Heritage Crystal Clean Employee Reviews

Showing all 23 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some of the best people I've ever worked with
Branch Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Monee, IlMarch 10, 2016
Tough business environment do to commodity aspect of primary lines of business. Many challenges operationally. Extremely challenging selling environment. Still managed in increase new business revenues by 21% over previous year within my territories.
Pros
Outstanding HR department, Great Regional Manager in the Chicago area
Cons
Morale is difficult to raise due to uncertainties in the market.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales & Service
Sales and Service (Former Employee) –  Hartland, WIMarch 21, 2016
Duties to include: Sales and Service of solvent and water based parts washers. Built and sustained good business relationships, became familiar with tools and machines stocked in company's tool crib’s to achieve top level sales.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long ago
Sales and Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Bay City, MIFebruary 4, 2016
Was a starter career. It was fun and exciting while I was there but I moved on.

The auto industry has always treated me well.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working atmosphere
Sales Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 18, 2015
Ran work orders for customers
I learned to work efficient and safely
My co-workers were like family
The hardest part was lifting and rolling 800 lb drums onto and off the flatbed truck
I enjoyed most about the job was working at a pace that kept me busy all day
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co workers were great
ESP Assistant (Former Employee) –  Elgin, ILDecember 13, 2015
Co workers were a fun bunch to work with. Management lacked providing motivation, challenging. I had to invent things to keep myself busy
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operating and maintaining loadind and unloading used oil
Bulk Movements (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 29, 2015
3years experience of operating and maintaining loading and unloading used oil.
The hardest part of the job was when opened ammonia drum.
The most enjoyable part of the job was when loading and unloaded used oil into rail car.
Pros
Monthly bonus
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heritage-Crystal Clean
Oil Sales and Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCFebruary 23, 2015
HCC is a great growing environmental service company. I did enjoy my time there, and the company always kept me busy. Though when the oil market crashed recently is was harder, and harder to really earn a good living due to the changing market conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proactive and interesting work environment
Compliance Associate (Former Employee) –  Elgin, ILFebruary 28, 2013
The typical day was filled with a new assignment everyday along with projects from previous days. I was able to properly allocate my time in order to maximize my productivity and also helped to my co-workers to complete assignments. The hardest part of this position was the time constrained deadlines involved on a daily basis. I enjoyed having everyday be interesting and filled with excitement.
Pros
various projects
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grow business, secure new account, and maintain current accounts
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  USAJuly 17, 2013
if you are with the right "click" you are golden and will never do any wrong no matter how bad you suck. You can be the top in sales in the company and someone will find a way to skrew you. Its all about what you did today, who you know and who you blow!
Pros
pay, freedom, benefits
Cons
some upper management, make policies up as the day goes, family works to close together in the company and to much gossip with in the company
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
: Participate in sales functions with various companies in the South
Sales/Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Schertz, TXJanuary 5, 2014
. Duties include selling and servicing parts washers, parts cleaners, drum waste
management, oil collection, oil re-fining, vacuum services, and parts cleaning solvents as well as
other products/services pertaining to environmental services market. I also work with other sales
professionals and assist in upgrading existing service.
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience starting up brand new unit.
RE-REFINERY OPERATIONS SHIFT SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 31, 2012
Having the opportunity to use my 25 years experience to help create the training manuals,start-up and shutdown procedures for this used oil re-refinery vacuum and hydrotreater systems was a great feeling of accomplishment.Daily planning around the final construction was enjoyable but truly a constant challenge.The most difficult part of the job was the learning curve of a warehouse transforming to the rigors and a safety adjustments of becoming a oil processing refinery.Management was very supportive of our needs and made all of the tools available for all of us to succeed.
Pros
ability to operate successfully with little supervision
Cons
company did not provide a pension plan
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multiple positions held in the company
Various (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAFebruary 7, 2014
This is a very disorganized company. I worked there for many years and held various positions with them. Policies are made up as the go along. Different answers are given to problems based on what manager you are talking to. Advancement is nonexistent (unless you were fired from Safety Klean, then you shoot to the top of the ladder for promotions).

Pay was good as long as you never factor in how much you make a hour and only look at how much you made that week.

Good way to get your CDL and Hazmat though!

Just to let you know this is not a I hate them, got fired, and am writing this to get back at them. I left on my own accord after being offered a position with a company much better. I am still on HCC will hire back list.
Pros
great way to get your cdl and hazmat
Cons
oh so many...read my review
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable environment
Branch Administrator (Former Employee) –  Monee, ILMay 17, 2014
My day to day activities included mainly billing customers. I learned how to use many different applications on the PC. My upper management team was satisfactory. Also, my co-workers worked as a team. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning new things from a new company.
Pros
free company lunches
Cons
workload
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ft Lauderdale super is a tyrant....and very disrespectful
SALES SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Ft. Lauderdale, FLMarch 19, 2012
Great place to work, company o.k., my immediate supervisor Ft.Lauderdale, FL..Not a nice person and very disrespectful, will throw you under the bus to save own self.
Pros
not hard to succeed
Cons
pressure for sales in service based business, competition has better prices
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  ElginOctober 20, 2014
There is always work to do. The branches send their work in through out the week, keeping us busy. The only overwhelming time is when we close at the end of each month.
Pros
great healthcare
Cons
short lunch, only 30 min
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very interresting
sales rep (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXOctober 2, 2014
was very interesting I loved my job. I was over 12 people managing a Branch . Waste removal and sale of new chemicals to auto repair and industrial facility's
Pros
keeped me very busy and challenging
Cons
14 to 16 hour days
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Oil Sales and Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 5, 2014
They have good benefits and salary. Every day is different. It is challenging.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough days and nights
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis,INApril 25, 2014
work is very demanding the switch from days and nights are tough. but the days off are plenty
Pros
lots of time off
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average company
Service and Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, ILSeptember 29, 2013
Work 45-50 hours a week. Hard work for minimal pay in my opinion.
Pros
no weekends
Cons
work on a commission rate of 4%
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best job I've had so far
Tanker Driver (Former Employee) –  Bossier City, LADecember 28, 2013
The management is great, the work is easy, the money is wonderful.
Pros
great pay, friendly bosses, easy work
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 23 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.8
Culture
3.0

Heritage Crystal Clean Reviews by Location