HISD Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Pediatric physical therapist (Current Employee) –  Bad Axe, MIOctober 7, 2017
Great place to work - wonderful co workers. great learning environments , great team work and fun to work. Loved everything about this job. I would recommend this place to anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
most enjoyable part of my job
Licensed Psychologist (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 3, 2017
Working with children and adolescents in crisis. doing crisis intervention and prevention. Doing consultations with teachers and staff. Collaborating with special Education department
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Teacher, Health Science Practicum (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 12, 2017
no work life balance; little orientation; lunches interupted, little cultural guidelines or mentor; compensation acceptable' benefits-health and dental lacking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
keep the kids safe
Bus Aide (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 21, 2017
you gotta keep your eyes on the kids so they wont hurt their slef's or other people.
and if they spit or hit on you, you gotta remain calm at all times. but you have good days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average School District
Educational Instructional Leader (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 18, 2017
Great school district for new teachers to be trained how to teach. School funding is based on what area the school is located but parents do have a choice to choose other schools if their child is accepted.
Pros
Making an impact in the lives of children.
Cons
Challenging to advance if you currently work there and do not know an administrator.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Bus Operrator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 15, 2017
Its a Good Job.Had fun working. Driving a school bus is easy and the kids can be a bad but with calmness and love its will easy.The people are nice too.
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace,,,, catering to the population of special children,,,,,for that allow i loved this job
Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 13, 2017
This was a job that I loved,,,, because the special need children came first,,,,, I no longer work at this job because i moved back to new orleans, la,,,, and this job was out of Houston, tx........
Pros
No one is better than no one, we maybe better off, but not better then
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 1, 2017
My experience and HISD was wonderful. I was sad to leave, I will be glad to go back. I was fortunate to be one of the ones that was trained in the International Baccalaureate method and I continue to this day teaching this way.
Pros
accademic atmosophere
Cons
lots of work and long hours in implementing the IB method
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overcrowded classrooms with limited material.
Teacher regular/esl (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 28, 2017
After spending nearly 16 years at HISD I feel as if I need to move on to something better. It was fun working with the kids, and my colleagues, but I need something more challenging and fun.
Pros
Professional development training
Cons
Too many kids in one classroom.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at.
Senior Academic Tutor (Former Employee) –  TXJuly 24, 2017
GREat place to work at overall. Management was easygoing and respectful. Pay was ok for tutoring, teacher assistant. Typical day at work consist of coming in before students and turning those who required assistance for assignments or exam prep
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & beneficial school distrift
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 10, 2017
I don't currently have a review that I wish to share. This is a large school district. Many children attend various schools within the district. Many schools have wonderful educational programs that children can benefit from in the future endeavors.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excelente
Tutor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Area de HoustonJune 30, 2017
Es una empresa muy organizada, su gente te apoya en todo momento.
Pros
Experiencia variada
Cons
Suelo bajo para mis expectativas y necesidades
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Driving
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 27, 2017
I would have to get up early mornings to pickup and drop off students to and from school. I also would mentor the students as I see fit, sometimes a little guidance was needed to maintain control of my bus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i like the job
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 12, 2017
all the teachers are very nice., and cooperative with the custodians. very respectful with us.i love that job.
and was very close to my house. but they hire a company to do the cleaning.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, Low Pay
CERTIFIED MATH TEACHER (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 9, 2017
HISD benefits do not even come close to the benefits I had from previous jobs. Teaching will require 14-15 hour workdays and at least 8 hours on the weekends. In addition, HISD is one of the lowest paying school districts in the Houston area.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive school district.
Associate Teacher (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 7, 2017
Hisd provides extensive and wonderful teacher workshops. A typical day at work all staff arrived and start their day by completing the task that was assigned to them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful work environment
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 6, 2017
Typical work day is never the same and never boring handling children.
Best Part of the job: Handling the kids learning and laughing with them
Hardest Part of the job: Handling the kids being a referee, life coach, but every day is worth it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 31, 2017
Very good place to work. Relaxing and very laid back during work day. You are able to work at your own pace as long as you get the job done. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Bus driver (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 29, 2017
a very fun work environment on a daily basis. dinners ,raffles , dances , bbq's , breakfast, extra work opportunities ,...............................
Pros
benefits
Cons
short hours, long periods of off time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun Place to work
Textbook Auditer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 23, 2017
Working at the warehouse was no short task and the work environment made it worth while because working as a team gets the job done in a more effective and efficient way. Management made it fun for us while getting a lot accomplished.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HISD. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 97 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8