Find companies:
Hillshire Brands
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
280 reviews

Hillshire Brands Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NIce people to work with
Hi-Lo Operator (Current Employee), Zeeland, MIJune 29, 2014
Pros: free product evrey so often
Cons: cold cold
Has a lot of nice people to work with but sometime its hard to deal with the cold temperatures
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Assistant to delivery representative (Former Employee), Columbia, TennesseeJune 29, 2014
Helped brother with loading product into truck, verifing bread needed for accounts that day, and delivery product to retail accounts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good place to work if people really want to make something of theirselves
Floor Runner (Current Employee), Claryville, KYJune 27, 2014
Pros: insurance benefits, the pay rate, the condition of the facility, distance to drive, and most of the people are friendly
Cons: management
love what I do a few discrepancies with people not following rules and regulations too many people abusing family medical leave of absence not enough personal days due to the conditions of the environment but to me my overall opinion is great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constantly learning
maintenance operator (Former Employee), newbern tnJune 24, 2014
Pros: events
Cons: uncertain times when leaving
The hours can be unpredictable but the work is easy and safe. I've learned a lot about maintenance while I was employed there. Management was down to earth about things and you could talk to them when needed. Everyone got along and maintained a mutual relationship towards completing job tasks. The only thing hard was that you never knew exactly what – more... time you'd get off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Place to work
MAINTENANCE MECHANIC (Former Employee), Huntington, WVJune 19, 2014
Had workplace injury so I was not in the workforce there for very long
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is great
Assembler - Package (Current Employee), Florence, ALJune 10, 2014
Being an assembler at Hillshire Brands is a great yet challenging job. As long as we follow the rules and the techniques that are established for us the day goes by smooth and productive. Working on a team with 14 people has its ups and downs, but at the end of the day we have all grown to love and appreciate each other for our differences. The hardest – more... part of this job is the fact that it is ending in soon, due to the plant closing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract Work
Paralegal (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJune 10, 2014
Fun place to work, contract work that was difficult to find permanent placement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work with good people too work for and with
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Saint Joseph, MOJune 9, 2014
I liked this job because it was a faster paced job, the people I worked with were very helpful when I first started and the company overall was a good place to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sold
Distribution Associate (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJune 4, 2014
Company is now sold, a lot of things happened there and things came to light via the news and they were sold.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it was a fun place to work for
MaintenanceTech/refrigeration Tech (Current Employee), Florence, ALJune 1, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: seemed upper mangement didnt have a clue on how to run the plant.
co-workers where fun to work with,overall job was fun learned a lot and hands training was good
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned alot of things while here.
Quality Assurance Technician I (Current Employee), Florence, ALMay 20, 2014
Pros: the use of intellect in different departments.
Started off on the assembly line and worked my way up to a management position. I have learned that management is not an easy job. What I enjoy most about my job is that I have a part in making sure that this company produces safe and quality foods.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benifits
Floor Supply (Current Employee), Florence, ALMay 19, 2014
Lacks in supervision during work day. Not much more to say. A lot of good people work there then there are the ones who just show up with no intentions on working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place.
Production Planner (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 12, 2014
Fast paced manufacturing environment. Leadership had several layers which caused delay in decision making but overall a good company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day at the job
QUALITY ASSURANCE (Former Employee), Kansas City, KSMay 12, 2014
The job revolves around testing of current products, in all dimensions, and making sure all specifications are met.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Dumper/ stacker (Current Employee), Florence, ALMay 11, 2014
Hillshire is a great company. I am disappointed that they are closing. My last day will be June 6th. I have enjoyed working for them. The hardest part of this job was getting use to the cold.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great training and people
Maintenance/Electrician (Former Employee), Newbern, TNMay 8, 2014
Pros: great training
Cons: this job was in tn..
they gave me great training and sent me to school.I was responsible to keep the equipment running in the production areas.Great people to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Data Entry
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAMay 8, 2014
Pros: i've got to meet alot of people
Cons: no health care
Working with alot of numbers.I did not like it too much.
I worked well with co workers/management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work very nice employees and staff.
Assembler/Packer (Former Employee), Carrollton, TXMay 5, 2014
Pros: great pay and they give you free products.
Cons: their point system is not fare.
You can work from the ground up from temps making 9.50 to being hired making 15.15. Friendly managers that cares about the well being of their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sometimes it was aggrivating because other employees just don't care about there job performance
Sanitor (Former Employee), Rock Island, ILMay 1, 2014
really enjoyed the job and co workers. also enjoyed the end results .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall I give this job a 8 out of 10
USDA Certified Oven Operator (Current Employee), Florence, ALApril 30, 2014
Pros: the different skills and knowledge as an operator
Cons: short breaks
With Hillshire Brands as my employer I give the company an overall 8 out of 10. The compensation and benefits were decent and open opportunities to advance for better pay. My typical day at work consisted of maintaining the oven and all the SSOP and GMP requirements. As an operator, I acquired the skills of maintaining the raw to cooked weight of the – more... product to produce the company's mandatory yield. In the same hand, this was the difficult part of the position, but I was able to produce the approved product temperature, weight, and yield. In conclusion, the knowledge I attained from being an operator was the ability to be an innovative and practical individual that I can apply to many different future operator positions. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Hillshire Brands

Hillshire Brands Company (NYSE: HSH) is the nation's leader in meat-centric food solutions for the retail and foodservice markets. – Read more