HGV Employee Reviews

Showing all 62 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
normal day
Driver (Current Employee) –  Bedwas, CaerphillyMarch 29, 2017
no day is the same learned to talk more to yard staff
workplace culture is more banter with other drivers hardest part of job would be working nights most enjoyable is the change of scenery everyday instead of being stuck indoors
Pros
outside
Cons
traffic jams/accidents
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people
HGV Class 1 Driver (Current Employee) –  Wakefield, West YorkshireJanuary 26, 2017
nice people and very profecional, long huors,good place to work,good management, i was learned frezer traler and double dackers
Pros
good managment
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
HGV class 1,2 (Current Employee) –  Peterborough, CambridgeshireDecember 14, 2016
Early morning start, nice people in office, helpfull team, good training provide, met new friends, learned new and interesting things
Pros
free coffee
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Summary
Driver (Current Employee) –  LancasterOctober 6, 2016
A typical morning consists of an early start, check my truck is up to legal standard and is fully road worthy before filling in the relevant paperwork. Once on the road I have to ensure any loads get to the their destination safely and quickly, I may have to think quickly for an alternate route if the planned route has delays. At the end of what could be a 15 hour day I then then check the truck over again and fill in relative paperwork. Paperwork for the loads is done periodically through the day at collection and delivery points.
Pros
No 2 days are the same
Cons
Long hours, too much time away from family
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motivated HGV driver
HGV Driver (Former Employee) –  LondonSeptember 26, 2016
Multi-drop experience as a HGV driver in London.
Cheerful and motivated young person able to start job from Today.
Very good skills as a HGV driver in London. Safety driving.
I am the driver of the HGV. Working in London allowed me to gain a lot of experience in the city where driving is very dangerous.
London is a busy, poorly suited for hgv and a lot of careless drivers.
As a result, in a year's time I gained a lot of experience as a HGV driver and I'm not afraid of anything.
In previous work, an important role was to be always smiling and pleasant for customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be better
HGV driver (Current Employee) –  RishtonAugust 16, 2016
Working enviroment not too bad but could better there could be more appreciation for the work force the good parts of the job are you are out on the road basically being your own boss at time
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for, friendly but professional atmosphere.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Stoke-on-TrentJuly 28, 2016
My daily duties consisted of valeting and delivering vehicles, and my customer service skills have been greatly enhanced through this post. The management of the company is consistent and organised and is supported well with good working relationships from co workers. On occasion the job was challenging due to heavy workloads and tight time schedules however I felt supported and assistance was always available. The most enjoyable part of the job was delivering to a satisfied customer.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
Mixer Driver (Former Employee) –  LondonJuly 26, 2016
I was working in central London delivering concrete all over the place
I get good experience with the traffic in London and good knowledge with all the streets
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Technician (Current Employee) –  ScotlandJune 13, 2016
hgv technicians job hard work long hours with call out means not much time to yourself oh and the shift work just gets better
Pros
none
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very professional company
Driver (Former Employee) –  HatfieldApril 20, 2016
Vos Logistics is one of the most professional transport companies, with well known clients as Michelin, Scania, Volvo, Benson Dickinson, etc.
I enjoyed to work on this company, and enjoyed to be colleague with the peoples who work there.
Pros
Professional
Cons
Long working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best of places
Course Recruiter (Former Employee) –  LondonMarch 16, 2016
mix of good and bad colleagues
encouraged to steal each other's leads if someone is off for the day instead of placing a call back
take £25 from your pay if you are literally 1 minute late and don't consider delays on public transport
unrealistic targets to keep commission payout to minimum
Pros
none
Cons
bad culture
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job security, and Home every Night, Discounted Meals.
Driver (Current Employee) –  AvonmouthFebruary 25, 2016
My day usual starts at about 02.00am, and after I have made all my Pre Delivery Checks, and checked my paper work. and Load security, I set off to the Designated store. and make my delivery,
after arriving.
I unload the Truck, then get them to sign for the Delivery, then head back to the Depot.
There is a lot of on going training, with this job, ie Health & Safety courses, DCPC Courses. isotrack training etc.
The people I work with are like family, they all have a good laugh, and get on with each other.
The hardest part of the job is getting up at 01.00am to start work.
But after 23 years of doing this job, that is no Longer a problem.
Pros
Staff discount, and discounted Meals.
Cons
Early starts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding
Driver (Former Employee) –  Hadleigh, ENGJanuary 15, 2016
Driving to various locations delivering and collecting goods for Supermarkets and DIY stores
I do 15 hours per day and up 10 hours driving.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
mechanic Shaws removals - Stubbs (Former Employee) –  Blackpool, ENGJanuary 3, 2016
had to work 6 days a week including sundays, no health and safety and good work colleagues so they was nice people to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
to work as a team
driver, Veolia Environmental (Current Employee) –  Letchworth, ENGNovember 9, 2015
early start , safety checks on the truck , collect all the paper work and instructions from supervisor , start route with the loaders and work safely . the most enjoyable part of the job is the driving
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different every time
Driver, Stagefreight (Former Employee) –  Leeds, ENGNovember 2, 2015
Multiple collections delivery to 1 venue then sometimes help on site After show, return all equipment back.
Some venues where in the centre of large cities and as so it was difficult to hide a 45ft truck (parking wise)
Going to work in some lovely countries
Pros
travel
Cons
parking of vehicle
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agency driver
Driver (Former Employee) –  UKOctober 30, 2015
Being an agency driver gives you the enjoyment of no two jobs are the same, one day your pulling a refrigerated trailers to depots another day your pulling curtain sides to customers.
Pros
Being outside
Cons
Some days theres long hours due to maybe break downs.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hgv
Driver (Former Employee) –  Shercock, CNOctober 15, 2015
5am start work,go till finish.
i'm in a job i love to do.
get the job done,management not on your back.
co workers easy to get on with,know the difficulties,so to help and be helped was all part of the comrade ship
hardest part of the job was trying to stop doing it.
getting out and about in the open every day.
.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Driver (Current Employee) –  LanarkshireSeptember 3, 2015
good workplace where every day is different, you never know what to expect or where you're going when you turn up to work every day
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver UAB"RGDR TRANSPORT"Lithuania (Former Employee), Lithuania – August 19, 2015 I was delivering goods on a daily basis to a customers. My main dut
Driver UAB"RGDR TRANSPORT"Lithuania (Former Employee) –  LithuaniaAugust 19, 2015
I was delivering goods on a daily basis to a customers. My main duties was to ensure that goods reaches customers on time. I enjoyed most of communicating with customers and colleagues. And
find challenging to deliver securely goods on time in bed weather conditions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HGV. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 62 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1