High Liner Foods Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It Was A Job Opportunity
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Newport News, VADecember 6, 2017
High Liner Foods was a good place to work for when I was there. I'm greatful for the benefits like heath, dental, and vision. Once again I'm very greatful of having a opportunity to work with a growning company.
Pros
Got paid great.
Cons
Not enough breaks in the shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good workplace to work at.
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Peabody, MANovember 9, 2017
you go in and have a little meeting to find out how much work we have for today and who does what because we switch responsibilities every other day and start picking or start putting freight away. the hardest part of the job would be receiving due to if there are some problems with system when you try to put inventory on whats coming in.
Pros
free cofee, offer a break room with a tv. they give out free product and sweaters
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work.
Operator/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Newport News, VANovember 6, 2017
This place isn't a good place to work at. The management team isn't there and or put together. They will terminate u for anything and everything. There isn't anything good about working here expect the benefits.
Pros
None
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Production Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Newport News, VAAugust 8, 2017
I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone, Poor Management, they will terminate you just because they are intimidated by your experience. This company doesn't offer job security
Pros
good hrs
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced manufacturing facility with many challenges
MRO Buyer Special Projects (Former Employee) –  Newport News, VAJuly 25, 2017
The VA facility has challenges that will take a while to overcome and with some constant turnover of key personnel, experience and knowledge is lost in all facets of operations.
Cons
Long work hours, 6-7 days week
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment. Many projects and changing expectations. Free coffee.
Cost Accountant (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, NHJuly 9, 2017
Some departments seem to have minimal workloads while others routinely work long hours, often from home & on weekends.
Good benefits. Special events help to boost morale.
Pros
Free coffee. Benefits.
Cons
Communication. Advocates work/life balance but hard to achieve with the workload & expectations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant Changes, lack of support, Poor Safety Culture
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Newport News, VAJune 27, 2017
Great compensation, but worked 7 days a week and on call 24/7. Too many changes with lack of corporate support. Unsafe equipment, lack of engineering support. Work life balance is important to me as I learned at this facility. 60% Turnover in the management team. 21% of the workforce couldnt speak english. great people
Pros
Great compensation
Cons
Lack of support
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and decent benefits. Difficult place to be successful. Terrible work/life balance.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Newport News, VAJune 12, 2017
Difficult place to be successful. Virtually no on boarding program. Virtually no training programs for new hires. Plant runs 6 to 7 days a week and does not have workforce available to give time off.
Pros
Good pay and decent benefits. Plant location near museums and beach
Cons
very poor new employee training and position development programs
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady work place for anyone who may need employment.
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Newport News, VAJune 8, 2017
Personally High Liner Foods was a great job. Great pay. Also flexible working hours. Must be dedicated to the work that is asked of the employees because the jobs consists of long work hours and being on your feet for long periods of time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Production Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Newport News, VAMay 19, 2017
Pulling order and packaging on production line. Driving forklift and Pallett jack. It was a learning experience. I feel like I learned experience that I can take with me anywhwere I go.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a very fun place to work
Human Resources Generalist (Former Employee) –  New Bedford, MAMay 13, 2017
As a HR staff my day you day will be filled with many different things. If you like to help and work with different it is a great place to work. My days were very busy till the end however the company did close it's New Bedford office
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work.
Supply/Demand Manager (Former Employee) –  Danvers, MAApril 21, 2017
Good place to work. Because of the market it served the hours could be long. Left the company as responsibilities were decreasing. Management and training were excellent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Safe
Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, NHApril 12, 2017
If you enjoy working with illegal aliens with bad attitudes and little to no chance of getting a permanent job then this place is for you. If you end up getting assigned here just make sure to not cut off your fingers on the band saw when management is yelling at you trying to get you to quit. It happens to temps from time to time.
Pros
none
Cons
horrible pay, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, industrious, rapidly changing
general laborer (Current Employee) –  Newport News, VAFebruary 14, 2017
Highliner is a great place to consider if interested in starting a career in the food production and distribution industry. There is great room for growth.
Pros
employee appreciation
Cons
communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Crew Chief (Former Employee) –  New Bedford, MAJanuary 12, 2017
it was a good place of employment where i learned very valuable skills that i can transition into other job roles. I enjoyed being a line leader.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work - Ambitious Goals
Supply Chain Analyst (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, NHNovember 11, 2016
This company has a growth goal and has made great strides to achieve it. Currently there is a top down effort to improve efficiencies and elevate to best in class performance.
Pros
Co-Workers, Work Life Balance
Cons
Growing Pains
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turnover
Engineering Director (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, NHNovember 3, 2016
Unfortunately, High Liner is experiencing a high employee turnover rate and has so for several years. I enjoyed my co-workers thoroughly, they are top notch, but many are frustrated by lack of direction from management.
Pros
Good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive worklace
Assembly Line Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Newport News, VAAugust 8, 2016
Worked with different people did different assignments at least 3 times a week fast pace assembly line on your feet for long time without breaks seafood plant so you will stink
Pros
Great co workers
Cons
Breaks short
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internal processes very cumbersome.
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Newport News, VAJuly 9, 2016
Typical workday was spent chasing information to get things completed. I enjoyed working on multiple teams and independently. Management should look at ways to improve morale.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Too much favortism & always low morale.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work as far as pay and benafits but as far as safety,concrents and well-being for the workers NO!
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Newport News, VAJune 15, 2016
Overall the worst job ever didn't really learn anything but how to manage working in a cold storage and about food safety.
Pros
No pros!
Cons
Very short breaks to work in a cold storage, the equipment provided to help keep use warm was very poor!
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at High Liner Foods. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 37 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.7
Culture
2.7