Hardest part of the job was the offshore challenges. The fun part was planing the projects and seeing them completed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful company to work for!
Senior Buyer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 21, 2016
Working for this company has been a great experience. I have had the opportunity to work with and for great people who realized my potential and helped me realize it.
Unfortunately, we were part of the oil and gas crisis and had to close down operations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with .
Steward / Chef (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 19, 2016
Good place to work . Was laid off due to troubled times in the oil patch. Benefits were also good. Survived 3 major layoffs from the company and was on the last rig that stacked.
Pros
good benifits
Cons
Will get laid off with no notice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sr. Electrician (Former Employee) –  Gulf of MexicoSeptember 15, 2016
my experience: overall is a good place to work, good salary and benefits. Safety is always the main topic of daily safety meeting in addition to the planned activities for the day. Management is fair and coworkers help each other.
Pros
salary and benefits
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Cook (Former Employee) –  Mostly LouisianaJuly 14, 2016
Was a once in a lifetime job experience for me and great people. Loved the time off but hated the time away from family . Not for everyone. But well worth the experience. I would do it again if I could.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They concentrate on safety
Mate 151 Southpark Rd. Lafayette (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAJuly 8, 2016
Overall it was a great place to work. We had the team work going on and worked well. Very dangerous work at times.
My job consisted on directing the crew, inspections, preventive maintenance.
Pros
Free food yes and mostly always very good.
Cons
Again baggage and personel transfers could be difficult depending on the weather
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People, Poor Decisions
CEO (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 3, 2016
The people that I work with are great and driven however management has made poor decisions that caused this company to go bankrupt.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work at when oil prices are up.
Rig Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 7, 2016
Good company to work at when oil prices are up. Every is enjoyable to be around and treat you fairly. Was rig manager for about 2 1/2 years until oil went down and got played off. The managers are fair and honest with you.
Pros
Friendly people
Cons
not a stable job lay offs when oil prices go down
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liked the hours and the balance between home and work
Derrickman (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 12, 2016
Hercules offshore gave me and my family a good life and allowed me to provide for my family for 9 years. I made alot of good friends and learned more about my ability to learn new skills
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a stable company
Roustabout/Floorhand (Former Employee) –  gulf of mexicoJanuary 24, 2016
Good foot in the door for oil and gas industry. Company was in trouble and laying off for over a year. Felt like there was zero job security through out my time there.
Pros
low pay
Cons
time off
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work
Roustabout/Motorman (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 5, 2016
The pay is good, coworkers are helpful, you spend about half the year away from home and family, you work in all kinds of weather conditions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of fun and a great place to work.
Sr. Payroll Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 4, 2015
Extremely busy, friendly co-workers management is awesome, willing to help out as much as possible. Always have vendors coming in to feed you.
Pros
Great benefits. Job Work/Life Balance
Cons
for some reason it was hard for your dept or other depts to own up to mistakes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hercules Offshore. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 74 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9