Find companies:
HMSHost
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
147 reviews

HMSHost Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cooking and frying
Chef (Former Employee), Manchester, NHSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: free lunch and dinner
Cons: shorts breaks
it's fun working there and lovely at the same time, but poor management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with many career paths available.
Senior Director of Operations (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDSeptember 12, 2014
I was allowed to grow and develop my skills in multiple airport. I also experienced high volume and a fast paced environment.
During my career with HMSHost I was given many challenges from opening over 20 restaurants to developing many direct reports.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good at first than fell down hill
Cashier (Former Employee), Fort Myers, FLSeptember 5, 2014
worked here twice in my life and loved it the first time around but the second time I did not like it the manager was not understanding in life situations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an enjoyable learning experience that introduced me to the world of the workforce.
Food Preparation (Former Employee), Forked River, NJAugust 28, 2014
I learned the ins and outs of a basic day of food preparation work, doing my best to please the customers and brighten their days by completing their orders in a timely and neat fashion. My co-workers were a pleasure to work with, as they were always supportive of my decisions, and would always make time to correct me if I performed one of my duties – more... incorrectly and show me the correct way to perform it. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the customers walk away with smiles on their faces and enjoying the food that I created for them; it gave me an unparalleled satisfaction that I would like to apply to a different line of work. I give my all to any job that I undertake, and I want to share that passion with any employer that is willing to give me the chance to show them that I can be a valuable asset to a company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
Retail Store Member/Stocker (Former Employee), Newark, DEAugust 26, 2014
all the cared about was sales and didnt have a good schedule, you barely got weekends off
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This Job Is Okay
Cashier/Cook/Baker (Former Employee), Phelps, NYAugust 20, 2014
Pros: 50% off food/ drinks are free 24/7 depending on what you get.
Cons: food reg price cost anywhere from $4-7, work long hours for low pay
The management sucks but the co-workers were great. The job is a job ( fun, easy, and reliable) but, it can be hard if your co-workers dont work as a team. Very fast pace and have to be able to multi- task. Loved my job there. Hated the managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could hardly stand it
Barista (Former Employee), VandaliaAugust 16, 2014
I left before even getting a new job because it was THAT bad. Horrible management. Some days I worked 9 hours and didn't get a break. Everyone was quitting so most days I worked alone. Sales were down so they punished the workers instead of giving incentives. I would not recommend this job to my worst enemy. I don't understand at all why people stay – more... here long term. They call off most days or just sit around. The managers will leave and go home and not tell you you'll be working alone the whole day. Just bad. Really bad. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced work environment, keeps you moving
cash room clerk (Former Employee), New Baltimore, NYAugust 12, 2014
like every job has pros and cons... for the most part very upbeat place to work. The employees are fun and hard working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun workplace, where you meet and come in contact with people from all over the world.
Supervisor (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNAugust 2, 2014
Pros: meeting new people.
Cons: it was very unpredictable.
I will come in and go and grab the money from the money room. assign each cashier a register, change the time of day on the broad. assign duties and positions. check temperature of all food and equipments, stock as needed. complete daily purchase ledgers. Ensure that we have orders for item that was order the previous day. store inventory, while placing – more... orders as needed. Assign breaks. Run the store according to sales, meaning. If it was a slow day and i had too many people working. I will usually send someone home. If it was a busy day. I would make sure that we are properly staffed. I also trained new employees, according to company policies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Server job not worth the stress
Server (Current Employee), Orlando FLJuly 30, 2014
Pros: fun co-workers
Cons: everything!!
If I were you I would re-evaluate my options before applying for this company. I have been in the hospitality industry for 13 years and never have been treated the way this company treats everyone! I am a server at HMS host and work minimum wage (4.91 an hour) plus tips. After my shift is over, part of "sidework" is to sweep and mop the whole restaurant, – more... get on my hands and knees and scrub the walls, chairs, under tables etc.. In the end.. I'm still earning 4.91 an hour without tips to do this slave work! This is not including rolling 2-4 buckets of silver ware, breaking down stations. Managers are no where to be found (office, smoking etc. unless they need you to clean or fix something. There is huge favoritism. Two people who haven't finished their probational period.. are now full time!! You work more then 20 hours you get written up. How is that my problem. I don't do the schedule and or for keeping me for an additional 3 hours for side work. Company is unorganized and not structured!! Company is going down hill.. fast!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No life
Human Resources (Former Employee), Dulles, VAJuly 23, 2014
Cons: stressed out, no life
Work, Management, coworkers are very manipulative.
No promotions, no additional responsibilities, low pay job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm,Collective and Enjoyable place to be.
Temp. Accounts Receivable Billing Processor (Former Employee), bethesdaJuly 9, 2014
I have had roughly about five years in the medical industry, so switching from a private facility to a corporate environment was a huge change. But, it was a change that I was willing to take. A typical day at the office includes totaling all billable media by location and customer type, reporting all overages and shortages on a weekly basis, mailing – more... all processed billable media and invoices to the assigned customers and recording package tracking information, and meeting a variety of weekly and period close deadlines.

My co-workers are wonderful and cheerful, and the job was not at all difficult. It is just very detailed oriented, but not difficult. Above all else I would have to say not dealing with people, sick people in particular. What I mean by not dealing with people does not mean my co-workers but working at a private practice I have dealt with a lot of different emotions from people who are pregnant, sick, cancer and so on, and not having to face that everyday was relaxing and enjoyable. I loved HMSHost, and everything they stand for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmosphere
ACCOUNTANT (Current Employee), kansas cityJuly 1, 2014
Pros: free luches
Cons: no opportunity for advancement
great company, love the workers, management awesome, busy, pay bills, count cash
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top 10 Worst Places You Could Work For
Associate (Former Employee), Detroit, MIJuly 1, 2014
Pros: it's a job
Cons: terrible upper management, favortism played, lazy co-workers, etc.
I have worked at a few companies in my lifetime and would consider myself well versed in regards to employers and HMSHost in Detroit Metro Airport definitely takes the cake for being one of the worst companies I've ever been able to witness firsthand.

How this company is still afloat is truly astonishing and I'll tell you why.

The upper management – more... here is extremely lazy and plays favoritism on a consistent basis. On an average day, they sit in their office and ask others to do their job for them. They have hired utilities crew members but yet ask their supervisors and other associates to do the majority of the work that they should be doing. They take the credit when things are going well, and are quick to blame and point the finger when things are off or aren't how they expect it to be.

This company is about to go through lay-offs at this location based on an article I just read and reading reviews regarding the brands/units this company has (soon to be had) it's extremely obvious why they're the laughing stock of the airport and weren't granted anymore units/brands to run into the ground.

Co-workers can be a joy to work with but even then, this company is so bad it creates a negative environment and vibe which results in tension and poor customer service being provided by us.

The best part about the job is the fact you get a paycheck, but if you're looking for even the slightest thing positive that extends beyond that, please take your hard work, positive energy, morals, and ethics elsewhere because this company will be the death of you and will truly make you question your character on a consistent basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is a great job to work in
hostess (Current Employee), moresville,ncJune 28, 2014
Pros: free lunch /great supervisors
Cons: busy everyday lots of work
you get to meet new people every day learn new things.
a typical day working here would very busy and standing for long periods.
great management.
great atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Barista at Starbucks I (Current Employee), Fort Myers, FloridaJune 15, 2014
I learn a lot from my job, my customer service level is better now
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Shift supervisor (Former Employee), Portland, ORMay 24, 2014
Pros: coworkers
Cons: management, scheduling, benefits, environment
Management treats you horribly and you get no appreciatation whatsoever. You'll love your coworkers but you'll hate going into work everyday. So if you like being treated like a human this is definitely not the place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi unit manager
Multi Unit Manager (Former Employee), Delaware/ Maryland/ New JerseyMay 22, 2014
Pros: insurance package is great and bonuses are nice
Cons: no holidays off.
Good company to gain experience as a multi unit manager, but the culture is not used to change or new ideas. Not up to date with new new hiring processes and they don't promote externally for upper management positions. You meet a lot of different cultures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
server
Server (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCMay 7, 2014
typical server job in airport. high volume. Fun place to work depending on management and staff. Great opportunities to move to other departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Asst Manager (Former Employee), RDUApril 28, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: not enough space to list
WOW! Always look before you leap I've been told. And this place is one to look at before you sign on the dotted line. GM interviewed me and he was obviously out of touch with his management team. Extreme turnover rate in all areas of operation. The management plays favorites with scheduling . The best day I have had in a long time was the day I left. – more... And I am ashamed that I didn't leave sooner. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About HMSHost

HMSHost is part of Autogrill S.p.A. – the world’s largest provider of food and beverage services for travelers. Along – Read more