Find companies:
Hill-Rom
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
105 reviews

Hill-Rom Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work - depending on territory.
Field Service Technician (Former Employee), Houston, TxFebruary 4, 2013
Pros: hard but fulfilling field work.
Cons: starting pay, lack of effective management.
Under good management where employees are held accountable for their actions, this can be a great place to work. Unfortunately, I didn't have that type of experience. My manager was overwhelmed due to the fact that he was doing what used to be 3 different positions. The Houston territory used to be 2 different service centers(5-6 technicians each) with – more... a combined 3 different managers. Now, there is 1 manager with 10-15 technicians. Half of the technicians picked up on the weakness this created and exploited it for personal gain. One quarter merely did their job. The last quarter took the initiative and picked up the slack of the rest to keep everything from falling apart. If you work for the pay you want, it is possible to get there as long as there is a good relationship between the tech, SOM and AVP. Assuming, of course, that you can put up with the environment. Unstable upper management and company direction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrid
Clinical specialist (Current Employee), Shoreview, MNFebruary 1, 2013
Pros: free monthly lunches
Cons: mismanaged and the patient is not a priority
They do not implement their mission statement. Constant downsizing and layoffs. Everybody is always fearful of speaking out to management and also fearful about their job security. If you can find ANYTHING else, do not work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gone downhill
field service tech (Former Employee), southJanuary 20, 2013
Pros: working by myself, benefits
Cons: pay, management
The benefits are the best that i have seen but the pay sucks. I dont mind working but some of the other guys were afraid of too much work. They would just sit there half the day. You will never advance your career. They will advance you but will not pay you for the position. The raises are small and unnoticeable. 2% of your basepay is the raise. They – more... use to give quarterly bonuses but just once a year now. That 2 bonus used to be 3%. The field servie techs do not get taking care of in this company. Very stressful job to know they can lay you off at any time. That lay off is you actually you getting fired. Upper management always is changing because people keep leaving. They cant keep the good field service techs because they leave too. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very pleasant place to work.
Documentation Specialist (Current Employee), North Charleston, SCJanuary 12, 2013
Pros: excellent wok environment and associates.
Cons: lacks clearand concise directives from management.
I would love to stay at Hill-Rom; however, my department is shutting down. I enjoy my work while coordinating with health and insurance agencies. Research while following up, documenting, coordinating, billing along with data entry are essential to the health profession and our customers. Maintaining the right relationship and attitude with people and – more... businesses are pluses. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional environment
Mechanicle design (Former Employee), Batesville, INJanuary 10, 2013
Pros: having the research and developement tools availible to work with.
Cons: office politics
I started out as a welder and then moved into mechanical design at that time my work as a designer was limited to sustain engineering only making design changes as necessary to improve the products being manufactured in the ambulatory care unit which consisted of Medical Stretchers,OB/GYN beds and the procedural chair. Having success with that I was – more... moved into new product development and recived a patent for my work on Hill-Roms Versa Care bed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's ok
Human Resources Representative (Current Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 24, 2012
lots of secrets - no clear communication between management and employee
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very friendly and helpful.
Respiratory Care Practitioner (Current Employee), CADecember 17, 2012
Pros: compensation, professional and friendly
Cons: not enough full time work
I have worked with Hill-Rom for the past year as a patient training. Very friendly staff, fast pay and professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zero or undefined culture, below market pay, Sr. Leadership thus far has not effectively integrating various divisions into parent company
Regional Director (Current Employee), Saint Paul, MNDecember 12, 2012
Blead their cash-cow that has huge upside in order to fund new ventures, but won't reinvest in these good businesses to generate even larger returns.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to work
Welder (Former Employee), Batesville, INDecember 5, 2012
Great place to work. Great local people, Friendly atmosphere! 3 shifts available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, great small team there to work with
Field Service Technician (Current Employee), Chattanooga, TNNovember 20, 2012
Pros: the work
Cons: the pay
I love seeing that what I do there does make a difference in people's lives. It's a great blessing to me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Political and Untrustworthy Company
Corporate (Former Employee), CharlestonNovember 19, 2012
Pros: good benefits
Cons: poor recognition for good work, unqualified managers, constant turn over of employees
Some work well over 40 hours a weeks and other skate out a lot and work part time yet get paid for 40 hours. For the most part, the regional managers are a joke. They are usually nonexistent so the field just tends to their personal life first and work comes second and the company gets ran into the ground. There are talented employees but the political – more... games create an untrustworthy environment and a lot of the good workers get laid off while the lazy employees who are in with the "good old boys" remain with the company.The most enjoyable part of working with this company is there are a lot of good products but a lot of them are in frequent need of repair because the products are old. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Claims Specialist (Former Employee), Charleston, SCNovember 17, 2012
This company was a joy to work for. Eevryone from management to the cafetria staff was pleasant and wonderful to work for and with. If the assignment wasnt temporary I would still be working there.

February 15, 2013

There is not a cafeteria in the Charleston office. So I am uncertain how the staff at that cafeteria could have been pleasant.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extensive amount of Mico-management from the regional to the corporate level. To the point of worrisome
Asset Advantage Manager Uof L Hospital (Former Employee), Louisville, KYNovember 15, 2012
Like a lot of companies today, Hill-Rom offers it's customer a wide range of goods and services. To Hill-Roms detrement it does none of the to the extent of outstanding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment, no two days are alike.
Field Service Representative (Current Employee), Shoreview, MNOctober 24, 2012
Pros: helping people on a first hand level, by supplying comfort and aid in the health field
Cons: long hours, on-call in addition to small chance for career advancement
Prepare and clean hospital equipment. Maintain a clean and efficient work place both within a warehouse and fleet/dock areas. Deliver and remove hospital supplies all on strict deadlines, in addition to fixing equipment onsite in a fast paced hospital environment. Need the ability to keep good records, attention to detail and effective communication – more... within the company and with customers. Lastly work on an on-call basis including nights/weekend/holidays supplying customer service and delivery/removal 24/7/365. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all the company was modest
Extern (Former Employee), Charleston, SCOctober 17, 2012
a typical was just steady work until lunch time.

I've learned to be a good custermer service specialist

Management was just management helpful in some ways.

My co-workers was pretty helpful when it was time to accomplish our goal doing over time.

The hardest part of this job was sitting for a long period of time working and researching.

the most – more... enjoyable part of the job is when we do other activity doing our company free time. Ex participate in games. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good Place To Work
Field Service Representative (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COSeptember 28, 2012
Pros: good people to work for.
Cons: sometimes long hours.
You are always working, no real dead time; this makes the day go really fast. Many things to learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company culture
Hospital Sales Specialist (Former Employee), Mid-AtlanticSeptember 4, 2012
Extremely well respected company with a good reputation among custoomers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Floor Representative (Former Employee), North Charleston, SCAugust 27, 2012
Hill-Rom was the best job I've ever worked on, because the compensation was great along with the excellent benefit package that it offers. Just wish job stability was better. However, I got laid off when our economy was at its lowest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with good compensation, but undergoing significant change
Operations Director (Former Employee), Hill-RomJuly 27, 2012
Pros: people, compensation, location
Cons: constant management changes, lack of respect for employees, products have quality issues
Good people make this a very good place to work. Company likes to change management frequently that results in changing direction and strategy. Lack of job security can be a distraction. Overall, a good company, with good people but it continues to undergo significant changes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going down hill fast!!
?? (Former Employee), St. PaulJuly 21, 2012
Pros: ?
Cons: difficult managment
Need to get new managment team. Benefits good to start now all taken away, example work from home, flex time etc... Poor training left in area alone for hours and if asked questions was disapplined.(wonder if the top managment CEO know this) So sat and did nothing for days-talk about a waste of money. Was told that we work differently here and was told – more... by a supervisior that I was difficult and expected to much!!! Really.. and immediate managment is aware and backed this up. They need to clean house of management and start over. Very unfriendly atmosphere and stressful feel. – less

About Hill-Rom

Hill-Rom Holdings holds Hill-Rom Company, which, in turn, holds hospital patients safe and secure. Hill-Rom makes, sells, and – Read more