Hess Corporation Employee Reviews

Found 348 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Sales Representative/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  New JerseyAugust 6, 2016
With this company, nothin better than working in an environment that could give understanding on how to effectively manage resources.. Working with Hess also gives decent salaries that improves worker confidence and efficiency.

This job is something to consider of your lookin to make a good living.

Thank you
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
International Assignment
Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 19, 2016
Great working conditions and very knowlegable management
from the US and Isreal. Project was on time and met the
clients expectations.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lean and focuded operatiions
Project Manager - Topside Integrity Program (Current Employee) –  HoustonJuly 15, 2016
Great place to work with high level of autonomy for your area of responsibility. Typical 8:00 - 5:00 workday but no expectation on the hours worked as long as work is getting done. This generally meant coming in @ 6:30 and finishing anytime after 4:00pm.

Good management team that is hands-off but very supportive as were the co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
informative and good first job to cross train in many areas
Customer Service Representative (CSR) (Former Employee) –  Spencer, MAJuly 13, 2016
excellent first job experience but the pay should bee higher. there are many duties that need to be done in store daily and I quit because I feel as though I wasn't being paid enough for my duties
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everybody helped everyone out so it made the job fun and fast
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Fall River, MAJuly 13, 2016
I ran the drive thru and front counter and the grill area, and did dishes and helped with the night closing of the drawers.
Pros
I loved my manager I had on 3rd shift she made the night fly
Cons
crazy hrs.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun while it lasted
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  West Babylon, NYJune 22, 2016
I worked at Hess for a season. It was a nice place to work. Sorry to see it go. My co-workers were helpful and friendly. I loved the customers I saw daily.
Pros
Good co-workers, stability
Cons
Micromanagement by some managers
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at hess
Assisting the General Manager (Former Employee) –  Smithtown, NYJune 21, 2016
good learning experience when it was hess but since it is taken by Speedway it was hard to work, because more restrictions for no reason.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working this comapny is a great pleasure
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Kings Park, NYJune 1, 2016
nice atmosphere.good colleagues.i like that company.I am getting better wage .it has every benefits scheme,leave etc;-
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad job, I enjoy working with the public
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYMay 27, 2016
Hess was not a bad company to work for. They are no longer existent, which saddens me. I enjoyed my coworker we all were team players.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
they went out of business
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Food Service Counter Clerk (Former Employee) –  Bradenton, FLMay 26, 2016
Overall I had a great experience at this job! I loved being able to interact with customers and having the responsibility of closing the store and training other employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
frustrating, people often underpaid
Drafter I (Former Employee) –  Hays, KSMay 19, 2016
some of the people were nice, but departments were often unorganized with some people doing the work of a few. I found it difficult to deal with constantly being told I was getting a raise (up to regular starting wage!) if I would do this or that, and once I had upheld my end of the deal, they totally forgot about my raise.
Pros
paid holidays, new challenges
Cons
management, pay, work expectations unclear
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, met alot of differant people
Cashier (Former Employee) –  New Bedford, MAMay 16, 2016
It was not my all time favorite job but I did not dis like it. The job mostly consisted of counting tobacco products, money and lottery. I worked at the register and I worked the overnight shift. It was an alright job.
Pros
discounts
Cons
it was a little work area
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
demanding and accurcy required
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Riverview, FLMay 15, 2016
My job at Regions Bank was wonderful. I enjoyed it all the time. Customers were enjoyable and other employees were good to be around.
Pros
The job was fun and kept me busy.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hess
Gas Station Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLMay 6, 2016
Ok place to work. Didnt give many hours.

Manager was nice. Good food.
..... Would not go back though, unless it was the last job
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Challenging workplace where I could improve the store appearance and sales.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Ware, MAMay 3, 2016
Typical day at work was managing worker schedules, ordering replacement inventory, managing store displays and bank deposits. People skills in supervising staff. Staff was challenging as most were entry level and their "call out" required me to work their shift. The hardest part of the job was keeping the inventory accurate as shrinkage was an issue. The enjoyable part of the job was working well with associates and management team.
Pros
The fun and challenge of retail.
Cons
Employee call outs
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunities.
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYApril 15, 2016
I was working with Hess for 7 Years, my experience was excellet. love the company and love work with my team work. Work with customer is my passion.
Pros
lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was great for a time...
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Bellingham, MAMarch 29, 2016
Now hess has been bought out by speedway, but prior to that when i worked there i worked for many great people and learned alot in the retail management field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always Learning
Rig Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Minot, NDMarch 18, 2016
Was always learning something new about the drilling process for oil, different procedures used, and tools etc. Was a ton of knowledge and intelligent people with in Hess. There is a lot that goes along in the process of getting oil or gas from below the ground.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ridiculous Deadlines, No Incentive
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Hays, KSMarch 14, 2016
near impossible deadlines and no incentive, the work cycles are patchy but that goes with the industry. The company also has a huge lack of communication from the higher ups
Pros
Possible Advancement
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Sr. I&E Tech. (Current Employee) –  Tioga, NDMarch 14, 2016
Great place to work.Never a boring moment.Summers are beautiful but winters suck. But a great place to sharpen your skills
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hess Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 356 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7