Find companies:
Heritage Centers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 reviews

Heritage Centers Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful place to work
Employment Specialist (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYSeptember 27, 2014
Cons: underpaid
Management had no clue what they were doing. There is no formal training to gain experience in the field that you are working in, they just throw you in the mix and expect you to know everything. You do an array of jobs and only get paid for one. there is no overtime, and if you are going to go over your hours they make you adjust your time to prevent – more... paying overtime. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self rewarding Career
Residential Habilitation Specialist (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYAugust 22, 2014
Great opportunity being able to work for a company that helps those in need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reflective, Humble, Rewarding, Smiles
Lead Habilitation Specialist (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYAugust 4, 2014
Pros: the long life friends and memories you will take with you.
Cons: the above and beyond duties required of staff, physically challenging
Heritage is a challenging place to work as a employee. In this area of special needs, you need to have a special heart and disposition for the individuals and all the challenges and barriers they bring to the table. You have to get in a place of not taking an individuals actions personal and still embrace them when the day is done no matter how hard – more... the day was. The most enjoyable is seeing the smiles of the individuals you serve, the hugs, tears and the thank yous are unforgettable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job!!
Direct Care Aide (Former Employee), Tonawanda NyFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: great learning experience
This was my first experience with working with people with developmental disabilites. I learned a lot and was able to take what i learned from People and advance throughout my carrer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
-
Residential Habilitation Trainer (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYFebruary 6, 2014
-Managed facility working with adults with special needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An agency with concern for consumers and employees with good work ethics.
Senior Accountant (Accounting Manager) (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYOctober 31, 2013
A company with a good work ethic. Concern and focus for consumers. Good fellowship with co-workers. I had a fun and challenging time up-grading internal financial accounting procedures and processes. A rewarding job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work overall
Life Skills Trainer (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYOctober 1, 2013
Pros: great people we work with
Cons: never knowing when i would be done with work or knowing how much my paycheck would be
Assist individuals with developmental disabilities with achieving their valued outcomes such as money skills, household cleaning, mobility training, etc. I also worked in the office answering the phone and making phone calls to our individuals. I assisted with creating and implementing social skill classes. I aided my co-worker in creating a spreadsheet – more... to keep track of those who attended activities and creating a monthly calendar. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment where children gather afterschool
Program Instructor (Former Employee), Buffalo NYAugust 22, 2013
Pros: working with children
Cons: only 12-15 work hous per week
A typical day at Hertiage Centers would be to create and review monthly newletters, activity and snack calendars, training of new staff, engaging atypical children in constructive play, transporting, communicating daily reports to parents and my supervisor and documentation for billing purposes. The most rewarding part of my job was that it allowed – more... me to be creative as well as to be a positve role model for my co-worker and the children we served. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
service coordinator, faced paced environment
Medicaid Service Coordinator (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYJune 1, 2013
Pros: very rewarding position
Cons: long hours
I worked as a service coordinator with the special need population, coordinated services, completed all the necessary documentation to ensure their benefits and entitlements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for
Direct Care Staff (Former Employee), Grand Island, NYJanuary 8, 2013
It was a good place to work for. My fellow co workers where friendly and helpful. Management was easy to get along with. The most enjoyable thing about the job was working with the people with DD and seeing how happy they where when they would see you. It really made you feel really special in their eyes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aweful
Employment Specialist (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYSeptember 7, 2012
Don't work at Heritage it's absolutely terrible. Especially Supported Employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Buffalo,NYAugust 30, 2012
I worked there on a per-diem basis for a few years. I never had any problems with management, supervisors or anything else. Like most direct care positions the pay is relatively low, regardless of education or experience, but such is the case with human services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience in residential housing with kids
Residential Trainer/Service Plan instructor (Former Employee), Cheektowaga, NYMay 18, 2012
Pros: able to work with children
Cons: no reliable or consisten hours
Hands-in setting. Gained experience working with familes and specifically children placed in residences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty managable place to work
Residential Shift Leader (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYMarch 20, 2012
Pros: fun, see a lot of places you've never seen before
Cons: require serious delicacy, or, cost your job
This agency is strict and worth working for. When providing care for the individuals, you have to show compassion and interest, or the job is not made for you. It is worth the money however, the job security can be a bit so/so. It all depends on what site you work and shift. I enjoyed my site and the individuals...Just too bad that I had to move to – more... a different city – less

About Heritage Centers

ANHC is a cultural and educational center that provides cross-cultural exchanges, workshops, educational programs, cultural events, – Read more