Find companies:
Hobby Lobby Stores, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
523 reviews

Hobby Lobby Stores, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
more worried about the business than the employees
Framing Dept. (Former Employee), Taylor, MISeptember 28, 2014
I enjoyed my co-workers and assisting customers, however management appeared to be concerned more about numbers. When it came to employee concerns, they came at the bottom of the list.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall very good work experience
Department Manager (Former Employee), Des Moines, IASeptember 27, 2014
my work for Hobby Lobby allowed me to learn and expand my skills, in retail and the company as a whole work as a very good team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Structure
Store Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 24, 2014
Cons: long days lots of work with no help
Long days
Good money
Upper management not good
Co-workers not trained
Upper Management hurts the improvement of store and the growth of
customer service
Fast pace
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Cashier and Certified framer (Current Employee), Austin, TXSeptember 23, 2014
fun and nice place to work. nice people. good opportunity to grow
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and friendly
Department Head (Former Employee), Hoover, ALSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: love the staff, good benefits, pays very well
Cons: n/a
Always had something to do. Every day was a new task. Great associates
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY BEHIND IN TECHNOLOGY AND PROCEDURES
CO-MANAGER (Current Employee), OAMAHA, NESeptember 17, 2014
DO NOT TREAT MANAGERS VERY WELL AT ALL. A LOT OF UN WRITTEN RULES
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A creative place to work helps your creative juices flow
Customer Service /Cashier (Former Employee), Roswell, GASeptember 13, 2014
Pros: good discounts
Cons: short breaks, no benefits
A typical day at work is 4-8 hrs of constant standing, the registers were in the doorway of the store and when the temperature dropped outside, we would freeze inside!
I learned about different products, my co-workers were very easy to learn from and get along with the hardest part of the job would be the constant standing on concrete floors!
The most – more... enjoyable part of the job would be the customers! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hobby Lobby: A good place to be, but not a good place to work.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Middletown, NYSeptember 12, 2014
When I was first hired for Hobby Lobby, they were just beginning to build shelves and stock merchandise. I loved it at first. It was my first job and I thought I could see myself working there for a long time. However, as the months progress, I could see that my opinions have change. The hours were giving out unfairly as well as the assignments. I was – more... trained at the last minute to be a cashier and they've excepted me to learn at such a short notice. I hardly think they are hiring, but if they do, take into consideration unless you don't mind being per-Diem or working less than twenty hours per week. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always something to do
Assistant Manager, Manage Home Decor (Current Employee), Holyoke, MASeptember 10, 2014
Pros: discounts at end of seasons
Cons: healthcare is not massachusetts qualified
At Hobby Lobby there is always something to do. There is never a dull moment so your days go by fast. There's always an opportunity to advance and learn as many other jobs in the company. This is a great tool for those who would like to advance with the company, being a young company in the area offers lots of opportunities in the field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly work environment
Framer (Former Employee), Decatur, ILSeptember 8, 2014
I would assist customers in choosing a custom ordered frame for their picture(s). I would cut mats fitting them to a particular size or pattern to go along with the picture being framed. The hardest part of the job was dealing with customers who had no idea of what they wanted or what they wanted the finished product to look like. The most enjoyable – more... part of this job was seeing the customers faces when they received the finished product. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced workplace
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Milledgeville, GASeptember 8, 2014
the workers were great. The best thing about this job was the job security. and the staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and exciting
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Southlake, TXSeptember 6, 2014
First, i would ring up customers, put items back on the floor, and be helpful to the workers on the floor.
I learned to be aware of my surroundings, to ask customers if they need assistance and to work fast and efficiently.
The managent has their own tasks throughout the day, and so the cashiers. My co-workers and I work hard to please our customers – more... as well as our managers.
The hardest part of my job is seeing a customer unhappy with their visit, and I ask them how we can be better for the future.
The most enjoyable part would be when they had a pleasant visit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work in Hobby Store.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Albuquerque, NMSeptember 6, 2014
Pros: high pay for part time job, scheduled breaks.
Fast paced environment with high expectations and great pay. Shift goes by quickly and is so much fun you hardly know you're at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Catered to my Creative Side
Dept. Head/Backup Cashier/Asst Offc Mgr (Former Employee), Austell, GASeptember 4, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: minimal pay for a whole lot of work
Unlike most retail positions, Hobby Lobby is a Christian based company that is closed on Sundays to allow their employees time with their families. For those of us who are creative the employee discount is a bonus in itself. The pay isn't very competitive, but that's par for the course in any retail situation. Management seems to change too frequently – more... to build a relationship with employees. Management is actually the main reason that I left. When hired I was promised a full time position, and thought that's what I actually had as the manager saw to it that my schedule was for full time hours every week - until management changed. The new manager started and my hours got cut. When I questioned the change the new manager went into the computer and showed me that I had never been classified as a full time employee which also explained why my benefits package never did come in. As long as you're a part time employee you don't qualify for benefits. It seems as though 95% of the employees are kept at part time status purposefully. The job was never difficult. My coworkers became friends and we had a great team. We were able to learn from each other and helped out in each others' departments during breaks. If there had been better opportunity for advancement and better pay I may never have left. I absolutely loved this job. The problem is that it ended up being a dead end job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A craft/ home decor store is a fun place to work. It changes daily and is a very fasted pasted store.
Sales Associate / Framing / Freight (Former Employee), Amarillo, TXSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: hobby lobby has great benifits and one of the highest hourly pay in retail
Cons: it is a fast pasted store and a lot of freight to processe daily, and there is lots of walking.
Started working in the frame department assisting customers with their framing needs and working in the frame shop putting frame orders together. Weekly truck day was Wednesday and freight was separated into the departments and processed. I started working on the sales floor only, order inventory, processing weekly freight, and assisting customers with – more... their framing needs. During this time I started laying out the frame department using an action plan also known as a plan-o-gram. The manager had me help in other areas assisting co-workers with layouts in other departments.
The hardest part of the job was balancing waiting on customers and getting all the work done in a timely manner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Cashier (Former Employee), Louisville, COSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: pay, environment
Cons: retail, corporate
Hobby Lobby was my first job and it wasn't bad. The work is retail-it is what it is, but as far as the compensation it is fine for entry level. I appreciated learning some skills required to move into other positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay as long as you don't mind being treated horribly
Arts & Hobbies Department Head (Full-Time) (Former Employee), Lexington KYSeptember 3, 2014
Hobby Lobby as a corporation might be owned by good people at the top, (I can't speak personally as I was encouraged to never speak to any higher ups from corporate) but on a store level it's manage my money hungry drones. There are too many examples of how horribly employees are treated, but if you go to their website you'll find comment after comment – more... from people specifically naming store numbers and being completely appalled by how employees are treated. As far a as Christian based organization, it may seem like a big goal for Hobby Lobby to evoke that kind of environment in it's stores, but I've never met a single manager above assistant store that an any way made me think they were Christian. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented, fair employer, great pay.
Store Associate (Former Employee), Hemet, CASeptember 2, 2014
Pros: store is closed on sundays, great vibe with co-workers, pay is higher than the average retail store.
Cons: not enough associates on the floor during busy hours.
A typical day at work was comprised of busy flow of customers with many questions about merchandise. Ordering of merchandise is completed on iPad and all employees are required to be able to do so, except by stock men. Every employee is required to help with new freight from moving new merchandise off the trucks to pricing and placing it onto the shelves. – more... I learned how to order merchandise by using an iPad and how to cover more than three departments at any given time, while helping the needs of customers. My co-workers were easy to get along with and to communicate with. We were a team and acted as such. I enjoyed everything about this job and had no problem communicating with the management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working here
Stocker (Former Employee), Arlington, TXAugust 27, 2014
Pros: everyone worked as a team
Cons: none i can think of
It was busy and fast paced, but I loved working here. Wonderful merchandise, and I loved stocking it and seeing all they had to offer. I loved the customers comments on the merchandise, and they have wonderful bargains
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
Stocker (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXAugust 25, 2014
Most of the time when I worked, I would be the only one in the back working. And when I told the manager about it, he just blew it off.

1 2 3 4 5

About Hobby Lobby Stores, Inc.

At Hobby Lobby, we know the value of exceptional people. More importantly, we want to find the right people to integrate into – Read more

Hobby Lobby Stores, Inc. Photos