Highlands Regional Medical Center Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working night shift was rough
PATIENT ACCESS REGISTRAR (Former Employee) –  Sebring, FLJanuary 17, 2018
Working night shift, being stuck with a partner whom randomly became nasty and tried to shift all mistakes onto you, ontop of your own work while management did not try to work things around or help the situation made for a VERY toxic environment. Was not worth the over night shifts messing with my health.
Pros
Just the money and extra benefits
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Patient Access Representative (Former Employee) –  Paintsville, KYJanuary 3, 2018
I loved working here just didn't have a full time position available at the time that i was employeed there at their facility. I loved my co workers and everyone!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced office and learn something new each day.
Registered Medical Assistant/Office Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Prestonsburg, KYDecember 24, 2017
What I have learned is through insurance approvals and denials that insurance is different from policy to policy and state.

The hardest part of the job was the drive to Prestonsburg, Ky.

The most enjoyable part of the job was helping, and treating patients.
Pros
The pay
Cons
The drive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Senior Accountant (Former Employee) –  Prestonsburg, KYDecember 20, 2017
Worked there for nine years with a great group of people. Healthcare changing drastically making it harder for small hospitals to continue to stay open much longer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all
Patient Care Technician (PCT) (Former Employee) –  Sebring, FLNovember 25, 2017
Could be better with help by the staff and nures.. There's no team work at all 19 to 25 Patients by yourself.. It's really sad I just wish it was better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it was a good place to work
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  United StatesOctober 20, 2017
A good starting place as a new nurse. Patient staff that help you learn new things and develop the nursing skills you need. Nurse managers near at all times.
Pros
Make own schedule.
Cons
No paid holidays, not much in raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No continuity, no backup from medical director
ARNP (Former Employee) –  Sebring, FLOctober 5, 2017
Poor employee medical director relationship, no medical back up or support, high patient load demands, forced encounters with no medical director back up.
Pros
None
Cons
Multiple
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shift work; busy; ok place to work
Lead MLTechnician/ Point of Care Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Sebring, FLSeptember 23, 2017
Small facility; not a lot of turnover in worker employees, but hard to keep management employees; older building. Under recent new ownership showing progress.
Pros
New ownership
Cons
Huge turnover in management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy place to work
Housekeeper-Prestonburg, KY (Former Employee) –  Floyd County, KYSeptember 20, 2017
You was always busy and didn't really get no days off if someone called in you picked up the slack and was expected to even if it was your fifith day there. Didn't care about family at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Case Manager/Utilization Review Nurse (Current Employee) –  Prestonsburg, KYJuly 27, 2017
Good place to work, competitive salary, excellent benefits, team oriented environment, excellent physicians, great location, family oriented, great working environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small hospital/ politics run in the hospital employee
Emergency Room Nurse (Former Employee) –  Sebring, FLJuly 24, 2017
it's a small hospital with ER capacity of 13 room. 15 total with two hallway beds. politics run all over the hospital, charge nurse at night shift is very unprofessional, all of my last co-workers who are travel would always say " how could they keep that kind of charge nurse" older employee who doesn't follow new guidlines and just stuck on her old thinking, shouts at other co-employees in front on co-workers, belittle new nurses. i feel so bad for the new nurses that she orients. if traveling try to get morning shift as morning shift nurses are more educated and very helpful. morning shift employee are lovely people. if you ever got a night shift job in here, welcome yourself to h*ll.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Senior night shift therapist (Former Employee) –  Prestonsburg, KYJuly 24, 2017
Started here fresh out of respiratory school in 1992. Fabulous co-workers and patients. Learned a great deal of Respiratory here and how to refine and define my skills as a therapist.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this job
Case Management Specialist (Current Employee) –  Sebring, FLJuly 17, 2017
Great place to work. Very nice people and enjoy my time working where I work here. Love my Bosses! I would recommend this to anyone that may want to work here.
Pros
good people
Cons
not paid every week
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do Not Work THere
Admissions Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Prestonsburg, KYJune 26, 2017
Not a good place to work. Awful Management in the Patient Access Department. No structure to the department. They change policys with out telling the employees and then punish you for not following the rules. The Union is a joke all they do is take your money and they don't help you in any way.
Pros
other employees
Cons
everthing else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a great working envirment
Patient Care Tech (Former Employee) –  Sebring, FLApril 19, 2017
The hardest part of the job was the lack of communication, the lack of knowledge in the nursing staff due to most of them being travel nurses. Also, the lack of help with the other CNA's.
Pros
working PRN
Cons
horrible communication with anyone and everyone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Scheduler/Insurance Verifications (Former Employee) –  Sebring, FLApril 19, 2017
Loved helping patients and co-workers were nice...Also helped alot of families in the community while working there. Been there for ten years and it felt like working with family!
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful ER
Provider (Former Employee) –  Prestonsburg, KYApril 8, 2017
Excellent and educational ER in the eastern Kentucky rural area of the state. Good on-site supervision while still having a lot of freedom to practice with rural type patients.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Workplace
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Prestonsburg, KYApril 4, 2017
My typical day at work involved the care of patients, tending to their needs be they critical or much less in need. I truly enjoy that part of my job so very much, caring for patients.
Pros
Work group
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dangerous job for any licensed professional!
LPN (Current Employee) –  Prestonsburg, KYMarch 28, 2017
Coming from a previously hired nurse here...the patient load is ridiculous. On night shift, no less than 8. And to be honest, you better hope you HAVE 8 at the beginning of shift or you'll get stuck with the 5 admits they give within 15 minutes! Ridiculously understaffed and no one in the higher up positions seem to care. Acuity is paid no mind. Instead, patients are assigned by room stretches. It's just dangerous. I do LOVE the nurses though. They are very good nurses, just not in a good situation.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Post Anesthesia Care Unit Nurse (Former Employee) –  Prestonsburg, KYMarch 24, 2017
I worked 12 hour days 3-4 days a week in ICU. I managed many different patients, ranging from PACU to ICU pediatrics-geriatrics. Administering many medications.
Pros
close to home
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Highlands Regional Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 48 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3

Highlands Regional Medical Center Reviews by Location