Hillshire Brands Employee Reviews

Found 462 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employer
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Florence, ALJuly 25, 2017
Very good employer with good pay and good benefits. I had to repair any machinery that had problems and also did preventive maintenance on all machinery.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Plant closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good job.
Shipping and Receiving Clerk (Former Employee) –  Orangeburg, SCJuly 18, 2017
Would recommend this job to anyone who is in need of a job. Very clean, friendly staff and worker, fast paced environment. Awesome benefits and very good pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly people and a good place to work
Class A Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMJuly 15, 2017
the company is busy during the Chile season but it is a challenge to work during the off season. they also produces other products frozen foods and tortillas that is where i was as-singed to work and maintain the equipment during production down days
Pros
they offer steady work all year
Cons
working in a wet environment and cold room
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSJuly 13, 2017
great work place/great people,great learning exp.machine opr.work on 2 or 4 machine at one time loading and stack skids and monter machine,fast past fun people to work with ,team player
Pros
good pay/great hours
Cons
layoff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Regrind (Former Employee) –  Rome, GAJuly 12, 2017
Daily we would have a meeting to stretch.I learned how to make life easier by trusting in others. The Management was great. I really loved the culture it made me fell like when you go home to see friends and family. The Best Part of the job was the Job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved
Oven Operator (Former Employee) –  Rocky Mount, NCJuly 11, 2017
Enjoyed every bit of working here. They are team players who count on each other. I really enjoyed all the family events we had really motivated the work progress.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5 years service, things never got better.
Material coordinator (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSJuly 10, 2017
One of the easiest jobs made difficult by unskilled management not knowledgeable about the job. Work 9-10 hour days 6-7 days a week. If you are lucky you will see a note on the wall changing your work schedule. But do NOT expect to be notified like normal professional companies. Simply put..........over 5 years of service and they struggle with communication..
Pros
Easy Job. Anyone can be a supervisor.
Cons
No communication. Still struggles with STANDARD day one operations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
CC Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Statesville, NCJuly 3, 2017
Its Hanesbrand (Bali) I work there 24 yrs. I has good benefits. It was good, my went over seas, and I went back to school looking to do somerhing different
Pros
Good place to work and good benefits
Cons
going over seas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Transportation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Haltom City, TXJune 30, 2017
Start your day off with any changes that came in overnight and communicate with the CSAM's. Prep for daily meetings with the operation staff. Always an upbeat atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job security
Mixer Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Zeeland, MIJune 15, 2017
• Safety team member , quickly promoted,
• Spiced all meat inside the factory for other departments
• Weighed and calculated exact amount of spice per pound of meat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bottom line
Hi-LO Operator (Former Employee) –  Zeeland, MIJune 15, 2017
It is a harsh environment, depending on your supervisor it can be relaxed or extremely stressful . You are under constant pressure to meet production. People are not important.
Pros
job security
Cons
wet, and cold
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Private contractor
Private Contractor (Former Employee) –  Allentown, PAJune 15, 2017
This was a great job with very good management. They have since been bought out so my review is irrelevant. The pay was great, the hours were great, and I was able to be home every night with my family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace
Production Manager (Former Employee) –  Forest Park, GAJune 9, 2017
Fast paced workplace. Excellent management team, excellent General manager. The workplace culture was very progressive and teamwork was exhibited on a daily basis.
Pros
Teamwork
Cons
It
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
colddddddddddd
ASSEMBLER 2 (Former Employee) –  Zeeland, MIJune 6, 2017
obviously its cold bc of the freezers needed to store the food but you get use to it. some areas is warmer, a lot warmer. you are rotating every 30 mins or so. one area your rotating from cold to warm every hr or so. overall a good place to work, then.. im not sure about now.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only going Downhill
Bread Floater (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDMay 30, 2017
I was Laid-Off due to the termination of a shift and I lacked the seniority to get assigned to a different position. Usual Union job though, Great Pay, Good Benefits and Loads of drama would like to use other words.
Pros
Pay and Benefits
Cons
Union drama would like to use other words
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company that exceeds quality expectations
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Newbern, TNMay 22, 2017
organize and sort through paper work for all production areas, release good product, place product on hold that has deficiencies, relay quality issues to manger and supervisor, run and send reports, file and print required paper for FSQA tech's, approve incoming spices, verify product in plant view.
Pros
Learning more about quality assurance and getting management skills
Cons
limited advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy work place no time for fun
MERCHANDISER (Former Employee) –  Saint George, UTMay 18, 2017
the job was OK but very hard for advancement any time in the less then five years but the job was an alright till they discontinued my job or i would have stayed
Pros
n/a
Cons
short brakes and no paid lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp worker
Quality Assurance Technician (Former Employee) –  Rome, GAMay 11, 2017
I was filling time with some temp work. But it was very well structured and repetitive. So if you like to expect things ahead of your day then you're set. Their managers did a terrible sales pitch to keep me there.
Pros
Free leftover granola bars
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would like to work here.
Route Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 10, 2017
Delivered bread to major stores and small businesses. Had up to 20 to 30 stops a day. I learned how to manage and organize routes. I meant many good people in the business : store managers, assistant managers
Pros
benefits
Cons
long hours, but that's o.k. !!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Journeyman Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  New London, WIMay 7, 2017
"Hillshire Brands at a plant level is a legacy company that is sluggish to embrace any sort of change. This is ironic because at a corporate level it is seeing a massive amount of dynamic change. It is not a bad company to work for and it has its ups and downs, but it isn't great either."
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hillshire Brands. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 479 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7

CEO Approval

83%
67 ratings
Add your rating