HGST Employee Reviews

Found 42 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of tension because everyone was worried that they woul move engineering to Japan.
Contract Engineer (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COMarch 5, 2017
Very difficult project that was behind schedule when I got there and there were too many unknowns that they were learning as they went along. Manager was ignorant of what the project took so kept making unrealistic goals that couldn't be met. The work was challenging
Pros
Free Friday lunches
Cons
Uncertainty about future work continuing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, good benefits and fun place to work
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CADecember 27, 2016
Productive, good benefits and fun place to work with i enjoy working with my employees, they are very helpful in teaching me with our daily work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Software and Firmware Engineer (Former Employee) –  Rochester, MNDecember 25, 2016
Smart people, disciplined and focused teams.
Focused management enabling creation of cutting edge, top of the line products.
Pros
Great people and great projects to work on.
Cons
Minnesota weather.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment and great people
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CANovember 28, 2016
a day at work was rarely stressful and there was always someone there to help you out! It felt like a team :)


I learned a lot while I was working there which thanks to my manager who was willing to teach me a lot of the tricks I now know (in Excel, emails, etc.)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good working environment
Senior Test Engineer (Former Employee) –  Santa Ana, CAOctober 12, 2016
* Testing and debugging issues
* Gaining product knowledge
* Excellent Management
* Excellent communication w/ co-workers
* Very long Hrs
* Technology
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clash of Company Cultures for Now -- WD, IBM, Hitachi, Sandisk
Global Senior Manager, Self Servo Write (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CASeptember 21, 2016
There still is clash of culture, corporate politics due to multiple mergers in the past.
Due to declining revenue of core HDD business, there will be constant pressure to reduce workforce in foreseeable future.
There is no guarantee in job security and it will no fun during the next few years.

This is all dependent on how fast the company will transition to solid state drives (SSD) from HDD -- how to invigorate Sandisk business and how well compete with Samsung SSD business.
Pros
Top management decision to prepare for the future
Cons
Declining HDD business -- regular layoff next few years
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HGST a Western Digital manager are poor.
Sr Metrology Equipment Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CASeptember 17, 2016
HGST a Western Digital company managerment team so poor.
Managementem do not care the employee. They want chinese engineer only.
Pros
N/a
Cons
n?A
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
HR Support Rep (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAAugust 24, 2016
Overall good experience and great people to work with. Growing and changing company. Commute was good for me since I live near by. A lot of change is happening within the company so there is no job security there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SAP ABAP/Fiori/Success factors CONSULTANT With strong Functional experience
Lead SAP ABAP/Fiori Consultant (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAAugust 22, 2016
I am having very good experience in SAP ABAP,Fiori,UI5,Successfactors,CRM,BAPI,BADI,User exit,ALV,OOps ABAP,RFC,ALE/IDOC,Workflow,Webdynpro,SD,MM,FICO,PM,CRM,CRM,SCM
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place and a lot of learning
SoC Integration Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAJuly 8, 2016
Felt very comfortable doing my internship and I learned a lot of useful and important stuff. My assignments helped me a lot during full time interviews.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance and decent benefits
Development Engineer (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAMay 24, 2016
Its a good place to work with decent benefits and competitive pay. Management is very ambitious and progressive. Co-workers largely helpful with some exceptions. Job security is a constant concern at this job due to consolidation among competitors and overall industry challenges.
Pros
Free lunches once every week
Cons
Job security, StorageIndustry challenges
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice workplace and learned a lot of things related to data analysis
Big data analyst (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COMay 22, 2016
I learned how to analyze data in a real industry instead of only cases in books. Besides, I learned how important the communication and discussion with team members is.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine place to work, Interesting projects & effective cross functional teams. Team building culture is high on CEO's priority.
Sr. Mech Design Eng'r, ME (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAMay 20, 2016
Excellent place to work. Work & home balance wise and interesting projects. Management is effective, strong and concise in implementation. Multi cultural representation in all groups.
Pros
Corporate culture, equipment, interesting work, calibre of people.
Cons
No stock options offered to Eng level.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad and not good
senior hardware development engineer (Current Employee) –  san jose, caMay 18, 2016
Benefit is as other company.
Unlimited vocation.
Good working environment.
Have internal Gym
Poor documentation
You will pretty much do the same thing everyday.
Pros
unlimited vocation
Cons
not much growth opportunity
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
on site gym
Senior Engineer (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAMay 15, 2016
Ok company.
managerment and coworker, case by case.
Most are good, some are....
Industry is going down slope. More lay off coming up.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a nice company to work with.
Front End Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAMay 12, 2016
HGST is a storage company with a long history that Initially was belong to IBM. People are really nice and good work-life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Job not a Career
Field Applications Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAMay 11, 2016
HGST Management spends ZERO time on "People" management. There is no time spent on employee enrichment, development or career building activities. Management only worried about the fires of the day and micromanaging employees.
Pros
Interesting Technologies
Cons
Poor Management, Poor Benefits, Average Salaries
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work.
Engineering Technical Writer (Former Employee) –  Santa Ana, CAMay 10, 2016
I worked for sTec | HGST for nearly 10 years and found it mostly a positive experience. All my managers were very supportive and tried to get me the resources I needed to do my job. My fellow employees were incredibly helpful and patient.

Please note that HGST is undergoing a merger with Western Digital at this time, so a hiring freeze may be in effect.
Pros
Supportive management, fellow employees were always helpful, good health, dental and vacation benefits.
Cons
Large corporation; sometimes one hand does not know what the other is doing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Metrology Engineer (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAMay 10, 2016
I like the whole environment of the company. The culture is good and the system for high volume manufacturing is high. Peoples are reasonable. Many peoples work there for over 10 to 20 years.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Product development for Global high volume manufacturing
Global Commodity Manager (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAMay 8, 2016
New Products development requires support from many different mechanical and science discipline. Requiring development of cross team/dept support locally (US) and internationally.
Pros
Challenging, relationship building, always something to learn
Cons
Challenging, global time clock
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HGST. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 67 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
4.0