Hess Corporation Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and competitive atmosphere with great people
Lead Commercial Negotiator - Business Development (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 8, 2017
Culture of creativity attracts great talent and fun people to work with. Also provides great benefits and perks such as a subsidized cafeteria on-site and discounted gym/club memberships.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place environment
EHS Advisor (Former Employee) –  Tioga, NDNovember 2, 2017
Great place to work. I can't say enough. I enjoyed all of the people from the bottom to the top. Everyone was helpful honest and genuine. Very professional and relaxed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lobe my job my DM came and seen me once a month never had a problam
General Manager (GM) (Former Employee) –  Lessburg,flOctober 31, 2017
The company sold all there station so the new company came in wth there people so I had already find me a job we love working together there everyone was so friendly
Pros
We all was like family there
Cons
I really can't thi k of no Cons
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  New York StateOctober 24, 2017
Great place to work. Great hours. Paid I'd good. Dealing with customers can be challenging at times. Great co workers. Manager was always there. No lunch break was not cool!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for Engineer or Operator (plant or field) positions
Training Specialist (Former Employee) –  Seminole, TXOctober 24, 2017
Engineers have a very good, diversified development program
Engineers can choose to work production, process, or facilities
Operators have both knowledge & hands-on skills training
Operators have the opportunity to either work leases, satellites, batteries, or gas plants
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful co-workers, horrid top leadership
Geophysicist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 21, 2017
Worked in the exploration part of the organization. First line managers were quite good, the top leadership was as bad as it gets: bullying, yes-man pressure, a real throw back to the 1970's.

For anyone under 45, its OK - good compensation, varied workload. But the culture is stifling. Middle managers and higher manage upwards out of fear.
Pros
good compensation, good intro to the industry to young folks
Cons
Blatant age discriminator, stifling top-down culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hess empyment
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Raynham, MAOctober 21, 2017
my hess location was very laid back. you would cover the desk, allow customers to use their cards at the pump. responsible for stocking food and merchandise when it arrived in store, cleaning duties, coffee station attendant, paper work, checking id for tobacco products etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviriment
Operator/Control (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 12, 2017
Excellent place during commission but when new supervision came into work place the moral went down. Upon new arrivals and commissioning learned a lot of new skills and helped me out in the long run
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall positive company culture
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 11, 2017
Overall positive company culture demonstrated by senior corporate leadership team. Engaged in several projects within multiple lines of business and various levels of complexity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very safety conscious
PRODUCTION SUPERINTENDENT, Gulf Coast Business (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAOctober 6, 2017
Hess Corporation was a great company to work for. They were very safety conscious. The work environment was very pleasant. They had quick responses to any questions when asked.
Pros
Great Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing COmpany
Sr. Document Management and Compliance Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 20, 2017
The company is going through a change at this time. So there is no stability in the changing environment. The company is a good company to work for once the final blueprint has been completed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gas station
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Ormond Beach, FLSeptember 19, 2017
I loved my manager there she was very friendly and encouraging, I moved to palm coast because of someone I had met. I would not have left there otherwise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Project
IT Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 16, 2017
I was brought as a contractor for a multiyear project. After oil prices kept low, other projects were put on hold. Hess seems to treat their employees fairly good and provides good opportunities. I just wish oil prices will climb north of $50/barrel.
Pros
Nice subsidized Cafeteria and coffee shop, paid bus passes
Cons
In my case contractors were not allowed 9-80 schedules, reporting Manager has an interesting style to manage people and projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Derry, NHSeptember 11, 2017
I wish this company still was in New Hampshire. The atmosphere was an amazing place to work, management was fantastic. I was working on my college degree as a massage therapist and they have worked with my school schedule. I left the company to go pursue my career.
They are sadly out of business and speedway has taken over.
Pros
Management, Team Work, Great Atmosphere
Cons
Out of Business in New Hampshire
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Energy Company
Contractor Status (Former Employee) –  Rocky Hill, CTAugust 31, 2017
Great energy company to work for. With locations all over the world it provides many positions and locations to work for. Great staff and I had an overall great experience there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Oneonta, NYAugust 29, 2017
Fun and productive
Nothing new
The manager was great to work for
Worked as a team
There really wasn't anything hard about it
The team and the customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Cashier/Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Billerica, MAAugust 28, 2017
Good marketing rep.good atmosphere to work ,corporate people very nice ,human resource wonderful person ,you can feel it your second home working with them
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive company
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  South CarolinaAugust 13, 2017
This was my fisrt job i really did love it if it was not bought out id prob still be working their they took care of me advaced me but without a doubt more dangerous then expected
Pros
Night shift only have to deal with pple out a window
Cons
Bad customers lots of drunks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It ok company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Winter Park, FLAugust 10, 2017
Its up to you if you want to grow with the company the you work with are friendly and helpful team player and customer and nice great work environment
Pros
Flexible with schedule
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Rig Completions Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Minot, NDAugust 8, 2017
Hess is a great company to work for, I am looking for opportunities in Oklahoma or Texas. The reason for this is , I have 4-daughters that live in Oklahoma and I would like to spend some time with them and my grandchildren.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hess Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 407 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7