HGST Employee Reviews

Found 36 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Development Engineer (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CADecember 29, 2015
HGST is a great place to work.

The teams here are great, very good life balance and flexibility to complete work. Management team very supportive and helpful. Pays well, benefits are competitive.

Cons -

Multi company integration could lead to changes in work / company culture. HDD / Enterprise Storage industry is currently facing multiple challenges from competing storage technologies
Pros
Free lunch once every week, great gym and cross fit
Cons
currently undergoing integration with other companies
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Business
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAFebruary 5, 2016
Good place to work but undergoing a lot of changes. Internal support can be challenging with all acquisitions. Benefits are good.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work.
Engineering Technical Writer (Former Employee) –  Santa Ana, CAMay 10, 2016
I worked for sTec | HGST for nearly 10 years and found it mostly a positive experience. All my managers were very supportive and tried to get me the resources I needed to do my job. My fellow employees were incredibly helpful and patient.

Please note that HGST is undergoing a merger with Western Digital at this time, so a hiring freeze may be in effect.
Pros
Supportive management, fellow employees were always helpful, good health, dental and vacation benefits.
Cons
Large corporation; sometimes one hand does not know what the other is doing.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine place to work, Interesting projects & effective cross functional teams. Team building culture is high on CEO's priority.
Sr. Mech Design Eng'r, ME (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAMay 20, 2016
Excellent place to work. Work & home balance wise and interesting projects. Management is effective, strong and concise in implementation. Multi cultural representation in all groups.
Pros
Corporate culture, equipment, interesting work, calibre of people.
Cons
No stock options offered to Eng level.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance and decent benefits
Development Engineer (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAMay 24, 2016
Its a good place to work with decent benefits and competitive pay. Management is very ambitious and progressive. Co-workers largely helpful with some exceptions. Job security is a constant concern at this job due to consolidation among competitors and overall industry challenges.
Pros
Free lunches once every week
Cons
Job security, StorageIndustry challenges
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are going through integrations with WD and Sandisk-a little chaotic but it is what it is..
Sr. Accountant/Rebates Analyst (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAApril 25, 2016
Work is usually busy in the beginning of the quarter but once the supporting documents are sent to the sales rep ---> customers, then the day can be really long with nothing else to do. I've learned to work and learn on my own. You have to ask for training or questions in order to learn what you're doing. The most enjoyable part of the job is the people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SAP ABAP/Fiori/Success factors CONSULTANT With strong Functional experience
Lead SAP ABAP/Fiori Consultant (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAAugust 22, 2016
I am having very good experience in SAP ABAP,Fiori,UI5,Successfactors,CRM,BAPI,BADI,User exit,ALV,OOps ABAP,RFC,ALE/IDOC,Workflow,Webdynpro,SD,MM,FICO,PM,CRM,CRM,SCM
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
HR Support Rep (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAAugust 24, 2016
Overall good experience and great people to work with. Growing and changing company. Commute was good for me since I live near by. A lot of change is happening within the company so there is no job security there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Product development for Global high volume manufacturing
Global Commodity Manager (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAMay 8, 2016
New Products development requires support from many different mechanical and science discipline. Requiring development of cross team/dept support locally (US) and internationally.
Pros
Challenging, relationship building, always something to learn
Cons
Challenging, global time clock
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Job not a Career
Field Applications Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAMay 11, 2016
HGST Management spends ZERO time on "People" management. There is no time spent on employee enrichment, development or career building activities. Management only worried about the fires of the day and micromanaging employees.
Pros
Interesting Technologies
Cons
Poor Management, Poor Benefits, Average Salaries
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HGST a Western Digital manager are poor.
Sr Metrology Equipment Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CASeptember 17, 2016
HGST a Western Digital company managerment team so poor.
Managementem do not care the employee. They want chinese engineer only.
Pros
N/A
Cons
n?A
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Wash Tech Operator (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAApril 27, 2016
The people at HGST are awesome to work with, helped if I ever needed help. Management was great, everyone did their part and got their jobs done. If you can handle a great amount of pressure and stress and get work done, HGST has taught me great work related skills that I will use in my work life.
Pros
Tuesday Free Lunch, Great hours
Cons
benfits for temps
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place and a lot of learning
SoC Integration Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAJuly 8, 2016
Felt very comfortable doing my internship and I learned a lot of useful and important stuff. My assignments helped me a lot during full time interviews.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad and not good
senior hardware development engineer (Current Employee) –  san jose, caMay 18, 2016
Benefit is as other company.
Unlimited vocation.
Good working environment.
Have internal Gym
Poor documentation
You will pretty much do the same thing everyday.
Pros
unlimited vocation
Cons
not much growth opportunity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice workplace and learned a lot of things related to data analysis
Big data analyst (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COMay 22, 2016
I learned how to analyze data in a real industry instead of only cases in books. Besides, I learned how important the communication and discussion with team members is.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Metrology Engineer (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAMay 10, 2016
I like the whole environment of the company. The culture is good and the system for high volume manufacturing is high. Peoples are reasonable. Many peoples work there for over 10 to 20 years.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not my cup of tea
Vacuum Equipment Technician (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAApril 15, 2016
far too much beurocracy and favoritism. handholding is a way of life there. I learned they have far too much paperwork. The simplest jobs are the most difficult to get done. the weekend is the best part of the job
Pros
good people
Cons
horrific management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a nice company to work with.
Front End Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAMay 12, 2016
HGST is a storage company with a long history that Initially was belong to IBM. People are really nice and good work-life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
on site gym
Senior Engineer (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAMay 15, 2016
Ok company.
managerment and coworker, case by case.
Most are good, some are....
Industry is going down slope. More lay off coming up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work in although they are making money now
Admin Assist Principal to VP, Biz Planning (Fin) (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAFebruary 14, 2015
company has gone through so many acquisitons. Gives a free lunch once a week
Management is so so, you get some micro managers
I enjoyed working in the past now sure if I want to say so now. So much uncertainty with the impending integration
Pros
free lunch once a week and good bonuses
Cons
medical benefits are somewhat expensive
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HGST. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 55 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.9