Find companies:
Hoag Memorial Hospital Presbyterian
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

Hoag Memorial Hospital Presbyterian Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hospital
Executive Assistant/Administrative Specialist (Current Employee), Newport Beach, CAFebruary 12, 2014
I learned a lot from Hoag. Great manager, decent pay, good hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hospital
Dispatch Coordinator (Current Employee), Newport Beach, CAFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: prestigious hospital, great staff, great environment
Cons: benefits have decreased over the years
Overall this is a great place to work. The staff is very patient centered and friendly, and the overall environment is nicer than any other hospital I has worked at. However, the salary is not comparable to other hospitals in the area. In most positions there is great opportunity for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greatest thing that i think to date that i have ever done
Surgical Technologist (Former Employee), Newport Beach, CAJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: being able to expand my knowledge and train others
Cons: n/a
working with the best that the navy has to offer. making sure that patients get access to top quality health care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great leadership and good co-workers
Respiratory Care Practitioner (Current Employee), Newport Beach, CAJanuary 12, 2014
We have a great leadership team and co-workers always willing to help each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very positive and warm environment.
Clinical Care Extender (Former Employee), Newport Beach, CANovember 7, 2013
Pros: clinical experience and uplifting atmosphere.
Cons: no healthcare benefits.
My daily duties included food preparation for patients, restocking medical supplies, assisting nursing staff, and interacting with patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hoag
Patient Registration Representative (Current Employee), Newport Beach, CAOctober 9, 2013
work 10 hour shifts..............................................................................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Irvine crew is severly unprofessional and haters
phlebotomist (Former Employee), labOctober 7, 2013
Pros: newport rocks, irvine doesnt
Cons: bad management/ unprofessional lazy nasty employees
work at Newport Only. Management changed and turned into a horrible job. Bad core group of employees in Irvine always fighting. Terrible management. when they replace the nasty group of people along with the horrible management the place has potential.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BEST hospital so far!!
Laboratory Assistant (Current Employee), Newport, CAAugust 9, 2013
Clean and beautifully maintained hospital. Have private rooms with pull out couches for guests. And super friendly staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and Challenging work environment
Registered Nurse (RN) (Former Employee), Newport Beach, CAAugust 3, 2013
Pros: supportive management, positive relationships with colleagues
Cons: n/a
This was a satisfying work environment. Hours were flexible and management was easy to work with. Patient care load was appropriate for a team leader and nurses aide. Fellow-workers were amenable and easy to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an enjoyable place to work
RN (Current Employee), Newport BeachJuly 22, 2013
Long term employee. It used to be a good place to work but no the case these days. Working short handed most days. Management does not value your opinion/employees have no shared governance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy, well respected Hospital setting.
Senior Case Manager (Former Employee), Newport Beach, CAMay 25, 2013
Pros: healthy, respected environment.
Cons: smaller part of a bigger machine.
Responsible for case management of at least 12 patients to include treatment planning, education, group and family therapy. Lectures, group facilitation and individual therapy. I learned to enlist other professionals to develop co-education activities to enhance a more in depth treatment experience in a short time. Co-workers were open to working together – more... for common goal and supportive of each other. Most difficult was intervention on family members who sabotage treatment. Most enjoyable was the long term success experienced in this setting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Titanic Hoag is sinking in the Pacfic Ocean
Emergency Room Staff (Former Employee), Irvine/Newport BeachApril 11, 2013
If you happen to find work here, don't expect to stay long or think there is room for advancement. Hoag is losing ground on so many categories as a reputable hospital. Recent media reports has Hoag losing government funding through Joint Commission, OSHA violations and poor patient care...it's no surprise why there have been so many negative reviews – more... from previous staff members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
conservative, archaic systems and no-questions tolerated management
Sr. Business Analyst III (Former Employee), Newport Beach, CAFebruary 9, 2013
Pretty decent life/work balance.

Hollow "Hoag pride", all fake image.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, would go back
Insurance Verifier (Former Employee), Newport Beach, CAFebruary 4, 2013
Pros: free food sometimes, benefits, time off
Over all, I enjoyed my time at Hoag. Things were starting to change a bit toward the end of my time there, and that was in part why I left to seek other career opportunities. Over all tho, I would recommend working here to others. Paid time off, great medical benefits, good pay and room to move to other departments and up. ( they don't come up often, – more... but they do come up) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management does not value nurses
RN (Former Employee), Hoag Newport BeachJanuary 5, 2013
Pros: ocean view
Cons: lack of support from managment, short staffed, lack of breaks in a timely manner
I worked for this company for 10 years. I sung nothing but praises for them for 80% of my time there. However, things changed. Short staffed every day I came to work the last couple of years. They refuse to use registry nurses when in critical staffing! They tell you that you can go up to 10 hours during a 12 hour shift without a break. In my opinion – more... if they don't care about the nurses, then they don't care about the patients. I felt unsafe as a nurse there, and left. I will not risk my license and put my patients at risk Don't let the ocean view fool you. They brag about being a magnet hospital, but Magnet is about Nurses. The management here does not value the nurses at all. It's all about the budget and the mighty dollar. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like this company
Staff Nurse /Acute Dialysis (Current Employee), Irvine, CADecember 28, 2012
Acute Hemodialysis
CRRT
Friendly co-workers and manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad management+financial loses= poor patient care
Orthopedics/Radiology (Former Employee), IrvineNovember 28, 2012
Pros: staff parking lot
Cons: non union, poor management, job security
Previous long term employee. Hoag Hospital terminated over a dozen employees with over 15 years of service just in one department. Poor management puts culture of fear to staff towards job termination and security. Non union, makes staff schedules and responsibilities determined by who you know status not by merit or experience. More so of, in fighting/gossip/sabotaging – more... within staff and management. Not being financial stewards and not fitting within the budget compromises quality patient care. Recently "merged" as separate entities with St. Joseph's (check the Orange County Register) not going to be called Hoag for long. Losing creditability as a place to take sick family members based on financial loses. Once a great/respectable name and place to work for in the community, not anymore. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible working conditions
Emergency Tech (Current Employee), Emergency roomOctober 12, 2012
Cons: dangerous environment
The worst employer ever. They constantly ask you to do more with less. Staff are assaulted on a weekly basis. No room for improvement, no room for growth, and unprofessional working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hoag Hospital is a hospital that I would recommend to both a possible patient or a possible employee
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Newport Beach, CAJune 23, 2012
Pros: a wonderful and supportive working team
While it was busy, I found the work challenging and rewarding. I
appreciated the evidence-based education provided and the high
quality of policies and procedures present in my working experience
on the Maternal-Child Health unit. The working team from Director to my fellow teammates were always supportive and willing to
assist whenever needed. I was – more... proud to be employed by Hoag
Hospital. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A progressive regional healthcare institution that is changing in a challenging time of managed care.
Manager, Oncology Clinical Trials (Former Employee), Newport Beach, CAMay 9, 2012
Pros: great benefits
Cons: challenging times for healthcare in general
Hoag has many wonderful and talented people working for them.

Hoag Memorial Hospital Presbyterian Photos