Hess Corporation

217 reviews

Hess Corporation Employee Reviews

Found 212 reviews matching the searchSee all 217 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace
Supply Chain & Logistics Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 7, 2015
An interesting company, but one in turmoil as it is spinning or selling off many divisions, and shutting down others. A very young staff, but older, out of touch management.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun place to work for, but not enough money.
CUSTOMER SERVICE CLERK (Former Employee) –  Dover, FloridaAugust 3, 2015
I was there for 2 years and learned better customer service skills. Enjoyed the group there and the Manager also. It was a team environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Clinton, NJJuly 28, 2015
Everyone at hess / speedway was great. co-workers are good to get along with when it came to breaks for during busy hours. It was great being outside all the time except for the few occasions that you would be on register.
Cons
little to no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work day
Warehouse Worker engineer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 21, 2015
nice fun and very productive group of people to work with.
Always on the move and on the go doing something different.
Hardest part of the job was the changing of management every 6months.
Pros
everything
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Cobleskill, NYJuly 15, 2015
its a great first job long hours and hard work but it was a fun job. The only downfall is that you can only advance so far in the job field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and fun
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCJuly 8, 2015
My normal day consisted of nonstop customers getting gas,food,lottery, etc. This job was a little faster pace envirment due to it being a bigger store. Most of my coworkers were friendly and management was okay
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very productive company with room for advancement
"A" Operator (Former Employee) –  Erath, LAJuly 7, 2015
I worked for Hess CO. for 5 yrs. and Enterprise Products for 3 yrs. due to a buy out. This all took place at Sea Robin Gas Plant in Erath LA.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A friendly evrionment to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJune 26, 2015
I enjoyed working for company and meeting new people everyday. The customer were always friendly and outgoing. I learned a lot of names because some of them would come in the store 4 or 5 times a week. The atmosphere was always pleasant. I enjoyed working with my co-workers and it was always a fun and exciting day. The most enjoyable part was putting smiles on their faces everyday. The hardest part was not having a full staff all the time.
Pros
meeting new people everyday
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Site Manager (Current Employee) –  Multiple LocationsJune 20, 2015
Great job, mostly great people, upper management very uneasy to work with. There needs to be more opportunity for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Company I Have Worked For
HSE Advisor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 10, 2015
Hess is one of the best company I Have ever worked for. during my time at Hess it was proven that Safety was its Number 1 Value time and time again.
Pros
Safety Program
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
goood
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Spring Hill, FLJune 10, 2015
good company to work for. good for a high school student. coworkers tend to be scumbags. i dont know about this response.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over night stocking...
Cashier, Over Night Clerk (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYJune 4, 2015
I was the over night worker and stocker at Hess gas station. Duties included mateniance an general running of the Hess store. The job was pretty fun, as i worked over nights.
Pros
nights
Cons
sometimes encountered drunk people
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure, stable and dependable income
Institutional Cook (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 2, 2015
A typical work day starts at 5 am to open the kitchen, with the morning hours preparing scratch made meals for our guests and VIPs. 11 am is the start of our two hour lunch service in which we go from cooks to servers. 1 pm to 2:30 pm is clean up and close the kitchen
Pros
No weekend
Cons
No promotions, no leadership opp, too routine...
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to work for
Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 2, 2015
Day to day life at Hess was great, a fun and challenging environment.
I got to experience the end to end life cycle of an oil company.
Our management team is a fantastic team who are all very passionate about their leadership roles.
Pros
Subsatized Lunches and 9/80 work schedule
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place to work
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Land O' Lakes, FLMay 28, 2015
Sell products to individuals, maintain a clean work environment. Management was easy to work with and understanding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It can be very easy/hard place to work at if you cant handle all weather
Gas Operator (Former Employee) –  Newark,NJMay 14, 2015
co-workers are very sociable and works well with other. they show a lot of respect. costumers can be rude at times some are very friendly.
Pros
Everything comes out of your pocket
Cons
No breaks really
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cooperation and satisfaction always present
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLMay 8, 2015
Working at Hess really occupied my time, but it was a good occupation. There were the times where customers came in droves, and down time, but it was busy regardless. Our management and coworkers have the biggest hearts and are always encouraging each other to work hard and efficiently. Talking to the customers everyday always gave me something to smile about, and even long lines of customers didn't bother me much. Overall, I am proud to have worked for this establishment and with all of my coworkers and managers. Thumbs up!
Pros
Enjoyable work environment, friendly customers
Cons
Limited lunch period
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, politics prevail, abuse of employees
Senior Geological Technician (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 30, 2015
Company is in a constant state of re-organization. Lack of preparation of well forseen projects by the poor management there causes employees to have to work long hours and miss the target for the project. Politics and favorites are a definite part of the work climate in many teams. Management finds one person to pin all of their failures on in order to stay on top. Sexism, discrimination, and illegal practices are alive and well in the company.
Pros
$6 all you can eat lunch, 1:1.3 matching 401K, pension, good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for, going in a different direction
Manager, HR Service Delivery (Former Employee) –  WoodbridgeApril 27, 2015
Excellent learning and collaborative environment. Recognition for job well done.

Company recently divested all downstream businesses leading to a large culture change.
Pros
Benefits, Compensation
Cons
No flex-time
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting workplace with excellent coworkers
Cost Control/Project Services Technician (Former Employee) –  Minot, NDApril 23, 2015
My job required me to manage many special projects and provide updates on a daily basis. I learned how to use SAP and Microsoft Access and enjoyed my coworkers. The most difficult part of my job was not having enough work to do, resulting in a lot of unproductive time. The most enjoyable part was learning how to use new databases and my coworkers.
Pros
Good coworkers
Cons
Not enough work, lack of overall department organization
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 217 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture