Find companies:
HERMES
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
136 reviews

HERMES Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and rewarding
Hermes sub depot manager (Former Employee), Halifax, ENGNovember 17, 2014
Pros: early morning starts
Cons: having to work weekends
Great team work among the team of couriers and myself. I learned that organisation meant that the job was done more efficiently. The hardest part of the job was if/when couriers failed to pick up their rounds, this meant finding either emergency cover or taking out the rounds myself. The worst part of the job was that the contract was only won on a – more... short time basis. Unfortunately I have now lost this contract so the depot can not remain open open. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Know your place
Transport Supervisor (Former Employee), CoventryNovember 13, 2014
Pros: good salary
Cons: long hours
I started as a driver and was soon promoted to transport supervisor. However they implemented a day shift manager who didnt know his bottom from his elbow and soon changed all my workings which was very frustrating. I left as i couldnt take no more of his nonsense. Since leaving he has now left. I reapplied for a position but was completely blanked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not easy job
self employment courier (Former Employee), London, ENGNovember 9, 2014
Pros: no
Company does not support curriers. I had received daily about 100 parcels about 11am. It required sort which take about 1h. In the late Autumn and Winter time it was not possible complied daily delivery because customer very often were afraid to open door when outside is dark.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day to Day Role
Field Manager (Current Employee), Berkshire/Buckinghamshire areaNovember 2, 2014
Pros: 27 days holiday
Cons: long hours
Reporting to the Regional Manager, my role involves working independently to provide an essential link between the company and my team of couriers in the region. My role as field manager involves the recruitment, interviewing and training of personnel, ensuring total courier coverage in this area, together with the development of back-up files and maintenance – more... of individual courier records, whilst working in a remote environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and very productive experience in customer service and store management.
Store Manager (Former Employee), Moscow, RussiaOctober 24, 2014
Pros: good salary and work environment
Cons: very intensive work with almost no free days
It was wonderful team spirit and very productive work. We organised a lot of interesting corporative events to improve our interaction and create very friendly atmosphere in our store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working as a substitute means extremely poor pay.
Part-time Hermes delivery driver (Former Employee), Falkirk, SCTOctober 14, 2014
Pros: meeting the public
Cons: very long hours for verypoor pay as regular driver kept majority of payments.
Start downloading delivery schedules at 6 a.m.
Pick up parcels between 7-8 a.m.
Sort parcels into areas
Deliver to customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Drivers Mate (Former Employee), Oldbury, ENGOctober 14, 2014
Cons: long hours
it was only part time when they were busy we were out on the road all day going door to door with customers parcels
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very demanding
Courier driver (Former Employee), Gloucester Road Station, ENGSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: long hours
parcel workload was very demanding 100 parcels minimum from letters to boxes. decent pay but really strenuous at the start.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and upbeat workplace
Courier Driver (Former Employee), London, ENGSeptember 25, 2014
working at hermes was demanding but i loved every minute of it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work experience
Work Experience (Former Employee), Shrivenham, ENGSeptember 22, 2014
Work experience at Hermes was fun and interesting to experience what a working environment is like. Communicating with customers and sorting and organizing parcels was good to learn how to systematically get through the workload in an efficient and fast way. I gained valuable experience and skills from being in a working environment that I can carry – more... into employment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Marketing of Export/Import (Former Employee), TashkentSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: free lunches and free car from company
it was fun everyday and meeting new different people to make conracts. Half day at the office and half day in public work which I never get bored.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New working place
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee), WarringtonAugust 12, 2014
I achieved lots of experiences in this company such a good communication with management of company who were all the time open to help and open to communicate all issues which happened during working days. The hardest parst of job was that its very hard for condition according to lift heavy items which were needed to delivered to customers on time. – more... The most enjoyable part of the job was that I met there some very nice people who I had very good and nice conversation with and were able to help in busy time at work. I really enjoyd time there but according to my studium and previous working experiences I decided to leave and carry on with my previous working experiences equivalent to my studium in the UK. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excelent
team member (Former Employee), kiveton,August 11, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: long hours
very busy typical day at work. i learned how to work under pressure and work to deadlines. my team leader and management very nice and helpful when i needed. working with my colleagues was always fun and everybody was friendly and helpful. hardest part of the job was to working long hours and collecting heavy parcels.
i enjoyed working in harmes every – more... day it was very good life experience for me.
thank you . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good enviroment to work and friendly staff.
night loader (Current Employee), perthJuly 16, 2014
Cons: night shift
Good fast paced environment so always have to be on the ball.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
FLT Truck Driver (Former Employee), WarringtonJuly 16, 2014
The most enjoyable part of the job the atmosphere & the team work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lifestyle Couriers Must Read This
ex Courier (Former Employee), CourierJuly 11, 2014
If you are looking to become a Lifestyle Courier for Hermes or Yodel then first have a look at this forum www.lifestylecouriers.net
You will find out all you need to know about being a courier for this company. It is the biggest and best UK independent forum for lifestyle couriers, full of past and present couriers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no fun in the work place
Courier (Former Employee), Dundee, SCTJune 18, 2014
Cons: did not earn enough
did not like the way it was run would not work for them again.I learned a lot about being a courier from co workers and how to use the hht not from hermes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
benefitial expirience
Assistant Courier (Current Employee), AlkringtonJune 12, 2014
delivering parcels in the community.
learned how to deal with customers
weather difficulties
taking to the customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place to an extent
warehouse operative/ first aider (Former Employee), essex & knowsleyJune 2, 2014
Pros: good rate of pay
Cons: finishing at 2am with no way of getting home
iv worked for the company for over a year, i moved from essex where i worked for them and help train the staff for the new warehouse in knowsley, being the only girl made it very difficult for the 'banter' as i had more experience than them i got all the name calling plus travelling 13 miles just to get there made it all too much and i had to leave, – more... managment was awful one of the managers told me that 'far too many complaints' had been put in about myself to later find out not one person did. other than the bad times it was a great place to work but i would sooner work back in essex for the company where there is no sexism. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work - Crewe Courier
Courier (Former Employee), Crewe East, ENGApril 7, 2014
Pros: meeting people
Cons: field management.
I enjoyed working for Hermes, picking up parcels and delivering them, enjoyed meeting the people I was delivering parcels to. Until I came into contact with the FTM management. Most of them are beyond useless (I had 2 in my time there), my training was minimal, I learnt everything off the other couriers or depot staff. They never replied to phone calls, – more... and told you where you were always going wrong but never when you were doing a good job. They expect you to go that bit further for the company, but they wont do it in return.

My van got stolen, and 8 parcels taken, but over 100 were retrieved, so they sacked me...2 hours after it happened. My FTM then told others why it had happened, which I was appalled at. Hermes - the caring face of parcel delivery. Disgrace. – less

1 2 3 4 5