Hibiscus Children's Center Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Showing all 14 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emotionally toxic environment
Child Mental Health Technician, Full-time (Current Employee) –  Jensen Beach, FLOctober 1, 2017
Communication and consistency are poor; children are frequently sick; children are not fed well, which leads to illness and misbehavior; attitudes of MANY supervisors, staff and administrators are frequently poor; disorganization; insufficient consideration to needs (ex. was not allowed to evacuate during Hurricane Irma)
Pros
EXCELLENT Benefits
Cons
See above review
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was always something to look forward to.
Mental Health Technician (Former Employee) –  Vero Beach, FLJune 23, 2017
I enjoyed working with this company while I was there. The company serviced a community of at-risk youth from different cultures that I enjoyed being a part of and making a difference in their lives. The most enjoyable part of this job was working with the clients.
Pros
Income
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible
Billing Services Manager- Administrator (Former Employee) –  Fort Pierce, FLJune 7, 2017
Flexible work schedule. Wonderful team players great work atmosphere. I have no additional comment regarding this employer. I was able to grow and learn the necessary skills to move forward.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot of potential with the right people
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Jensen Beach, FLMay 26, 2017
The board of directors are disconnected from the mission and don't value their employees. There are some good employees, but they aren't supported by the board.
Pros
provide hope for abused kids
Cons
No staff support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working
Hibiscus Children's Center (Former Employee) –  Jensen Beach, FLJanuary 24, 2017
Visit clients in their home. Review paperwork prepare for court. Review parenting classes. Discuss issues parents are having. Get parent prepared for children coming home. Review court orders and make sure they are followed.
Pros
Set on schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had to be a parent
Child Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Vero Beach, FLNovember 12, 2016
Clocked in got told which house you were gonna be in.
Basically were a parent had to do everything a parent did. Watch them, play with the babies, disipline them, feed them.
Pros
Had a good look into parenthood
Cons
Felt bad for them
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place for unstable children
Mental Health Technician (Former Employee) –  Vero Beach, FLJune 13, 2016
the typical work day work there was pleasant
learn that i can be an impact in someone life
i managed unstable children from 8 to 16 of age (boys and girls)
co workers complained mostly about safety for the staff of the techs
safety
the children enjoying themselves and staffs and techs enjoying to work together cause really it is all about the children
Pros
free trips
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission Driven organization making a positive difference in the lives of abandoned, neglected, and abused children.
President and CEO (Former Employee) –  FLOctober 9, 2015
I received two consecutive years of perfect score performance reviews by two separate Chairmen of the Board, Awarded as non-profit organization of the year. Also recognized as the top Thrift Store and Mental Health Services organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very enjoyable job
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Vero Beach, FLOctober 6, 2015
I answered phones and did filing and organizing and dealt with customers. Everyone was helpful and informal with everything. I enjoyed working there. There was no hard part about working there.
Pros
free things
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE Management
Mental Health Therapist (Former Employee) –  Jensen Beach, FLSeptember 17, 2014
HORRIBLE Management and staff. .. . . I Would NEVER Wish for my children to be placed there!
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recognized in the community as a safe place for children. They recognize everyone's birthday.
Claims Analyst (Current Employee) –  Fort Pierce, FLJuly 1, 2013
Daily tasks are completed in the first portion of the day. The second half entails detailed research and problem solving to increase the billing cycle and collections.

I have been able to retain many new skills that will assist in my future position. The ability to detect, recognize, and problem solve discrepancies on the Accounts Receivable. gained additional knowlege and practice with Windows 8 Excel, Outlook, and Word.

The management team has team work as number one priority.
This makes it a pleasurable workplace, and at the same time everyone is aware of what needs to be accomplished to reach our goals.

There is a good team work ethic in the office.

This is a non profit business that leads to some tough decisions
that may sometimes lead to a job security issue.

The most enjoyable part of the job is my co- workers. It makes the day flow with ease.The office ergonomics is defintely a plus. Thirdly,
the position offers many challenging billing issues and when resolved it leads to meeting goals, and personal gratification.
Pros
Birthday PTO
Cons
No overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Therapist Opinion
Fee For Service Therapist (Former Employee) –  Port St. Lucie, FLNovember 28, 2012
This would be a phenomenal job if upper management was on the same page. The mission of company is priceless; however, the dynamics of this company are questionable. Upper management appears to be driven from money vs reported mission. As a past therapist, the job was worthwhile; however due to the dysfunction in management, un-necessary stress was given. A lot of people are in positions that they are not capable of handling at both the outpatient and residential settings. The shelter in Jensen runs smoothly, but shelter in Vero is a joke. No structure is noted at this setting and the agency runs on "crisis mode" 24/7. No support given to therapist in the field. No benefits given and structure in outpatient programs are constantly changing leaving children with constant therapist changes. Seriously not worth the stress!
Pros
flexible schedules
Cons
no benefits, too much driving, constant change, no strucutre; constant pay mishaps
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career strengthening opportunity.
Mental Health Counselor (Former Employee) –  Treasure Coast of FloridaAugust 23, 2012
Typical day: 5-6 appointments daily with clients in the community; set appointments for the next day.
Learning: Mental health services delivery in a community setting; use of a medical computer data system
Management: Professional and knowledgeable
Co-workers: Professional, knowledgeable and collaborative
Hardest part of job: involving parents and caregivers to be involved in counseling
Most enjoyable part of job: helping children reach their potential
Pros
scehdule flexibility.
Cons
no benifits for fee for service therapists
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hibiscus Children's Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.8
Culture
2.8

Hibiscus Children's Center Reviews by Location