HGV Employee Reviews

Showing all 52 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best of places
Course Recruiter (Former Employee) –  LondonMarch 16, 2016
mix of good and bad colleagues
encouraged to steal each other's leads if someone is off for the day instead of placing a call back
take £25 from your pay if you are literally 1 minute late and don't consider delays on public transport
unrealistic targets to keep commission payout to minimum
Pros
none
Cons
bad culture
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job security, and Home every Night, Discounted Meals.
Driver (Current Employee) –  AvonmouthFebruary 25, 2016
My day usual starts at about 02.00am, and after I have made all my Pre Delivery Checks, and checked my paper work. and Load security, I set off to the Designated store. and make my delivery,
after arriving.
I unload the Truck, then get them to sign for the Delivery, then head back to the Depot.
There is a lot of on going training, with this job, ie Health & Safety courses, DCPC Courses. isotrack training etc.
The people I work with are like family, they all have a good laugh, and get on with each other.
The hardest part of the job is getting up at 01.00am to start work.
But after 23 years of doing this job, that is no Longer a problem.
Pros
Staff discount, and discounted Meals.
Cons
Early starts.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding
Driver (Former Employee) –  Hadleigh, ENGJanuary 15, 2016
Driving to various locations delivering and collecting goods for Supermarkets and DIY stores
I do 15 hours per day and up 10 hours driving.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
mechanic Shaws removals - Stubbs (Former Employee) –  Blackpool, ENGJanuary 3, 2016
had to work 6 days a week including sundays, no health and safety and good work colleagues so they was nice people to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
to work as a team
driver, Veolia Environmental (Current Employee) –  Letchworth, ENGNovember 9, 2015
early start , safety checks on the truck , collect all the paper work and instructions from supervisor , start route with the loaders and work safely . the most enjoyable part of the job is the driving
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different every time
Driver, Stagefreight (Former Employee) –  Leeds, ENGNovember 2, 2015
Multiple collections delivery to 1 venue then sometimes help on site After show, return all equipment back.
Some venues where in the centre of large cities and as so it was difficult to hide a 45ft truck (parking wise)
Going to work in some lovely countries
Pros
travel
Cons
parking of vehicle
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agency driver
Driver (Former Employee) –  UKOctober 30, 2015
Being an agency driver gives you the enjoyment of no two jobs are the same, one day your pulling a refrigerated trailers to depots another day your pulling curtain sides to customers.
Pros
Being outside
Cons
Some days theres long hours due to maybe break downs.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hgv
Driver (Former Employee) –  Shercock, CNOctober 15, 2015
5am start work,go till finish.
i'm in a job i love to do.
get the job done,management not on your back.
co workers easy to get on with,know the difficulties,so to help and be helped was all part of the comrade ship
hardest part of the job was trying to stop doing it.
getting out and about in the open every day.
.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Driver (Current Employee) –  LanarkshireSeptember 3, 2015
good workplace where every day is different, you never know what to expect or where you're going when you turn up to work every day
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver UAB"RGDR TRANSPORT"Lithuania (Former Employee), Lithuania – August 19, 2015 I was delivering goods on a daily basis to a customers. My main dut
Driver UAB"RGDR TRANSPORT"Lithuania (Former Employee) –  LithuaniaAugust 19, 2015
I was delivering goods on a daily basis to a customers. My main duties was to ensure that goods reaches customers on time. I enjoyed most of communicating with customers and colleagues. And
find challenging to deliver securely goods on time in bed weather conditions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work place
HGV Class 2 Driver (Current Employee) –  Cardiff, WLSJune 17, 2015
I like my job because i like to stay outside ,travel a lot and meet new people. I don't mind long days at work all i need is permanent full time job.
Pros
traveling
Cons
bad weather
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hgv/lgv
Tipper Driver (Current Employee) –  SUNDERLANDMarch 16, 2015
Hgv lgv class 2 driver 9 years hgv experiance full drivers cpc card, digi card good knowledge of local area good time keeping 100% reliable
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looking for Class 1 work
Driver (Current Employee) –  Looking for Class 1 workFebruary 26, 2015
Looking for Class 1 work.
Clean license and have digi card and CPC card too.
Will travel to location of job no problem.
Any C + E work considered.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Fitter (Current Employee) –  ENGJanuary 17, 2015
Busy, high workload, lots of overtime available. Hour lunch break, long days.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good life
Driver (Current Employee) –  Tipton, ENGJanuary 8, 2015
get on parade.polish the wagons sweep the car park .You soon learnt that a clipboard and pen was mans best friend and that bulls##t baffled brains any day especially concerning certain ruperts,and your mates were friends or enemies for life,the hardest part was saying farewell at the end of your service.But most of all you had a good time more than the bad times .
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all good
Driver (Current Employee) –  Worthing, ENGJanuary 6, 2015
I'm delivering and collecting goods during a day!Doing some paper works and communicate with customers!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I drive a 32 tonne M.G.W class 2 tipper wagon. Working on nights out rota.
Driver (Current Employee) –  Porthmadog, WLSJanuary 2, 2015
The position requires very good navigation skills, an uncanny sense of direction and exceptional map reading capabilities.
Worked as part of a commercial organisation to deliver goods all over the country
Listened to and took orders of delivery documents from senior transport managers
Communicating with managers and admin officers to make them aware of any issues or problems regarding deliveries
Working to very tight deadlines and helping colleagues if required
Required to work long and unsociable hours
Assisting staff at the destination with the unloading of goods, getting on well with them, helping as much as possible
Remaining calm even when under extreme pressure
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family run ..fun work place..clean and well maintained trucks
hgv night trunk Driver (pallettforce) (Current Employee) –  brimsdown enfieldDecember 31, 2014
the job is a night trunk for parcel force burton upon trent..2 hours 40 minute drive ..long que to be unloaded.. take a break for 2 hours then reload and drive 2 hours 40 minutes back to brimsdown..
the small family run company is great to work for..i work with 1 other driver,we both drive a daf manual 12 speed with a splitter and pull a double deck trailer..
Pros
job and knock
Cons
long que for unloading
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good companies to work for
class 2 driver (Former Employee) –  herefordDecember 29, 2014
All of these companies were very educational as regards life and discipline skills.
Pros
variation of work
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Driver (Current Employee) –  BatleyNovember 28, 2014
great company to work for just not enough money. have to leave because not enough money available.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 52 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture