Heritage Oaks Hospital Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 13 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The absolute worst experience of my professional career.
Mental Health Tech (Current Employee) –  NursingDecember 1, 2015
These people have such terrible management. When faced with a problem they are quick to pass the buck and nothing is EVER solved. You are not safe at this place, management is too apathetic to keep an eye out for their employees. This is a dead end job, there is ZERO interest in cultivating employees talents. Compensation is embarrassingly low. Team work is almost unheard of, save for a select few amazing people that work there for some reason. They DO NOT pay enough for what you have to go through there. STAY AWAY!!!
Pros
Working with patients is very gratifying.
Cons
Terrible pay, terrible management, tons of apathetic and uncooperative employees
Was this review helpful?Yes14No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would not recommend this job
Mental Health Technician Heritage Oaks Hospital (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMay 3, 2016
Typical day at work is stressful
What I've learned is to be more compassionate with people who are struggling with mental illness
Mangement is absolutely horrible
Co-workers some are great to work with but for the most part they could be more professional.
Hardest part of the job is dealing with patients who get agitated
Enjoyable part of my job is knowing that I can make them feel wanted when they feel alone. I love it when they tell me you made my day better. It's what kept me here.
Pros
Patient's when you get who appreciates you
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Patient Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJuly 31, 2016
I love working for Heritage Oaks Hospital. The staff is amazing and the atmosphere of the Hospital inpatient and outpatient is like no other.
Pros
Flexible Schedules
Cons
Per Diem, no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
funny how these things work
MHT (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJune 13, 2016
So you see all these positive posts trying to show how this is a good place to work.

Funny how the people who actually worked there don't think so.

Looks like propaganda from Heritage Oaks to me
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and co-operative workplace that highly productive and well managed
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMarch 19, 2015
Every work day is pretty intense, but good team work with efficient management makes working enjoyable feeling myself proud.
Being per diem worker at every unit, I have been learning all procedures, paper works etc.
Management is very efficient that is open to feedback from the employees
Co-workers are good professionals dedicate themselves to team work.
I feel that paperwork is too much, and takes a big portion of daily duties.
The best part of this job that I learn new things every day.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJune 29, 2015
I work in the most acute psyche unit at Heritage Oaks Hospital. The first 6 months was very challenging since the behavior of my patients are unpredictable. As i gained experience and confidence with my daily tasks, my work became more enjoyable. My unit demands a lot from employees but we work as a team which make it more easier.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring staff to vulnerable psychiatric clients.
Psychiatric Registered Nurse, charge, supervisory (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAFebruary 11, 2013
RN Charge nurse over acute in-patient adult and adolescent psychiatric clients. Administer medications, review orders, communicate with physicians, staff and patients.
De-escalate inappropriate patient behaviors.
Enjoy caring for patients as they transition to more optimum behaviors.
Pros
staff who cares
Cons
benefits limited
Was this review helpful?Yes9No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
provides excellent psychiatric care to community
Various Positions (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CASeptember 11, 2014
had numerous opportunities to advance career. enjoyed the people who worked there. felt like helping the community.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to expand skills and stretch competencies.
Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAAugust 20, 2013
I had an excellent experience at Heritage Oaks Hospital. It is a challenging environment with many opportunities to try new and challenging skills. With a diverse population of acute mental health patients there is always something to learn.

The staff was helpful and easy to get along with. The matter of fact focus on what needs to be done to ensure the safety and comfort of the patients made it easy to be in a difficult environment. There was always a challenge to face and someone to support me through it.
Pros
good support system. good pay. great people to work with.
Cons
working with acute mental health patients is challenging and often sad.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Intake Clinician (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAApril 5, 2013
My typical day was spent working on the unit as a Social Worker for eight hours and then often doing another eight hours as an Intake Clinician.
Pros
great management very supportive
Was this review helpful?Yes6No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational and professional working environment
Psychiatric Nurse (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJuly 21, 2012
Everyday is a learning experience for me, sometimes overwhelming incidents happen and I just have to be ready for everything that comes my way. The hardest part of the job is being floated to different units so I have to adjust everyday with unit assignment. So far my co workers and supervisors are very supportive during busy shifts. The enjoyable part of the job is I am able to communicate therapuetically to my clients and it is so fulfilling.
Pros
free lunches every month
Cons
quite far from where i live
Was this review helpful?Yes6No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place and team work.
Floor Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAFebruary 6, 2014
I loved working at Heritage Oaks Hospital. We were all like one big family.
Pros
discounted lunches and good work atomosphere.
Cons
laid off due to budget cuts.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6Report

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.3

Heritage Oaks Hospital Reviews by Location