Find companies:
Heritage College
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

Heritage College Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented,
Medical Assistant Instructor (Former Employee), Denver, COMay 21, 2014
Pros: very supportive when came to family issues. coworkers all helped each other.
Cons: management not communicate effective, no "actual" lunch break, shifts changed constantly no set shifts
Expected to do different shifts between 830 am - 930 pm -- no set schedule. Management doesn't communicate effectively. Coworkers were all very nice and helpful at all times and we helped each other - Teamplayers. Students were awesome to instruct. Company really helped me out when my husband passed and were very supportive when had to work part time – more... for two months. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meh
Medical Assistant/Limited scope X-ray instructor (Current Employee), Denver COMay 20, 2014
Pros: fun students
Cons: bad management
not a great place, but not the worst
low pay
bad hours
fun students
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid like plague
Faculty Instructor (Former Employee), Columbus, OHMay 16, 2014
Pros: great colleagues; some great students
Cons: inept management; many students just dont care; no support from management and leadership
The leadership of the school cares more about money than about education. There is no support system for instructors, and those who should be helping spend their time undermining and backstabbing. Most students there are not there to learn and there is a decided lack of maturity and respect. Sometimes you have terrific students that make all the hardships – more... worth bearing. But those highs are quickly countered by the lows of horrible management, frequent unpaid mandatory meetings during lunch or break periods, frequent need to correct student behaviors only to have management overturn and undermine each effort, and a terrible work/life balance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place to work if you're a family member!
employee (Former Employee), Oklahoma CityMay 10, 2014
Cons: the company itself!
This is quite possibly the worse place of business I have ever worked, filled with nepotism. I advise anyone who is considering Heritage as a work place to RUN, RUN fast! If you’re not sure what nepotism is, let me break it down for you. The VP of the company’s husband is the National Director of Education. Their son is the Director of the Denver school – more... and his wife works for corporate. Their daughter who is the former part time receptionist is now the Director of Education and her husband who is the former maintenance man is now the Program Manager over massage. His sister is the Master of Instructor Development and their father is the business instructor. The director of the Oklahoma City school is considered to be their “surrogate” daughter who they have also brought up in the ranks. Now, not only is this unethical and immoral, but also dangerous. If you are classified in the education department and you have a problem that needs to go to corporate who do you complain to; the DOE’s father or her mother?

I worked there for many years and I saw very educated, qualified and dedicated people fired or let go for various reasons but as an employee I and everyone else saw the wrighting on the wall. It was almost always personal. I have even been witness to the director say that she hated an employee for years and now that she has the power she couldn't wait to get rid of her.

I watched as the Director of Admissions enrolled people who could barely read and write; students that could not literally write a paragraph on why they wanted to go to school. When asked how she could ethically enroll them her answer was “I don’t qualify them, I just enroll them.” When these students would finally start classes and realize they were over their heads, the Director of Education would Bully them to stay in using the scare tactic that they have already spent X amount of money and now it will be wasted and they would have to pay it back immediately if they don’t complete the program. This is not only unethical but also immoral. How do you charge someone almost $30,000 for a medical program you know they will not be employable in because they have a severe learning disability in and can’t read or write?

I watched as they graduated a girl who could not read a job application to fill it out and their answer was “she’s going into massage; she just needs to be good with her hands.” Is there not going to come a time where she needs to read someone’s chart? Can you please explain to me who she was able to pass Chinese Medicine and other difficult classes when she has clearly stated that she does not know how to read?

I could go on forever with the heinous things I have seen this unethical school do to students; one of the worst pushing these unfortunate students on to instructors demanding that they pass their modules. These students were to pass regardless if they are ready or not. How comfortable are you in knowing that your medical assistant at your doctor’s office graduated from Heritage and has blown many veins because they are not competent in phlebotomy but pushed through for the overall dollar?

You may think this is a review from a jaded scorned ex-employee but I assure you I’m not. If that was the case I would have put each one of their names in this review. I am an ex-employee who loved their job for many years, and loved their students even more. This is a review to help each one of you make an educated decision on working at this horrid place. If you don’t believe me, go in for an interview and asked how each person “worked” their way up to their positions and watch them squirm. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expected to have no life
Admissions Coordinator (Former Employee), Wichita, KSApril 28, 2014
Don't expect to have time to spend with your family or take any vacation days. Every time you ask for a day off it will be frowned upon. Expect to call students a minimum of three times a day every day when they inquire. You will upset people and have a miserable work life. You will stay late every night. The job is NOT what they say it is. Run.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Program Manager (Current Employee), Denver, COApril 7, 2014
I have the pleasure of working with wonderful people. Sharing knowledge and education to others is very rewarding with this company. We help individuals change their lives, we work with all walks of life in helping them obtain their goal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting of different cultures and ethnics
XMT Instuctor (Former Employee), Wichita, KSMarch 13, 2014
Pros: working with a variety of people
Cons: hard to get days off
Has good educational values; willing to work with all kinds of ethnic backgrounds to make sure the student suceeds in life and life choices.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding
Professor of Medical subjects (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: student appreciation for your knowlege
Cons: few breaks
aspects of teaching are both rewarding and appreciated by the students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a well productive interacting place to work
Instructor (Current Employee), Columbus, OHJanuary 29, 2014
very fun with consistent student and staff activities, maintains a very busy workday, productive, management is flexible, co-workers are silly and hardworking, hardest part of the job is not being a part of management or administrative, most enjoyable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and An Overall Good Experience
Receptionist (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKNovember 2, 2013
Pros: weekends off, great pay, fun events, and professional
Cons: department changes, changing staff, and some difficult students
I worked as front desk at Heritage College. I had only had a few other jobs like retail and customer service before hand. Working at Heritage College was fun and I improved my professional skills. I improved my multi-tasking skills and my people skills. The atmosphere was very professional but at the same time, very fun because of the events held for – more... students and the staff. The only thing I found frustrating was how many times the managment changed or how everyone swapped places in each department. Also, there were differnt standards that were changing as well. If you can deal with the consistant upgrades, and you like having your weekends, this would be a good place to work. Overall, it's a great experience :) I am blessed to have had the opportunity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heritage College
Admission Coordinator (Current Employee), Denver, CoOctober 22, 2013
It is a great company! As a Admissions Coordinator we see different people everyday. there is always a variety of tasks to be completed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really great team...
Dental Assistant Coordinator (Former Employee), Wichita, KSSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: great team
Cons: hours
Lots of new ideas and management that will implement. Loads of communication and respect for one another.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Great People, and Fun Enviroment
Director of Education (Current Employee), Wichita, KSAugust 19, 2013
Working for Heritage has given me the experience that I have wanted and needed to grow into the manager I am today. Everyday I am learning something new about myself but at the same time having fun. The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing the student graduate, especially when they were challenging ones.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stability Concern
Admissions Coordinator (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJuly 30, 2013
I was recently offered a position with Heritage College. After the offer was made I asked if I could take 1 business day to discuss the offer with my fiance. When I followed up on the agreed upon time to accept, I was told that they had already given the offer to the next candidate.

I find it disconcerting that a company would agree to allow time to – more... think over an offer and then give the offer away before the set follow-up time. If they give an offer away so quickly and without notice, I would not trust their employment to be very stable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Massage Therapy Instructor (Current Employee), Columbus, OHJuly 29, 2013
Would be better if they were better staffed and also had better moral among the faculty
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Medical Assistant Instructor (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARFebruary 19, 2013
Pros: benefits, supportive management and home office
Cons: split shift
The pay could be more for the type of work. The split shift is very hard and will put stress on both the person and family. A non-split shift would be great! Benefits great. The company itself is great and the managers at the Little Rock campus are the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace for students.
Receptionist (Former Employee), Wheat Ridge, COJanuary 30, 2013
Pros: free lunch every couple months.
Cons: no chance to move up in company
Answered multiple phone lines, filing, data entries, book keeping, assisted with daily office duties. I learned how to get someone to start college by asking them a lot of questions. Listen 80% of the time, and talk 20% of the time. The customer opens up to you, leading to them wanting your services. The hardest part of the job was trying to set up – more... an appt for the potential student to come in and enroll. The most enjoying part of the job, was to see how excited the students were once they graduated college. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Controlling, extremely negative atmosphere
Admissions Coordinator (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: starting salary
Cons: everything else
The Little Rock campus is an extremely negative atmosphere. Everyone that works there (with the exception of one or two people) only care about the numbers. They don't care about quality. They're negative towards most people and make it very obvious that it's a for profit private college. I would never recommend that someone works there. I watched 5 – more... people quit in the span of a few weeks. Quit. Not fired. Because they made them that miserable. The administration is extremely clique-ish and band together on everything. Most of the employees have little to no background in their current job and it shows when you work with them. They don't value employees and they don't value students. All they care about is forcing people to enroll in programs that are not worth the money that these students pay. It's a scam, just like all the other for profits in the area. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student at Heritage College
Student/Intern (Former Employee), Wichita, KSJanuary 11, 2013
Pros: i liked the physician i interned for
Cons: too expensive, poor quality education, poor quality follow up
I would NOT recommend anyone going to Haritage. The cost of the education is expensive, the course will not properly train and prepare you for the field. Heritage graduates don't have the best reputation in the community do to the lack of quality education provided by the school. The class sizes are kept small but the students that attend need only – more... be available for fasfa and loans so the school can get paid. There is no quality control. The school doesn't help with job placement after graduation and if you become employeed DONT tell them. They will harass your employeer for information about your job for months so they can claim it on their records as a placement. This is the worste school in Wichita and I regret going there. I would suggest that persons looking to go into the medical field go to WTI or BCCC. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Late nights, but great people
Admissions Coordinator (Former Employee), Wichita, KSNovember 23, 2012
80 percent of the day is on the telephone and you are expected to stay late often without being compensated for extra time. The staff and faculty are amazing coworkers.