Find companies:
Hess Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
136 reviews

Hess Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Refinery with all units-good experience
Sr. Electrical/Control Systems Engineer (Former Employee), Port Reading, NJApril 1, 2014
Pros: good safety records and operation mangement and maintenance department with good skill staff.
Good field engineering experience in refining industry. This refinery has 70000 barrels per day crude refining units. We had good number of process engineers, project engineers and maintenance engineers. Experience and work environment was excellent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Support Technician
Technical Consultant (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 28, 2014
Pros: nice work environment good pay
Cons: short term temporary work
Break Fix work,
Hardware / Software support
Telephony support
System imaging
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hess atmosphere
Senior Sales Associate (Former Employee), Margate, FLMarch 6, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: health insurance and no breaks
My experience at Hess was not the best but it was not the worst; but, I have gained knowledge of how to manage the store at all levels. However, they can never be satisfied, and have me working under constant pressure. Meanwhile, my co-workers provided support and a family environment to help me through the days. The hardest part of the job was meeting – more... inventory quota. Most enjoyable part of the job was creating the upmost customer service and seeing the smiles on many faces on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Friendly working enviroment
Senior Manager, Market Risk Control (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: friendly working enviorment
Cons: health care
Great management and constant develop and mentor its employees. Very friendly co-workers which is the most fun part of working at Hess.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: dealing with different personalities and building relationships.
Cons: constant turnover and schedule could sometimes be unpredictable.
Building rapport with regular and non regular customers daily, tracking lottery, cigarettes, maintaining a balanced cash drawer while dropping excess into safe. Working with the team to keep store safe and clean for both workers and customers.
Management and coworkers were great to work with and everyone helped as needed and did there part. Working – more... at retail like this you're able to build relationships with each customer as they come and go, with that in place it is a little easier to provide the best customer service experience with each individual. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service (Former Employee), Lake Worth, FLFebruary 10, 2014
Customer Service
Shift leader
Audits
IT WAS A GOOD INVIREMENT BUD THE COMP DONT LIKE TO SEPEN MONEY FOR THE BETTER OF THERE CUSTOMER O EMPLYEE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: on site lunch room, on site starbucks with cheap prices
Cons: far drive if you live outside of downtown houston
The managers and other employees were all great to work with. Hess offers a 9/80 schedule which makes life a little easier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company with good people.
Millwright (Former Employee), Port Reading, NJJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: discounted lunches were a plus!
Cons: benefits
I loved the my co-workers. We became close like a family when working together. It is a shame the plant closed because when working with those individuals the days routines diid not feel like work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good company
General Manager (Current Employee), Brockton, MAJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: benifits
Cons: pay
A good company. makes sure you're trained in every aspects of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serene atmosphere for "trading" knowledge
Drilling Engineer (Trainee) (Former Employee), TakoradiDecember 12, 2013
Pros: free breakfast & lunch; workers were easily "accessible" including supervisors
Cons: no accommodation, healthcare, incentives etc.
Monitored the progress of Well Operations
Participated in HSE meetings
Reviewed Drilling Programs & DDRs
Had an Excellent Rapport with Supervisors
Held a Presentation with the Drilling Team on every Friday, which was fun!
Found it challenging though, to learn a lot within a short space of time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place with excellent people
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Oyster Bay, NYDecember 3, 2013
Pros: worked with reliable people
Cons: no room for growth
ensure selling floor was adequately stocked
manage staff and payroll
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellenet
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Oyster Bay, NYDecember 3, 2013
A typical day at work is busy. I mostly work at the cashier selling merchandise and gas. Helping maintaining order in the facility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I only performed attestation functions; much of my time was spent at client locations.
Audit Manager (Former Employee), Beckley, WVDecember 1, 2013
Pros: building productive relationships with clients and colleagues
Cons: frequent out of town travel
Arrived at work, planned the week/month, scheduled clients; had management cancel the appointments and replace them with higher paying clients.
The hardest part of the job was making promises to my clients, which after management rearranged my schedule, I was unable to keep and traveling overnight roughly 3 months a year.
The most enjoyable part of – more... the job was meeting new clients, developing professional relationships, and guiding the client through the attestation process. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nail bitting
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Land O' Lakes, FLNovember 25, 2013
Manager was Thrived on Drama, Was Always calling people Mean names
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hess Oil Refinery culture was different to say the least.
Bid Console Operator (Former Employee), Port Reading, NJNovember 18, 2013
Pros: hess loved to feed you. alot of famous daves
Cons: poor management.
The closure of the Hess Port Reading put the operations dept. out of work. I was employed for 27 years until the closure this year 2013. Hess Port Reading lost quite a bit of talent in the business.

Benefits and pay were decent, but management was challenged in the day to day operations of the facility. Every day was a new day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Assistant Site Manager (Current Employee), Milltown, NJOctober 31, 2013
Pros: hours are good and flexable
Cons: no annual reviews not enough hours offered for the work they want done
>Good company to work for.

>Computer skills, customer relations, management skills, margins and sales.

>Management could use a little looking into by there superiors not saying all managers but reviews could be helpful
customer complaints/comments/suggestions should always be taken seriously and looked into.

>Co-workers are great.

>Hardest part – more... of the job is trying to get everything done on a very limited time frame/schedule.

>Knowing that our site is in the top 5 and being part of leading the team there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Completions consultant
WELLSITE CONSULTANT (Former Employee), Tecumseh, OKOctober 21, 2013
Over see all Duties on job site from start to finishCoiltubing
Frac wireline Flowback etc
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent entry level, just make sure you know policies
General Manager (Former Employee), Hicksville, NYOctober 12, 2013
Pros: not a tough job for the pay
Cons: watch your back
Worked for Hess for many years, starting at the bottom. Circumstances allowed me to propel myself into a manager's position, don't take it the wrong way, I worked and I taught myself. Pay was decent for the amount of work I was doing, quarterly bonuses are awesome if you can get the right team together to make the differences needed to increase margin. – more... It also helps to be mechanically inclined, service calls can end up costing a lot of money for the littlest things so call up your fellow managers and see if they have spare parts, otherwise kiss that bonus goodbye and prepare for your marketing rep to chew you out over the P&L. The only warning I will give is this, make sure your team knows you aren't to be messed with and make sure your rep knows that as well, otherwise you'll get into situations where people take advantage of you and if there's blowback it'll be on you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, fabulous people
Senior Lean Advisor, Manager Lean Training (Current Employee), Woodbridge, NJOctober 9, 2013
Pros: great people
Cons: reorganizing/selling business parts
Great company, fabulous people. Job is being eliminated as a result of the sale of business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Credit Analyst Hess Corporation (Smyth Consulting) (Former Employee), Woodbridge, VAOctober 1, 2013
Very exciting work environment the fellow emplyees were like family.

1 2 3 4 5

About Hess Corporation

Integrated oil and gas company Hess Corporation has corporate exploration and production operations in Algeria, Australia, Azerbaijan, – Read more

Hess Corporation Photos