Find companies:
HMSHost
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
142 reviews

HMSHost Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This Job Is Okay
Cashier/Cook/Baker (Former Employee), Phelps, NYAugust 20, 2014
Pros: 50% off food/ drinks are free 24/7 depending on what you get.
Cons: food reg price cost anywhere from $4-7, work long hours for low pay
The management sucks but the co-workers were great. The job is a job ( fun, easy, and reliable) but, it can be hard if your co-workers dont work as a team. Very fast pace and have to be able to multi- task. Loved my job there. Hated the managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could hardly stand it
Barista (Former Employee), VandaliaAugust 16, 2014
I left before even getting a new job because it was THAT bad. Horrible management. Some days I worked 9 hours and didn't get a break. Everyone was quitting so most days I worked alone. Sales were down so they punished the workers instead of giving incentives. I would not recommend this job to my worst enemy. I don't understand at all why people stay – more... here long term. They call off most days or just sit around. The managers will leave and go home and not tell you you'll be working alone the whole day. Just bad. Really bad. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced work environment, keeps you moving
cash room clerk (Former Employee), New Baltimore, NYAugust 12, 2014
like every job has pros and cons... for the most part very upbeat place to work. The employees are fun and hard working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun workplace, where you meet and come in contact with people from all over the world.
Supervisor (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNAugust 2, 2014
Pros: meeting new people.
Cons: it was very unpredictable.
I will come in and go and grab the money from the money room. assign each cashier a register, change the time of day on the broad. assign duties and positions. check temperature of all food and equipments, stock as needed. complete daily purchase ledgers. Ensure that we have orders for item that was order the previous day. store inventory, while placing – more... orders as needed. Assign breaks. Run the store according to sales, meaning. If it was a slow day and i had too many people working. I will usually send someone home. If it was a busy day. I would make sure that we are properly staffed. I also trained new employees, according to company policies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Server job not worth the stress
Server (Current Employee), Orlando FLJuly 30, 2014
Pros: fun co-workers
Cons: everything!!
If I were you I would re-evaluate my options before applying for this company. I have been in the hospitality industry for 13 years and never have been treated the way this company treats everyone! I am a server at HMS host and work minimum wage (4.91 an hour) plus tips. After my shift is over, part of "sidework" is to sweep and mop the whole restaurant, – more... get on my hands and knees and scrub the walls, chairs, under tables etc.. In the end.. I'm still earning 4.91 an hour without tips to do this slave work! This is not including rolling 2-4 buckets of silver ware, breaking down stations. Managers are no where to be found (office, smoking etc. unless they need you to clean or fix something. There is huge favoritism. Two people who haven't finished their probational period.. are now full time!! You work more then 20 hours you get written up. How is that my problem. I don't do the schedule and or for keeping me for an additional 3 hours for side work. Company is unorganized and not structured!! Company is going down hill.. fast!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No life
Human Resources (Former Employee), Dulles, VAJuly 23, 2014
Cons: stressed out, no life
Work, Management, coworkers are very manipulative.
No promotions, no additional responsibilities, low pay job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm,Collective and Enjoyable place to be.
Temp. Accounts Receivable Billing Processor (Former Employee), bethesdaJuly 9, 2014
I have had roughly about five years in the medical industry, so switching from a private facility to a corporate environment was a huge change. But, it was a change that I was willing to take. A typical day at the office includes totaling all billable media by location and customer type, reporting all overages and shortages on a weekly basis, mailing – more... all processed billable media and invoices to the assigned customers and recording package tracking information, and meeting a variety of weekly and period close deadlines.

My co-workers are wonderful and cheerful, and the job was not at all difficult. It is just very detailed oriented, but not difficult. Above all else I would have to say not dealing with people, sick people in particular. What I mean by not dealing with people does not mean my co-workers but working at a private practice I have dealt with a lot of different emotions from people who are pregnant, sick, cancer and so on, and not having to face that everyday was relaxing and enjoyable. I loved HMSHost, and everything they stand for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmosphere
ACCOUNTANT (Current Employee), kansas cityJuly 1, 2014
Pros: free luches
Cons: no opportunity for advancement
great company, love the workers, management awesome, busy, pay bills, count cash
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top 10 Worst Places You Could Work For
Associate (Former Employee), Detroit, MIJuly 1, 2014
Pros: it's a job
Cons: terrible upper management, favortism played, lazy co-workers, etc.
I have worked at a few companies in my lifetime and would consider myself well versed in regards to employers and HMSHost in Detroit Metro Airport definitely takes the cake for being one of the worst companies I've ever been able to witness firsthand.

How this company is still afloat is truly astonishing and I'll tell you why.

The upper management – more... here is extremely lazy and plays favoritism on a consistent basis. On an average day, they sit in their office and ask others to do their job for them. They have hired utilities crew members but yet ask their supervisors and other associates to do the majority of the work that they should be doing. They take the credit when things are going well, and are quick to blame and point the finger when things are off or aren't how they expect it to be.

This company is about to go through lay-offs at this location based on an article I just read and reading reviews regarding the brands/units this company has (soon to be had) it's extremely obvious why they're the laughing stock of the airport and weren't granted anymore units/brands to run into the ground.

Co-workers can be a joy to work with but even then, this company is so bad it creates a negative environment and vibe which results in tension and poor customer service being provided by us.

The best part about the job is the fact you get a paycheck, but if you're looking for even the slightest thing positive that extends beyond that, please take your hard work, positive energy, morals, and ethics elsewhere because this company will be the death of you and will truly make you question your character on a consistent basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is a great job to work in
hostess (Current Employee), moresville,ncJune 28, 2014
Pros: free lunch /great supervisors
Cons: busy everyday lots of work
you get to meet new people every day learn new things.
a typical day working here would very busy and standing for long periods.
great management.
great atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Barista at Starbucks I (Current Employee), Fort Myers, FloridaJune 15, 2014
I learn a lot from my job, my customer service level is better now
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Shift supervisor (Former Employee), Portland, ORMay 24, 2014
Pros: coworkers
Cons: management, scheduling, benefits, environment
Management treats you horribly and you get no appreciatation whatsoever. You'll love your coworkers but you'll hate going into work everyday. So if you like being treated like a human this is definitely not the place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi unit manager
Multi Unit Manager (Former Employee), Delaware/ Maryland/ New JerseyMay 22, 2014
Pros: insurance package is great and bonuses are nice
Cons: no holidays off.
Good company to gain experience as a multi unit manager, but the culture is not used to change or new ideas. Not up to date with new new hiring processes and they don't promote externally for upper management positions. You meet a lot of different cultures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
server
Server (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCMay 7, 2014
typical server job in airport. high volume. Fun place to work depending on management and staff. Great opportunities to move to other departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Asst Manager (Former Employee), RDUApril 28, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: not enough space to list
WOW! Always look before you leap I've been told. And this place is one to look at before you sign on the dotted line. GM interviewed me and he was obviously out of touch with his management team. Extreme turnover rate in all areas of operation. The management plays favorites with scheduling . The best day I have had in a long time was the day I left. – more... And I am ashamed that I didn't leave sooner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heinous.
Burger king food attendant (Former Employee), Colorado Mills MallApril 26, 2014
They didn't really care for their employees. Terrible management and scheduling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Life Experiance
Cashier (Current Employee), Fort MyersApril 23, 2014
Pros: 50% of lunch anywhere
Cons: don't have any
HMShost is a great company to work with while attending college, they are flexiable with my schdule, and always caring about me as a person not just a worker. I have had a great learning and growing experiance since working with HMShost. I have had many different job titles that gave me some experiance in areas I never had knowledge in before. I have – more... been greatful to have worked for this company and hope anyone else who comes across them has the safe experiance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DO NOT EVEN CONSIDER
Snack bar attendant (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCApril 15, 2014
Pros: pay for meals at limited places
Cons: rude managers
Mangers are rude and disrespectful. If you are smart and educated this place is not for you. Not even if your just looking for a part time job do not go. Also company has a bad rep in airport. I had a co worker threaten me on the job and management did nothing about it because they needed people so bad. Informed TSA and Airport police they said they're – more... always having problems with them. Another thing HR gives you a set schedule before you start work and then the store manager will give you a different schedule. The Mangers love to threaten your job often and remind you of you 90 day probation for all new hires.They are just messy and unorganized. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
PROJECT MANAGER (Current Employee), MNApril 12, 2014
supporting the manager of a store with medium sales volume and moderately complex operations, and is responsible for day-to-day supervising of non-management associates, assigning work to non-management associates, focusing on store level operation performance, coaching and developing Shift Supervisors and other non-management associates and performing – more... all other responsibilities as directed by the business or assigned Management of which associate is capable of performing. This is an exempt position and typically reports to the Operations Manager, depending on local requirements. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OKAY
Cashier Barista (Former Employee), Somerset, PAApril 9, 2014
Pros: $10 to spend on lunch breaks everyday
Cons: management, organization
I had a bad experience at this job so I'm obviously not going to have a good review. Everything at HMSHost was extremely unorganized and there was no such thing as order there. Managers were more like "sit around and watch everyone else work" kind of people. I worked at Starbucks on the Southside Plaza in Somerset PA. One night I was working a shift – more... alone and I had a line of 15+ people and managers stood across the plaza in the other franchises watching me.. now you would think with them being managers they would have enough brains or even courtesy to come help, but no. My second bad experience was when we had a line of about 40+ people and my co-workers that I was working with at the time did not have very much knowledge of Starbucks and the items that they sell. Well this resulted in people not getting the correct things they wanted and they started throwing their drinks back at me. After they were throwing their drinks another one of my co-workers started screaming and swearing at me to get on the register and figure things out. Well I told a manager and he did not see anything wrong with the situation so I had had enough so I voluntarily quit and went home. The working environment is not good. The boss that is in charge of the whole plaza has not a clue what goes on so how is anyone to correct what they are doing? There is favoritism that goes on. It was the worst working experience that I have ever had and it was my first job so now I never want to work in fast food or anything similar to that again! – less

1 2 3 4 5

About HMSHost

HMSHost is part of Autogrill S.p.A. – the world’s largest provider of food and beverage services for travelers. Along – Read more